

CHARLES D. BAKER

KARYN E. POLITO Lt. Governor

Governor

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security One Ashburton Place, Room 2133

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Tel: (617) 727-7775
TTY Tel: (617) 727-6618
Fax: (617) 727-4764
www.mass.gov/eops

THOMAS A. TURCO, III
Secretary

RESTORATIVE JUSTICE ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Place: Parole Board

12 Mercer Road Natick MA 01760

Date and Time: June 11, 2019 from 11:00AM-1:00PM

Agenda Items:

1. Call to Order

At 11:05AM, Chair Deputy Secretary Jennifer Queally called this meeting of the Restorative Justice Advisory Committee to order.

	Board Members	Present	Absent
1	Chair-Jennifer Queally	X	
2	Scott Taberner	X	
3	Rep. Sean Garballey		X
4	Sen. James Eldridge		X
5	*DA David Sullivan	X	
6	Allison S. Cartwright	X	
7	John Millett		X
8	Ret. Chief Fred Ryan	X	
9	Diane Coffey	X	
10	*Sheriff Nicholas Cocchi	X	
11	Judge Rosemary Minehan	X	
12	Kara Hayes		X
13	Carolyn Boyes-Watson	X	
14	Erin Freeborn	X	
15	Cheis Garrus		X
16	Susan Jeghelian	X	
17	Strong Oak Lefebvre	X	

^{*}Becky Michaels designee for DA David Sullivan

^{*}Monica Dominique designee for Sheriff Nicholas Cocchi

EOPSS Staff:

Anjeza Xhemollari, Spencer Lord, Michaela Martini

Others in attendance:

Mary Quinn, Bernard Nolan, Brenda Nolan, Jo-Ann Della Giustina, Stephanie McCarthy and Jill Fagerberg

2. Welcome

Deputy Secretary Jennifer Queally welcomed all members and informed the board that she is leaving EOPSS. Chair received a judgeship and this will be her last meeting. The new Chair is Andrew Peck, Undersecretary for Criminal Justice. Undersecretary Peck volunteered to be part of this committee and this is his passion.

3. Review/Approval of Meeting Minutes from April 9, 2019

Strong Oak Lefebvre is not listed as being present on 4/9/19. She was present and she presented. Erin Freeborn also made a name correction on one of the guests.

A motion was made by Scott Taberner to approve the meeting minutes pending the edits. The motion was second by Erin Freeborn. The motion carried unanimously.

4. Schedule of future presentations

Presentations by board members were not scheduled due to full meetings being cancelled for July and August. The board will reconvene again in September. This Agenda item will be added again.

5. Determine Subcommittees

Chair Deputy Secretary Jennifer Queally went over the charge:

The advisory committee *shall* track the use of all community-based restorative justice programs.

The advisory committee <u>may</u> make legislative policy and regulatory recommendations.

All members discussed the charge of the committee and how to define the scope. What the scope should include or not include for programs. How broad or narrow it should be? What is restorative justice program and what isn't? Who makes that determination? What is the role of this committee?

All members have a different background on restorative justice and therefore the scope or the use of the words *shall/may* is viewed differently. In the end, the committee decided to form two subcommittees in which the scope will be identified and the funding will be inquired. Once this is established, the committee will create a robust RFR and partner with an educational institution.

Determining the Scope	The Funding	
Subcommittee	Subcommittee	
1. Chair -Strong Oak Lefebvre	1. Chair- Nicolas Cocchi	
2. Susan Jeghelian	2. Scott Taberner	
3. Becky Michaels	3. Allison Cartwright	
4. Rosemary Minehan	4. Susan Jeghelian	
5. Fred Ryan	5. Erin Freeborn	
6. Diane Coffey		
7. Carolyn Boyes-Watson		
8. Senator James Eldridge		
9. Rep. Sean Garballey		
10. Andrew Peck		

6. Public Comment (10 minutes)

Guests are pleased with the conversation and the progress that's being made.

7. Open Session for Topics not Reasonably Anticipated within 48 Hours of the Meeting

EOPSS received an inquiry on Open Meeting Law within 48 hours of this meeting. Chair Queally notified the members that review of open meeting law will be included on the Agenda in September.

8. Adjourn

Scott Taberner made a motion to adjourn at 12:56PM. Motion was second by Diane Coffey and carried unanimously.