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MassHealth Disability 
Accommodation Ombudsman

MassHealth has an ombudsman to help 
members and applicants with disabilities get 
the accommodations they need. This office 
can also provide personal assistance by 

» explaining MassHealth processes and 
requirements, and 

» helping you fill out forms over the 
telephone. 

People who are deaf, hard of hearing, or 
speech disabled can call on VRS or by TTY. You 
can always get help in person at a MassHealth 
Enrollment Center (MEC).

MassHealth Disability Accommodation 
Ombudsman.
100 Hancock Street, 1st floor 
Quincy, MA 02171
Phone: (617) 847-3468, TDD/TTY: 711

ADAAccommodations@state.ma.us

Attention Non-U.S. Citizens!

Important information you need to know 
about applying for MassHealth Limited and the 
Health Safety Net can be found on page 3.

Need Help? 

If you need help getting benefits or services 
from MassHealth or your health plan, you 
can call My Ombudsman. My Ombudsman is 
a program that is separate from MassHealth 
and your health plan. The program can do the 
following. 

» Give you information about your health 
plan benefits and rights. 

» Help you with any concerns.

» Help explain how to file a grievance 
(complaint) or an appeal (a review of a 
decision). 

For more information about My Ombudsman: 
» Visit their website at myombudsman.org.

» Call (855) 781-9898 or videophone (VP) at 
(339) 224-6831. 

» Email them at info@myombudsman.org. 

Please visit the My Ombudsman website 
or contact them directly for updated 
information about location and walk -in 
hours.

MyServices

MyServices is an online tool and mobile app 
where you can access helpful information, 
including eligibility status, MassHealth 
enrollment, and alerts about important 
events and actions you need to take. 
MyServices also allows you to review certain 
MassHealth notices and voter registration 
information online. For more information, go 
to myservices.mass.gov.  

mailto:info@myombudsman.org
http://www.myservices.mass.gov
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INTRODUCTION Senior Guide to Healthcare Coverage:  
A guide for seniors and for people of any 
age needing long-term-care services 

MassHealth, the Massachusetts Health Connector, 
and the Health Safety Net provide a wide range of 
medical and other benefits  These programs are 
authorized by state and federal law  
This guide is for Massachusetts residents who are

 ■ 65 or older and living at home, or
 ■ disabled and working 40 hours or more a month; 

or currently working and have worked at least 
240 hours in the six months immediately before 
the month of application, or

 ■ any age and are in or are waiting to go into a 
long-term-care facility, or

 ■ eligible through certain programs to get long-
term-care services to live at home, or

 ■ applying for Health Connector plans 

This Guide may not be for you if you are
 ■ a parent or a caretaker relative of children under 

19 years old (A caretaker relative is an adult who 
is living with and related to the children under 19 
years old, and who is the main caregiver of the 
children because neither parent of the children is 
in the home), or 

 ■ applying for certain disabled, immigrant children 
under 19 years old who live in nursing homes or 
other long-term-care facilities

Call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 to find out if 
another booklet, the Member Booklet, is for you 
Masshealth applications can be used to apply for 
the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
(SNAP)  SNAP is a federal program that helps you 
buy healthy food each month  If you want to also 
apply for SNAP, check the SNAP check box on the 
first page of the MassHealth application, read the 
rights and responsibilities and sign the application  
You do not have to apply for SNAP to be considered 
for MassHealth 
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Please keep this guide

It has important information you may want to look 
up after you apply for MassHealth and while you are 
a MassHealth member  It gives general information 
about the following 

 ■ Applying for MassHealth, Health Connector plans, 
or the Health Safety Net if you are a senior living 
at home 

 ■ Applying for MassHealth if you are in or are 
waiting to go into a long-term-care facility or 
need long-term-care services at home 

 ■ What are the eligibility rules  
 ■ US citizen/national status and identity 

verification requirements (See Section 8 for a list 
of acceptable documents to prove US citizenship/
national status and identity) 

 ■ Immigration information for non-US citizens (See 
Section 8 for information about immigration 
status and eligibility for benefits) 

 ■ The MassHealth coverage types and the services 
and benefits available through each coverage 
type  

 ■ How to get MassHealth services and benefits and 
when your coverage begins 

 ■ How accident and estate recovery rules affect you 
as a MassHealth member  

 ■ Real estate liens, your rights and responsibilities, 
and where to get help 

This guide is intended only as a handy reference 
and does not give complete information about the 
eligibility rules or benefits through MassHealth, 
Health Connector plans, and the Health Safety 
Net  These details can be found in the MassHealth 
regulations at 130 CMR 515 000 through 522 000, 
450 000, 610 000, the Health Safety Net regulations 
at 101 CMR 613 00, and the federal regulations 
for Health Connector programs at 45 CFR 155 305 
through 155 430 
The information in this guide reflects income 
standards in effect on March 1, 2025; for the most 
updated information about assets and other figures 
that MassHealth uses to determine eligibility, go 
to mass gov/service-details/program-financial-
guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-
members 

What US citizens/nationals need to know 
about applying for MassHealth, the Health 
Safety Net, or Health Connector plans

Verification of US citizenship/national status and 
identity is required for all US  citizens/nationals 
applying for MassHealth and Health Connector 
plans  Verification of identity is required for all 
individuals applying for the Health Safety Net  
The most common types of proof for both US 
citizenship/national status and identity are a US 
passport, a Certificate of US Citizenship, a Certificate 
of US Naturalization, or a document issued by a 
federally recognized American Indian tribe showing 
membership or enrollment in, or affiliation with, this 
tribe  US citizenship/national status may also be 
proved with a US public birth certificate or a Report 
of Birth Abroad of a US Citizen  You can also prove 
your identity with a state driver’s license containing 
your photo, a government-issued identity card 
containing your photo, or a US military ID card  
We may be able to prove your identity through 
the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles if 
you have a Massachusetts driver’s license or a 
Massachusetts ID card  Once you give us proof of 
your US citizenship/national status and identity, you 
will not have to give us this proof again  You must 
give us proof of identity for all household members 
who are applying  Seniors and disabled people who 
get or can get Medicare or Supplemental Security 
Income, or disabled people who get Social Security 
Disability Insurance, do not have to give proof of 
their US citizenship/national status and identity  A 
child born to a mother who was getting MassHealth 
on the date of the child’s birth does not have to give 
proof of US citizenship/national status and identity   
See Section 8 for more information about proof of 
US citizenship/national status and identity 
For help getting forms of proof, like a Massachusetts 
birth record or information about how to get a birth 
record from another state, please call us at (800) 
841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 

www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
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What non-US citizens need to know 
about applying for MassHealth or Health 
Connector plans

To get the right type of healthcare, each 
household member who is applying must prove 
their eligible immigration status 
We will perform information matches with federal 
and state agencies to prove immigration status  If 
electronic data sources are not able to prove an 
individual’s declared information, we will ask for 
additional documentation  We will send a Request 
for Information notice that will list all the required 
forms of proof and the deadline for submitting them  
Immigration status information is in Section 8, or go 
to the MassHealth website at mass gov/masshealth 

What non-US citizens need to know about 
applying for MassHealth Limited and the 
Health Safety Net

Non-US citizens who are not eligible for a 
Social Security number (SSN) or do not have 
documentation of their immigration status may still 
qualify for MassHealth Limited or the Health Safety 
Net  However, they have to provide the following 

 ■ Proof of income 
 ■ Proof of identity 

If you are a non-US citizen, you do not have to 
submit your immigration documents with the 
application if you are applying only for your 
children, not yourself 
If you do not have pay stubs or tax records, you can 
prove your income in other ways, like giving us a 
signed statement from your employer containing 
the gross (before taxes and deductions) pay and 
hours worked 
We will keep applications and the information on 
them confidential  This means that 

 ■ we will not send names and addresses to 
immigration enforcement officials, and

 ■ we will not match information with other 
agencies if individuals do not have Social Security 
numbers 

What visitors need to know about applying

If you are not Massachusetts resident, you are 
not eligible for MassHealth or other healthcare 
benefits that are funded by the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts  If you are visiting Massachusetts for 
personal pleasure, such as for vacation, or for the 
purposes of receiving medical care in a setting other 
than a nursing facility, you do not meet residency 
requirements for MassHealth 
Find free and low-cost legal services at mass gov/
info-details/finding-legal-help 

www.mass.gov/masshealth
http://www.mass.gov/info-details/finding-legal-help
http://www.mass.gov/info-details/finding-legal-help


5Senior Guide to Health Care Coverage

SECTION 1

Applying for MassHealth, 
coverage through the 
Massachusetts Health Connector, 
or the Health Safety Net— for 
seniors living at home including 
people of any age who need long-
term-care services while living at 
home

Information about MassHealth, the Health 
Connector, or the Health Safety Net for 
seniors living at home

This section gives general information about the 
MassHealth eligibility rules for people who are 65 or 
older, live at home, and generally do not need long-
term-care services  It also gives information about 
how to apply for MassHealth,the Health Safety Net 
(HSN), or coverage through the Health Connector  
If you are not eligible for MassHealth, you may 
be eligible for the Health Safety Net, which has 
different eligibility rules  

The Health Safety Net (HSN)

The HSN pays Massachusetts acute hospitals and 
community health centers for certain healthcare 
services provided to low-income patients  Effective 
June 1, 2016, the HSN pays for services provided 
to Massachusetts residents with MAGI household 
income at or below 300% of the federal poverty 
level  For more information about the Health Safety 
Net, see Section 5 

The Health Connector

The Health Connector is the state’s marketplace for 
health and dental insurance  The Health Connector 
can help you and your household shop for and 
enroll in insurance plans from leading health and 
dental insurers in the state  You can also learn if 
you qualify for any programs that help you pay for 
health insurance premiums and lower your out-of-
pocket healthcare costs 
Programs through the Health Connector that can 
help you pay for health insurance include Advance 
Premium Tax Credits and ConnectorCare health 
insurance plans  
You may qualify to buy a health or dental insurance 
plan through the Massachusetts Health Connector, if 
you meet the following requirements 

 ■ You are a resident of Massachusetts 
 ■ You are a US citizen/national, or are lawfully 

present in the United States  
 ■ You are not in prison, unless you are awaiting trial

Health coverage through the Massachusetts Health 
Connector is not MassHealth  If you have Medicare, 
you will not be eligible for any cost sharing reductions 
or Advance Premium Tax Credits through the Health 
Connector  You cannot purchase a health plan through 
the Health Connector unless you were already enrolled 
in a Health Connector plan when you became eligible 
for Medicare  The only time you should apply for 
Health Connector programs if you have Medicare, is if 
you are not enrolled in Medicare yet but would have 
to pay for your Medicare Part A premium  In this case, 
you may be eligible for coverage through the Health 
Connector, which may include Advance Premium Tax 
Credits and ConnectorCare plans 
If you are in or are waiting to go into a long-term-
care facility, read Section 2 for more information  
For more information about programs through the 
Health Connector, see Section 4 
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MassHealth

How to apply
1  Fill out the Senior Application 
NOTE: If you are applying for MassHealth through 

Kaileigh Mulligan or PACE, you do not have 
to fill out the Long-Term-Care Supplement  
If you are applying for MassHealth through 
the Home- and Community-Based Services 
Waiver, you only need to fill out the 
“Resource Transfers” section of Supplement 
A in the application 

2  Send us the filled-out and signed application 
with proof of the following 
• Your monthly income before taxes and 

deductions (such as a copy of your pension 
stub or award letter)  You do not need to 
send us proof of your social security or SSI 
income  If employed, send proof of your 
monthly employment income before taxes and 
deductions, such as two recent pay stubs or a 
US tax return  If self-employed, send a US tax 
return, or if no US tax return has been filed, 
you may submit a Profit and Loss Statement 
for the last 12 months signed by an accountant 
(or you, if no accountant was used)  Current 
business records showing other relevant 
documents may be submitted as acceptable 
proof of self-employment 

• The current value of your assets (such as 
copies of your current bank statements*) 

• Your US citizenship/national or immigration 
status and identity  (See Section 8 for 
information ) 

For a MAGI-determined person, we compare 
information with other agencies and sources 
when we receive an application  For a description 
of a MAGI-determined person, see page 11  We 
also compare information at annual review and 
periodically to update or prove eligibility  
These agencies and information sources may 
include: Federal Data Services Hub; Department 
of Unemployment Assistance; the Bureau of Vital 
Statistics in the Department of Public Health; 
Department of Industrial Accidents; Department 
of Veterans’ Services; Department of Revenue; 
Bureau of Special Investigations; Social Security 
Administration; Systematic Alien Verification 
for Entitlements; Department of Transitional 

Assistance; health-insurance carriers; and banks and 
other financial institutions  
Information about people listed on your 
application may be shared with the Department 
of Unemployment Assistance and their employers 
(to administer the Employer Medical Assistance 
Contribution (EMAC) requirements of MGL c 149 s 
189A )
We compare your income information electronically  
MassHealth considers income to be proven if the 
income data we received through other agencies 
is compatible with the income amount you stated 
on your application  If we are unable to verify your 
income electronically, we will request proof of your 
income 

* Under Chapter 125 of the Acts of 2008: An Act Relative to Exempting 
Seniors from Certain Bank Fees, financial institutions cannot charge 
seniors for copies of bank or other financial records if MassHealth is 
asking for the information.

