

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure 1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 Boston, MA 02118-6100 Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons

Dear Applicant:

Enclosed you will find the materials needed to become an approved real estate school. This approval allows you to administer a Board approved curricula for the broker and salesperson prelicense education, real estate instructor education and real estate broker and salesperson classroom and online continuing education (CE).

If you are a private proprietary school, you must provide a bond in the amount of twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000.00).

If your school is a college or university or a public school, a bond is not required. Enclosures (if downloading this document from the internet, documents not attached are under the rules and regulations option):

- Application for approval To be completed and notarized
- Branch application To be completed and signed by the Authorized Agent(s)
- Curricula Implementation Attestation To be completed and signed by the Authorized Agent(s)
- Application information and checklist For assistance in completing the application
- Survey and school responsibilities To be copied and disseminated to all students
- Procedures information sheet To be read to all pre-license students
- Bond Form To be provided to your insurance agent to use for the requisite bond (a bond is required for all schools not regulated by the Department of Education or the Board of Higher Education).
- Continuing Education information For reference and helping licensees to understand the CE requirement
- Real Estate Broker and Salesman Continuing Ed. Curriculum Outline For developing CE courses
- Real Estate Broker's Test Course Outline For developing the Broker pre-license course
- Real Estate Salesman's Test Course Outline For developing the Salesperson pre-license course
- Real Estate Instructor Subject Matter Curriculum For developing the instructor course
- Real Estate License Law and Regulation For your reference
- Board letter and memorandum For your reference
- Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) For your reference The CORI form must be completed by the Authorized Agent(s) of the School and the School's Owner(s)

If you have any questions, please call the Board at 617-727-2373. Thank You.

SCHOOL/Initial School Appl (2018)



The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure 1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 Boston, MA 02118-6100 Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons 617-727-2373

Approval Fee: \$264.00	School Code:
Application Fee: \$62.00 non-refundable	Date Prepared:
Total School Fee : \$326.00	Date Received:
Total Branch Fee:	Issue Date:
Total Fee Due:	Expiration Date:
(total fee due = school fee + branch fee)	-

# APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL AS A MASSACHUSETTS REAL ESTATE SCHOOL PLEASE COMPLETE IN INK OR TYPEWRITE (updated 4-4-18)

1. Name and address of school:

Phone:

Two individuals per school are allowed to complete and sign the Education Certificate required for examination. These individuals are referred to as Authorized Agents. Of the two (2) Authorized Agents one must be designated the Board contact person. It is the contact person who will be responsible for all communications with this Board. The contact person's address and telephone number will be used for this purpose.

2. Names, addresses and telephone numbers of the two (2) Authorized Agents:

a. Contact person:	
	Phone:
b	
	Phone:

The instructors of the Real Estate School are required to obtain instructor approval from this Board. You must include a legible photo-copy of the Letter of Instructor Approval, issued by this Board, for at least one instructor for this original Real Estate School approval.

3. Name of Instructor: \_\_\_\_\_\_ Approval Number: \_\_\_\_\_

4. Names, addresses and telephone numbers of the owners, corporate officers, partners, or in the case of a public or private college or university or vocational or high school, the Dean.

5. Does the school have a refund policy?

\_\_\_\_ YES \_\_\_\_ NO

6. Does the school plan to administer the real estate course at any location other than the address listed on this application? (Regardless of the answer you must complete the attached branch application form and sign the attestation therein.) \_\_\_\_\_YES \_\_\_\_NO

# THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS PERTAIN TO THE SOLE OWNER, CORPORATION, PARTNERSHIP, AUTHORIZED AGENTS, OR ANY OF THE PARTNERS OR CORPORATE OFFICERS.

7. Has there ever been any real estate agent license or school approval suspended or revoked in Massachusetts or any other state or jurisdiction? If yes, attach a statement containing the name(s) of the subject(s), the jurisdiction, the reason for the action, the type of action, and the date of the action.

8. Are there any current school approvals in Massachusetts or any other jurisdiction?

\_\_\_\_ YES \_\_\_\_ NO

If yes, where are they held and by whom?

9. Are there any complaint(s) now pending or closed before any licensing authority? If yes, attach a statement containing the name(s) of the subject(s), the nature of the complaint(s), and the name, address, and jurisdiction of the licensing authority. \_\_\_\_\_YES \_\_\_\_NO

10. A certified copy of an occupancy permit, or other such document, issued by the municipal authority, indicating that the school named herein may operate at the address on this application must be attached. A public school, or public or private college or university, must submit a letter from the Superintendent, Dean, or Principal in lieu of the occupancy permit.

