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MassHealth Disability Accommodation 
Ombudsman

MassHealth has an ombudsman to help members and 
applicants with disabilities get the accommodations they 
need. This office can also provide personal assistance by  
•	 explaining MassHealth processes and  
	 requirements and  
•	 helping you fill out forms over the telephone. 

MassHealth Disability Accommodation Ombudsman 
100 Hancock Street, 1st Floor 
Quincy, MA  02171 
Phone: (617) 847-3468  TTY: (617) 847-3788 
adaaccommodations@state.ma.us

Attention Non-U.S. Citizens!

Important information you need to know about applying 
for MassHealth Limited and the Health Safety Net can be 
found on page 14.



NEED HELP? 

MY OMBUDSMAN 

If you need help getting benefits or services from 
MassHealth or your health plan, you can call My 
Ombudsman. My Ombudsman is a program that is 
separate from MassHealth and your health plan. The 
program can: 

•	 Give you information about your health plan benefits 
and rights; 

•	 help you with any concerns,and

•	 help explain how to file a grievance (complaint) or an 
appeal (a review of a decision). 

For more information about My Ombudsman: 

•	 visit their website at  
www.myombudsman.org

•	 call (855) 781-9898 or  
videophone: (339) 224-6831 

Please visit the My Ombudsman website or contact 
them directly for updated information about location 
and walk -in hours.



MYSERVICES

MyServices is an online portal and mobile app 
that provides easy access to helpful information 
for members and applicants. There, you can 
find things like eligibility status, MassHealth 
enrollment, alerts about important events, actions 
you need to take and more. To learn more about 
MyServices, please visit https://www.mass.gov/
learn-about-myservices.
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INTRODUCTION 

Senior Guide to Health Care Coverage:  
A guide for seniors and for persons of any age needing 
long-term-care services

MassHealth, the Massachusetts Health Connector, and 
the Health Safety Net provide a wide range of medical and 
other benefits. These programs are authorized by state and 
federal law. 

This Guide is for Massachusetts residents who are

•	 65 years of age or older and living at home; or

•	 disabled and working 40 hours or more a month; or 
currently working and have worked at least 240 hours in the 
six months immediately before the month of application; or 

•	 any age and are in or are waiting to go into a long-term-
care facility; or

•	 eligible under certain programs to get long-term-care 
services to live at home; or

•	 applying for Health Connector plans.

This Guide may not be for you if you are

•	 a parent or a caretaker relative* of children under 19 
years of age; or

*	 A caretaker relative is an adult who is living with and related to 
the children under age 19, and who is the main caregiver of the 
children because neither parent of the children is in the home.
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•	 applying for certain disabled, immigrant children under 
19 years of age who live in nursing homes or other long-
term-care facilities.

To find out if another booklet is for you, the Member 
Booklet, call us at (800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711.

Masshealth applications can be used to apply for the 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). SNAP 
is a federal program that helps you buy healthy food each 
month. If you want to also apply for SNAP, check the SNAP 
check box on the first page of the MassHealth application, 
read the rights and responsibilities and sign the application. 
You do not have to apply for the SNAP Program to be 
considered for MassHealth.

Please keep this guide

It has important information you may want to look up after 
you apply for MassHealth and while you are a MassHealth 
member. It gives general information about

•	 applying for MassHealth, Health Connector plans, or the 
Health Safety Net if you are a senior living at home,

•	 applying for MassHealth if you are in or are waiting to 
go into a long-term-care facility or need long-term-care 
services at home,

•	 eligibility rules,

•	 U.S. citizen/national status and identity verification 
requirements*,
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•	 immigration information for non-U.S. citizens (See 
Section 8 for information about immigration status and 
eligibility for benefits.),

•	 the MassHealth coverage types,

•	 some of the services and benefits available under each 
coverage type,

•	 how to get MassHealth services and benefits,

•	 when your coverage begins,

•	 how accident and estate recovery rules affect you as a 
MassHealth member,

•	 real estate liens,

•	 your rights and responsibilities, and

•	 where to get help.

*	 See Section 8 for a list of acceptable documents to prove U.S. 
citizenship/national status and identity.

This guide is intended only as a handy reference and does 
not give complete information about the eligibility rules or 
benefits under MassHealth, Health Connector plans, and 
the Health Safety Net. 

The information in this guide reflects income standards in 
effect on March 1, 2024; for the most updated information 
about assets and other figures that MassHealth uses to 
determine eligibility, go to www.mass.gov/service-details/
program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-
applicants-and-members.
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The information in this guide reflects income standards 
in effect on March 1, 2023; for the most updated 
information about assets and other figures that 
MassHealth uses to determine eligibility, go to  
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-
guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-
members.

What U.S. citizens/nationals need to know 
about applying for MassHealth, the Health 
Safety Net, or Health Connector plans

Verification of U.S. citizenship/national status and identity 
is required for all U.S. citizens/ nationals applying for 
MassHealth and Health Connector plans. Verification of 
identity is required for all individuals applying for the Health 
Safety Net. See Section 8 for more information about proof 
of U.S. citizenship/national status and identity.

If you need to provide a form of proof, the most common 
types of proof for both U.S. citizenship/national status 
and identity are a U.S. passport, a Certificate of U.S. 
Citizenship, a Certificate of U.S. Naturalization, or a 
document issued by a federally recognized American 
Indian tribe showing membership or enrollment in, or 
affiliation with, this tribe. U.S. citizenship/national status 
may also be proved with a U.S. public birth certificate or 
a Report of Birth Abroad of a U.S. Citizen. Identity may 
also be proved with a state driver’s license containing 
the individual’s photo, a government-issued identity card 
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containing the individual’s photo, or a U.S. military ID card. 
For more detailed information about proving citizenship 
and identity, see Section 8. We may be able to prove your 
identity through the Massachusetts Registry of Motor 
Vehicles records if you have a Massachusetts driver’s 
license or a Massachusetts ID card. Once you give us proof 
of your U.S. citizenship/national status and identity, you will 
not have to give us this proof again. You must give us proof 
of identity for all household members who are applying. 
Seniors and disabled persons who get or can get Medicare 
or Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or disabled 
persons who get Social Security Disability (SSDI) do not 
have to give proof of their U.S. citizenship/national status 
and identity. A child born to a mother who was getting 
MassHealth on the date of the child’s birth does not have 
to give proof of U.S. citizenship/national status and identity. 
(See Section 8 for complete information about acceptable 
forms of proof.)