3  After you have filled out the Senior Application 
and any needed supplements, send your 
application by  
Mail or fax to:  
MassHealth Enrollment Center  
PO Box 290794  
Charlestown, MA  02129-0214 
fax: (617) 887-8799
In Person to 
MassHealth Enrollment Center  
The Schrafft Center 
529 Main Street, Suite 1M 
Charlestown, MA  02129

4  To apply in person, go to any enrollment center 
Monday through Friday from 8:45 a m  to 5 p m  
Do not mail an application to any of these 
enrollment centers. Drop boxes are available 
after business hours at the Charlestown and 
Tewksbury Enrollment Centers 

MassHealth Enrollment Centers
• 529 Main Street 

Charlestown, MA 02120
• 45 Spruce Street   

Chelsea, MA 02150
• 88 Industry Avenue, Suite D 

Springfield, MA  01104 
• 21 Spring Street, Suite 4  

Taunton, MA  02780
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• 367 East Street  
Tewksbury, MA 01876

• 100 Hancock Street, 1st Floor  
Quincy, MA 02171

• 50 SW Cutoff, Suite 1A  
Worcester, MA 01604

Where to call
Call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 to get help 
with the following 

• A Senior Application,
• a Senior Guide to HealthCare Coverage in 

another language, 
• interpreter services,
• help filling out the Senior Application, or
• questions about the application process

General Eligibility Rules

To decide if you can get MassHealth, we look at 
your income and assets and, in some cases, your 
immigration status 

Residency
You must be a resident of Massachusetts to get 
MassHealth or other healthcare benefits that are 
funded by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts  
Unless otherwise specified in the MassHealth 
regulations, you are a resident of Massachusetts if 
you live in Massachusetts and either intend to reside 
in Massachusetts, with or without a fixed address, or 
have entered Massachusetts with a job commitment 
or seeking employment  If you are visiting 
Massachusetts for personal pleasure, such as for 
vacation, or for the purposes of receiving medical 
care in a setting other than a nursing facility, you do 
not meet residency requirements for MassHealth 
A person’s residency will be considered proven if 
they have self-declared to being a Massachusetts 
resident, and the residency has been confirmed 
by electronic data matching with federal or state 
agencies, or information services, or the individual 
has provided any of the following documents 

 ■ A copy of the deed and record of the most recent 
mortgage payment (if the mortgage was paid in 
full, a copy of the property tax bill from the most 
recent year)

 ■ A current utility bill or work order dated within 
the past 60 days

 ■ A statement from a homeless shelter or homeless 
service provider

 ■ School records (if school is private, additional 
documentation may be requested)

 ■ Nursery school or day care records (if school 
is private, additional documentation may be 
requested)

 ■ A Section 8 agreement
 ■ A homeowners’ insurance agreement
 ■ Proof of enrollment of custodial dependent in 

public school
 ■ A copy of the lease and record of the most recent 

rent payment
If you cannot give us any of the documents listed 
above, you may submit an affidavit to prove your 
residency  It must state that you are not visiting 
Massachusetts for personal pleasure (for example, 
vacation) or for purposes of receiving medical care 
in a setting other than a nursing facility  It must be 
signed under the pains and penalties of perjury 

Social Security Numbers
You must give us a Social Security number (SSN) 
or proof that one has been applied for for every 
household member who is applying, unless one of 
the following exceptions applies 

 ■ You or any household member has a religious 
exemption as described in federal law 

 ■ You or any household member is eligible only for 
a nonwork SSN 

 ■ You or any household member is not eligible for 
an SSN  See Section 7 for more information 

Income Rules
MassHealth compares your monthly income to 
certain limits that are set by law  These limits are 
based on a percentage of the federal poverty level, 
and may increase each year  If you are married 
and live with your spouse, we count both of your 
incomes in deciding if you can get MassHealth 
To determine your income, we look at your social 
security, pension, and other nonwork-related 
income (before deduction of your Medicare 
premium, taxes, or other deductions) 
If you have income from working, we allow certain 
deductions  (Generally, we count only about half 
of your monthly income from working before 
deductions )
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Income Rules—the Deductible 
If your income is too high to get MassHealth 
Standard, Family Assistance, Health Safety Net or 
Limited, you will have a deductible  We can tell you 
how to get MassHealth by meeting your deductible  
See Section 3 for more information 
The deductible is the total amount of your monthly 
income that is greater than MassHealth’s income 
limits over a six-month period 
To meet your deductible, you must have medical 
bills that are equal to or greater than the amount of 
your deductible  You may use medical bills for you 
and your spouse 
MassHealth will not pay for these medical bills—
they are your responsibility  Also, the bills you use 
cannot be for services that are covered by other 
insurance that you or your spouse may have 

Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI)
Financial eligibility is based on Modified Adjusted 
Gross Income (MAGI)  For community applicants 
under 65 years old, or for those individuals 65 or 
older who request a MAGI determination for Health 
Connector benefits, MAGI methodology is used to 
calculate income 

Countable Income—MAGI
 ■ MAGI is the income reported on line 7 on the 

personal 1040 income tax return after the income 
from line 22 of Schedule 1 has been added and 
the deductions from line 36 of Schedule 1 have 
been deducted  Then tax-exempt interest, foreign 
earned income exclusions, and tax-exempt Social 
Security income are added back in 

 ■ MAGI includes earned income, such as wages, 
salary, tips, commissions, and bonuses 

 ■ MAGI does not count pre-tax contributions 
to salary reduction plans (of up to $2,500 0r 
$5,000 depending on filing status) for payment 
of dependent care, transportation, and certain 
health expenses 

 ■ Self-employment income is included in 
adjusted gross income, but the tax code allows 
deductions for various business-related travel 
and entertainment expenses (up to a limit), 
and business use of a personal home  If the 
deductions exceed the income earned from self-
employment, the losses can be used to offset 
other income 

 ■ An amount received as a lump sum is counted as 
income only in the month received  

Exception: For plans through the Health Connector, 
income received as a lump sum is countable for the 
year in which it is received 

Deductions—MAGI
Allowable deductions from countable income 
when determining MAGI are: educator expenses; 
certain business expenses of reservists, performing 
artists, or fee-based government officials; health 
savings account deduction; moving expenses for 
members of the Armed Forces; deductible part of 
self-employment taxes; contribution to Simplified 
Employee Pension plan (SEP), SIMPLE IRA plan, and 
qualified plans; self-employed health insurance 
deduction; penalty on early withdrawal of savings; 
alimony paid for a divorce, separation agreement, 
or court order that was finalized before January 1, 
2019; individual retirement account deductions; 
student loan interest deduction 
For MAGI-determined individuals, we perform 
information matches with other agencies and 
information sources when an application is 
submitted, at annual review, and periodically to 
update or prove eligibility 
These agencies and sources may include, but 
are not limited to: Federal Data Services Hub; 
Department of Unemployment Assistance; the 
Bureau of Vital Statistics in the Department of 
Public Health; Department of Industrial Accidents; 
Department of Veterans’ Services; Department 
of Revenue; Bureau of Special Investigations; 
Social Security Administration; Systematic Alien 
Verification for Entitlements; Department of 
Transitional Assistance; health-insurance carriers; 
and banks and other financial institutions 
Income information will be obtained through an 
electronic data match  Income is considered proved 
if the income data received through an electronic 
data match is reasonably compatible with the 
income amount you stated on your application  If 
we are unable to verify your income electronically, 
we will request proof of your income 
To get the benefits you are entitled to as quickly as 
possible, you may send us any documentation you 
have that proves household income 
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General Asset Rules
MassHealth looks at the current value of any assets 
owned by you and compares them to the asset 
limits  For the most updated information about 
assets and other figures that MassHealth uses 
to determine eligibility go to mass gov/service-
details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-
masshealth-applicants-and-members  If you are 
married and live with your spouse, we count the 
value of assets owned by you and your spouse  

Countable Assets
Countable assets include the value of bank 
accounts (Under Chapter 125 of the Acts of 2008: 
An Act Relative to Exempting Seniors from Certain 
Bank Fees, financial institutions cannot charge 
seniors for copies of bank or other financial records 
if MassHealth is asking for the information ), 
certificates of deposit, mutual funds, stocks and 
bonds, and the value of real property, except your 
home, if it meets eligibility requirements 

Noncountable Assets
Countable assets include

 ■ the home you live in if it is in Massachusetts, 
unless you are getting long- term-care services in 
a long-term-care facility (see Section 2 for more 
information),

NOTE: Although we do not count the value of your 
home, we may claim money from your estate 
after your death  For more information, see 
page 34 

 ■ one vehicle for each household,
 ■ life insurance policies for both you and your 

spouse if the total face value for each of you is 
$1,500 or less (Face value of term policies is not 
counted ),

 ■ burial plots,
 ■ up to $1,500 per person for you and your spouse 

that is specifically set aside for funeral and burial 
expenses  This amount
• must be in separate, identifiable accounts, or
• may be in the form of life insurance policies 

specifically set up for funeral and burial 
expenses if the total face value for each of you 
is $1,500 or less, and

 ■ an irrevocable burial trust or prepaid irrevocable 
burial contract set up in reasonable amounts for 
future payment of funeral or burial expenses 

Programs for People Living at Home Who 
Need Long- Term-Care Services

People living at home (children as well as adults) 
who need more help than family members can give, 
may be able to get certain long-term-care services 
to help them live at home, instead of in a long-term- 
care facility  MassHealth has three types of programs 
that allow certain MassHealth Standard members to 
get these needed long-term-care services at home:

 ■ Home- and Community-Based Services (HCBS) 
Waiver programs

 ■ Kaileigh Mulligan Program (Home Care for 
Disabled Children)

 ■ PACE (Program of All-inclusive Care for the Elderly)
Each program has its own eligibility rules, including 
income and asset rules  If you or your spouse gave 
away or transferred assets or income for less than 
they were worth, you may not be eligible for a 
certain period of time 
Waiver applicants and members must have income 
less than or equal to 300% of the federal benefit rate  
When determining eligibility for these waivers, 
MassHealth counts the assets of both the applicant 
and their spouse, but counts the income of only the 
waiver applicant 
For more detailed information about how we look at 
countable assets, see page 19 

Home- and Community-Based Waivers
MassHealth works with other state agencies to 
administer the Home- and Community-Based (HCBS) 
Services Waivers  These are MassHealth programs that 
provide access to long-term services and supports to 
help eligible seniors and individuals with disabilities 
live in the community  Participants in the HCBS waiver 
programs have access to traditional MassHealth 
services and services available through the HCBS 
waiver in which they are enrolled  There are ten 
different MassHealth HCBS waivers in Massachusetts 
To participate in any of the HCBS waivers, you must 
be eligible for MassHealth Standard and meet certain 
requirements  The types of requirements are “clinical 
eligibility” and “financial eligibility ”
Clinical eligibility is based on an assessment of 
your medical situation  Please contact the agency 
conducting the clinical assessment for more 
information about the process  Waiver applicants 
and members must have countable income less 

www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
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than or equal to 300% of the federal benefit rate  
Financial eligibility is based on the assets of both 
the waiver applicant and their spouse, but only 
counts the income of the waiver applicant 
NOTE: For the Kaileigh Mulligan program, financial 

eligibility is determined without counting 
parental income and assets 

Eligible individuals may enroll in only one HCBS 
waiver at a time  Waiver participants are not 
permitted to enroll in Program of All-inclusive Care 
for the Elderly (PACE), One Care, or Senior Care 
Options (SCO) while enrolled in an HCBS waiver  The 
exception is that a participant who is age 65 or older 
and enrolled in the Frail Elder waiver, described on 
page 9, may enroll in SCO  

Home- and Community-Based Services Waiver 
for Frail Elders

What it is and who it helps
 ■ This waiver allows certain people from 60 to 

64 years old who are totally and permanently 
disabled, or 65  and older regardless of disability, 
to live at home and get specified waiver services 
(like homemaker, nonmedical transportation, 
and home-delivered meals) 

 ■ Waiver participants may also receive services 
covered through MassHealth Standard  

 ■ This waiver requires the member to have a 
clinical level of care equal to that provided in 
a nursing facility, based on a waiver clinical 
assessment conducted by an Aging Services 
Access Point (ASAP) nurse 

How and where to apply
To apply for the Frail Elder Waiver, contact your local 
Aging Services Access Point (ASAP) agency by calling 
(800) AGE-INFO, TDD/TTY: MassRelay 711 

Home- and Community-Based Services Waiver 
for People with Traumatic Brain Injury

What it is and who it helps
 ■ This waiver allows certain people, from 18 to 

64 years old, who are totally and permanently 
disabled or 65  and older regardless of disability, 
who have a traumatic brain injury as defined by 
the Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission to 
receive specified waiver services in the home or 
community  

 ■ Waiver participants also receive services covered 
through MassHealth Standard  

 ■ This waiver requires the member to have a 
clinical level of care equal to that provided 
in a nursing facility or hospital, based on a 
waiver clinical assessment conducted by the 
Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission 

How and where to apply
Generally, referrals are made by Massachusetts 
Rehabilitation Commission case managers  Call us at 
(800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 for a senior application 
and for more information about this program 

Home- and Community-Based Services Waivers 
for People with Acquired Brain Injury (ABI)

What it is and who it helps
 ■ This waiver allows certain people from 22 to 

64 years old who are totally and permanently 
disabled or 65 and older regardless of disability, 
who have acquired, after reaching the age of 
22, a brain injury including, without limitation, 
brain injuries caused by external force, but not 
including Alzheimer’s disease and similar neuro-
degenerative diseases, the primary manifestation 
of which is dementia  

 ■ To qualify for the ABI waiver, an individual must 
have been an inpatient in a nursing facility or 
chronic disease or rehabilitation hospital for a 
continuous stay of 90 or more days 

 ■ Waiver services may be provided in a residential 
habilitation setting or in the home or community  
Waiver participants also receive services covered 
through MassHealth Standard 

 ■ This waiver requires the member to have a clinical 
level of care equal to that provided in a nursing 
facility or hospital, based on a waiver clinical 
assessment conducted by the waiver unit at the 
University of Massachusetts Medical School 

How and where to apply 
To apply for the Home- and Community-Based 
Services Waivers for people with ABI, contact the 
waiver unit at the University of Massachusetts 
Medical School at (866) 281-5602, TDD/TTY: 711 

Moving Forward Plan (MFP) Home- and 
Community-Based Services Waivers

What it is and who it helps
 ■ This waiver allows certain people from 18 to 

64 years old who are totally and permanently 
disabled, or 65 and older regardless of disability, 
who are an inpatient in a nursing facility, chronic 
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disease, rehabilitation, or psychiatric hospital 
to receive support services and other specified 
waiver services  

 ■ To qualify for the MFP waivers, the individual 
must have been an inpatient in a nursing facility, 
chronic disease, rehabilitation, or psychiatric 
hospital for a continuous stay of 90 or more days  

 ■ Waiver services may be provided in a 24 hour/7 
day a week residential habilitation setting or in 
the participant’s home in the community  Waiver 
participants also receive services covered through 
MassHealth Standard 

 ■ This waiver requires  the member to have a clinical 
level of care equal to that provided in a nursing 
facility or hospital, based on a waiver clinical 
assessment conducted by the waiver unit at the 
University of Massachusetts Medical School 

How and where to apply 
To apply for the MFP Home- and Community-Based 
Services Waivers, contact the waiver unit at the 
University of Massachusetts Medical School at (855) 
499-5109, TDD/TTY: 711  

Home- and Community-Based Services Waiver 
for Adults with an Intellectual Disability

What it is and who it helps
 ■ There are three waiver programs that allow 

individuals with an intellectual disability from 22 
to 64 years old who are totally and permanently 
disabled, or who are 65 and older regardless of 
disability, who have an intermediate-care facility 
for the intellectually disabled (ICF-ID) level of care 
to receive support services and other specified 
waiver services 

 ■ Waiver services may be provided in a residential 
habilitation setting or in the home or community  
Waiver participants also receive services covered 
through MassHealth Standard 

 ■ These waivers require the member to have a 
clinical level of care equal to that provided in an 
intermediate care facility for the intellectually 
disabled, based on a waiver clinical assessment 
conducted by the Department of Developmental 
Services 

How and where to apply
Generally, referrals are made by case managers from 
the Department of Developmental Services  Call us at 
(800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 for a senior application, 
and for more information about this program 

Kaileigh Mulligan Program (Home Care for 
Disabled Children)

What it is and who it helps
 ■ This waiver allows certain severely disabled 

children (under 18 years old) to live at home with 
their parent(s) and have MassHealth eligibility 
determined without counting the income and 
assets of their parent(s)  

 ■ The waiver requires the child’s medical needs be 
severe enough to need a level of care equal to 
that provided in a hospital or pediatric nursing 
facility, as determined by MassHealth’s Disability 
Evaluation Service  

 ■ It covers payment for a wide range of medical and 
nursing care, and certain medical equipment and 
supplies for the child  

