

CHARLES D. BAKER

Governor KARYN E. POLITO Lt. Governor The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security One Ashburton Place, Room 2133 Boston, Massachusetts 02108 Tel: (617) 727-7775 TTY Tel: (617) 727-6618 Fax: (617) 727-4764 www.mass.gov/eops

THOMAS A. TURCO, III Secretary

MEETING MINUTES RESTORATIVE JUSTICE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Place: The McCormack Building One Ashburton Place 21st Floor, Conference Room # 1 Boston, MA 02108

Date and Time: November 26, 2018 from 2:00PM-3:30PM

Agenda Items:

1. Call to Order

At 11:07AM, Chair Jennifer Queally called the first meeting of the Restorative Justice Advisory Committee and greeted all members.

2. Attendees

Voting Members

Chair Jennifer Queally-EOPSS; Scott Taberner-HHS; Sean Garballey- Representative; Jamie Eldridge- Senator; Tara Maguire- MDAA; Allison S. Cartwright-CPCS; John Millett-Probation; Chief Fred Ryan-MCOPA; Diane Coffey-MOVA; Sheriff Nicholas Cocchi- MA Sheriff's Association; Hon. Rosemary Minehan-Trial Court (on the phone); Erin Freeborn- Communities for Restorative Justice (C4J); Cheis Garrus- Our Restorative Justice; Irene "Strong Oak" Lefebvre –Co-Founder and Executive Director of the Visioning B.E.A.R. (Balance, Equality, and Respect) Intertribal Coalition, Inc. Susan Jeghelian-MOPC and Dr. Carolyn Boyes-Watson-Center for Restorative Justice at Suffolk University

EOPSS Staff

Jennifer Roedel and Anjeza Xhemollari

Guests

Mary Quinn, Stephanie McCarthy, Susan Maze-Rothstein, Bernard Nolan, Jill Fagerberg, Brenda Nolan, Nicholas Melikian, Immaculate Nyaigoti, Ryan Gelman, Gabriel Cohen and Robert L. Jones.

3. Introductions

All board members gave a brief introduction.

4. Discussion of Board Duties and Responsibilities

All board members discussed the duties and responsibilities of the Restorative Justice Advisory Committee. As the statue requires, The Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS) will partner with an educational institution to track down the use of community-based restorative justice programs. Since this committee is not funded, (EOPSS) will work with the Operational Services Division to publish a Request for Response (RFR), in order to fulfill this obligation. EOPSS will also file its Annual Report/request for extension to the legislature no later than December 31, 2018.

Chief Fred Ryan made a motion to authorize EOPSS to draft a letter with roadmap moving forward to the legislature and get pre-approval on the Request for Response (RFR).

Senator Jamie Eldridge seconds the motion.

Motion passes unanimously

5. Schedule Next Meeting(s)

All board members agreed to a pre-determined schedule for future meetings of the Advisory Committee. All meetings are scheduled for the second Tuesday of each month from 11am to 1pm. This meeting time will also be available for subcommittees, should they be formed in the future.

6. Future Agenda Items

The Advisory Committee agreed that presentation models should be presented in future meetings, including at least one presentation in a full meeting of the Advisory Committee. The Advisory Committee members also agreed that the last 10 minutes of every meeting should be left open for public comment.

7. Open Session for Topics not Reasonably Anticipated within 48 Hours of the Meeting $N\!/\!A$

8. Adjourn

Chief Fred Ryan Senator Jamie Eldridge seconds the motion