For help getting forms of proof, like a Massachusetts birth 
record or information about how to get a birth record from 
another state, please call us at TDD/TTY: 711. 

What non-U.S. citizens need to know about 
applying for MassHealth or Health Connector 
plans

To get the type of health care that gives the best coverage, 
satisfactory immigration status for each household member 
who is applying must be proved.
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We will perform information matches with federal and 
state agencies to prove immigration status. If electronic 
data sources are not able to prove an individual’s declared 
information, we will ask for additional documentation. We 
will send a Request for Information notice that will list all 
the required forms of proof and the deadline for submitting 
them. Immigration status information is in Section 8, or go 
to the MassHealth website at www.mass.gov/masshealth.

What non-U.S. citizens need to know about 
applying for MassHealth Limited and the 
Health Safety Net

Non-U.S. citizens who are not eligible for a Social Security 
number (SSN) or do not have documentation of their 
immigration status may still qualify for MassHealth Limited 
or the Health Safety Net. However, they do have to give us

•	 proof of their income; and

•	 proof of identity to be eligible for the Health Safety Net.

Non-U.S. citizens do not have to submit their immigration 
documents with the application if they are applying only for 
their children, but are not applying for any health coverage 
for themselves.

If individuals do not have pay stubs or tax records, they 
can prove what their income is in other ways, like giving 
us a signed statement from their employer containing the 
gross (before taxes and deductions) pay and hours worked.



15

Applications and the information on them will be kept 
confidential. This means that

•	 names and addresses will not be sent to immigration 
enforcement officials; and

•	 we will not match information with other agencies if 
individuals do not have Social Security numbers.

What visitors need to know about applying

Individuals who are not Massachusetts residents are not 
eligible for MassHealth or other health care benefits that 
are funded by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. If you 
are visiting Massachusetts for personal pleasure, such as 
for vacation, or for the purposes of receiving medical care 
in a setting other than a nursing facility, you do not meet 
residency requirements for MassHealth. 

A list of free and low-cost legal services is available on the 
MassHealth website at www.mass.gov/masshealth. If you 
would like this list in print form, call us at (800) 841-2900. 
TDD/TTY: 711.
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SECTION 1

APPLYING FOR MASSHEALTH, 
THE MASSACHUSETTS HEALTH 
CONNECTOR, OR THE HEALTH SAFETY 
NET— FOR SENIORS LIVING AT HOME, 
INCLUDING PERSONS OF ANY AGE WHO 
NEED LONG-TERM-CARE SERVICES 
WHILE LIVING AT HOME

Information about MassHealth or the Health 
Safety Net for Seniors Living at Home

This section gives general information about the MassHealth 
eligibility rules for persons who are 65 years of age or older, 
live at home, and generally do not need long-term-care 
services. It also gives information about how to apply for 
MassHealth or the Health Safety Net. If you are not eligible 
for MassHealth, you may be eligible for the Health Safety 
Net, which has different eligibility rules. For more information 
about the Health Safety Net, see Section 5 in this guide.

You may also qualify to buy a health or dental insurance 
plan through the Massachusetts Health Connector, if you 
meet the following requirements:

•	 you are a resident of Massachusetts,
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•	 you are a U.S. citizen/national or are lawfully present in 
the United States, and

•	 you are not in prison.

Health coverage through the Massachusetts Health 
Connector is not MassHealth. If you have Medicare you 
will not be eligible for any cost sharing or tax credits, and 
you cannot purchase a health plan through the Health 
Connector unless you were enrolled in a Health Connector 
plan when you became eligible for Medicare. The only time 
you should apply for Health Connector programs if you 
have Medicare, is if you are not enrolled in Medicare yet but 
would have to pay for your Medicare Part A premiums. In 
this case, you may be eligible for a Health Connector Plan.

If you are in or are waiting to go into a long-term-care facility, 
read Section 2 of this guide, “Applying for MassHealth—for 
Persons in or Waiting to Go into a Long-Term-Care Facility.”

How to apply 

1. 	 Fill out the Senior Application.

Note: If you are applying for MassHealth through the 
Kaileigh Mulligan or PACE, you do not have to fill out 
the Long-Term-Care Supplement. If you are applying 
for MassHealth through the Home- and Community-
Based Services Waiver, you only need to fill out the 
“Resource Transfers” section of Supplement A in the 
application.
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2. 	 Send us the filled-out and signed application with proof 
of

•	 your monthly income before taxes and deductions (like 
a copy of your pension stub or award letter). You do 
not need to send us proof of your social security or 
SSI income. If employed, send proof of your monthly 
employment income before taxes and deductions, 
such as two recent pay stubs or a U.S. tax return. If 
self-employed, send a U.S. tax return, or if no U.S. 
tax return has been filed, you may submit a Profit and 
Loss Statement for the last 12 months signed by an 
accountant (or you, if no accountant was used). Current 
business records showing other relevant documents may 
be submitted as acceptable proof of self-employment;

•	 the current value of your assets (like copies of your 
current bank statements*); and

•	 your U.S. citizenship/national or immigration status and 
identity. (See Section 8 for complete information about 
acceptable forms of proof and for information about 
immigration status and eligibility for benefits.) 

For a MAGI-determined person, we will compare 
information with other agencies and information sources 
when we receive an application. For a description of a 
MAGI-determined person, go to page 25. We also compare 
information at annual review and at other times to update 
or prove eligibility. 
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These agencies and information sources may include: 
Federal Data Services Hub; Department of Unemployment 
Assistance; the Bureau of Vital Statistics in the Department 
of Public Health; Department of Industrial Accidents; 
Department of Veterans’ Services; Department of 
Revenue; Bureau of Special Investigations; Social 
Security Administration; Systematic Alien Verification for 
Entitlements; Department of Transitional Assistance; health-
insurance carriers; and banks and other financial institutions. 

Information about people listed on your application may be 
shared with the Department of Unemployment Assistance 
and their employers (to administer the Employer Medical 
Assistance Contribution (EMAC) requirements of MGL c 
149 s 189A.)