 ■ The waiver requires the cost to MassHealth for 
these services not be greater than what it would 
cost for the child to live in a hospital setting or 
nursing facility,

 ■ The waiver sets up a link between the child’s 
family and the Department of Public Health’s case 
management services to follow the child’s care 

How and where to apply
Generally, referrals are made by Department of 
Public Health case managers or by the child’s 
hospital social worker who can give you an 
Application for Health Coverage for Seniors and 
People Needing Long-Term-Care Services (senior 
application) and help you apply for this program 
Call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 for a senior 
application, and for more information about this 
program 

PACE (Program of All-inclusive Care for the 
Elderly)

What it is and who it helps
PACE is a program that provides enrolled members 
access to all services covered by Medicare and 
MassHealth and offers more services based on a 
member’s needs, through a center-based model  
PACE provides all necessary medical and social 
services to people so that members can live in their 
community instead of a nursing home 
There are no copays for members enrolled in PACE 
If you are interested in finding out more about the 
steps to enroll in PACE, you can reach out to a PACE 
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plan that serves the area you live in or call the 
number below  To determine if someone is eligible 
to enroll in PACE, a team of health professionals 
from a PACE organization meets with an applicant 
to complete an assessment of the applicant’s 
health status  The PACE organization then submits 
the clinical assessment along with an application 
to MassHealth  If MassHealth determines that 
the applicant meets PACE clinical and financial 
requirements, the applicant can decide to enroll in 
PACE 
PACE is for people who

 ■ are 55 or older,
 ■ live in the service area of a PACE organization,
 ■ can live safely in the community,
 ■ are certified by the state as eligible for nursing 

home care,
 ■ agree to receive health services exclusively 

through the PACE organization, and
 ■ have countable income less than or equal to 

300% of the federal benefit rate 
When determining financial eligibility for PACE, 
MassHealth counts the income and assets of only 
the applicant regardless of their marital status  For 
the most updated information about assets and 
other figures that MassHealth uses to determine 
eligibility, go to mass gov/service-details/program-
financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-
applicants-and-members 
Once enrolled in PACE, every PACE member is 
assigned a care team including doctors, nurses, 
therapists,  and other medical and social service 
providers  A plan of care is developed with the 
member and the member’s care team  The PACE 
organization coordinates and arranges all necessary 
services  Most routine services are provided in a 
PACE center, but certain services may be given in the 
participant’s home or other facility 
Covered services include: meal delivery, 
transportation, adult day health, social services, 
prescriptions (your Medicare prescription drug 
coverage), hospitalizations, and, if necessary, 
nursing facility placement 
PACE provides a PACE case manager to coordinate 
the participant’s care 

How and where to apply
MassHealth applicants and members may apply 
for PACE  Call MassOptions at (888) 885-0484 for a 
senior application, and for more information about 
this program 

Managed Care
If you are 65 or older or in a long-term-care facility, 
you are not required to enroll in a managed care 
organization (MCO) plan, a Primary Care Clinician 
(PCC) plan, or an Accountable Care Organization 
(ACO)  You receive your MassHealth benefits on a 
fee-for-service basis by using MassHealth providers, 
unless you choose to enroll in Senior Care Options 
(SCO) or PACE 
Members under 65 in the HCBS waivers programs 
may choose, but are not required, to enroll in an 
MCO plan, a PCC plan, or an ACO if you are not 
covered by other comprehensive health insurance, 
including Medicare  A health plan is a group of 
providers, hospitals, and other professionals who 
work together to help meet your healthcare needs  
If you enroll in an MCO plan, you will have a 90-day 
Plan Selection period when you can change your 
plan for any reason, followed by a Fixed Enrollment 
period when you can only change plans if you meet 
a certain reason 
If you would like more information about MCO 
plans or PCC plans, please review the MassHealth 
Enrollment Guide  To get a copy

 ■ Visit our website at mass gov/masshealth, or
 ■ Call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711

www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
https://www.mass.gov/orgs/masshealth
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SECTION 2 

Applying for MassHealth—for 
People in or Waiting to Go into  
a Long-Term-Care Facility

Long-Term-Care Information

This section gives general information about the 
special eligibility rules for people who are in or are 
waiting to go into a long-term-care facility  If you 
meet these special rules, MassHealth may be able to 
pay for your care in a long-term-care facility  Section 
2 also gives information about how to apply for 
MassHealth 
A long-term-care facility is a type of medical 
institution that includes

 ■ licensed nursing facilities,
 ■ chronic disease and rehabilitation hospitals,
 ■ state hospitals and state schools specifically 

designated as long-term-care facilities, and
 ■ intermediate-care facilities for the intellectually 

disabled 
Long-term-care services are the types of services 
needed if you are frequently ill, permanently 
disabled and need help, or cannot take care of 
yourself  These include medical and personal care 
services  
To be eligible for payment of services in a long-term-
care facility, you must 

 ■ be eligible for MassHealth Standard as a person 
who is
• 65 or older,
• 21 to 64 years old and disabled according to the 

Social Security Administration’s disability rules, 
or pregnant, or

• under 21 years old,
 ■ be determined by MassHealth as medically 

needing long-term-care services, and
 ■ prove that you (and your spouse) meet certain 

income and asset rules 

General Long-Term-Care Eligibility Rules

To decide if you can get MassHealth, we look at 
your income and assets and, in some cases, your 
immigration status 

Residency
You must be a resident of Massachusetts to get 
MassHealth or other healthcare benefits that are 
funded by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts  
Unless otherwise specified in the MassHealth 
regulations, you are a resident of Massachusetts if you 
live in Massachusetts and either intend to reside in 
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Massachusetts, with or without a fixed address, or 
have entered Massachusetts with a job commitment 
or seeking employment  
If you are visiting Massachusetts for personal 
pleasure, such as for vacation, or for the purposes 
of receiving medical care in a setting other than 
a nursing facility, you do not meet residency 
requirements for MassHealth 
A person’s residency will be considered proven if 
they have self-declared to being a Massachusetts 
resident, and the residency has been confirmed 
by electronic data matching with federal or state 
agencies, or information services, or the individual 
has provided any of the following documents 

 ■ A copy of the deed and record of the most recent 
mortgage payment (if the mortgage was paid in 
full, a copy of the property tax bill from the most 
recent year)

 ■ A current utility bill or work order dated within 
the past 60 days

 ■ A statement from a homeless shelter or homeless 
service provider

 ■ School records (if school is private, additional 
documentation may be requested)

 ■ Nursery school or day care records (if school 
is private, additional documentation may be 
requested)

 ■ A Section 8 agreement
 ■ A homeowners’ insurance agreement
 ■ Proof of enrollment of custodial dependent in 

public school
 ■ A copy of the lease AND record of the most recent 

rent payment
If you cannot give us any of the documents listed 
above, you may submit an affidavit to prove your 
residency  It must state that you are not visiting 
Massachusetts for personal pleasure (for example, 
vacation) or for purposes of receiving medical care 
in a setting other than a nursing facility  It must be 
signed under the pains and penalties of perjury 

Social Security Numbers
You must give us a social security number (SSN) 
or proof that one has been applied for for every 
household member who is applying, unless one of 
the following exceptions applies 

 ■ You or any household member has a religious 
exemption as described in federal law 

 ■ You or any household member is eligible only for 
a nonwork SSN 

 ■ You or any household member is not eligible for 
an SSN  See Section 7 for an explanation on our 
authority to use or disclose your SSN 

General Asset Rules
MassHealth looks at the current value of any assets 
owned by you and compares them to the asset 
limits  For the most updated information about 
assets and other figures that MassHealth uses 
to determine eligibility go to mass gov/service-
details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-
masshealth-applicants-and-members  If you are 
married and live with your spouse, we count the 
value of assets owned by you and your spouse 

Countable Assets
Countable assets include, but are not limited to, 
the value of bank accounts, certificates of deposit, 
mutual funds, stocks and bonds, and the value of 
real estate property, except your home, if it meets 
eligibility requirements 

Noncountable Assets
Noncountable assets include the following 

 ■ The home you live in if it is located in 
Massachusetts and meets other eligibility 
requirements  If you move out of your home to 
live in a long-term-care facility or other medical 
institution, other rules may apply  See “How We 
Count Assets and the Home” on page 19 

 ■ One vehicle for each household 
 ■ Life insurance policies for both you and your 

spouse if the total face value for each of you is 
$1,500 or less (Face value of term policies is not 
counted) 

 ■ Burial plots 
 ■ Up to $1,500 per person for you and your spouse 

that is specifically set aside for funeral and burial 
expenses  This amount must be in separate, 
identifiable accounts, or may be in the form 
of life-insurance policies specifically set up for 
funeral and burial expenses if the total face value 
for each of you is $1,500 or less 

 ■ An irrevocable burial trust or prepaid irrevocable 
burial contract set up in reasonable amounts for 
future payment of funeral or burial expenses 

www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
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Asset Rules for People Who Are in or Are 
Waiting to Go into a Long-Term-Care Facility 
and People Living at Home Needing Long-
Term-Care Services

Amount You and Your Spouse Can Keep
 ■ You may keep $2,000  
 ■ Your spouse at home may keep up to a certain 

amount, which changes every January  This 
amount may also be increased as a result of an 
appeal  (See the MassHealth regulations at 130 
CMR 520 000 ) MassHealth must follow special 
rules when determining how much the spouse at 
home may keep 

NOTE: Your spouse at home has the right to ask for 
a fair hearing to determine if they can keep 
more of your combined assets 

How We Count Assets and the Home 
If the equity interest in your home is over the 
allowable limit, you may be ineligible for payment of 
long-term-care services, unless one of the following 
relatives is living in your home:

 ■ your spouse,
 ■ a permanently and totally disabled child,
 ■ a blind child, or
 ■ a child under 21 years old 

In certain cases, MassHealth may waive this 
requirement if undue hardship exists  For the most 
updated information about assets and other figures 
MassHealth uses to determine eligibility go to mass 
gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-
for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members 
If you move out of your home to live in a medical 
institution, MassHealth decides if your former home 
is a countable asset because it is no longer your 
principal place of residence 
Your home is not countable if you have moved to a 
medical institution and

 ■ your spouse lives in your home or certain other 
relatives who meet specific rules live in your 
home,

 ■ you intend to return home, or
 ■ you have long-term-care insurance that meets 

certain requirements 

If none of the above three situations applies to you, 
the value of your home may be counted, but you 
will be allowed nine months to sell the property (in 
certain cases, you will be allowed even more time) 
NOTE:  Although we may not count the value of your 

home, we may claim money from your estate 
after your death, or from the sale of your home 
while you are in a long-term-care facility  For 
more information about real estate liens and 
estate recovery, see below and page 34 

How We Count Transfers of Income, Assets, and 
the Home
If you or your spouse gave away or transferred 
assets or income for less than what they were worth, 
MassHealth may not be able to pay for your nursing 
facility services (or for services equal to those 
provided in a nursing facility) for a certain period 
of time  MassHealth reviews all transfers, including 
transfers into and out of trusts, that were made 
during the period of time up to 60 months before the 
date you applied for MassHealth, or before the date 
you or your spouse entered a medical institution, 
whichever is later 
The transfer rules apply to the following

 ■ people living at home who are applying for or 
getting MassHealth on the basis of the Home- and 
Community-Based Services Waiver,

 ■ people applying for or getting MassHealth who 
are living in a medical institution, and

 ■ any assets, including your home, or income in 
which you or your spouse have a legal interest 
and that are transferred to anyone other than 
your spouse and certain others  However, you 
may transfer your home under certain conditions 
according to MassHealth rules 

If you received MassHealth benefits and you 
transferred property for less than what it was worth, 
MassHealth may take legal action to set aside the 
transfer  This means that a court may determine 
that you still legally own the property  For more 
information about estate recovery, see page 40 

 See the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 520.000 for more 
information.

www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members
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Liens on Property, Including the Home
MassHealth will place a real estate lien on any 
property in which you have a legal interest, unless 
the property is your former home and one of the 
following relatives is living in the property

 ■ your spouse,
 ■ a sibling with a legal interest who has lived there 

for at least one year immediately before you went 
into a long-term-care facility,

 ■ a permanently and totally disabled child,
 ■ a blind child, or
 ■ a child under 21 years old 

A lien is placed only after MassHealth decides that 
it is not likely that you will return home from the 
long-term-care facility, and sends a notice that 
it intends to place a lien  If you are discharged 
from the facility and return home, MassHealth will 
remove its lien  If you sell the property during your 
lifetime, MassHealth has the right to get back from 
your share of the proceeds any money it paid for all 
services you got from MassHealth on or after April 1, 
1995  MassHealth will count any remaining proceeds 
when deciding if you can still remain eligible for 
MassHealth  
In certain cases, MassHealth may decide not to use 
its lien during a person’s lifetime to get paid back 
for long-term-care services  For information about 
recovery and long-term-care insurance, see page 34 

 See the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 515.000 for more 
information.

The Patient-Paid Amount

You may have to make a monthly payment to the 
long-term care facility  This is called your patient-
paid amount  (Your spouse living at home does 
not have to contribute any of their income toward 
the cost of your care ) Your patient-paid amount is 
determined using the following income deductions 

A personal needs allowance
The amount (set by state and federal law, in most 
cases $72 80 a month) that you are allowed to keep 
for personal expenses, like clothing, haircuts, and 
activities 

A spousal maintenance needs allowance
A deduction, based on financial need, for the living 
expenses of your spouse who is living at home  The 
minimum allowance changes every July, and the 
maximum allowance changes every January, and 
can vary if your spouse has extra shelter expenses  
(See the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 
520 000 ) The maximum amount can be higher as a 
result of an appeal or a court order 

A family maintenance needs allowance
A deduction for the living expenses of certain family 
members who live with your spouse at home  

A home maintenance allowance
A deduction for your home expenses if you are 
single and a medical decision has been made that 
you are expected to return home within six months  
The current monthly allowance is $1,255  (This 
amount is in effect as of March 1,2024 )

A medical expense allowance
A deduction for health insurance premiums and 
certain other incurred medical expenses (including 
allowable guardianship fees) not payable by any 
insurer 

Applying for MassHealth 

How to apply 
1  Fill out the Senior Application including the Long-

Term-Care Supplement 
2  Send us the filled-out and signed application and 

the Long-Term-Care Supplement with proof of 
the following 
• Your monthly income before taxes and 

deductions (such as a copy of your pension 
stub or award letter)  You do not need to 
send us proof of your Social Security or SSI 
income  If employed, send proof of your 
monthly employment income before taxes and 
deductions, such as two recent pay stubs or a 
US tax return  If self-employed, send a US tax 
return, or if no US tax return has been filed, 
you may submit a Profit and Loss Statement 
for the last 12 months signed by an accountant 
(or you, if no accountant was used)  Current 
business records showing other relevant 
documents may be submitted as acceptable 
proof of self-employment 
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• The current value of your assets (such as 
copies of your current bank statements*) 

• Your US citizenship/national status and 
identity  (See Section 8 for information about 
acceptable forms of proof, immigration status, 
and eligibility for benefits )

* Under Chapter 125 of the Acts of 2008: An Act Relative to Exempting 
Seniors from Certain Bank Fees, financial institutions cannot charge 
seniors for copies of bank or other financial records if MassHealth is 
asking for the information.