11. Private proprietary schools (schools not regulated by the Department of Education or the State Board of Education) must submit a bond in the amount of twenty-thousand dollars \$20,000.00. Use the enclosed form and submit the original together with this application.

12. I/We, \_\_\_\_

(Contact Person / Authorized Agent) (2nd Authorized Agent) hereby state under the pains and penalties of perjury that the information provided on this application and any materials attached or incorporated herein is truthful and accurate. I further understand and agree that should any information that has been provided herein be false it will be grounds for the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons to suspend or revoke any license and the school approval issued in accordance with Massachusetts law.

13. I/We, \_\_\_\_\_

(Contact Person / Authorized Agent) (2nd Authorized Agent) hereby state that a continuing education certificate of completion shall, at a minimum, include the following: the school's name and school code number, the licensee's name and license number, the course name and identifying Continuing Education Subject Matter Curricula course number, the total hours completed, the beginning and completion date(s) and the signature of the Authorized Agent.

Signature of Contact Person / Authorized Agent

Signature of 2nd Authorized Agent

14. Additional Attestation For Proprietary Schools – Tax Compliance

I, \_\_\_\_

(Sole proprietor or duly authorized individual for the corporation, partnership, etc.) attest that, pursuant to M.G.L. Ch. 62C, s. 49A, to the best of my knowledge and belief, all state tax returns have been filed and all state taxes required by law have been paid.

Signature of duly authorized individual

My commission expires on:

Date

Date

Date

Signature of Notary

### ALL APPLICANTS READ AND COMPLETE THIS BRANCH APPLICATION/WORKSHEET

All applicants must complete the bottom portion of this form including those applicants that do not plan to have any branch locations. Make copies of this page if you need more space for branch locations. If you do not plan to have branch locations, enter 0 on the reverse side where the form reads Total Number of Branches then read and sign the attestation.

List the address of each location you wish to include as a branch location of your school. An occupancy permit or other such document (as explained in the instructions) must be obtained for each location. Branch approvals do not have a life of their own, their approval runs contemporaneously with the school approval. Schools are responsible for the actions of the branch locations. Branches must act and advertise under the name of the school of which they are a part. For instance, Smith Real Estate may be a branch of Jones Realty School. However, Smith Real Estate may not represent that they offer the approved real estate course or that they are an approved real estate school. Smith Real Estate must accurately represent, at all times, that Jones Realty School offers the course at their location.

BUSINESS NAME	BUSINESS NAME
ADDRESS	ADDRESS
P.O. BOX - APT NUMBER	P.O. BOX - APT NUMBER
CITY, STATE ZIP CODE	CITY, STATE ZIP CODE
BUSINESS NAME	BUSINESS NAME
ADDRESS	ADDRESS
P.O. BOX - APT NUMBER	P.O. BOX - APT NUMBER
CITY, STATE ZIP CODE	CITY, STATE ZIP CODE

# LIST ONE BRANCH LOCATION PER BOX

To calculate the total fee due, calculate the branch fee and add it to the approval fee on the top front page of this application. Enter the total branch fee amount in the box beside "Branch Fee" and then add "Branch Fee" and "School Fee" and enter the total. Do not enter any other information in that box. You are required to complete this form even if you are not proposing any branch locations.

# TOTAL NUMBER OF PROPOSED BRANCHES OR ENTER 0



The branch fee calculation is the total number of branches multiplied by \$147.00.

Number of Branches:	
	X \$147.00
Total:	

Add this total to the approval fee in the box at the top of the front page of this application.

I/We, \_\_\_\_\_

and \_\_\_\_\_\_\_(Contact Person / Authorized Agent) (2nd Authorized Agent) certify that this and any attachment(s) or addendum herein is a complete listing of all of the school branch locations of the school named herein. This list includes branches that will be operational upon approval of this application as well as any branches that, though not operational upon approval, will be included in any literature that will be disseminated for the purpose of procuring students for any of the approved real estate board curricula. I further certify that the school is fully responsible for the actions of it's branches and that I as an authorized individual of the school have, to the best of my ability, ensured that the faculty and staff connected with the administration of the real estate board curricula are aware of and understand the responsibilities of administering such curricula. I further attest that the school has contacted the appropriate city or town authority for all of the locations and that they are in full compliance with all city or town use requirements. Moreover, I attest all of the locations (branch and school) are in full compliance as school locations notwithstanding any descriptive terminology (unless this use is prohibited) stated on the occupancy permit, certificate of occupancy, or other such document submitted as evidence that the locations may be used as schools and school branch locations.