We will compare your income information electronically. 
MassHealth  considers income to be proven if the income 
data we received through  other agencies is compatible 
with the income amount you stated on your application. If 
we are unable to verify your income electronically, we will 
request proof of your income.

*	 Under Chapter 125 of the Acts of 2008: An Act Relative to 
Exempting Seniors from Certain Bank Fees, financial institutions 
cannot charge seniors for copies of bank or other financial records 
if MassHealth is asking for the information.

3. 	 After you have filled out the Senior Application and any 
needed supplements, send your application by mail or 
fax to
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MassHealth Enrollment Center  
PO Box 290794  
Charlestown, MA  02129-0214 

fax: (617) 887-8799

or hand deliver to

MassHealth Enrollment Center  
The Schrafft Center 
529 Main Street, Suite 1M  
Charlestown, MA  02129

4. 	 To apply in person, you can go to any one of the seven  
enrollment centers Monday through Friday from 8:45 
a.m. to 5 p.m. 

Do not mail an application to any of these enrollment 
centers. Drop boxes are available after business hours 
at the Charlestown and Tewksbury Enrollment Centers.

MassHealth Enrollment Centers 

	» 529 Main Street 
Charlestown, MA 02120

	» 45 Spruce Street  
Chelsea, MA 02150

	» 88 Industry Avenue, 
Suite D 
Springfield, MA  01104 

	» 21 Spring Street, Suite 4  
Taunton, MA  02780

	» 367 East Street  
Tewksbury, MA 01876

	» 100 Hancock Street,  
1st Floor  
Quincy, MA 02171

	» 50 SW Cutoff, Suite 1A  
Worcester, MA 01604
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Where to call

Call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711.

•	 a Senior Application;

•	 a Senior Guide to Health Care Coverage in another 
language; 

•	 interpreter services;

•	 help filling out the Senior Application; or

•	 questions about the application process.

General Eligibility Rules

To decide if you can get MassHealth, we look at your income 
and assets and, in some cases, your immigration status.

Residency

You must be a resident of Massachusetts to get 
MassHealth or other health care benefits that are funded by 
the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  Unless otherwise 
specified in the MassHealth regulations, you are a resident of 
Massachusetts if you live in Massachusetts and either intend 
to reside in Massachusetts, with or without a fixed address 
or have entered Massachusetts with a job commitment or 
seeking employment. This means you must actually live in 
Massachusetts and are not temporarily visiting the state.

If you are visiting Massachusetts for personal pleasure, 
such as for vacation, or for the purposes of receiving 
medical care in a setting other than a nursing facility, you 
do not meet residency requirements for MassHealth.
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An individual’s residency will be considered proven if the 
individual has self-declared to being a Massachusetts 
resident, and the residency has been confirmed by 
electronic data matching with federal or state agencies, or 
information services, or the individual has provided any of 
the following documents:

•	 A copy of the deed and record of the most recent 
mortgage payment (if the mortgage was paid in full, a 
copy of the property tax bill from the most recent year)

•	 A current utility bill or work order dated within the past 60 
days

•	 A statement from a homeless shelter or homeless service 
provider

•	 School records (if school is private, additional 
documentation may be requested)

•	 Nursery school or day care records (if school is private, 
additional documentation may be requested)

•	 A Section 8 agreement

•	 A homeowners’ insurance agreement

•	 Proof of enrollment of custodial dependent in public 
school

•	 A copy of the lease and record of the most recent rent 
payment

•	 If you cannot give us any of the documents listed above, 
you may submit an affidavit supporting residency and 
stating you are not visiting Massachusetts for personal 



24

pleasure (i.e. vacation) or for purposes of receiving 
medical care in a setting other than a nursing facility 
signed under the pains and penalties of perjury.

Social Security Numbers

You must give us a social security number (SSN) or proof that 
one has been applied for for every household member who 
is applying, unless one of the following exceptions applies.

•	 You or any household member has a religious exemption 
as described in federal law.

•	 You or any household member is eligible only for a 
nonwork SSN.

•	 You or any household member is not eligible for an 
SSN. See Section 7, “How We Use Your Social Security 
Number,” for an explanation on our authority to use or 
disclose your SSN.

Income Rules

MassHealth compares your monthly income to certain limits 
that are set by law. These limits are based on a percentage 
of the federal poverty level, and may increase each year. If 
you are married and live with your spouse, we count both of 
your incomes in deciding if you can get MassHealth.

To determine the amount of your income, we look at 
the amount of your social security, pension, and other 
nonwork-related income (before deduction of your 
Medicare premium, taxes, or other deductions).
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If you have income from working, we allow certain 
deductions. (Generally, we count only about half of your 
monthly income from working before deductions.)

Income Rules—the Deductible

If your income is too high to get MassHealth Standard*, 
Family Assistance, Health Safety Net or Limited, you will 
have a deductible. We can tell you how to get MassHealth 
by meeting your deductible.

*	 Also, see Section 3, “Special Income Eligibility Rules under 
MassHealth Standard—for Persons Aged 65 or Older Needing 
Personal-Care-Attendant Services to Live at Home.”

The deductible is the total amount of your monthly income 
that is greater than MassHealth’s income limits over a six-
month period.

To meet your deductible, you must have medical bills that 
equal or are greater than the amount of your deductible. 
You may use medical bills for you and your spouse. 
MassHealth will not pay for these medical bills—they are 
your responsibility. Also, the bills you use cannot be for 
services that are covered by other insurance that you or 
your spouse may have.

Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI)

For community applicants under 65 years of age, or for 
those individuals aged 65 or older who request a MAGI 
determination for Health Connector benefits, MAGI 
methodology is used to calculate income.
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Financial eligibility is based on Modified Adjusted Gross 
Income (MAGI). MAGI is the income reported on line 22 on 
the personal 1040 income tax return after the deductions 
from lines 23-35 have been deducted. Then tax-exempt 
interest, foreign earned income exclusions, and tax-exempt 
social security are also added back in.

Countable Income—MAGI

•	 MAGI is the income reported on line 7 on the personal 
1040 income tax return after the income from line 22 of 
Schedule 1 has been added and the deductions from line 
36 of Schedule 1 have been deducted. Then tax-exempt 
interest, foreign earned income exclusions, and tax-
exempt social security income are also added back in.

•	 MAGI methodology includes earned income, such as 
wages, salary, tips, commissions, and bonuses.

