
 

 

School Authorization Form 
 

TO:  Authority in Charge of School 
 
FROM:  Susan Langlois, MassWildlife Hunter Education Program Administrator 
 
RE:  Training Firearms in Schools 
 
Date:                 ____________________________ 
 
The Massachusetts Division of Fisheries & Wildlife utilizes agency personnel and trained 
volunteer instructors to schedule and conduct Hunter Education courses throughout the 
Commonwealth.  All volunteer instructors are certified through the MassWildlife Hunter 
Education Program and are considered agents of the Commonwealth when conducting these 
courses. 
 
A primary purpose of the Massachusetts Hunter Education Program is to teach safe, ethical and 
responsible handling of sporting firearms.  All firearms used for training or demonstration 
purposes in the program are either supplied or approved by the Massachusetts Division of 
Fisheries & Wildlife. Furthermore, MassWildlife can supply firearms intended for training that 
are marked “Non-Firing” for instruction at any facility.  In addition, program policy dictates that 
NO LIVE AMMUNITION IS ALLOWED IN THE CLASSROOM AT ANY TIME AT ANY COURSE. 
 
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 269, Section 10(j), requires your approval in writing to 
allow a civilian to enter school grounds with a firearm.  Your signature below will satisfy this 
requirement. 
  
 
I approve Hunter Education Instructor ______________________________________________ 

to bring firearms into the ________________________________________________ school for 

the purpose of instruction in the Massachusetts Hunter Education Program. 

 
Signed:          Title: 
 
 
Date: 



 

 

MGL Ch. 269 § 10 (j) 

(j) For the purposes of this paragraph, ''firearm'' shall mean any pistol, revolver, rifle or 
smoothbore arm from which a shot, bullet or pellet can be discharged.  

Whoever, not being a law enforcement officer and notwithstanding any license obtained by the 
person pursuant to chapter 140, carries on the person a firearm, loaded or unloaded, or other 
dangerous weapon in any building or on the grounds of any elementary or secondary school, 
college or university without the written authorization of the board or officer in charge of the 
elementary or secondary school, college or university shall be punished by a fine of not more 
than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. A law enforcement officer 
may arrest without a warrant and detain a person found carrying a firearm in violation of this 
paragraph.  

Any officer in charge of an elementary or secondary school, college or university or any faculty 
member or administrative officer of an elementary or secondary school, college or university 
that fails to report a violation of this paragraph shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and punished 
by a fine of not more than $500.  

 
 


