

CHARLES D. BAKER

Governor KARYN E. POLITO Lt. Governor The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security One Ashburton Place, Room 2133 Boston, Massachusetts 02108 Tel: (617) 727-7775 TTY Tel: (617) 727-6618 Fax: (617) 727-4764 www.mass.gov/eops

THOMAS A. TURCO, III Secretary

<u>NOTICE OF OPEN MEETING</u> <u>RESTORATIVE JUSTICE ADVISORY COMMITTEE</u> <u>Meeting Minutes</u>

Place: The Parole Board 12 Mercer Road Natick, MA 01760

Date and Time: October 8, 2019 from 11:00AM-1:00PM

Agenda Items:

1. Call to Order

At 11:02 am, the meeting was called to order by EOPSS Special Counsel, Spencer Lord

	Board Members	Present	Absent
1	Chair-Andrew Peck (*1)	X	
2	Scott Taberner	X	
3	Rep. Sean Garballey		X
4	Sen. James Eldridge		X
5	Becky Michaels	Х	
6	Allison S. Cartwright	Х	
7	John Millett (*2)	X	
8	Ret. Chief Fred Ryan		X
9	Diane Coffey	X	
10	Sheriff Nicholas Cocchi (*3)	X	
11	Judge Rosemary Minehan		X
12	Kara Hayes	X	
13	Carolyn Boyes-Watson		X
14	Erin Freeborn	Х	
15	Cheis Garrus		X
16	Susan Jeghelian	Х	
17	Strong Oak Lefebvre		X

(*1) Designee EOPSS Spencer Lord

(*2) Designee Mark Prisco

(*3) Designee Mary Quinn

EOPSS Staff:

Anjeza Xhemollari

Others in attendance:

Monica Dominique, Brenda Nolan, Jo-Ann Della Giustina, Tobey Reed and Daniel H.

2. Welcome

Board Members went around the room introducing themselves. Designee Chairman Spencer Lord chaired the meeting, Chairman Andrew Peck was not available.

2. Review/Approval of Meeting Minutes from September 10, 2019

The motion was made by Becky Michaels to approve the draft meeting minutes pending the edits. The motion was second by Kara Hayes and carried unanimously with no objections or abstentions.

3. Hampden County Sheriff's Department Presentation: *Restorative Justice Initiatives* by Monica Dominique and Mary Quinn

Monica and Mary provided a detailed history of Restorative Justice philosophies and how the Hampden County Sheriff's Department adopted many of those concepts into development of Community Accountability Board (CAB) Model. The CAB is comprised of volunteer community members and participants from the HCSD. In this model, the members from the community and inmates conduct face-to-face meetings. Currently, there are 12 monthly meetings and these meetings take place in different cities within Hampden County.

The Four Reparative Goals of CAB are: 1. Work to restore the damage done and make amends to the victim of the crime to the fullest extent possible; 2. Make amends to the community; 3. Learn about the impact of the crime on the victim and community; 4. Learn ways to avoid re-offense in the future.

Monica and Mary also talked about different examples of Restorative Justice Practices in the Hampden County Sheriff's Department. Some of those examples are: 1. Victim Impact Program; 2. Victim Services; 3. CAB; 4. Community Service; 5. Restitution; 6. Reintegration Services; 7. Victim Offender Conferencing.

Mary described a recent victim-offender conference process that occurred between a victim of a car crash and the offender who was housed at the Women's Correctional Center in Chicopee and then at the Recovery and Wellness Center in Springfield. The process evolved over a five month period with a meeting between the two women and Mary happening in August at a neutral site in Worcester County.

Board members had many questions for Monica and Mary. There was a long discussion among the board members and how this approach of CAB is unique in which offenders could one day become volunteers.

4. Update on Funding

Spencer Lord indicated that funding is available through A&F. Spencer suggested that *The Funding Subcommittee* should continue with its mission and plan a budget request breakdown with a memo explaining the request. All members agreed. The subcommittee should meet prior to the next full meeting and provide an update. The Funding Subcommittee consisted of the following RJAC members:

- 1. Chair-Sheriff Nicholas Cocchi
- 2. Scott Taberner
- 3. Erin Freeborn

4. Fred Ryan
5. Susan Jeghelian
6. Allison Cartwright

5. Determine Future Subcommittees

The committee decided on forming *The Reporting Subcommittee*. This subcommittee is tasked with writing of the yearly report. All members agreed on forming a new subcommittee. The subcommittee should meet prior to the next full meeting and provide an update. *The Reporting Subcommittee* consisted of the following RJAC members:

- 1. Chair-Becky Michaels
- 2. Kara Hayes
- 3. Allison Cartwright
- 4. Strong Oak Lefebvre

6. Public Comment (10 minutes)

Members of the public are content with the progress being made.

7. Open Session for Topics not Reasonably Anticipated within 48 Hours of the Meeting N/A

8. Adjourn

Allison Cartwright made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 12:51pm. Scott Taberner seconded the motion. It carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 12:51pm.