Signature of Contact Person / Authorized Agent Signature of 2nd Authorized Agent

Date:

# **CURRICULA IMPLEMENTATION ATTESTATION**

# THIS MUST BE SIGNED BY BOTH AUTHORIZED AGENTS IN THOSE INSTANCES WHEN THERE ARE TWO:

I/We \_\_\_\_

(Contact Person / Authorized Agent) , (2nd Authorized Agent)

certify under the pains and penalty of perjury, that \_\_\_\_\_

(Name of School)

will implement the current pre-license broker subject matter curriculum (1990), pre-license salesperson subject matter curriculum (1990), broker and salesperson continuing education subject matter curriculum (2001), and the real estate instructor subject matter curriculum (1995) of the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salesmen for those seeking: examination as a real estate salesperson; examination as a real estate broker; approval as a real estate instructor; and renewal of a real estate broker or salesperson license (curricula enclosed). I further attest that as a duly authorized agent I understand and have made every effort to ensure the faculty and administrative staff connected with the offering of the curricula herein understand that the curricula are separate and are implemented separate and apart from each other and further that an approved real estate instructor will be present in the classroom, with the students at all times during the administration of the curricula excluding those instances when specialists may be used in accordance with 254 Code of Massachusetts Regulation (CMR) 4:00(7).

Signature of Contact Person / Authorized Agent

2nd Authorized Agent

Date: \_\_\_\_\_

# IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR THE COMPLETION OF YOUR APPLICATION

The application must be completed and returned to this Board within one year of the date it was prepared. If it is not submitted timely, you will be required to complete a new application and pay another application fee.

You must submit a certified copy of the occupancy permit(s). The permit(s) must indicate the name of the school and the use of the location as a school. The address on the occupancy permit for the school must be the same as the address reported on this application. The branch location addresses (if any) must match their respective occupancy permits.

If you have indicated that you are operating under a d/b/a you must submit a certified copy of the d/b/a certificate issued by the local authority.

The application fee has been paid in order to start this approval process. The application fee is not refundable should you decide not to continue with seeking approval as a school.

You must submit the approval fee (Total Fee) together with this application. The fee is calculated by multiplying the number of proposed branches times one-hundred and forty seven dollars (\$147.00) and adding that total to the Approval Fee (box at top of first page) of two hundred and sixty four dollars (\$264.00). The Total Fee may be paid by check or money order made payable to "Commonwealth of Massachusetts".

Only Massachusetts Board approved instructors may teach the curricula. You must obtain a copy of the Letter of Instructor Approval issued by this Board to each approved instructor. You must submit copy of the approval letter for at least one instructor together with this application for approval.

# ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTION FOR PROPRIETARY SCHOOLS (schools not regulated by the Department of Education)

You must submit the original twenty thousand-dollar (\$20,000.00) bond to the Board.

# SCHOOLS WITH BRANCH LOCATIONS

The school must obtain an occupancy permit for each branch location. The permit must indicate the school is operating at that address. It is the school that is conducting classes at that address. Branches do not operate on their own. In some cases, this may require special inspections by the local authority and some other document may be issued. This other document may be used in lieu of an occupancy permit but it must clearly indicate that the local authority is aware of the proposed use and that the use is not prohibited.

# CHECKLIST

- $\Box$  The check for the fee is properly drafted and the amount is correctly calculated.
- □ The application is complete, together with all required documents and properly signed.
- $\Box$  A copy of the certified letter of instructor approval for at least one instructor is enclosed.
- A certified copy of the occupancy permit, or other such document, for the school and any branch location is enclosed.
- Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) The CORI form must be completed by the Authorized Agents of the School and the School's Owner(s)

# ADDITIONAL ITEMS FOR PROPRIETARY SCHOOLS

 $\Box$  The bond is correctly completed, signed, witnessed and the original is enclosed.

# APPROVED REAL ESTATE SCHOOL RESPONSIBILITIES AND GUIDELINES

These School responsibilities and guidelines are to be disseminated to every student at the outset of the course. The reverse side may be used by the student, though not required, to make confidential comments about their experience with the school.

