

CHARLES D. BAKER Governor

KARYN E. POLITO Lt. Governor

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security One Ashburton Place, Room 2133 Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Tel: (617) 727-7775 TTY Tel: (617) 727-6618 Fax: (617) 727-4764

www.mass.gov/eops

THOMAS A. TURCO, III
Secretary

MEETING MINUTES RESTORATIVE JUSTICE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Place: The McCormack Building One Ashburton Place

21st Floor, Conference Room # 1

Boston, MA 02108

Date and Time: January 8, 2019 from 11:00AM-1:00PM

Agenda Items:

1. Call to Order

At 11:10 AM, Chair Jennifer Queally called the meeting of the Restorative Justice Advisory Committee and greeted all members.

2. Attendees

Voting Members

Chair Jennifer Queally-EOPSS; Scott Taberner-HHS; Jamie Eldridge- Senator joined the meeting at 12:12pm; Dave Sullivan- MDAA; Allison S. Cartwright-CPCS; Kelly Conlin-Probation; Diane Coffey-MOVA; Nick Melikian- MA Sheriff's Association; Hon. Rosemary Minehan-Trial Court; Erin Freeborn- Communities for Restorative Justice (C4J); Cheis Garrus-Our Restorative Justice; Irene "Strong Oak" Lefebvre –Co-Founder and Executive Director of the Visioning B.E.A.R. Intertribal Coalition, Inc. (on the phone); Susan Jeghelian-MOPC; Kara Hayes- Chief of Community Engagement-Suffolk DA's Office and Dr. Carolyn Boyes-Watson-Center for Restorative Justice at Suffolk University

EOPSS Staff-Anjeza Xhemollari, Spencer Lord and Shannon Sullivan

Guests- Monica Dominique, Christy Barbee, Mary Quinn, Bernard Nolan, Brenda Nolan and Ryan Gelman.

3. Review and Approval of November 26, 2018 meeting minutes.

A motion (Erin Freeborn) was made to approve the minutes from November 26, 2018. The motion was seconded by (Scott Taberner) and passed by unanimous voice.

4. Board Members: 2 MINUTES presentation on Restorative Justice

All board members and designees provide a two minute presentation on their life experience with Restorative Justice.

5. Review of Open Meeting Law

Shannon Sullivan, EOPSS attorney provides a lengthy training on Open Meeting Law. She states that all meetings are open to the public, even subcommittee meetings. All subcommittee needs to have a minimum of 8 members, 5 to have a quorum. All Agendas must be posted online within 48 hours of the meeting. All approved meeting minutes must be posted on EOPSS website. Board discussion needs to be limited to the agenda. On public comment, board members cannot engage in conversations, board members can only listen. If a board member wants an article sent to the board members, it must go through Anjeza Xhemollari or the coordinator.

6. Presentation by Erin Freeborn, Executive Director, Communities for Restorative Justice (C4RJ) "Respect Responsibility and a Path Forward"

Erin Freeborn gives a presentation and different perspectives of Communities for Restorative Justice.

7. Update on Request For Response (RFR)

Board takes a vote on due diligence for (RFR). Motion was made by (Senator Eldridge), second by (Cheis Garrus) and passed by unanimous voice.

8. Public Comment (10 minutes)

Chair opens the floor for public comment. Members of the public did not comment.

9. Determine Subcommittees and Update on Annual Report

Will be added to the next agenda because we ran out of time.

10. Open Session for Topics not Reasonably Anticipated within 48 Hours of the Meeting $\ensuremath{\mathrm{N/A}}$

11. Adjourn

At 1:00PM a motion (Erin Freeborn) was made to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded (Allison S. Cartwright) and passed by unanimous voice