We will compare information with other agencies 
and information sources when we receive an 
application, at annual review, and periodically to 
update or prove eligibility  
These agencies and information sources may 
include, but are not limited to the following 
agencies: Federal Data Services Hub; Department 
of Unemployment Assistance; the Bureau of Vital 
Statistics in the Department of Public Health; 
Department of Industrial Accidents; Department 
of Veterans’ Services; Department of Revenue; 
Bureau of Special Investigations; Social Security 
Administration; Systematic Alien Verification 
for Entitlements; Department of Transitional 
Assistance; health-insurance carriers; and banks 
and other financial institutions  Information about 
people listed on your application may be shared 
with the Department of Unemployment Assistance 
and such peoples’ employers as necessary to 
administer the Employer Medical Assistance 
Contribution (EMAC) requirements of MGL c 149 s 
189A 
3  After you have filled out the Senior Application 

and any needed supplements, send your 
application by 
Mail or fax to:  
MassHealth Enrollment Center  
PO Box 290794 
Charlestown, MA  02129-0214 
Fax: (617) 887-8799

 In person to 
MassHealth Enrollment Center  
The Schrafft Center 
529 Main Street, Suite 1M 
Charlestown, MA  02129 

Where to call
Call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 if you need 
the following 

 ■ A Senior Application,
 ■ a Senior Guide to Healthcare Coverage in another 

language,
 ■ interpreter services,
 ■ help filling out the Senior Application, or
 ■ help with any questions about the application 

process 
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SECTION 3

Special Income Eligibility Rules 
through MassHealth Standard—
for People 65 or Older Needing 
Personal-Care-Attendant 
Services to Live at Home*

* Section 3 applies only to people with income over 100% of the 
federal poverty level (see chart on the inside back cover). People  of 
any age with income at or below 100% of the federal poverty level 
do not need to meet these special income eligibility rules to get 
MassHealth or to get personal-care-attendant (PCA) services paid 
for by MassHealth. 

How does my need for MassHealth 
personal-care-attendant (PCA) services 
affect the way MassHealth decides if I can 
get MassHealth?

If, according to the chart on the inside back cover, 
we decide that your income is over 100% of the 
federal poverty level and you are 65 or older, we 
may be able to count less of your nonworking 
income when deciding if you can get MassHealth  
Special MassHealth eligibility rules would then 
apply, which are explained below 

What does MassHealth mean by PCA 
services?

The types of services offered by the MassHealth 
PCA Program through MassHealth Standard may 
help you if you are elderly and have a permanent 
or long-lasting disability that keeps you from being 
able to do your daily living activities, like bathing, 
grooming, eating, getting dressed, toileting, moving 
around, taking your medicines, etc , unless someone 
physically helps you  By getting PCA services, some 
people can live at home instead of living in a long-
term-care facility 

 For more information, see MassHealth PCA regulations at 130 CMR 
422.000.

Who can get MassHealth PCA services?

Not everyone can get MassHealth PCA services  To 
get PCA services, you must

 ■ have a permanent or long-lasting disability,
 ■ need someone to physically help you with your 

daily living activities, like those listed above, 
which you cannot do by yourself,

 ■ have a doctor’s written authorization that you 
need PCA services, and

 ■ get prior authorization from MassHealth 



19Senior Guide to Health Care Coverage

How do I tell MassHealth that I am now 
getting or think I need PCA services?

If you are now getting or think you may need PCA 
services because of your disability, you may tell us 
when you fill out a Senior Application (if you are 
applying for MassHealth)  The application has a 
separate PCA section with three questions about your 
need for PCA services, as explained below  

 ■ You must answer the first question in the PCA 
section 

 ■ If you are now getting MassHealth PCA services, 
and want to continue getting MassHealth PCA 
services, answer only question 1 in the PCA 
section  MassHealth will send you a notice telling 
you about our decision 

 ■ If you think you need PCA services, you must also 
answer questions 2 and 3 in the PCA section  
If you answer “YES” to questions 2 and 3, you 
must also fill out Supplement C: Personal Care 
Attendant  The PCA Supplement is enclosed with 
the Senior Application and the renewal form 

If you are an existing MassHealth member, the PCA 
Supplement can be completed as a free-standing 
form, which can be found atmass gov/files/
documents/2018/11/20/pca-supp pdf 

What happens next?

We will review your statement of need for PCA 
services and your filled-out PCA Supplement so we 
can decide if you need any PCA services  We will 
send you a notice telling you about our decision 

What must I do if MassHealth agrees that I 
may need PCA services?

If we decide that you need PCA services, and we 
count less of your income, and we decide you can 
get MassHealth, you should do the following 

 ■ You must contact a MassHealth personal care 
management (PCM) agency to set up PCA services 
within 90 days of the date we decide you can 
get MassHealth  To get a list of MassHealth PCM 
agencies, call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 

 ■ We will tell you if you need to give us proof that 
you have contacted a MassHealth PCM agency 

Important: When the PCM agency you have chosen 
accepts you for PCA services, you will become the 
employer of your own PCA  This means that you are 
responsible to find, hire, train, and fire (if needed) 
your own PCA  You will also have to follow special 
rules to make sure your PCA gets paid on time  The 
PCM agency can tell you how to get help with these 
duties  MassHealth may not pay certain members of 
your family to be your PCA 
To find out more about the MassHealth Personal 
Care Attendant Program, call us at (800) 841-2900, 
TDD/TTY: 711 
For the most up-to-date eligibility figures, go to 
mass gov/service-details/eligibility-figures-tables-
for-masshealth-applicants-and-members 

www.mass.gov/files/documents/2018/11/20/pca-supp.pdf
www.mass.gov/files/documents/2018/11/20/pca-supp.pdf
www.mass.gov/service-details/eligibility-figures-tables-for-masshealth-applicants-and-members
www.mass.gov/service-details/eligibility-figures-tables-for-masshealth-applicants-and-members
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SECTION 4

Massachusetts Health Connector

The Massachusetts Health Connector provides 
access to health and dental insurance plans for 
individuals, families, and small businesses 
Health coverage through the Massachusetts Health 
Connector is not the same as MassHealth  

Health Connector Eligibility and Medicare 
Eligibility 

If you are eligible for Medicare you will not be able 
to get a ConnectorCare plan or tax credit to help 
lower the cost of your health insurance  You will 
only be eligible for a Health Connector dental plan 
without any financial help  The only exception to 
this is if you are eligible for a Medicare Part A plan 
that has a premium, but you have not enrolled in 
it yet  In this case, you may still qualify for health 
coverage and for help paying for health coverage 
through the Health Connector 
Generally, you can qualify to buy a health and/or 
dental insurance plan through the Health Connector 
if you meet the following requirements 

 ■ You are a resident of Massachusetts 
 ■ You are a US citizen/national or are lawfully 

present in the United States  
 ■ You are not in prison, unless you are waiting trial 

You have the option of choosing to buy a health 
coverage plan through the Health Connector if you 
are 65 or older  You may be eligible for a tax credit 
to lower your monthly premiums, or ConnectorCare 
plans, which have low premiums and low out-
of-pocket costs  See the “Advance Premium Tax 
Credits” section below for more details   
If you are not eligible for a tax credit or 
ConnectorCare plan, and you want health coverage 
through the Health Connector, you will be 
responsible for the full cost of the plan 

Health Connector Plans

All of the health plans offered provide full health 
benefits, including visits to the doctor or hospital, 
and prescriptions  The Health Connector’s plans 
are described below using metallic terms to make it 
easier for you to compare them 

 ■ Platinum plans have the highest premium, but 
the lowest copays and deductibles  
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 ■ Gold and Silver plans have lower premiums, but 
higher copays and deductibles 

 ■ Bronze plans have the lowest premiums, but the 
highest copays and deductibles  

Each health plan also has different doctors, 
hospitals, and other providers in its networks 

Premium Tax Credits

Premium Tax Credits are a way to lower the cost 
of your insurance premiums  The amount of your 
tax credit depends on your household size, your 
income, and the cost of health plans available to 
you  You can find out whether you qualify for a 
tax credit, and how much the credit will be after 
submitting an application 
If you qualify for a Premium Tax Credit, you can 
choose to get it at the end of the year when you 
file your taxes , or you can apply it towards your 
insurance premium each month, as an Advance 
Premium Tax Credit  The advance tax credit will be 
sent directly to your insurance company so that you 
pay less each month  

ConnectorCare plans

In addition to Advance Premium Tax Credits 
from the federal government, you may also be 
able to get help paying for health insurance from 
Massachusetts through a ConnectorCare health 
insurance plan  ConnectorCare plans are a set 
of health insurance plans with lower monthly 
premiums, no deductibles, and lower co-pays  

Special cost sharing for American Indians 
and Alaska Natives

American Indians and Alaska Natives may be able 
to get additional help paying for care  If you are an 
American Indian and you get services directly from 
an Indian Health Service facility, from a tribal or 
urban Indian organization, or through the Contract 
Health Service program, you will not have to pay 
any out-of-pocket costs at the time you get care  You 
will also be able to enroll in or change health plans 
on a monthly basis throughout the year  American 
Indians and Alaska Natives with income at or below 
300% of the FPL will not have to pay out-of-pocket 
costs such as copays, deductibles, and coinsurance 

Eligibility for Advance Premium Tax Credits 
and ConnectorCare 

 ■ ConnectorCare plans may be available for 
households with income at 500% of the federal 
poverty level (FPL) or lower 

 ■ Advance Premium Tax Credits (APTC) may be 
availableat any income  The amount you qualify 
for is based on your income and the cost of plans 
available to you  APTC helps limit the cost of 
monthly premiums so that you have health plan 
choices that are not more than 8 5% of your 
household income  You may also qualify for tax 
credits if you are a lawfully present immigrant 
with an income that is at or below 100% of the 
FPL 

To qualify for Advance Premium Tax Credits and 
ConnectorCare, you will also need to meet the 
following requirements 

 ■ You are not enrolled in Medicare  
 ■ You are not eligible for premium-free Medicare 

Part A 
 ■ You are unable to buy health insurance through 

an employer that meets “minimum value” 
requirements and is affordable  

 ■ You are not eligible for coverage under a 
government sponsored plan, such as MassHealth 
and TRICARE  

 ■ You agree to file federal income taxes for each 
year that you get benefits  

 ■ You agree to file taxes jointly if you are married 

How do I know if my employer’s plan meets 
minimum value standards?

“Minimum value” standards mean that the health 
plan will pay at least 60% of the total cost of 
medical services for a standard population  The 
other 40% of costs would be paid by members 
through deductibles, co-pays, and co-insurance  
Most employer plans meet the Minimum Value 
standards  To find out if your employer’s plan meets 
these standards, talk to your human resources 
department or the health plan 



22

Which employer plans are considered 
“affordable”?

Under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care 
Act (ACA), your employer’s plan is considered 
affordable in 2025 if the lowest-cost plan  costs less 
than 9 02% of your household’s income  

Tax filing requirements

To get tax credits or a ConnectorCare plan, you need 
to file income taxes for the year when you got tax 
credits or a ConnectorCare plan  If you are married, 
you need to file your income taxes jointly, unless 
you are a victim of domestic abuse or have been 
abandoned by your spouse  You do not have to file 
taxes to get MassHealth, CMSP, or HSN benefits   
If you have ever received an Advance Premium Tax 
Credit (APTC) in the past or had a ConnectorCare 
plan, you are required to “reconcile” the tax credit 
you received with the IRS  To reconcile, you need 
to file IRS Form 8962 with your federal income tax 
return  Form 8962 has information the IRS uses to 
see if you got the right amount of tax credit to lower 
your health insurance premiums throughout the 
year  
If you received too much tax credit in advance, you 
could owe some or all of it back to the IRS  If you 
received too little tax credit, you could get back the 
amount you overpaid  
You will need to file Form 8962 with your taxes every 
year you receive an APTC 

Premiums

If you have a monthly premium, it must be paid by 
the 23rd of every month  When you enroll in a plan 
through the Health Connector, you will need to pay 
your first premium by the 23rd of the month before 
your coverage can start 

Coverage begins

After you qualify for a health or dental insurance 
plan through the Health Connector, you must 
complete your enrollment before your coverage 
can begin  To finish enrolling, you must choose a 
health and/or dental insurance plan and pay your 
first premium bill by the 23rd of the month  Once 
you have chosen a plan and paid your first bill, your 
coverage will begin on the first day of the following 
month 
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SECTION 5

The Health Safety Net

The Health Safety Net (HSN) pays Massachusetts 
acute hospitals and community health centers 
for certain healthcare services provided to low-
income patients  HSN pays for services provided to 
Massachusetts residents with household income at 
or below 300% of the federal poverty level  Eligibility 
for the HSN is determined by MassHealth 

Who can get benefits

The HSN may be able to pay for certain services 
you receive from an acute hospital or a community 
health center if you are a resident of Massachusetts 
and are uninsured or underinsured (your health 
insurance does not cover all medically necessary 
services) 

Income standards

You must give us proof of your Modified Adjusted 
Gross Income (MAGI) income for every person 
in your household  The HSN generally covers 
individuals with household income at or below 
300% of the federal poverty level  If your income is 
above 150% of the federal poverty level, and at or 
below 300%, an annual deductible based on income 
may apply  The deductible is a certain amount of 
healthcare costs you are responsible for  Both paid 
and unpaid bills can count toward your deductible  
Only services that the HSN can pay for will count 
toward your deductible  Private doctor and 
private lab or radiology bills do not count toward 
the deductible, even if you get these services in a 
hospital  Ask your provider which bills can count 
toward your deductible 

Covered services

For the HSN, services must be provided by a 
Massachusetts acute hospital or community health 
center  The HSN will generally pay for the same 
services that are covered by MassHealth Standard  
The HSN pays for some pharmacy services, but you 
must fill your prescription at a pharmacy associated 
with the doctor who wrote your prescription  There 
may be some limits, so you should always check 
with a provider to see if they offer the service  You 
may be charged a deductible 

Some of the services not covered

Some noncovered services are listed below  You 
should check with your provider to find out the full 
list of what is and is not covered 

 ■ Physicians that are not employed by the hospital, 
even if they work at the hospital

 ■ Ambulance services
 ■ Lab charges that are not billed by a 

Massachusetts acute care hospital or community 
health center
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 ■ Radiology services that are not billed by a 
Massachusetts acute care hospital or community 
health center

 ■ Durable medical equipment, except crutches and 
canes provided during a medical visit

 ■ Nonmedical services (social, educational, 
vocational)

 ■ Nonmedically necessary services
 ■ Experimental or unproven services

 A more detailed description of the services covered and any 
limitations can be found in the HSN regulations at 101 CMR 613.00.