•	 MAGI methodology does not count pre-tax contributions 
to salary reduction plans (of up to $2,500 0r $5,000 
depending on filing status) for payment of dependent 
care, transportation, and certain health expenses.

•	 Self-employment income is included in adjusted gross 
income, but the tax code allows deductions for various 
business-related travel and entertainment expenses 
(up to a limit), and business use of a personal home. If 
the deductions exceed the income earned from self-
employment, the losses can be used to offset other 
income.
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•	 An amount received as a lump sum is counted as income 
only in the month received. Exception: for plans through 
the Health Connector, income received as a lump sum is 
countable for the year in which it is received.

Deductions—MAGI

The following are allowable deductions from countable 
income when determining MAGI:  educator expenses; 
certain business expenses of reservists, performing 
artists, or fee-based government officials; health savings 
account deduction; moving expenses for members of 
the Armed Forces; deductible part of self-employment 
taxes; contribution to self-employment SEP, SIMPLE, and 
qualified plans; self-employed health insurance deduction; 
penalty on early withdrawal of savings; alimony paid for 
a divorce, separation agreement, or court order that was 
finalized before January 1, 2019;  Individual Retirement 
Account (IRA) deductions; student loan interest deduction.

For MAGI-determined individuals, we will perform 
information matches with other agencies and information 
sources when an application is submitted, at annual review, 
and periodically to update or prove eligibility.

These agencies and information sources may include, but 
are not limited to the following agencies: Federal Data 
Services Hub; Department of Unemployment Assistance; 
the Bureau of Vital Statistics in the Department of Public 
Health; Department of Industrial Accidents; Department 
of Veterans’ Services; Department of Revenue; Bureau 
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of Special Investigations; Social Security Administration; 
Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements; Department 
of Transitional Assistance; health-insurance carriers; and 
banks and other financial institutions.

Income information will be obtained through an electronic 
data match. Income is considered proved if the income 
data received through an electronic data match is 
reasonably compatible with the income amount you stated 
on your application. If we are unable to verify your income 
electronically, we will request proof of your income.

In order to get any benefits you are entitled to as quickly as 
possible, you may send us any documentation you have 
that verifies all household income.

General Asset Rules

MassHealth looks at the current value of any assets owned 
by you and compares them to the asset limits. For the most 
updated information about assets and other figures that 
MassHealth uses to determine eligibility go to  
www.mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-
guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-applicants-and-
members. If you are married and live with your spouse, we 
count the value of assets owned by you and your spouse.

Countable Assets

Countable assets include, but are not limited to, the value 
of bank accounts*, certificates of deposit, mutual funds, 
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stocks and bonds, and the value of real property, except 
your home, if it meets eligibility requirements.

*	 Under Chapter 125 of the Acts of 2008: An Act Relative to 
Exempting Seniors from Certain Bank Fees, financial institutions 
cannot charge seniors for copies of bank or other financial records 
if MassHealth is asking for the information.

Noncountable Assets

Noncountable assets include:

•	 the home you live in if it is located in Massachusetts, 
unless you are getting long-term-care services in a long-
term-care facility (see Section 2 of this guide).

Note: Although we do not count the value of your home, 
we may claim money from your estate after your death. For 
more information about estate recovery, see page 99.

•	 one vehicle for each household

•	 life insurance policies for both you and your spouse if the 
total face value for each of you is $1,500 or less (Face 
value of term policies is not counted.)

•	 burial plots

•	 up to $1,500 per person for you and your spouse that 
is specifically set aside for funeral and burial expenses. 
This amount

	» must be in separate, identifiable accounts; or

	» may be in the form of life insurance policies specifically 
set up for funeral and burial expenses if the total face 
value for each of you is $1,500 or less.
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•	 an irrevocable burial trust or prepaid irrevocable burial 
contract set up in reasonable amounts for future 
payment of funeral or burial expenses

Information about Programs for Persons 
Living at Home Who Need Long- Term-Care 
Services

People living at home (children as well as adults) who need 
more help than family members can give, may be able to 
get certain long-term-care services to help them live at 
home, instead of in a long-term- care facility. MassHealth 
has three types of programs that allow certain MassHealth 
Standard members to get these needed long-term-care 
services at home: 
•	 Home- and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Waiver  

programs;
•	 Kaileigh Mulligan Program (Home Care for Disabled  

Children); and 
•	 PACE (Program of All-inclusive Care for the Elderly).

Each program has its own eligibility rules (including income 
and asset rules). 

Waiver applicants and members must have income less 
than or equal to 300% of the federal benefit rate 

When determining eligibility for these waivers, MassHealth 
counts the assets of both the applicant and their spouse, 
but counts the income of only the waiver applicant.
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For more detailed information about how we look at 
countable assets, see “Asset Rules for People Who Are in 
or Are Waiting to Go into a Long-Term-Care Facility and 
People Living at Home Needing Long-Term-Care Services” 
on page 48 of this booklet.

Home- and Community-Based Waivers

MassHealth works with other state agencies to administer 
the Home- and Community-Based (HCBS) Services Waivers. 
These are MassHealth programs that provide access to 
long-term services and supports to help eligible seniors and 
individuals with disabilities live in the community. Participants 
in the HCBS waiver programs have access to traditional 
MassHealth services and services available through the 
HCBS waiver in which they are enrolled. There are ten 
different MassHealth HCBS waivers in Massachusetts.

To be a participant in any of the HCBS waivers you must 
be eligible for MassHealth Standard and meet certain 
requirements. The types of requirements are “clinical 
eligibility” and “financial eligibility.” 

Clinical eligibility is determined by an assessment of your 
medical situation and needs. Please contact the agency 
conducting the clinical assessment for more information 
about the process.

Waiver applicants and members must have countable 
income less than or equal to 300% of the federal benefit 
rate.
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When determining financial eligibility for these waivers, 
MassHealth counts the assets of both the waiver applicant 
and their spouse, but counts the income of only the waiver 
applicant.

Note: 	 For the Kaileigh Mulligan program, financial 
eligibility is determined without counting parental 
income and assets.

Eligible individuals may enroll in only one HCBS waiver 
at a time. Waiver participants are not permitted to enroll 
in Program of All-inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE), 
One Care, or Senior Care Options (SCO) while enrolled in 
an HCBS waiver. The exception is that a participant who 
is age 65 or older and enrolled in the Frail Elder waiver, 
described below, may enroll in SCO.