- 1. Only Authorized Agents may complete and sign the Education Certificate for pre-license education. The certificate will be provided to pre-license students as part of the Candidate Handbook.
- 2. Candidate Handbooks are only disseminated to the student upon completion of the full number of requisite hours. The Education Certificate therein must be completed by the Authorized Agent prior to dissemination after the duration of the course.
- 3. Students must complete the total number of requisite hours. Breaks, tardiness or other interruptions are not to be included in the total number of hours. An hour is equal to sixty minutes.
- 4. There must be an instructor present in the classroom with the students at all times throughout the implementation of the curricula including those instances when a specialist is used. Specialists may be used in accordance with 254 Code of Massachusetts Regulation (CMR) 4:00(7). Instructors must be used regardless of the teaching materials (i.e. video, audio, etc.).
- 5. Branch locations must post a Branch Authorization Letter issued by the Board at each location approved by the Board to be a branch location.
- 6. All curricula of the Board (pre-license, continuing education, instructor) are separate and must be administered separately. At no time are any of the hours of education or portions of different curricula to be combined.
- 7. All branch advertising including signage must clearly state the name of the school. Branches are not approved to operate under their own name.
- 8. The school's failure to comply with these guidelines will render the student unqualified to take the examination or use the hours toward continuing education.

A Board approved Real Estate School must provide the student with an appropriate certificate of completion for each course (254 CMR 4:00(6)(h)). A student shall retain the certificate of completion for their records and the student should not mail the certificate of completion to the Board unless specifically requested to by the Board.

### SURVEY

In an effort to ensure quality education, the Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons (Board) asks that you please complete this survey and return it to the Board at: 1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118-6100. If you cannot answer with the choices provided you may explain on the reverse side.

The Board thanks you in advance for your cooperation. Responses will be kept confidential and will be destroyed after statistical information has been compiled. Future students will benefit from your accurate impartial responses.

School name:		
Date attended :	TO	
Address you attended:		
Name of Instructor:		
Type of teaching materials:	Textbooks Video tape Audi	o tape Other (explain)
Was the instructor in the classroom	m throughout the entire course?	YESNO
If no, please explain:		
Use the numbers 1 to 4 for the fol 4= excellent, 3= good, 2= satisfac	6	
INSTRUCTOR EVALUATION Course preparation Knowledge of Subject Attitude toward subject Ability to hold interest	<ul> <li>Ability to explain</li> <li>Ability to answer questions</li> <li>Use of examples or illustrations</li> <li>Control of class</li> </ul>	

Please attach any additional comments about the school or instructor.

# THE FOLLOWING PROCEDURES MUST BE READ TO THE STUDENTS AT THE BEGINNING OF THE REAL ESTATE COURSE FOR PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION

Beginning August 1, 1994, Massachusetts instituted "One-stop-licensing". This means that upon successful completion of the licensing examination, the candidate will immediately be licensed to practice real estate. The following examination procedures must be adhered to.

## FOR BROKER PRE-LICENSE STUDENTS

When you make your examination reservation you will be given a Professional Identification Number. This number must be provided to your insurance agent to be used in issuing the requisite bond. You must provide the test center personnel with an original, properly completed and signed bond prior to being tested. The required bond form is included in the Candidate Handbook, which will be disseminated upon completion of the pre-license course. If this bond is not properly completed or you do not have the original you will not be allowed to test.

You must also have your current salesperson license with you to turn in upon passing the broker examination. If you do not have the license, be prepared to sign an attestation concerning the lost license.

# ALL PRE-LICENSE STUDENTS

You must be prepared to pay for the license upon passing the examination. Personal checks will be accepted for the license fee.

You must have your Education Certificate with you. It must be properly completed. If any part appears to be altered, do not attempt to use it as you will not be admitted to the examination. At the completion of the pre-license course, all students will be given a Candidate Handbook. You must read this handbook completely. All of the requirements for examination are explained in this handbook. Failure to be prepared will result in the forfeiture of the examination fee. If you have questions you should ask your instructor, the school's Authorized Agent or the examination service. Remember, examination fees are not refundable.

All candidates must have a social security number in order to be examined and licensed. You may not substitute a driver's license number.