Coverage begins

If we get all needed information within 90 days 
and you are eligible, your HSN eligibility may begin 
up to 10 days before the date MassHealth gets 
your application  Ask your provider if you have 
retroactive HSN eligibility 

Deductible income standard

If your MAGI income is above 150% of the federal 
poverty level, you may be responsible for a 
deductible  An HSN deductible is equal to either the 
current annual cost of the lowest ConnectorCare 
monthly premium ($612 as of the date of the 
publication of this Senior Guide), or 40% of the 
difference between the lowest MAGI income in your 
Premium Billing Family Group and 200% of the 
federal poverty level, whichever is higher 

Medical hardship

Medical hardship is a type of HSN assistance 
available to individuals or their family whose 
medical expenses have become so large that 
they are unable to pay their medical bills  
Medical hardship applications may be completed 
by financial counselors at acute hospitals or 
community health centers  Applicants can apply no 
more than twice within a 12-month period 

Grievance process

Patients may ask the HSN to conduct a review of 
a medical hardship eligibility determination, or of 
provider compliance with HSN regulations  To file a 
grievance with the HSN, send a letter to

Health Safety Net Office 
Attn  HSN Grievances 
100 Hancock Street, 6th Floor 
Quincy, MA  02171 

The letter should include your name and address, 
and, if possible, information about the situation, 
the reason for the grievance, the provider’s name 
(if a provider is involved), and any other relevant 
information  If you have questions about filing a 
grievance, call the HSN Help Line at (877) 910-2100 
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SECTION 6

MassHealth and Other Benefits
The MassHealth coverage types are briefly explained 
on the following pages  If you have a question about 
which services are covered, call us at (800) 841-2900, 
TDD/TTY: 711 

MassHealth Coverage Types

Standard
MassHealth Standard is the most complete coverage 
offered by MassHealth  It pays for a wide range of 
health-care benefits , including long-term-care 
services or short-term stays in a skilled nursing 
facility  

Immigration Status and MassHealth Standard
Even if you think you cannot get MassHealth 
Standard because of your immigration status, you 
may still qualify if you meet certain clinical, income, 
and asset rules  

Coverage Start Date (if eligible)
Coverage generally begins on the first date of the 
month that MassHealth gets your filled-out and 
signed Senior Application  If you have unpaid 
medical bills, coverage may begin up to three 
months before the month of your application if you 
can prove you would have met the eligibility rules  
If you are applying for long-term care at home or in 
a facility, the date your coverage begins is subject to 
other rules 

Covered Services
For MassHealth Standard, covered services include 
the ones listed below  There may be some limits  
Your healthcare provider can explain them 

 ■ Inpatient hospital services *
 ■ Outpatient services: hospitals, clinics, doctors, 

dentists, and home healthcare 
 ■ Medical services: lab tests, x-rays, therapy, 

prescription drugs dentures, eyeglasses, hearing 
aids, and medical equipment and supplies *

 ■ Acupuncture services **

 ■ Mental health and substance use disorder 
services: inpatient and outpatient 

 ■ Hospice services—special rules apply 
 ■ Pharmacy **

 ■ Transportation—special rules apply 
 ■ Personal care attendant services—special rules 

apply  
 ■ Long-term-care services—special rules apply 
 ■ Chronic disease and rehabilitation inpatient 

hospital services—special rules apply  
 ■ Adult day health and adult foster care 
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 ■ Care and services related to an organ transplant 
procedure (if approved) 

 ■ Payment of Medicare cost sharing—Medicare Part 
A and B premiums and nonpharmacy Medicare 
copays and deductibles 

* Certain restrictions can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 415.000.

** Certain restrictions can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 447.000.

A complete listing and a more detailed description of the services 
covered can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 
450.105

MassHealth CommonHealth
MassHealth CommonHealth offers healthcare 
benefits similar to MassHealth Standard to disabled 
adults who cannot get MassHealth Standard  
Benefits may include services in a skilled nursing 
facility for up to six months 

Who can get benefits
You may be able to get MassHealth CommonHealth 
if you are a resident of Massachusetts and area 
disabled adult who works 40 hours or more a month 
or is currently working and has worked at least 240 
hours in the six months immediately before the 
month of the application  You may also be able to 
get MassHealth CommonHealth even if you are not 
working, but you had been getting CommonHealth 
for at least ten years 
MassHealth decides if you are disabled according 
to the standards set by federal and state law  For an 
adult, this generally means you have a mental or 
physical condition that severely limits your ability 
to work or to do certain activities for at least 12 
months 

Income standards
If your household income is above 150% of the 
FPL, you will have to pay monthly premiums   The 
amount of the premium is based on

 ■ your monthly income, as it compares to the FPL,
 ■ your household size, and
 ■ if you have other health insurance 

If you must pay a premium, we will tell you the 
amount and send you a bill every month 

Covered services
For MassHealth CommonHealth, covered services 
include the ones listed below  There may be some 
limits  Your healthcare provider can explain them 

 ■ Inpatient hospital services *
 ■ Outpatient services: hospitals, clinics, doctors, 

dentists, family planning, and vision care 
 ■ Medical services: lab tests, x-rays, therapies, 

pharmacy services, eyeglasses, hearing aids, 
medical equipment and supplies, adult day 
health, and adult foster care  

 ■ Acupuncture services ***

 ■ Behavioral health (mental health and substance 
abuse) services 

 ■ Long-term-care services at home or in a long-
term-care facility, including home health services 

 ■ Transportation services **

 ■ Quit-smoking services 

* Certain restrictions can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 415.000.

** Certain restrictions can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 407.000.

*** Certain restrictions can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 447.000.

A complete listing and a more detailed description of the services 
covered can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 
450.105. 

Family Assistance 
MassHealth Family Assistance is available to 
seniors who meet the income and asset rules for 
MassHealth Standard, but have an immigration 
status that keeps them from getting MassHealth 
Standard  Family Assistance pays for short-term 
stays in a skilled nursing facility for up to six months   
Family Assistance does not pay for long-term care 
but if a member is clinically eligible to receive 
services in a skilled nursing facility or long-term 
services and supports while living at home and meet 
the income and asset rules for MassHealth Standard, 
they may be eligible for MassHealth Standard   

Coverage Start Date (if eligible)
Coverage generally begins on the first date of the 
month that MassHealth gets your filled-out and 
signed Senior Application  If you have unpaid 
medical bills, coverage may begin up to three 
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months before the month of your application if you 
can prove you would have met the eligibility rules 

Covered Services
For MassHealth Family Assistance, covered services 
include the ones listed below  There may be some 
limits  Your healthcare provider can explain them 

 ■ Inpatient hospital services *
 ■ Outpatient services: hospitals, clinics, doctors, 

and dentists 
 ■ Medical services: lab tests, x-rays, therapy, 

prescription drugs, dentures, and medical 
equipment and supplies *

 ■ Acupuncture services **

 ■ Mental health and substance use disorder 
services: inpatient and outpatient  

 ■ Pharmacy *** 
 ■ Ambulance transportation for an emergency 

medical condition only 

*  There may be some limitations, including age.

**  Certain restrictions can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 447.000

*** If you are eligible for both Medicare and MassHealth, Medicare 
provides most of your prescription drug coverage through a 
Medicare prescription drug plan. This means you must choose and 
enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan. If you do not choose a 
drug plan, Medicare will choose one for you. You may change plans 
at any time.

Emergency Aid to Elderly, Disabled and 
Children (EAEDC)
Individuals 65 or older who are getting cash 
assistance through the Department of Transitional 
Assistance’s EAEDC program are eligible for 
MassHealth Standard or MassHealth Family 
Assistance 
NOTE: If you are getting cash benefits under the 

EAEDC program through the Department 
of Transitional Assistance, you will also get 
medical coverage under the EAEDC program 

MassHealth Limited 
MassHealth Limited coverage is available to people 
65 or older who meet the income and asset rules 
for MassHealth Standard or MassHealth Family 
Assistance, but have an immigration status that 
keeps them from getting MassHealth Standard or 
Family Assistance  MassHealth Limited doesn’t 
pay for long-term care  Coverage is for emergency 
medical services only 

Coverage Start Date (if eligible)
Coverage generally begins on the first date of the 
month that MassHealth gets your filled-out and 
signed Senior Application  If you have unpaid 
medical bills, coverage may begin up to three 
months before the month of your application if you 
can prove you would have met the eligibility rules 

Covered Services
For MassHealth Limited, covered services include 
the ones listed below  You can get care only for 
medical emergencies (conditions that could cause 
serious harm if not treated)  There may be some 
limits  Your healthcare provider can explain them 

 ■ Inpatient hospital services: emergency services 
only 

 ■ Outpatient hospital services: emergency services 
and emergency visits to emergency departments 

 ■ Certain medical services provided by doctors and 
clinics in settings other than a hospital 

 ■ Pharmacy services for treating an emergency 
medical condition 

 ■ Ambulance transportation for an emergency 
medical condition only 

MassHealth Medicare Savings Programs
The MassHealth Medicare Savings programs help 
pay some of the out-of-pocket costs of Medicare  
If you qualify MassHealth will pay your monthly 
Medicare Part B premium   In some cases, a 
Medicare Savings Program may pay your out-
of-pocket Medicare Part A and Part B costs and 
your Part A, premium if you have one   If you are 
in a Medicare Savings program, you will also be 
automatically enrolled in the Medicare Part D Extra 
Help program, which can help with pharmacy costs 
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Coverage Start Date
Coverage begins with the month that MassHealth 
gets your filled-out and signed Senior Application 
and may begin up to three months before the month 
of your application 

 For more information about Medicare Savings Programs, go to 130 
CMR 519.010 and 519.011.  

A complete listing and details of the covered services can be found 
in the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 450.105, CMR 415.000 
(inpatient hospital services), and 407.000 (transportation services). 
More information on copays can be found at 130 CMR 450.130. 

Other Programs 

Senior Care Options (SCO) Program 

What it is and whom it is for
Senior Care Options (SCO) is a comprehensive 
health program that covers all of the services 
normally paid for through Medicare and MassHealth  
The SCO program provides services to members 
through a SCO plan and its network of providers  
SCO provides quality healthcare by combining 
health services with social support services  It does 
this by coordinating care and specialized geriatric 
support services, along with respite care for families 
and caregivers 
There are no copays for members enrolled in SCO 
Enrollment is open to MassHealth Standard 
members who meet the following criteria:

 ■ You are 65 or older 
 ■ You live at home or in a long-term-care facility 

(a member cannot be an inpatient at a chronic 
or rehabilitation hospital, or reside in an 
intermediate care facility for the intellectually 
disabled) 

 ■ You are not subject to a six-month deductible 
period under MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 
520 000 

 ■ You are not diagnosed with end-stage renal 
disease  

 ■ You live in an area served by a SCO plan 
SCO offers seniors the benefits of coordinated care 
services  Members enrolled in SCO have 24-hour 
access to care and active involvement in decisions 
about their healthcare  SCO members have a 
primary care provider (PCP) who is affiliated with 
the SCO plan  The member’s PCP and a team of 

nurses, specialists, and a geriatric support services 
coordinator work with the member (and family 
members or caregivers, if applicable) to develop a 
plan of care to specifically address the needs of the 
member  
Covered services include all MassHealth and 
Medicare covered services, for example: meal 
delivery, transportation, adult day health, social 
services, prescriptions*, hospitalizations, and, if 
necessary, nursing facility placement 
Enrollment in SCO is voluntary, and once enrolled, a 
member may disenroll any month of the year 

* SCO provides your Medicare prescription drug coverage.

Where to call
Senior Care Options at (888) 885-0484, TDD/TTY: 711 
The following MassHealth benefits are some of 
the wide range of community, residential, and 
institutional long-term supports available to people 
65 or older or disabled people 

Group Adult Foster Care
If you need help with daily personal care and need 
to live in supported housing or an assisted living 
residence, group adult foster care may be right 
for you  If applying for group adult foster care in 
assisted living, the SSI-G living arrangement through 
the Social Security Administration may be an 
option 

Adult Foster Care 
If you need help with daily personal care, and would 
like to get that care in a family, home-like setting, 
adult foster care may be right for you 

Adult Day Health 
If you need help with personal care and/or nursing 
services provided in a medically supervised, 
structured day program setting, adult day health 
may be right for you 

Day Habilitation Program 
If you are a person with intellectual or 
developmental disabilities and need assistance 
to develop skills designed to help keep you 
independent in the community, the Day Habilitation 
Program may be right for you 



29Senior Guide to Health Care Coverage

Nursing Facility Care
If you need skilled nursing services provided in an 
institutional setting on a short- or long-term basis, 
nursing facility care may be right for you 

Requirements to be met are the following.
 ■ A doctor’s approval stating that these services are 

right for you 
 ■ A clinical approval from the designated clinical 

agent **

 ■ The need for daily personal care **

 ■ Financial requirements as described in this guide 

**  Not required for the Day Habilitation Program

Where to call
For general financial questions about MassHealth 
call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 
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SECTION 7

Your Rights, Responsibilities, and 
Other Important Information You 
Should Know about MassHealth

Confidentiality and fair treatment

MassHealth complies with applicable federal civil 
rights laws  We do not discriminate against, exclude, 
or treat people differently because of race; color; 
national origin; age; disability; religion; creed; 
sexual orientation; sex; gender identity;  or gender 
expression 
MassHealth provides free aids and services to 
people with disabilities or whose primary language 
is not English  They include the following 

 ■ Qualified sign language interpreters
 ■ Written information in other languages and in 

other formats, including large print, braille, and 
accessible electronic formats, in accordance with 
the requirements of federal and state law  

If you need these services, contact us at (800) 841-2900, 
TDD/TTY: 711 
If you believe that MassHealth has failed to provide 
these services or discriminated in another way on 
the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, 
religion, creed, sexual orientation, or sex including 
gender identity and gender expression, you can file a 
grievance with: 

Section 1557 Compliance Coordinator 
1 Ashburton Place, 11th Floor 
Boston, MA  02108
Phone: (617) 573-1704, TTY: (617) 573-1696 
Fax: (617) 889-7862, or  
Email: Section1557Coordinator@state ma us   

If you need help filing a grievance, the Section 1557 
Compliance Coordinator can help you  
You can also file a civil rights complaint with the US 
Department of Health and Human Services, Office 
for Civil Rights in the following ways:
Electronically through the Office for Civil Rights 
Complaint Portal at https://ocrportal hhs gov/ocr/
portal/lobby jsf
Mail

US Department of Health and Human Services 
200 Independence Avenue SW  
Room 509F, HHH Building 
Washington, DC  20201, or 
Phone at (800) 368-1019,  
TTY/TDD: (800) 537-7697   
Complaint forms are available at  
www hhs gov/ocr/office/file/index html 

https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf
https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf
www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html
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MassHealth and the Massachusetts Health 
Connector are committed to keeping your personal 
information confidential  All personal information 
we have about any applicant or member, including 
medical data, health status, and the personal 
information you give us during your application 
for and receipt of benefits is confidential  This 
information cannot be used or released for purposes 
not related to the administration of MassHealth 
or the Health Connector without your permission 
unless required by law or a court order  
You can give us your written permission to use your 
personal health information for a specific purpose 
or share it with a specific person or organization  
You can also give us your permission to share 
your personal information with your authorized 
representative, Certified Application Counselor 
(CAC), or Navigator, if you have one, by filling out an 
Authorized Representative Designation Form (ARD), 
a Certified Application Counselor Designation Form, 
or a Navigator Designation Form  We may contact 
you to distribute information related to other health 
and welfare benefits you may be eligible to receive 
For more information about how MassHealth and 
the Health Connector may use and share your 
information and what your rights are about your 
information, please review the MassHealth Notice of 
Privacy Practices and the Health Connector’s Privacy 
Policy  You can get a copy of the MassHealth Notice 
of Privacy Practices by calling (800) 841-2900, TDD/
TTY: 711 or by visiting mass gov/masshealth  You 
can view the Health Connector’s Privacy Policy at 
mahealthconnector org/site-policies/privacy-policy 