Home- and Community-Based Services 
Waiver for Frail Elders

What it is and who it helps

•	 Allows certain people from 60 through 64 years of age 
who are totally and permanently disabled, or 65 years 
of age and older regardless of disability, to live at home 
and get specified waiver services (like homemaker, 
nonmedical transportation, and home-delivered meals).

•	 Waiver participants may also receive services covered 
under MassHealth Standard. 
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•	 Requires that the member has clinical level of care 
needs equal to that provided in a nursing facility, based 
on a waiver clinical assessment conducted by an Aging 
Services Access Point (ASAP) nurse.

How and where to apply

Generally, referrals are made by Massachusetts 
Rehabilitation Commission case managers. for a Senior 
Application, and for more information about this program, 
call us at (800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711. 

Home- and Community-Based Services 
Waiver for Persons with Traumatic Brain Injury

What it is and who it helps

•	 Allows certain people, from 18 through 64 years of age, 
who are totally and permanently disabled or 65 years 
of age and older regardless of disability, who have a 
traumatic brain injury as defined by the Massachusetts 
Rehabilitation Commission to receive specified waiver 
services in the home or community. 

•	 Waiver participants also receive services covered under 
MassHealth Standard. 

•	 Requires that the member has clinical level of care needs 
equal to that provided in a nursing facility or hospital, 
based on a waiver clinical assessment conducted by the 
Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission.
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How and where to apply

Generally, referrals are made by Massachusetts 
Rehabilitation Commission case managers. Call us at  
(800) 841-2900, TTY: (800) 497-4648 for a Senior 
Application, and for more information about this program.

Home- and Community-Based Services 
Waivers for Persons with Acquired Brain 
Injury (ABI)

What it is and who it helps

•	 Allows certain people from 22 through 64 years of age 
who are totally and permanently disabled or 65 years of 
age and older regardless of disability, who have acquired, 
after reaching the age of 22, a brain injury including, 
without limitation, brain injuries caused by external force, 
but not including Alzheimer’s disease and similar neuro-
degenerative diseases, the primary manifestation of 
which is dementia. 

•	 To qualify for the ABI waiver, an individual must have 
been an inpatient in a nursing facility or chronic disease 
or rehabilitation hospital with a continuous length of stay 
of 90 or more days.

•	 Waiver services may be provided in a residential 
habilitation setting or in the home or community. 
Waiver participants also receive services covered under 
MassHealth Standard.
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•	 Requires that the member has clinical level of care needs 
equal to that provided in a nursing facility or hospital, based 
on a waiver clinical assessment conducted by the Waiver 
Unit at the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

How and where to apply 

To apply for the Home- and Community-Based Services 
Waivers for Persons with Acquired Brain Injury, contact the 
Waiver Unit
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 at the University of Massachusetts Medical School at (866) 
281-5602, TTY: (800) 596-1746.

Moving Forward Plan (MFP) Home- and 
Community-Based Services Waivers

What it is and who it helps

•	 Allows certain people from 18 through 64 years of 
age who are totally and permanently disabled, or 65 
years of age and older regardless of disability, who 
are an inpatient in a nursing facility, chronic disease, 
rehabilitation, or psychiatric hospital to receive support 
services and other specified waiver services. 

•	 To qualify for the MFP waivers, the individual must have 
been an inpatient in a nursing facility, chronic disease, 
rehabilitation, or psychiatric hospital with a continuous 
length of stay of 90 or more days. 

•	 Waiver services may be provided in a 24 hour a day/7 day 
a week residential habilitation setting or in the participant’s 
home in the community. Waiver participants also receive 
services covered under MassHealth Standard.

•	 Requires that the member has clinical level of care needs 
equal to that provided in a nursing facility or hospital, based 
on a waiver clinical assessment conducted by the Waiver 
Unit at the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

How and where to apply 

To apply for the MFP Home- and Community-Based 
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Services Waivers, contact the Waiver Unit at the University 
of Massachusetts Medical School at (855) 499-5109, TTY: 
(800) 596-1746. 

Home- and Community-Based Services 
Waiver for Adults with an Intellectual Disability

What it is and who it helps

•	 There are three waiver programs that allow individuals 
with an intellectual disability from 22 through 64 years of 
age who are totally and permanently disabled, or who are 
65 years of age and older regardless of disability, who 
have an intermediate-care facility for the intellectually 
disabled (ICF-ID) level of care to receive support services 
and other specified waiver services.

•	 Waiver services may be provided in a residential 
habilitation setting or in the home or community. 
Waiver participants also receive services covered under 
MassHealth Standard.

•	 Requires that the member has clinical level of care 
needs equal to that provided in an intermediate care 
facility for the intellectually disabled, based on a waiver 
clinical assessment conducted by the Department of 
Developmental Services.

How and where to apply

Generally, referrals are made by case managers from 
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the Department of Developmental Services. For a Senior 
Application, and for more information about this program 
Call us at (800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711.

Kaileigh Mulligan Program  
(Home Care for Disabled Children)

What it is and who it helps

•	 Allows certain severely disabled children (under 18 years 
of age) to live at home with their parent(s) and have 
MassHealth eligibility determined without counting the 
income and assets of their parent(s) 

•	 Requires that the child’s medical needs be severe 
enough to need a level of care equal to that provided in 
a hospital or pediatric nursing facility, as determined by 
MassHealth’s Disability Evaluation Service

•	 Covers payment for a wide range of medical and nursing 
care, and certain medical equipment and supplies for the 
child 

•	 Requires that the cost to MassHealth for these services 
be not greater than what it would cost for the child to live 
in a hospital setting or nursing facility

•	 Sets up a link between the child’s family and the 
Department of Public Health’s case management 
services to follow the child’s care

How and where to apply
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Generally, referrals are made by Department of Public Health 
case managers or by the child’s hospital social worker who 
can give you an Application for Health Coverage for Seniors 
and People Needing Long-Term-Care Services (Senior 
Application) and help you apply for this program.

For a Senior Application, and for more information about this 
program, call us at (800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711.