If you have a criminal or disciplinary history in any State, Country, or Jurisdiction, the issuance of your license will be withheld until the Board has reviewed your record. The review will be done after you pass the examination. Upon approval your license will be issued. The record will not be reviewed in advance of the examination.

If you have previously held a Massachusetts real estate broker or salesperson license, you must reinstate that license. You may not be issued a new license. Send a written request for reinstatement to the Board. Be sure to include your name, address, date of birth, only the last four (4) digits of your social security number and signature.

#### **CONTINUING EDUCATION INFORMATION**

In accordance with Chapter 369 of the Acts of 1996 (enclosed), inserted into Massachusetts General Laws Ch. 112, Sec. 87xx 1/2, all Massachusetts Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons who wish to maintain an "active" real estate license must complete 12 hours of continuing education every renewal period (two years). This requirement will commence with those licensees who are subject to renew beginning on January 1, 1999. However, there is a provision that allows people who are "inactive" (not working as a real estate agent) to renew without satisfying the continuing education requirement, provided that they are not actively engaged in the practice of real estate.

As an approved real estate school you will be entitled to offer the Board approved continuing education curriculum at your <u>school</u> and it's approved branch locations.

A Board approved Real Estate School shall provide the student with an appropriate certificate of completion for each course (254 Code of Massachusetts Regulation (CMR) 4:00(6)(h)). A certificate of completion or other such document shall, at a minimum, include the following: the school's name and school code number, the licensee's name and license number, the course name and identifying Continuing Education Subject Matter Curricula course number, the total hours completed, the beginning and completion date(s) and the signature of the Authorized Agent. The document should also contain a statement instructing the licensee NOT to submit either the original or a photocopy of it to the Board and that if they do send it, the document will be discarded. Any record you provide to the licensee is for the licensee to keep and you should inform them of this.

When a licensee completes their license renewal form he or she will attest to the completion of the requisite number of hours of continuing education on such license renewal form. Any additional documents received with the renewal concerning education will be discarded. If the licensee does not complete the continuing education or does not attest to doing so by answering the question on the license renewal form they will be renewed as inactive.

Like pre-licensing education, the schools must keep records of all licensees that complete continuing education. The records must include the name of the licensee, the license number, the number of hours completed along with the name of the subject matter completed (see titles in curriculum), the beginning and completion date(s) and the name(s) of the instructor(s).

Be advised that because real estate licensees renew on their birthday and, therefore, license renewals are always being processed throughout the year, schools will be removed from the provider list <u>upon expiration</u> of the school approval. The Board cannot risk providing a candidate for license renewal with the name of a school that is no longer approved. Also, if the school telephone number that was provided to the Board is no longer accurate or in service, the school will be removed from the provider list. School approval renewal materials are sent approximately two months prior to approval expiration. If you need more time you must request the materials in writing when you are ready to receive them. The request must come from the school contact person and it must include the school code number. The request will not permanently change the renewal notice time frame. For each renewal period that you wish to receive the renewal materials earlier than the two months advance notice you must request as much. Mail the request to: Massachusetts Real Estate Board, 1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118-6100.

Massachusetts attorneys in good standing are exempt from continuing education. <u>No one else is exempt</u>. Licensees who obtained their Massachusetts license by reciprocity - without taking any part of the real estate examination in Massachusetts - must complete continuing education either in Massachusetts or in the state their reciprocity was based on. All reciprocal licensed agents MUST complete continuing education, even if they are exempt in the other state.

Lastly, kindly note that parts of the continuing education curriculum list suggested reference materials. These materials are obviously not mandatory but suggested for informational purposes. Should you wish to obtain such materials there will likely be a charge for them. Please consult the footnote below\*.

<sup>\*</sup>For the reference materials listed under the Environmental Portions of the curriculum contact the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection at (617) 727-5500. Contact the Massachusetts Attorney General's Law Library for court cases on the Fair Housing / ADA section of the curriculum at (617) 727-2200 (X2098). You may also obtain these cases at any number of law school libraries and the law libraries at courthouses around the Commonwealth. Finally, the texts (book publications) cited in the curriculum are available at the Massachusetts Association of Realtors at (617) 890-3700. They may also be available in local bookstores.

# COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS BOARD OF REGISTRATION OF REAL ESTATE BROKERS AND SALESPERSONS SCHOOL BOND

	Polic	Policy number:		
Know all persons by these presents:				
That we,				
	(School Name)			
of	Town of			
State of		as Principal,		
and				
a corporation existing under the laws		•		

authorized to transact business of Surety in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, as Surety, are held and firmly bond unto the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, as Obligee, the sum of twenty thousand dollars **\$20,000.00** for payment to the Treasurer of the Commonwealth or to the Director of the Division of Registration or his designee, of which sum said principal and surety do jointly and severally bind themselves, their heirs, executors, administrators, successors, and assigns and each and every one of them firmly by these presents.

The condition of this obligation is such that whereas, if the said school shall satisfy all judgments against them in actions by students to recover damages resulting from fraud or misrepresentation used in procuring enrollments in a licensed/approved/authorized/registered real estate agent's school or from a breach of contract, then this obligation shall be void, provided, however, that the aggregate liability of the surety under this bond for all breaches of the conditions of the bond shall, in no event, exceed the sum of this bond; and provided further that the liability of the surety under this bond shall be limited to indemnifying the claimant only for the actual damages. This bond shall not limit or impair any right to recovery otherwise available pursuant to law, nor shall the amount of the bond be relevant in determining the amount of damages or other relief to which any plaintiff may be entitled.

The surety may cancel this bond by giving 30 days notice in writing by certified mail, thereafter shall be relieved of any liability for any breach of condition occurring after the effective date of such cancellation.

· •	Surety have signed and sealed this instrument Year		
Witness	Principal		
Witness			
winword/bndschl	(Surety) Attorney-in-Fact		



# Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118-6100

January 14, 2010

Dear Authorized School Agent,

The Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons (Board) is pleased to announce that all Board approved Real Estate Schools will be able to provide Online Continuing Education Courses to their students, effective February 1, 2010.

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 112, §87XX <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> and 254 Code of Massachusetts Regulation (CMR) 5:00, the Board has developed the enclosed Memorandum entitled "Requirements for Online Continuing Education" to be utilized for all online continuing education courses.

In addition, the Board takes this opportunity to notify and remind all Board approved Real Estate Schools providing classroom and online continuing education courses of the following:

- (1) All advertisements, classroom handouts and/or online courses must state the name of the course and its correlating Continuing Education Subject Matter Curricula course number which may be found on the Board's website at <a href="http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/re">http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/re</a>.
- (2) At the outset of each course, a Board approved Instructor / Expert must provide the student with the respective Board approved outline. The Continuing Education Subject Matter Curricula course outline may be found on the Board's website at <u>http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/re</u>.
- (3) For classroom continuing education courses, a Board approved Instructor / Expert must be present in the classroom for the entire duration of the course, including but not limited to videotape, DVD, audiotape, etc. At a minimum, for each videotape / DVD course, the Instructor / Expert must either be contemporaneously available during the videotape / DVD course or available within a reasonable timeframe following the videotape / DVD course.
- (4) For online continuing education courses, the Board approved Instructor / Expert must be available at specific, predetermined times for each course.
- (5) A Board approved Real Estate School shall provide the student / licensee with an appropriate certificate of completion for each course (254 CMR 4:00(6)(h)). A certificate of completion or other such document shall, at a minimum, include the following: the school's name and school code number, the licensee's name and license number, the

course name and identifying Continuing Education Subject Matter Curricula course number, the total hours completed, the beginning and completion date(s) and the signature of the Authorized Agent. The Real Estate School shall also notify licensees to retain the certificate of completion for their records should the Board request the certificate(s) of completion for a continuing education audit. In addition, the Real Estate School shall notify licensees that the certificate of completion(s) should not be mailed to the Board unless specifically requested to by the Board (i.e. Licensees should not mail the certificate(s) of completion as part of their renewal application as it will be discarded).

- (6) A Board approved Real Estate School shall maintain records of all courses, including but not limited to a student's / licensee's attendance, for a minimum of two (2) years following the completion of the course (254 CMR 4:00(5)).
- (7) A Board approved Real Estate School shall provide the Board or its agents with copies of or access to any and all requested documents or information (254 CMR 4:00(6)(c)).
- (8) A Board approved Real Estate School shall only operate at a Board approved location or branch (254 CMR 4:00(4)).

# Failure to adhere to the Board's statutes and regulations may result in the Board suspending, revoking or refusing to renew the authorization of any Real Estate School (254 CMR 4:00(6)).