Authorized representative

An authorized representative is someone you 
choose to help you get healthcare coverage 
through programs offered by MassHealth and 
the Massachusetts Health Connector  You can do 
this by filling out the Authorized Representative 
Designation Form (ARD)  An authorized 
representative may fill out your application or 
eligibility review forms; give proof of information 
given on these eligibility forms; report changes 
in your income, address, or other circumstances; 
get copies of all MassHealth or Health Connector 
eligibility or enrollment notices sent to you; and act 
on your behalf in all other matters with MassHealth 
or the Health Connector 

An authorized representative can be a friend, family 
member, relative, or other person or organization of 
your choosing who agrees to help you  It is up to you 
to choose an authorized representative, if you want 
one  MassHealth or the Health Connector will not 
choose an authorized representative for you 
You must designate in writing on the ARD the person 
or organization you want to be your authorized 
representative  In most cases, your authorized 
representative must also fill out this form  This 
form is included in the application packet, or you 
can call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711, or visit 
mass gov/masshealth to get one  Please see the 
instructions on the form for more details 
An authorized representative can also be someone 
who is acting responsibly on your behalf if you 
cannot designate an authorized representative in 
writing because of a mental or physical condition, 
or has been appointed by law to act on your behalf 
or on behalf of your estate  This person must fill 
out the applicable parts of the ARD  If this person 
has been appointed by law to represent you, either 
you or they must also submit to MassHealth or the 
Health Connector a copy of the applicable legal 
document stating that they lawfully represent you 
or your estate  This person may be a legal guardian, 
conservator, holder of power of attorney, or 
healthcare proxy, or if the applicant or member has 
died, the estate’s administrator or executor 

Permission to share information

If you want us to share your personal health 
information, including copies of your eligibility 
notices, with someone who is not your authorized 
representative, you can give us written permission 
to do so  We have forms you can use for this  Call us 
or visit mass gov/masshealth to get a copy of the 
right form 

Reporting changes 

You must tell us about any changes that may affect 
your eligibility within 10 days of the changes or as 
soon as possible  See Section 9, Where To Get Help, 
for information on where to report changes  These 
changes include but are not limited to 

 ■ income
 ■ health insurance
 ■ assets
 ■ immigration status

http://mahealthconnector.org/site-policies/privacy-policy
http://mass.gov/masshealth
http://mass.gov/masshealth
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 ■ disability status
 ■ address

If you do not tell us about changes, your MassHealth 
benefits may stop and you will not be able to use 
your MassHealth card  

Giving correct information

Giving incorrect or false information may end your 
benefits  It may also result in fines, imprisonment, 
or both 

Our decision and your right to appeal

We will send you a notice to let you know if you can 
or cannot get one of the MassHealth coverage types 
or programs, Health Connector plans, or the Health 
Safety Net  If you think that our decision is wrong, 
you have the right to ask for a fair hearing to appeal 
our decision  Notices have information that explains 
how to ask for a fair hearing and how much time you 
have to ask for one  
See Board of Hearings in Section 9 to find out where to 
send your fair hearing request  If you have questions 
about a MassHealth notice or how to ask for an appeal, 
call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 
If you have questions about a Health Connector 
appeal, call the Health Connector at (877) 623-6765  
If you have questions about a Health Safety Net 
grievance, call the Health Safety Net Customer 
Service Center at (877) 910-2100  Health Safety Net 
determinations are conducted through MassHealth 

Information about Getting Medical Services 
While on MassHealth Standard, Family 
Assistance, or Limited

Prior approval
For some medical services, your doctor or 
healthcare provider has to get approval from 
MassHealth first  This is called prior approval (PA)  
Medical services that are covered by Medicare do 
not need PA from MassHealth 

If you have other health insurance
If you also have Medicare, Medigap, or any other kind 
of health insurance, your healthcare provider must 
bill the other insurers first  MassHealth will pay any 
remaining copays or deductibles  Your healthcare 
provider must not bill you for any service or part 
of any service that is covered by MassHealth.

NOTE: MassHealth will not pay any part of the cost 
of services covered by other health insurance 

Out-of-pocket expenses
In some cases, MassHealth can pay you back for 
medical bills that you paid before you got your 
MassHealth approval notice  We may do this if

 ■ we denied your eligibility and later decided that 
the denial was incorrect, or

 ■ you paid for a MassHealth-covered medical service 
that you got before we told you that you would get 
MassHealth  In this case, your healthcare provider 
must pay you back and bill MassHealth for the 
service  The provider must accept the MassHealth 
payment as payment in full 

If you or members of your household are in 
an accident

If you or any members of your household are in an 
accident or are injured in some other way, and get 
money from a third party because of that accident 
or injury, you will need to use that money to repay 
whoever paid the medical expenses related to that 
accident or injury 

 ■ You will have to pay MassHealth for services that 
were covered by MassHealth 
• If you are applying for MassHealth because 

of an accident or injury, you will need to 
use the money to repay the costs paid by 
MassHealth for all medical services you and 
your household get 

• If you or any members of your household are in 
an accident, or are injured in some other way, 
after becoming eligible for MassHealth, you 
will need to use that money to repay only the 
costs paid by MassHealth for medical services 
provided because of that accident or injury 

 ■ You will have to pay the Massachusetts Health 
Connector or your health insurer for certain 
medical services provided 

 ■ You will have to pay the Health Safety Net (HSN) 
for medical services reimbursed for you and any 
household members 

 ■ You must tell MassHealth, your health insurer 
including ConnectorCare plans, or HSN, in writing 
within 10 calendar days or as soon as possible, if 
you file any insurance claim or lawsuit because 
of an accident or injury to you or any household 
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members who are applying for, or who already 
have, benefits  Third parties who might give you 
or members of your household money because of 
an accident or injury include the following 
• A person or business who may have caused the 

accident or injury 
• An insurance company, including your own 

insurance company 
• Other sources, like workers’ compensation

 For more information about accident recovery, see the MassHealth 
regulations at 130 CMR 517.000 and Chapter 118E of the 
Massachusetts General Laws.

Out-of-state emergency treatment
MassHealth is a healthcare program for people 
living in Massachusetts who get medical care in 
Massachusetts  In certain situations, MassHealth 
may pay for emergency treatment for a medical 
condition when a MassHealth member is out of 
state*  Special rules apply 
If an emergency occurs while you are out of state, 
show your MassHealth card and any other health 
insurance cards you have, if possible  Also, be sure 
to call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711  within 
24 hours of the emergency treatment, or as soon as 
you can 

* Per MassHealth regulation 130 CMR 450.109(B), MassHealth does 
not cover any medical services provided outside the United States 
and its territories.

The MassHealth card 
If you are eligible for MassHealth Standard, 
MassHealth Family Assistance, or MassHealth 
Limited, you will get a MassHealth card  You must 
show your MassHealth card to your doctor or other 
healthcare provider whenever you get medical care  
If you have other health insurance, make sure you 
show all cards  Those determined to be low income 
for the purposes of the Health Safety Net (HSN) will 
not get a card  If you are eligible for HSN services, 
hospitals and community health centers will check 
to determine if they can get reimbursement for 
services provided to you and your spouse 

Print or View Your Card
Log into MyServices and navigate to the “My 
Benefits” tab  There , you will find a link to view, 
download, and print your card 

Other ways to get your MassHealth ID include the 
following  

 ■ Checking mailed notices from MassHealth
 ■ Calling the MassHealth Customer Service Center 

at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY:711

Our decision 

We will contact you if we need more information to 
make our decision  We will send you a written notice 
about your eligibility generally within 45 days of the 
date we get your filled-out and signed application 

 ■ If you are eligible, the notice will tell you the 
date your coverage begins  See Section 6 for 
information about services and benefits that are 
available under each coverage type 

 ■ If you have a deductible, the notice will tell you 
how we determined the deductible amount and 
what you need to do to meet the deductible 

 ■ If you have to pay a patient-paid amount (PPA) to 
the long-term-care facility, the notice will tell you 
the amount and how we determined the PPA 

 ■ If you are not eligible, the notice will tell you the 
reason and your right to appeal our decision  See 
Section 7 

Special Copay and premium information for 
American Indians and Alaska Natives

American Indians and Alaska Natives who have 
received or are eligible to receive a service from an 
Indian healthcare provider or from a non-Indian 
healthcare provider through referral from an Indian 
healthcare provider are exempt from paying copays 
and premiums as MassHealth members 

How we use your Social Security number

Unless one of the exceptions on page 10 applies, 
you must give us a Social Security number (SSN) 
or proof that one has been applied for, for every 
household member who is applying  MassHealth 
may require you to give us the SSN, if you can get 
it, of any person not applying who has or who can 
get health insurance that covers you or any member 
of your household  MassHealth is allowed to ask 
for SSNs under the Tax Reform Act of 1976 which 
amended Section 205(c)(2) of the Social Security Act 
and under 130 CMR 503 003 
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We use SSNs to check information you have given 
us  We also use them to detect fraud, to see if 
anyone is getting duplicate benefits, or to see 
if others (a “third party”) should be paying for 
services 
We match the SSN of anyone in your household 
who is applying and anyone who has or who can get 
health insurance for any such people with the files 
of agencies, including the following 

 ■ Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
 ■ Social Security Administration (SSA)
 ■ Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
 ■ Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
 ■ Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV)
 ■ Department of Revenue (DOR)
 ■ Department of Transitional Assistance (DTA)
 ■ Department of Industrial Accidents 
 ■ Division of Unemployment Assistance (DUA)
 ■ Department of Veterans’ Services, Human 

Resources Division 
 ■ Bureau of Special Investigations
 ■ Department of Public Health, Bureau of Vital 

Statistics
 ■ Banks
 ■ Other financial institutions

If MassHealth pays part of your health insurance 
premiums, MassHealth may add your SSN or the 
SSN of the policyholder in your household to the 
Office of the Comptroller of the Commonwealth’s 
vendor file  You or the policyholder in your 
household must have a valid SSN before you can get 
a payment from MassHealth 
Files may also be matched with social service 
agencies in this state and other states, and 
computer files of insurance companies, employers, 
and managed care organizations  Additionally 
MassHealth may obtain your financial record (and, 
if applicable, those of your household members) 
from banks and other financial institutions in 
order to verify your financial resources and 
otherwise determine your eligibility while you are a 
MassHealth member 

Recovery against estates of certain 
members after their death

Under federal and state law, MassHealth has the 
right to recover money from the assets of estates 
of certain MassHealth members after their death, 
unless exceptions apply  
Estate recovery applies to the following MassHealth 
members 

 ■ Members who are 55 or older and have received 
long-term services and supports (LTSS) 

 ■ Members of any age who are permanently in a 
long-term-care or other medical facility 

For MassHealth members 55 or older who receive 
long-term services and supports (LTSS), MassHealth 
has the right to be repaid for the cost of care it 
paid for LTSS  For members of any age who are 
permanently in a long-term-care or other medical 
facility, MassHealth has the right to be repaid for 
the total cost of care it paid during the period of 
institutionalization 
Estate recovery may apply to MassHealth members 
whether or not they are enrolled in a health plan  
MassHealth payments eligible for estate recovery 
include payments made directly by MassHealth 
to healthcare providers for a member’s care  
For members enrolled in a health plan, such as 
a managed care organization, accountable care 
organization, or a SCO, PACE, or One Care plan, 
estate recovery may also include reimbursement 
for the total amount in monthly premium payments 
made by MassHealth to the health plan  
MassHealth can only recover from assets that are 
in a member’s probate estate  These assets may 
include real property such as a home, business, or 
income-producing property, as well as money in 
bank accounts  MassHealth will not seek repayment 
when a member leaves a probate estate with 
$25,000 or less in assets  There are several ways 
individuals or families can delay estate recovery 
or obtain a waiver of some or all of the recovery 
amount in cases of undue hardship:

 ■ Recovery can be delayed if the member leaves 
behind a surviving spouse, an adult child who is 
blind or permanently and totally disabled, or a 
child younger than 21 years old  

 ■ If estate recovery would cause an undue 
hardship, MassHealth may waive all or part of the 
recovery amount in certain circumstances 
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For members age 55 or older who were eligible for 
both MassHealth and Medicare, MassHealth will not 
recover Medicare cost sharing benefits (premiums, 
deductibles and copays) paid on or after January 1, 
2010 
In addition, if the member, on the date of admission 
to the long-term care facility, had certain long-term 
care insurance* and met the other requirements 
under the rules to qualify for this exception, their 
estate may not have to repay MassHealth for nursing 
facility and other long-term-care services  

* The long-term-care insurance must meet the rules of the Division of 
Insurance under 211 CMR 65.09 and MassHealth regulations at 130 
CMR 515.000. The member must also have been living in a long-term 
care facility and told MassHealth that they did not intend to return 
home.

 For more information about estate recovery, see the MassHealth 
regulations at 130 CMR 501.000 and 515.000, Chapter 118E of the 
Massachusetts General Laws, and visit mass.gov/EstateRecovery.  

Repayment from annuities

The Commonwealth must be named as a remainder 
beneficiary of any annuity bought, annuitized, or 
otherwise changed by a MassHealth applicant, 
member, or spouse on or after February 8, 2006, 
for the total amount of medical assistance paid for 
the institutionalized individual  This beneficiary 
designation must not be removed 

 See the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 520.000 for more 
information.