PACE  
(Program of All-inclusive Care for the Elderly)

What it is and who it helps

PACE is a program that provides enrolled members access 
to all services covered by Medicare and MassHealth and 
offers more services based on a member’s needs, through 
a center-based model. PACE provides all necessary 
medical and social services to people so that members can 
live safely in their community instead of in a nursing home.

There are no copays for members enrolled in PACE.

If you are interested in finding out more about the steps 
to enroll in PACE, you can reach out to a PACE plan that 
serves the area you live in or call the number below. 
To determine if someone is eligible to enroll in PACE, a 
team of health professionals from a PACE organization 
meets with an applicant to complete an assessment of 
the applicant’s health status. The PACE organization then 
submits the clinical assessment along with an application 
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to MassHealth. If MassHealth determines that the applicant 
meets PACE clinical and financial requirements, the 
applicant can decide to enroll in PACE.

PACE is for people who:

•	 are 55 years of age or older,

•	 live in the service area of a PACE organization,

•	 are able to live safely in the community,

•	 are certified by the state as eligible for nursing home care, 

•	 agree to receive health services exclusively through the 
PACE organization, and

•	 have countable income less than or equal to 300% of the 
federal benefit rate.

When determining financial eligibility for PACE, MassHealth 
counts the income and assets of only the applicant 
regardless of their marital status. For the most updated 
information about assets and other figures that MassHealth 
uses to determine eligibility, go to www.mass.gov/
service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-
masshealth-applicants-and-members.

Once enrolled in PACE, every PACE member is assigned 
a care team including doctors, nurses, therapists,  and 
other medical and social service providers. A plan of care is 
developed with the member and the member’s care team. 
The PACE organization coordinates and arranges for all 
necessary services. Most routine services are provided in 
a PACE center, but certain services may be given in the 
participant’s home or other facility.
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Covered services include: meal delivery, transportation, adult 
day health, social services, prescriptions*, hospitalizations, 
and, if necessary, nursing facility placement.

PACE provides a PACE case manager to coordinate the 
participant’s care.

* PACE provides your Medicare prescription drug coverage.

How and where to apply

MassHealth applicants and members may apply for 
PACE. Call MassOptions at (888)  885-0484 for a Senior 
Application, and for more information about this program.

Managed Care

If you are age 65 or older or in a long-term-care facility, you 
are not required to enroll in a managed care organization 
(MCO) plan, a Primary Care Clinician (PCC) plan, or an 
Accountable Care Organization (ACO). You receive your 
MassHealthbenefits on a fee-for-service basis by using 
MassHealth providers, unless you choose to enroll in 
Senior Care Options (SCO) or PACE.

Members under the age of 65 in the HCBS waivers 
programs may choose, but are not required, to enroll in an 
MCO plan, a PCC plan, or an ACO if you are not covered by 
other comprehensive health insurance, including Medicare. 
A health plan is a group of providers, hospitals, and other 
professionals who work together to help meet your health 
care needs. If you enroll in an MCO plan, you will have a 90-
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day Plan Selection period, when you can change your plan 
for any reason, followed by a Fixed Enrollment period, when 
you can only change plans if you meet a certain reason.

If you would like more information about MCO plans or 
PCC plans, please review the MassHealth Enrollment 
Guide. To get a copy

•	 Visit our website at www.mass.gov/masshealth, or

•	 Call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711.
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SECTION 2 

APPLYING FOR MASSHEALTH—FOR 
PERSONS IN OR WAITING TO GO INTO A 
LONG-TERM-CARE FACILITY

Long-Term-Care Information

This section gives general information about the special 
eligibility rules for persons who are in or are waiting to go 
into a long-term-care facility. If you meet these special 
rules, MassHealth may be able to pay for your care in a 
long-term-care facility. Section 2 also gives information 
about how to apply for MassHealth.

A long-term-care facility is a type of medical institution that 
includes

•	 licensed nursing facilities;

•	 chronic disease and rehabilitation hospitals;

•	 state hospitals and state schools specifically designated 
as long-term-care facilities; and

•	 intermediate-care facilities for the intellectually disabled.

Long-term-care services are the types of services needed if 
you are frequently ill and/or permanently disabled and need 
help, or cannot take care of yourself. These include medical 
and personal care services. Generally, people get long-term-
care services while they are in a long-term-care facility.
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To be eligible for payment of long-term-care services in a 
long-term-care facility, you must

•	 be eligible for MassHealth Standard as a person who is

	» 65 years of age or older;

	» 21 through 64 years of age and disabled according to 
the Social Security Administration’s disability rules, or 
pregnant; or

	» under 21 years of age;

•	 be determined by MassHealth as medically needing 
long-term-care services; and

•	 prove that you (and your spouse) meet certain income 
and asset rules.

General Long-Term-Care Eligibility Rules

To decide if you can get MassHealth, we look at your income 
and assets and, in some cases, your immigration status.

Residency

You must be a resident of Massachusetts to get MassHealth 
or other health care benefits that are funded by the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Unless otherwise 
specified in the MassHealth regulations, you are a resident of 
Massachusetts if you live in Massachusetts and either intend 
to reside in Massachusetts, with or without a fixed address 
or have entered Massachusetts with a job commitment or 
seeking employment. This means you must actually live in 
Massachusetts and are not temporarily visiting the state.
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If you are visiting Massachusetts for personal pleasure, 
such as for vacation, or for the purposes of receiving 
medical care in a setting other than a nursing facility, you 
do not meet residency requirements for MassHealth.

An individual’s residency will be considered proven if the 
individual has self-declared to being a Massachusetts 
resident, and the residency has been confirmed by 
electronic data matching with federal or state agencies, or 
information services, or the individual has provided any of 
the following documents:

•	 A copy of the deed and record of the most recent 
mortgage payment (if the mortgage was paid in full, a 
copy of the property tax bill from the most recent year)

•	 A current utility bill or work order dated within the past 60 
days

•	 A statement from a homeless shelter or homeless service 
provider

•	 School records (if school is private, additional 
documentation may be requested)

•	 Nursery school or day care records (if school is private, 
additional documentation may be requested)

•	 A Section 8 agreement

•	 A homeowners’ insurance agreement

•	 Proof of enrollment of custodial dependent in public school

•	 A copy of the lease AND record of the most recent rent 
payment
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•	 If you cannot give us any of the documents listed above, 
you may submit an affidavit supporting residency and 
stating you are not visiting Massachusetts for personal 
pleasure (i.e. vacation) or for purposes of receiving 
medical care in a setting other than a nursing facility 
signed under the pains and penalties of perjury.