Lastly, the Board requests that each Board approved Real Estate School distribute this letter and the enclosed Memorandum on the Requirements for Online Continuing Education to all current and all prospective Board approved Instructors / Experts.

If you have any questions, you may call the Board at 617-727-2373. Thank you in advance for your cooperation.

Sincerely,

Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons



Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118-6100

- To: Board Approved Real Estate Schools
- Fr: Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons
- Re: Requirements for Online Continuing Education Courses
- Dt: January 14, 2010 (Updated December 1, 2013)

Pursuant to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 112, §87XX ½ and 254 Code of Massachusetts Regulation (CMR) 5:00, the Board developed the following "Requirements for Online Continuing Education Courses" to be utilized by all Board approved Real Estate Schools, effective February 1, 2010. Prior to the commencement of an online continuing education program, the Real Estate School <u>must</u> remit to the Board the enclosed, signed attestation form.

### **1. Authorized Schools:**

An Online Continuing Education course shall <u>only</u> be offered by an authorized Real Estate School licensed by the Massachusetts Board of Registration for Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons (Board) for continuing education credit (254 CMR 4:00 and 5:00).

### 2. Curriculum:

All Online Continuing Education courses offered by a Real Estate School must meet the requirements of currently published Board curriculum as described in 254 CMR 5:00(2). The Real Estate School shall ensure that all courses meet the requirements for Real Estate School Authorization and Continuing Education as prescribed in 254 CMR 4:00 and 5:00 respectively. Each curriculum shall be reviewed by the Real Estate School to ensure offered "subject matter areas" comply with the relevant subject-matter areas in the Board approved continuing education curriculum. It is the responsibility of the Real Estate School to verify that the course content is accurate and up-to-date.

### **3. Course Introduction:**

Prior to the beginning of a course, the Board approved continuing education outline and orientation shall be provided to the student which shall include but not be limited to the following: how credit will be recorded for later access; technology requirements for completion of the course; links to school policies including such policies on misrepresenting student identity and refunds; description of how much time a student has to complete the course; information about access to content and technical support and method to obtain answers to student questions.

### 4. Course Delivery:

Each Online Continuing Education course <u>must</u> be time-based. The course shall require, at a minimum, two (2) hours for completion of the course to receive continuing education credit. Also, the course shall allow a student to complete the course at multiple intervals (i.e. a student may begin the course and complete one (1) hour of the course and then may come back later to complete the second hour of the course). Please see above Course Introduction on the Real Estate School's obligation to notify the student regarding the length of time the student has to complete the course for continuing education credit. It is the responsibility of the Real Estate School to ensure that the course's delivery method complies with current federal and state statutes. Also, the online course may not run continuously. You will need to impose prompts or pauses or stops to ensure that the student is actively engaged with

**the course.** For example, every 5-15 minutes, the course should prompt the student to either answer question(s), force the student to key the computer, etc. to confirm active student engagement and/or participation.

### 5. Self Assessment:

Each Online Continuing Education course may contain periodic informational multiple choice queries and/or assessments during the course to help the student assess their level of comprehension and ensure understanding. Correct answers are not required to advance past the self assessment / quiz section of the course. Upon selecting an answer the student will receive a text description of why their choice is either correct or incorrect.

### 6. Instructors / Experts:

Each Online Continuing Education course shall be administered by a Board approved Instructor / Expert as defined by 254 CMR 4:00(7). The Real Estate School shall explicitly state the following including but not limited to (1) the name of the course Instructor / Expert; (2) specific times when the Instructor / Expert is available to answer questions; (3) best means to communicate with the Instructor / Expert; and (4) expected response time by the Instructor / Expert.

### 7. Technical Support:

The Real Estate School shall provide technical support to the students and shall specify set times when technical support is available.

### 8. Question / Evaluation:

All students shall have the ability to submit questions and complete a survey for the Real Estate School at the completion of the course. This may be accomplished via the following methods including but not limited to email, other online communication method, telephone contact, or periodic Question and Answer sessions with Instructors / Experts. Also, each student shall have the opportunity to submit an evaluation to the Real Estate School on topics including but not limited to course content, course delivery method, and the Instructor / Expert.

### 9. Record Keeping:

The Real Estate School shall maintain records of courses completed through the school by all students as well as provide a certificate of completion to all individuals who complete the course offerings as required in 254 CMR 4:00 (5) and 4:00 (6)(h).