Signing up to vote

This guide includes information about voter 
registration  You do not need to register to vote to 
get benefits 

https://www.mass.gov/info-details/massachusetts-medicaid-estate-recovery
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SECTION 8

US Citizenship and Immigration 
Rules

When deciding if you are eligible for benefits, we 
look at all the requirements of each coverage 
type and program  We will try to prove your US 
citizenship/ national status and immigration status 
using federal and state data services to decide if you 
may get a certain coverage type 

US Citizens/Nationals

US citizens/nationals may be eligible for MassHealth 
Standard and Family Assistance  They may also be 
eligible for Health Connector plans or the Health 
Safety Net 

Proof of citizenship and identity is required for all 
US citizens/nationals.
A citizen of the United States is

 ■ an individual who was born in the United States 
or its territories, including Puerto Rico, the Virgin 
Islands, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands 
(CNMI), unless born to a foreign diplomat, and 
who otherwise qualifies for US citizenship under 
§ 301 et seq  of the Immigration and Nationality 
Act (INA),

 ■ an individual born of a parent who is a US citizen 
or who otherwise qualifies for US citizenship 
under §301 et seq  of the INA,

 ■ a naturalized citizen, or
 ■ a national (either citizen or noncitizen national) 
• Citizen national: a person who qualifies as US 

citizen under §301 et seq  of the INA 
• Noncitizen national: a person who was born 

in one of the outlying possessions of the 
United States, including American Samoa and 
Swain’s Island, to a parent who is a noncitizen 
national 

Non-US citizens

To get the highest level of MassHealth coverage, 
or to get a Health Connector plan, we must prove 
your immigration status  MassHealth and the Health 
Connector will perform information matches with 
state and federal agencies to prove immigration 
statuses  If electronic sources are unable to prove 
your declared status, you will be required to provide 
additional documentation 
Non-US citizens do not have to submit their 
immigration documents with the application if 
they are applying only for their children, not for 
themselves 

Lawfully present immigrants

The following are lawfully present immigrants 
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Qualified noncitizens
People who meet one of the following statuses 
may be eligible for MassHealth Standard or 
CommonHealth  They may also be eligible for 
benefits through the Health Connector or the Health 
Safety Net 
There are two groups of qualified noncitizens:
1  People who are qualified regardless of when 

they entered the US or how long they have had a 
qualified status  Such individuals are
• people granted asylum under section 208 of 

the INA,
• refugees admitted under section 207 of the 

INA,
• people whose deportation has been withheld 

under section 243(h) or 241(b)(3) of the INA, 
as provided by section 5562 of the federal 
Balanced Budget Act of 1997,

• veterans, their spouses, and their children:
 – veterans of the United States Armed Forces 

with an honorable discharge not related to 
their noncitizen status, or

 – Filipino war veterans who fought under US 
command during WWII, or

 – Hmong and Highland Lao veterans who are 
admitted for legal permanent residence 
(LPR) and who fought under US command 
during the Vietnam War, or

 – people with noncitizen status on active 
duty in the US Armed Forces, other than 
active duty for training, or

 – the spouse, unremarried surviving spouse, 
or unmarried dependent children of the 
noncitizen described in the four points 
above,

• conditional entrants under section 203(a)(7) of 
the INA as in effect before April 1, 1980,

• people who entered as Cuban/Haitian entrants 
under section 501(e) of the Refugee Education 
Assistance Act of 1980,

• for Medicaid, Native Americans with at least 
50% American Indian blood who were born 
in Canada pursuant to section 289 of the INA 
or other tribal members born in territories 
outside the United States pursuant to 25 U S C  
450b(e),

• Amerasians as described in section 402(a)(2)(A)
(i)(V) of the Personal Responsibility and Work 
Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 
1996,

• victims of severe forms of trafficking, and 
spouse, child, sibling, or parent of the victim in 
accordance with the Victims of Trafficking and 
Violence Protection Act of 2000 (Public Law 
106-386) as amended,

• Iraqi special immigrants granted special 
immigrant status under section 101(a)(27) of the 
INA, pursuant to section 1244 of Public Law 110-
181 or section 525 of Public Law 110-161, or

• Afghan special immigrants granted special 
immigrant status under section 101(a)(27) of 
the INA, pursuant to section 525 of Public Law 
110-161 

• for Medicaid, migrants from the Federated 
States of Micronesia, the Republic of the 
Marshall Islands, and  the Republic of Palau 
who legally reside in the United States 
pursuant to a series of treaties with the 
United States known as the Compacts of Free 
Association (COFA) 

 – COFA migrants who adjust to legal 
permanent residence (LPR) status will have 
a special five-year bar rule applied  The 
individual would be subject to the special 
five-year bar rule unless they also have or 
had a status listed at  130 CMR 518 003(A)
(1)(a) 

 – COFA migrants who adjust to LPR status 
after the change of law on December 27, 
2020, will be able to use the date they 
began residing in the United States as 
a COFA migrant or December 27, 2020, 
whichever is later, as the first day for 
purposes of meeting the five-year bar 

 – COFA migrants who adjusted to LPR status 
before the change of law on December 27, 
2020 would have the five-year bar period 
begin on the date that they became an LPR 

2  People who are qualified based on having a 
qualified status identified at “A” below and who 
have satisfied one of the conditions listed at “B” 
below   Such individuals are
A  people who have one or more of the following 

statuses: 
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 – people admitted for legal permanent 
residence (LPR) under the Immigration and 
Nationality Act (INA), or

 – people granted parole for at least one year 
under section 212(d)(5) of the INA, or

 – a battered spouse, battered child, or child 
of a battered parent or parent of a battered 
child who meet the criteria of section 431(c) 
of the Personal Responsibility and Work 
Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) 
of 1996, 8 U S C  1641, and also

B  people who satisfy at least one of the 
following three conditions:
 – they have had a status listed in 2 A  above 

for five or more years (a battered noncitizen 
attains this status when the petition is 
accepted as establishing a prima facie 
case),

 – they entered the US before August 22, 
1996, regardless of status at the time of 
entry, and have been continuously present 
in the US until attaining a status listed in 
2 A  above  For this purpose, an individual 
is deemed continuously present who has 
been absent from the US for no more than 
30 consecutive days or 90 nonconsecutive 
days before attaining a status listed in 2 A  
above, or

 – they also have or had a status listed in 
number 1 above 

Qualified noncitizens barred
People who have a status listed under qualified 
noncitizens at 2 A above (legal permanent resident, 
parolee for at least one year, or battered noncitizen) 
and who do not meet one of the conditions listed 
at 2 B  above, are qualified noncitizens barred  
Qualified noncitizens barred, like qualified 
noncitizens, are lawfully present immigrants  
Certain people who are qualified noncitizens barred 
may be eligible for MassHealth Standard, Family 
Assistance, or Limited  They may also be eligible for 
benefits through the Health Connector and the HSN 

Nonqualified individuals lawfully present
Certain people who are nonqualified individuals 
lawfully present and meet one of the following 
statuses may be eligible for MassHealth Standard, 
Family Assistance, or Limited  They may also be 

eligible for benefits through the Health Connector 
and the HSN  Nonqualified individuals lawfully 
present are as follows 

 ■ People in a valid nonimmigrant status as 
otherwise defined in 8 U S C  1101(a)(15) or 
otherwise defined under immigration laws as 
defined in 8 U S C  1101(a)(17) 

 ■ Qualified noncitizen as defined in 8 USC 1641 (b) 
and (c) 

 ■ People paroled into the US in accordance with 
8 U S C  1182(d)(5) for less than one year, except 
for an individual paroled for prosecution, 
for deferred inspection, or pending removal 
proceedings 

 ■ People who belong to one of the following 
classes 
• Granted temporary resident status in 

accordance with 8 U S C  1160 or 1255a, 
respectively

• Granted Temporary Protected Status (TPS) 
in accordance with 8 U S C  1254a, and 
individuals with pending applications for 
TPS who have been granted employment 
authorization

• Granted employment authorization under 8 
CFR 274a 12(c)

• Family Unity beneficiaries in accordance 
with section 301 of Public Law 101- 649, as 
amended

• Under deferred enforced departure in 
accordance with a decision made by the 
President

• Granted deferred action status, except for 
applicants or individuals granted status under 
United States Department of Homeland 
Security (DHS) Deferred Action for Childhood 
Arrival Process (DACA)

• Granted an administrative stay of removal 
under 8 CFR part 241

• Beneficiary of approved visa petition who has 
a pending application for adjustment of status

 ■ People with a pending application for asylum 
under 8 U S C  1158, or for withholding of removal 
under 8 U S C  1231, or under the Convention 
Against Torture who
• have been granted employment authorization, 

or
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• are under 14 years old and have had an 
application pending for at least 180 days 

 ■ People who have been granted withholding of 
removal under the Convention Against Torture 

 ■ Children who have a pending application for 
special immigrant juvenile status as described in 
8 U S C  1101(a)(27)(J) 

Qualified noncitizens barred and nonqualified 
individuals lawfully present
Qualified noncitizens barred and nonqualified 
individuals lawfully present who are 65 or older 
may be eligible for MassHealth Family Assistance, 
Limited, or the HSN 

Nonqualified People Residing Under Color of 
Law (Nonqualified PRUCOLs)
Nonqualified PRUCOLs are certain noncitizens who 
are not lawfully present  These individuals may 
permanently reside in the United States under color 
of law as described in 130 CMR 518 000  Certain 
people who are nonqualified PRUCOLs and meet 
one of the following statuses may be eligible for 
MassHealth Family Assistance or Limited  They may 
also be eligible for benefits through the HSN 

 ■ Noncitizens living in the United States in 
accordance with an indefinite stay of deportation

 ■ Noncitizens living in the United States in 
accordance with an indefinite voluntary 
departure

 ■ Noncitizens and their families who are covered 
by an approved immediate relative petition, 
who are entitled to voluntary departure, and 
whose departure the DHS does not contemplate 
enforcing

 ■ Noncitizens who were granted voluntary 
departure by the DHS or an Immigration Judge, 
and whose deportation the DHS does not 
contemplate enforcing

 ■ Noncitizens living under orders of supervision 
who do not have employment authorization 
under 8 CFR 274a 12(c)

 ■ Noncitizens who have entered and continuously 
lived in the United States since before January 1, 
1972

 ■ Noncitizens who have been granted suspension 
of deportation and whose departure the DHS 
does not contemplate enforcing

 ■ Noncitizens with a pending application for 
asylum under 8 U S C  1158 or for withholding 
of removal under 8 U S C  1231 or under the 
Convention against Torture who have not been 
granted employment authorization, or are under 
14 years old and have not had an application 
pending for at least 180 days

 ■ Noncitizens who have DACA status or a pending 
application for this status

 ■ Noncitizens who have filed an application, 
petition, or request to obtain a lawfully present 
status that has been accepted as properly filed 
but who have not yet obtained employment 
authorization and whose deportation DHS does 
not contemplate enforcing

 ■ Any other noncitizens living in the United States 
with the knowledge and consent of the DHS, and 
whose departure the DHS does not contemplate 
enforcing  (These include people granted 
extended voluntary departure due to conditions 
in their home country based on a determination 
by the Secretary of State )

Nonqualified PRUCOLs
Nonqualified PRUCOLs who are 65 or older may be 
eligible for MassHealth Family Assistance, Limited, 
or the HSN 

Other noncitizens
If your immigration status is not described above, 
you are considered an other noncitizen  You may be 
eligible for MassHealth Limited or the HSN 
NOTE: People who were getting MassHealth, 

formerly known as Medical Assistance, or 
CommonHealth on June 30, 1997, may 
continue to get benefits regardless of 
immigration status if otherwise eligible 

 The eligibility of immigrants for publicly funded benefits is defined 
in the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity 
Reconciliation Act of 1996, the federal Balanced Budget Act of 1997, 
and in various provisions of state law. For additional details, see the 
MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 518.000.
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US Citizenship/National Status 
Requirements for MassHealth and Health 
Connector Plans 
Identity Requirements for the HSN

Proof of both US Citizenship/National Status 
and Identity*

* Exception: Seniors and disabled people who get or can get Medicare 
or Supplemental Security Income, and disabled people who get 
Social Security Disability Insurance do NOT have to give proof of 
their US citizenship/national status and identity. A child born to a 
mother who was getting MassHealth on the date of the child’s birth 
does not have to give proof of US citizenship/national status and 
identity.

The following are acceptable forms of proof of BOTH 
US citizenship/national status AND identity (no 
other documentation is required):

• US passport, including a US Passport Card 
issued by the Department of State, regardless 
of any expiration date as long as this passport 
or Card was issued without limitation, or

• Certificate of US Naturalization, or
• Certificate of US Citizenship, or
• Document issued by a federally recognized 

Indian tribe, as published in the Federal 
Register by the Bureau of Indian Affairs 
within the US Department of the Interior, 
that identifies the federally recognized Indian 
tribe that issued the document; identifies 
the individual by name; and confirms the 
individual’s membership, enrollment, or 
affiliation with the tribe  These documents 
include, but are not limited to, a tribal 
enrollment card, a Certificate of Degree of 
Indian Blood, a tribal census document, 
and documents on tribal letterhead issued 
under the signature of the appropriate Tribal 
official that meet the requirements of 130 CMR 
518 000 

Proof of US citizenship/national status only
If one of the documents that proves both 
citizenship and identity is not provided, the 
following documents may be accepted as proof of 
US citizenship/national status only.

 ■ A US public birth certificate (including ones from 
the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto 
Rico [on or after January 13, 1941], Guam, the 

US Virgin Islands [on or after January 17, 1917], 
American Samoa, Swain’s Island, or the CNMI 
[after November 4, 1986]  The birth record may 
be issued by the state, Commonwealth, territory, 
or local jurisdiction  The individual may also be 
collectively naturalized under federal regulations 

 ■ A cross match with the Massachusetts Registry of 
Vital Statistics that documents a record of birth 

 ■ A Certification of a Report of Birth issued to US 
citizens who were born outside the US 

 ■ A Report of Birth Abroad of a US Citizen 
 ■ A certification of birth  
 ■ A US citizen identification (ID) card 
 ■ A Northern Mariana ID card issued to a 

collectively naturalized citizen who was born in 
the CNMI before November 4, 1986 

 ■ A final adoption decree showing a child’s name 
and US place of birth (or, if adoption is not final, 
a statement from a state-approved adoption 
agency that shows the child’s name and US place 
of birth) 

 ■ Evidence of US civil service employment before 
June 1, 1976  

 ■ An official US military record showing a US place 
of birth 

 ■ A data match with the SAVE Program or any 
other process established by DHS to prove an 
individual is a citizen’

 ■ Documentation that a child meets the 
requirements of section 101 of the Child 
Citizenship Act of 2000 (8 U S C  1431)’

 ■ Medical records (including, but not limited to, 
hospital, clinic, or doctor records) or admission 
papers from a nursing facility, skilled care facility, 
or other institution that indicate a US place of 
birth 

 ■ A life, health, or other insurance record that 
indicates a US place of birth 

 ■ An official religious record recorded in the US 
showing that a birth occurred in the US 

 ■ School records, including preschool, Head Start, 
and day care, showing the child’s name and US 
place of birth 

 ■ A federal or state census record showing US 
citizenship or a US place of birth 
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If an individual does not have one of the documents 
listed in 130 CMR 518 000, they may submit an 
affidavit that is signed by another individual, under 
penalty of perjury, who can reasonably attest to 
the individual’s citizenship, and that contains the 
individual’s name, date of birth, and place of US 
birth  The affidavit does not have to be notarized 

Plus proof of identity only
1  The following documents are acceptable as proof 

of identity, provided this documentation has 
a photograph or other identifying information 
including, but not limited to, name, age, sex, 
race, height, weight, eye color, and address 
• Identity documents listed at 8 CFR 274a 2(b)(1)

(v)(B)(1), except a driver’s license issued by a 
Canadian government authority

• A driver’s license issued by a state or territory 
• A school ID card
• A US military card or draft record
• An ID card issued by the federal, state, or local 

government 
• A military dependent’s ID card
• A US Coast Guard Merchant Mariner card

2  For children under 19 years old, a clinic, doctor, 
hospital, or school record, including preschool or 
day care records 

3  Two documents containing consistent 
information that confirms an applicant’s identity  
These documents include, but are not limited to 
the following 
• Employer ID card
• High school or college diploma (including a 

high school equivalency diploma) 
• Marriage certificate
• Divorce decree 
• Property deed or title
• Pay stub from a current employer with the 

applicant’s name and address preprinted, 
dated within 60 days of the application