Social Security Numbers

You must give us a social security number (SSN) or proof 
that one has been applied for for every household member 
who is applying, unless one of the following exceptions 
applies.

•	 You or any household member has a religious exemption 
as described in federal law.

•	 You or any household member is eligible only for a 
nonwork SSN.

•	 You or any household member is not eligible for an 
SSN. See Section 7, “How We Use Your Social Security 
Number,” for an explanation on our authority to use or 
disclose your SSN.

General Asset Rules

MassHealth looks at the current value of any assets owned 
by you and compares them to the asset limits. For the 
most updated information about assets and other figures 
that MassHealth uses to determine eligibility go to www.
mass.gov/service-details/program-financial-guidelines-for-
certain-masshealth-applicants-and-members. If you are 
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married and live with your spouse, we count the value of 
assets owned by you and your spouse. 

Countable Assets

Countable assets include, but are not limited to, the value 
of bank accounts, certificates of deposit, mutual funds, 
stocks and bonds, and the value of real property, except 
your home, if it meets eligibility requirements.

Noncountable Assets

Noncountable assets include

•	 the home you live in if it is located in Massachusetts and 
meets other eligibility requirements. If you move out of 
your home to live in a long-term-care facility or other 
medical institution, other rules may apply. See “How We 
Count Assets and the Home” on page 48.

•	 one vehicle for each household

•	 life insurance policies for both you and your spouse if the 
total face value for each of you is $1,500 or less (Face 
value of term policies is not counted.)

•	 burial plots

•	 up to $1,500 per person for you and your spouse that 
is specifically set aside for funeral and burial expenses. 
This amount must be in separate, identifiable accounts, 
or may be in the form of life-insurance policies 
specifically set up for funeral and burial expenses if the 
total face value for each of you is $1,500 or less
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•	 an irrevocable burial trust or prepaid irrevocable burial 
contract set up in reasonable amounts for future 
payment of funeral or burial expenses

Asset Rules for People Who Are in or Are 
Waiting to Go into a Long-Term-Care Facility 
and People Living at Home Needing Long-
Term-Care Services

Amount You and Your Spouse Can Keep

•	 You may keep $2,000. 

•	 Your spouse at home may keep up to a certain amount, 
which changes every January. This amount may also be 
increased as a result of an appeal. (See the MassHealth 
regulations at 130 CMR 520.000.) MassHealth must 
follow special rules when determining how much the 
spouse at home may keep.

Note: Your spouse at home has the right to ask for a 
fair hearing to determine if they can keep more of your 
combined assets.

How We Count Assets and the Home

If the equity interest in your home is over the allowable limit, 
you may be ineligible for payment of long-term-care services, 
unless one of the following relatives is living in your home:

•	 your spouse; 

•	 a permanently and totally disabled child;

•	 a blind child; or
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•	 a child under 21 years of age.

In certain cases, MassHealth may waive this requirement if 
undue hardship exists. For the most updated information 
about assets and other figures MassHealth uses to 
determine eligibility go to www.mass.gov/service-details/
program-financial-guidelines-for-certain-masshealth-
applicants-and-members.

If you move out of your home to live in a medical institution, 
MassHealth decides if your former home is a countable asset 
because it is no longer your principal place of residence.

Your home is not countable if you have moved to a medical 
institution and

•	 your spouse lives in your home or certain other relatives 
who meet specific rules live in your home;

•	 you intend to return home; or

•	 you have long-term-care insurance that meets certain 
requirements.

If none of the above three situations applies to you, the 
value of your home may be counted, but you will be 
allowed nine months to sell the property (in certain cases, 
you will be allowed even more time).

Note: Although we may not count the value of your home, 
we may claim money from your estate after your death, or 
from the sale of your home while you are in a long-term-
care facility. For more information about real estate liens 
and estate recovery, see below and page 99.
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How We Count Transfers of Income, Assets, and the Home

If you or your spouse gave away or transferred assets or 
income for less than what they were worth, MassHealth 
may not be able to pay for your nursing facility services (or 
for services equal to those provided in a nursing facility) for 
a certain period of time. MassHealth reviews all transfers, 
including transfers into and out of trusts, that were made 
during the period of time up to 60 months before the date 
you applied for MassHealth, or before the date you or your 
spouse entered a medical institution, whichever is later.

The transfer rules apply to

•	 people living at home who are applying for or getting 
MassHealth on the basis of the Home- and Community-
Based Services Waiver;

•	 people applying for or getting MassHealth who are living 
in a medical institution; and

•	 any assets, including your home, or income in which 
you or your spouse have a legal interest and that are 
transferred to anyone other than your spouse and certain 
others. However, you may transfer your home under 
certain conditions according to MassHealth rules.

If you got MassHealth and you transferred property for less 
than what it was worth, MassHealth may take legal action 
to set aside the transfer. (This means that a court may 
determine that you still legally own the property.) For more 
information about estate recovery, see page 99.

See the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 520.000 for more information.
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Liens on Property, Including the Home

MassHealth will place a real estate lien on any property in which 
you have a legal interest, unless the property is your former 
home and one of the following relatives is living in the property:

•	 your spouse;

•	 a sibling with a legal interest who has lived there for at 
least one year immediately before you went into a long-
term-care facility;

•	 a permanently and totally disabled child;

•	 a blind child; or

•	 a child under 21 years of age.

A lien is placed only after MassHealth decides that it is not 
likely that you will return home from the long-term-care 
facility, and sends a notice that it intends to place a lien. 
If you are discharged from the facility and return home, 
MassHealth will remove its lien. If you sell the property 
during your lifetime, MassHealth has the right to get back 
from your share of the proceeds any money it paid for 
all services you got from MassHealth on or after April 1, 
1995. MassHealth will count any remaining proceeds when 
deciding if you can still remain eligible for MassHealth. 

In certain cases, MassHealth may decide not to use its lien 
during a person’s lifetime to get paid back for long-term-
care services. For information about recovery and long-
term-care insurance, see pages 99-100.