### **10. Attendance Monitoring Policy:**

The Real Estate School shall have a policy explaining how it intends to verify a student's identity. Also, the Real Estate School shall retain a statement by the student/licensee stating that the student/licensee certifies under the pains and penalties of perjury to have solely completed the course.

# **Commonwealth of Massachusetts** Division of Professional Licensure **Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons**

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118-6100

# **REQUIREMENTS FOR ONLINE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES ATTESTATION FORM**

Prior to the commencement of an online continuing education program, this attestation form must be signed by both Authorized Agents and returned to the Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons (Board). The mailing address is the Real Estate Board, 1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118-6100. The Board will not recognize an online continuing education program (or subsequent online continuing education course) without receipt of the signed attestation form:

I/We\_\_\_\_\_,

(Print name of contact person / authorized agent) (2nd authorized agent, if applicable)

certify under the pains and penalties of perjury, that

(Name of School)

will implement the Requirements for Online Continuing Education Courses (dated January 14, 2010 and updated December 1, 2013). I further acknowledge that failure to adhere to the Board's statutes and regulations may result in the Board suspending, revoking or refusing to renew the authorization of my/our Real Estate School (254 CMR 4:00(6)).

Signature of Contact Person / Authorized Agent

2nd Authorized Agent, if applicable

Date: \_\_\_\_\_

# CRIMINAL OFFENDER RECORD INFORMATION (CORI) ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FORM

The Division of Professional Licensure by itself and on behalf of boards of registration pursuant to M.G.L. c. 13, §9 [hereinafter, "Division of Professional Licensure"] is registered under the provisions of M.G.L. c. 6, § 172 to receive CORI for the purpose of screening current and otherwise qualified prospective license applicants and current licensees.

As a license applicant or current licensee, I understand that a CORI check will be submitted for my personal information to the Department of Criminal Justice Information Services ("DCJIS"). I hereby acknowledge and provide permission to the Division of Professional Licensure to submit a CORI check for my information to the DCJIS. This authorization is valid for one year from the date of my signature. I may withdraw this authorization at any time by providing the Division of Professional Licensure written notice of my intent to withdraw consent to a CORI check.

# FOR LICENSING PURPOSES ONLY:

The Division of Professional Licensure may conduct subsequent CORI checks within one year of the date this Form was signed by me. If subsequent CORI checks are necessary, the Division of Professional Licensure will provide me with written notice of the subsequent CORI checks.

By signing below, I provide my consent to a CORI check and acknowledge that the information provided on Page 2 of this Acknowledgement Form is true and accurate.

Signature

Date

*Please provide the name of the board of registration and license type for which you are applying or currently hold:* 

Board of Registration

License Type

NOTE: THIS TWO-PAGE CORI ACKNOWLEDGMENT FORM WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED UNLESS IT HAS BEEN SIGNED IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY PUBLIC WHO HAS COMPLETED THE "VERIFICATION BY NOTARY SECTION" ON PAGE TWO, DOCUMENTING THAT SAID NOTARY HAS VERIFIED THE IDENTITY OF THE SIGNER THROUGH SATISFACTORY EVIDENCE OF IDENTIFICATION.

## <u>SUBJECT INFORMATION</u>: (A red asterisk (\*) denotes a required field)

*Last Name	*First N	*First Name			Suffix
*Maiden Name (or o	ther name(s) by w	vhich you have bee	n known)		
*Date of Birth	Place of	Birth			
*Last Six Digits of Y	our Social Secur	ity Number:	=		
Sex: Hei	ght: ft	in. Eye Color:			
Driver's License or l	D Number:		State of Issue:	:	
Current and Former	Addresses:				
Street Number & Na	me	City/Town		State	Zip
Street Number & Na	me	City/Town		State	Zip

# **IDENTITY VERIFICATION SECTION:** Prior to submission to the Board's application vendor, this Section must be completed.

## **VERIFICATION BY NOTARY:**

On this \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_, 20\_\_\_, before me, the undersigned notary public, personally appeared \_\_\_\_\_\_ (name of document signer), and proved to me through satisfactory evidence of identification, which was the following:<sup>1</sup>

 $\square$  Passport  $\square$  State-issued driver's license  $\square$  Military identification  $\square$  State-issued identification card

to be the person whose name is signed on the preceding or attached document, and acknowledged to me that (he) (she) signed it voluntarily for its stated purpose.

Notary Public:

Notary Commission Expires On