• Census proof containing the applicant’s name 
and address, dated not more than 12 months 
before the date of the application

• Pension or retirement statement from a 
former employer or pension fund stating the 
applicant’s name and address, dated within 12 
months of the application

• Tuition or student loan bill containing the 
applicant’s name and address, dated not 
more than 12 months before the date of the 
application

• Utility bill, cell phone bill, credit card bill, 
doctor’s bill, or hospital bill containing 
applicant’s name and address, dated no more 
than 60 days before the date of the application

• Valid homeowner’s, renter’s, or automobile 
insurance policy with preprinted address, 
dated no more than 12 months before the date 
of the application, or a bill for this insurance 
with preprinted address, dated no more than 
60 days before the date of the application

• Lease dated no more than 12 months before 
the date of the application, or home mortgage 
identifying applicant and address

• Proof of employment by W-2 forms or other 
documents showing the applicant’s name 
and address submitted by the employer to 
a government agency as a consequence of 
employment

4  A finding of identity from a federal or state 
agency, including, but not limited to, a public 
assistance, law enforcement, internal revenue, 
tax bureau, or corrections agency, if the agency 
has proved and certified the identity of the 
individual

5  A finding of identity from an Express Lane agency, 
as defined in section 1902(e)(13)(F) of the Social 
Security Act

If the applicant does not have any document 
specified in points 1, 2, or 3 above, and identity 
is not proved through points 4 or 5 above, the 
applicant may submit an affidavit signed, under 
penalty of perjury, by another person who can 
reasonably attest to the applicant’s identity  This 
affidavit must contain the applicant’s name and 
other identifying information, as described in the 
first main bullet above  This affidavit does not have 
to be notarized  
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SECTION 9

Where to Get Help

MassHealth Customer Service Center 
(800) 841-2900  TDD/TTY: 711  

Topics
 ■ How to get a Senior Application
 ■ How to get a Long-Term-Care Supplement or a 
PCA Supplement

 ■ Where to send the Senior Application
 ■ General eligibility information
 ■ Covered medical services
 ■ How to get interpreter services
 ■ How to get acceptable forms of proof
 ■ MassHealth premiums
 ■ How to find a MassHealth provider
 ■ Emergency services—out of Massachusetts
 ■ Questions about the voter registration process 
and help filling out the Voter Registration Form

 ■ Where to report changes

To report changes, call us at the phone number 
listed above, or:
Mail the change information to
Health Insurance Processing Center 
PO Box 4405 
Taunton, MA  02780
Fax the change information to 
(857) 323-8300 

MyServices
myservices.mass.gov

Topics
 ■ MyServices is an easy-to-use web tool and mobile 
app where you can access helpful information, 
including eligibility status, MassHealth 
enrollment, and alerts about important events 
and actions you need to take  MyServices also 
allows you to review certain MassHealth notices 
and voter registration information online  For 
more information, go to myservices mass gov   

Executive Office of Elder Affairs (EOEA)
(800) AGE-INFO  
[(800) 243-4636, TTY: (877) 610-0241]

Topic
 ■ Elder Affairs Prescription Advantage Program  
(For people who are not getting prescription drug 
benefits under MassHealth or Medicare, who are 
either under 65 years old and disabled or 65 or 
older, and who want information about help with 
prescription drug costs)

MassHealth Enrollment Center
(800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711. Self-services are 
available 24 hours/7 days a week.

Topic
 ■ Member eligibility information
 ■ How to get MassHealth forms
 ■ Your eligibility notice
 ■ How to ask for a fair hearing to appeal 
MassHealth decisions

 ■ How to meet your deductible
 ■ Your long-term-care patient-paid amount (PPA)
 ■ How to replace a MassHealth card
 ■ Information to process case
 ■ Examples of acceptable forms of proof

Special MassHealth Programs
(800) 408-1253, TTY: (800) 231-5698

 ■ Kaileigh Mulligan Program—Home Care for 
Disabled Children

 ■ PACE (Program of All-inclusive Care for the 
Elderly)
(800) AGE-INFO, TTY: MassRelay 711

 ■ Frail Elder Program 
(800) 841-2900, TTY (800) 497-4648

 ■ Traumatic Brain Injury
 ■ Adults with an Intellectual Disability

(866) 281-5602, TTY: (800) 596-1746
 ■ Acquired Brain Injury

(855) 499-5109, TTY: (800) 596-1746
 ■ Moving Forward Plan

https://myservices.mass.gov/
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Third Party Liability
(800) 754-1864

Topic
 ■ Real estate lien recovery
 ■ Accident recovery
 ■ Estate recovery

Board of Hearings
(617) 847-1200 or (800) 655-0338  
fax: (617) 887-8797 
100 Hancock St , 6th Floor 
Quincy, MA  02171

Topic
 ■ MassHealth appeals—fair hearings

MassHealth Disability Accommodation 
Ombudsman
(617) 847-3468, TTY: (617) 847-3788
100 Hancock Street, 1st floor 
Quincy, MA  02171 
ADAAccommodations@state ma us

Topic
 ■ For applicants and members with disabilities who 
need accommodations

Social Security Administration (SSA)
(800) 772-1213 | www ssa gov  

Topic
 ■ Eligibility for Social Security enrollment in 
Medicare Parts A and B

 ■ Social Security benefits
 ■ Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits
 ■ Applying for an SSN

Medicare prescription drug coverage
(800) MEDICARE  
[(800) 633-4227, TTY: (877) 486-2048]  
www medicare gov

Senior Care Options
(888) 885-0484, TTY: (888) 821-5225

Massachusetts Health Connector
(877) MA-ENROLL 
[(877) 623-6765, TTY: (877) 623-7773]  
www MAhealthconnector org

Topic
 ■ Reporting changes
 ■ Information about enrollment in health plans, 
premiums, copays, other program information, 
and appeals information

 ■ Health Connector member eligibility
 ■ Information about Health Connector eligibility 
factor verifications and examples of acceptable 
forms of proof

 ■ Information about Health Connector premium 
billing and status of  payment

To report member or provider fraud
(877) 437-2830, (877) 4-FRAUD-0

Health Safety Net Customer Service Center
(877) 910-2100

Topic
 ■ Health Safety Net

Grievances with HSN 

Health Safety Net Office  
Attn: HSN Grievances 
100 Hancock St , 6th Floor 
Quincy, MA  02171

Legal Services 
Find free and low-cost legal services at mass gov/
info-details/finding-legal-help 

http://www.mass.gov/info-details/finding-legal-help
http://www.mass.gov/info-details/finding-legal-help


Do you need help meeting your  
basic needs?  

DTA can provide you and your family with: 
• SNAP (Food assistance)
• TAFDC or EAEDC (Economic assistance)

Households may be eligible for: 
• Referrals to education, training or career

preparatory programs
• Child care and transportation payments

for those working or seeking work
• Nutrition education
• Free health insurance

 
 

Apply For SNAP Today Via DTA Connect 

Call the DTA Assistance Line at     
1-877-382-2363. Case managers are
available Monday to Friday between
8:15 am to 4:45 pm. Self-service options
are available through the assistance line
24/7.
 

Stop by a local Transitional Assistance 
Office. To find the nearest office, visit 
our website.    
 

This institution is an equal opportunity provider. 

Visit our website at mass.gov/dta. 
Review information about the SNAP, 
TAFDC or EAEDC programs.  
 

Apply for SNAP benefits online via 
DTAconnect.com. You can use the 
website or download the DTA Connect 
mobile application to keep tabs on your 
case. To apply for TAFDC or EAEDC, visit 
your local Transitional Assistance Office. 
 

To Learn More About DTA 

Department of Transitional 
Assistance 



IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT VOTER REGISTRATION

Dear Applicant or Member:

The National Voter Registration Act of 
1993 requires MassHealth to give you the 
opportunity to register to vote. Your decision 
to register to vote will not affect your 
eligibility for benefits. 

A mail-in voter registration form is enclosed 
in the middle of this booklet, if this booklet 
contains the MassHealth application. If you 
would like a mail-in voter registration form 
sent to you, please call the MassHealth 
Customer Service Center at (800) 841-2900, 
TDD/TTY: 711.

When you get the form, fill it out and send 
it to your city or town hall. If you have any 
questions about the voter registration process, 
or if you need help filling out the form, call one 
of the listed telephone numbers, or visit a local 
MassHealth office. MassHealth office locations 
can be found at mass.gov/masshealth.

Remember: You will not be registered to vote 
until you send the filled-out voter registration 
form to your local city or town hall. Your 
local election department will let you know 
in writing when your voter registration has 
been processed. If you do not get written 
notification within a reasonable time, 
contact your local city or town hall election 
department for more information. 

FEDERAL POVERTY LEVELS (MONTHLY)
Household 

Size 100% 133% 150% 200% 250% 300% 400%

1 $1,305 $1,735 $1,957 $2,609 $3,261 $3,913 $5,217
2 $1,763 $2,345 $2,644 $3,525 $4,407 $5,288 $7,050
3 $2,221 $2,954 $3,332 $4,442 $5,553 $6,663 $8,884
4 $2,680 $3,564 $4,019 $5,359 $6,698 $8,038 $10,717
5 $3,138 $4,173 $4,707 $6,275 $7,844 $9,413 $12,550
6 $3,596 $4,783 $5,394 $7,192 $8,990 $10,788 $14,384
7 $4,055 $5,393 $6,082 $8,109 $10,136 $12,163 $16,217
8 $4,513 $6,002 $6,769 $9,025 $11,282 $13,538 $18,050

Additional 
People $459 $610 $688 $917 $1,146 $1,375 $1,834

MassHealth updates the federal poverty levels each year based on changes made by the 
federal government. The income levels above reflect the standards as of March 1, 2025. 
These figures are rounded and may not reflect the figures used in program determination. 
Please see our website at mass.gov/service-details/eligibility-figures-tables-for-
masshealth-applicants-and-members for the most recent chart.

http://www.mass.gov/masshealth
C:\Users\JmSilva\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\INetCache\Content.Outlook\EW67YUKP\www.mass.gov\service-details\eligibility-figures-tables-for-masshealth-applicants-and-members
C:\Users\JmSilva\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\INetCache\Content.Outlook\EW67YUKP\www.mass.gov\service-details\eligibility-figures-tables-for-masshealth-applicants-and-members
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This information is available in 
alternative formats such as braille  
and large print.
To get a copy, please call us at  
(800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711.

This information is important.  
It should be translated right away.
We can translate it for you free of charge.
Call us at (800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711.

Esta información es importante y debe ser traducida 
inmediatamente. Podemos traducirla para usted 
gratuitamente. Llámenos al (800) 841-2900 o por  
TDD/TTY: 711. (Spanish)

Esta informação é importante. Deverá ser traduzida 
imediatamente. Nós podemos traduzí-la para você 
gratuitamente. Entre em contato conosco no (800) 841-2900. 
TDD/TTY: 711. (Brazilian Portuguese)

此處的資訊十分重要，應立即翻譯。我們可以免費為
您翻譯。請撥打電話號碼 (800) 841-2900 (TDD/TTY: 
711)，與我們聯繋。 (Chinese)

Enfòmasyon sa enpòtan. Yo fèt pou tradwi li tou swit. Nou 
kapab tradwi li pou ou gratis. Rele nou nan (800) 841-2900.  
TDD/TTY: 711. (Haitian Creole)

Những tin tức này thật quan trọng. Tin tức này cần phải 
thông dịch liền. Chúng tôi có thể thông dịch cho quý vị 
miễn phí. Xin gọi cho chúng tôi tại số (800) 841-2900.  
TDD/TTY: 711. (Vietnamese)

Эта информация очень важна. Ее нужно перевести 
немедленно. Мы можем перевести ее для вас бесплатно. 
Позвоните нам по телефону (800) 841-2900.  
TDD/TTY: 711. (Russian)

 هذه المعلومات هامة. يجب ترجمتها فوراً. يمكننا ترجمتها لك مجاناً. اتصل
(Arabic)  .TDD/TTY: 711 .(800) 841-2900 بنا على الرقم   

នេះគឹជាព័ត៌មានសំខាន់។ វាគួរតែបានបកប្រែភ្លាមៗ។ យើងអាចបកប្រែវាសំរាប់អ្នក 
ដោយឥតគិតថ្លៃឡើយ។ សូមទូរស័ព្ទមកយើង តាមលេខ (800) 841-2900។  
TDD/TTY: 711។ (Khmer)

Kel informasãu li é inportanti. El debe ser traduzidu lógu. 
Nu pode traduzi-l pa nhos sin kobra nada. Nhos txuma-nu 
pa (800) 841 2900. TDD/TTY: 711. (Cape Verdean Creole)

Cette information est importante. Prière de la traduire 
immédiatement. Nous pouvons vous la traduire 
gratuitement. Appelez-nous au (800) 841-2900.  
TDD/TTY: 711. (French)

Questa informazione e importante. Si pregha di 
tradurla inmediatamente. Possiamo tradurla per voi 
gratuitamente. Chiammate all (800) 841-2900.  
TDD/TTY: 711. (Italian)

이 정보는 중요합니다. 이는 즉시 번역해야 합니다. 저희는 
귀하를 위해 이를 무료로 번역해드릴 수 있습니다. 일반 
전화인 경우 (800) 841-2900로, TDD/TTY 전화인 경우  
711로 연락해 주십시오. (Korean)

Αυτή η πληροφορία είναι σημαντική και πρέπει να 
μεταφραστεί άμεσα. Μπορούμε να τη μεταφράσουμε για 
εσάς δωρεάν. Καλέστε μας στον αριθμό (800) 841-2900.  
TDD/TTY: 711. (Greek)

To jest ważna informacja. Powinna zostać niezwłocznie 
przetłumaczona. My tłumaczymy dla Państwa bezpłatnie. 
Prosimy do nas zadzwonić pod nr (800) 841-2900.  
TDD/TTY: 711. (Polish)

यह जानकारी महत्वपूर्ण है। इसका अनुवाद भलीभांति किया 
जाना चाहिए। हम आपके लिए इसका अनुवाद निशुल्क कर सकते 
हैं। हमें (800) 841-2900। TDD/TTY: 711 पर कॉल करें। (Hindi)

આ માહિતી મહત્વની છે. તેનંુ તરત જ અનુવાદ થવંુ જોઇએ. 
અમે વિના મૂલ્યે તમારા માટે તેમ કરી શકીએ છીએ. અમને 
(800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711 પર કૉલ કરો. (Gujarati)

ຂໍ້ມູນນີ້ສຳຄັນ. ມັນມີຄວາມຈຳເປັນຕ້ອງແປເລີຍ. ພວກເຮົາ
ສາມາດຊ່ວຍແປໃຫ້ທ່ານໂດຍບໍ່ເສຍຄ່າ. ໂທຫາພວກເຮົາໄດ້ທີ່ 
(800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711. (Lao)

This information is available in alternative formats such as braille and large print. 
To get a copy, please call us at (800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711.

This information is important. It should be translated right away.  
We can translate it for you free of charge.  
Call us at (800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711.   

UNIV-14-0523
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