See the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 515.000 for more information.
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The Patient-Paid Amount

You may have to make a monthly payment to the long-term 
care facility. This is called your patient-paid amount. (Your 
spouse living at home does not have to contribute any of 
their income toward the cost of your care.) Your patient-
paid amount is determined using the following income 
deductions.

A personal needs allowance

The amount (set by state and federal law, in most cases 
$72.80 a month) that you are allowed to keep for personal 
expenses, like clothing, haircuts, and activities.

A spousal maintenance needs allowance

A deduction, based on financial need, for the living 
expenses of your spouse who is living at home. The 
minimum allowance changes every July, and the maximum 
allowance changes every January, and can vary if your 
spouse has extra shelter expenses. (See the MassHealth 
regulations at 130 CMR 520.000.) The maximum amount 
can be higher as a result of an appeal or a court order.

A family maintenance needs allowance

A deduction for the living expenses of certain family 
members who live with your spouse at home. 
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A home maintenance allowance

A deduction for your home expenses if you are single 
and a medical decision has been made that you are 
expected to return home within six months. The current 
monthly allowance is $1,255. (This amount is in effect as 
of March 1,2024.) 

A medical expense allowance

A deduction for health insurance premiums and certain 
other incurred medical expenses (including allowable 
guardianship fees) not payable by any insurer.

Applying for MassHealth

How to apply

1.	 Fill out the Senior Application including the Long-Term-
Care Supplement.

2.	 Send us the filled-out and signed application and the 
Long-Term-Care Supplement with proof of

	» your monthly income before taxes and deductions (like 
a copy of your pension stub or award letter). You do 
not need to send us proof of your social security or 
SSI income. If employed, send proof of your monthly 
employment income before taxes and deductions, 
such as two recent pay stubs or a U.S. tax return. If 
self-employed, send a U.S. tax return, or if no U.S. 
tax return has been filed, you may submit a Profit 
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and Loss Statement for the last 12 months signed by 
an accountant (or you, if no accountant was used). 
Current business records showing other relevant 
documents may be submitted as acceptable proof of 
self-employment;

	» the current value of your assets (like copies of your 
current bank statements*); and

	» your U.S. citizenship/national status and identity. (See 
Section 8 for complete information about acceptable 
forms of proof and for information about immigration 
status and eligibility for benefits.)

*	 Under Chapter 125 of the Acts of 2008: An Act Relative to 
Exempting Seniors from Certain Bank Fees, financial institutions 
cannot charge seniors for copies of bank or other financial records 
if MassHealth is asking for the information.

We will perform information matches with other agencies 
and information sources when an application is submitted, 
at annual review, and periodically to update or prove 
eligibility. 

These agencies and information sources may include, but 
are not limited to the following agencies: Federal Data 
Services Hub; Department of Unemployment Assistance; 
the Bureau of Vital Statistics in the Department of Public 
Health; Department of Industrial Accidents; Department 
of Veterans’ Services; Department of Revenue; Bureau 
of Special Investigations; Social Security Administration; 
Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements; Department 
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of Transitional Assistance; health-insurance carriers; and 
banks and other financial institutions. Note that information 
about persons listed  on your  application may be shared 
with the Department of Unemployment Assistance and 
such persons’ employers as necessary to administer 
the Employer Medical Assistance Contribution (EMAC) 
requirements of MGL c 149 s 189A.

3.	 After you have filled out the Senior Application and any 
needed supplements, send your application by 
mail or fax to:  
MassHealth Enrollment Center  
PO Box 290794 
Charlestown, MA 02129-0214 
fax: (617) 887-8799

or hand deliver to:  
MassHealth Enrollment Center  
The Schrafft Center 
529 Main Street, Suite 1M 
Charlestown, MA 02129.

Where to call

Call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 if you need

•	 a Senior Application;

•	 a Senior Guide to Health Care Coverage in another 
language; 

•	 interpreter services;
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•	 help filling out the Senior Application; or

•	 help with any questions about the application process.
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SECTION 3

SPECIAL INCOME ELIGIBILITY RULES 
UNDER MASSHEALTH STANDARD—FOR 
PERSONS 65 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER 
NEEDING PERSONAL-CARE-ATTENDANT 
SERVICES TO LIVE AT HOME*

*	 Section 3 applies only to persons with income over 100% of the 
federal poverty level (see chart on the inside back cover). Persons 
of any age with income at or below 100% of the federal poverty 
level do not need to meet these special income eligibility rules to get 
MassHealth or to get personal-care-attendant (PCA) services paid for 
by MassHealth. 

How does my need for MassHealth personal-
care-attendant (PCA) services affect the way 
MassHealth decides if I can get MassHealth?

If, according to the chart on the inside back cover, we 
decide that your income is over 100% of the federal 
poverty level and you are 65 years of age or older, we may 
be able to count less of your nonworking income when 
deciding if you can get MassHealth. Special MassHealth 
eligibility rules would then apply, which are explained 
below.
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What does MassHealth mean by PCA services?

The types of services offered by the MassHealth PCA 
Program under MassHealth Standard may help you if you 
are elderly and have a permanent or long-lasting disability 
that keeps you from being able to do your daily living 
activities, like bathing, grooming, eating, getting dressed, 
toileting, moving around, taking your medicines, etc., 
unless someone physically helps you. By getting PCA 
services, some people can live at home instead of having 
to live in a long-term-care facility. 

For more information, see MassHealth PCA regulations at 130 CMR 
422.000.

Who can get MassHealth PCA services?

Not everyone can get MassHealth PCA services. To get 
PCA services, you must

•	 have a permanent or long-lasting disability;

•	 need someone to physically help you with your daily 
living activities, like those listed above, which you cannot 
do by yourself;

•	 have a doctor’s written authorization that you need PCA 
services; and

•	 get prior authorization from MassHealth.
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How do I tell MassHealth that I am now 
getting or think I need PCA services?

If you are now getting or you think you may need PCA 
services because of your disability, you may tell us when 
you fill out a Senior Application (if you are applying for 
MassHealth). The application has a separate PCA section 
with three questions about your need for PCA services, as 
explained below. 

•	 You must answer the first question in the PCA section.

•	 If you are now getting MassHealth PCA services, and 
want to continue getting MassHealth PCA services, 
answer only question 1 in the PCA section. MassHealth 
will send you a notice telling you about our decision.

•	 If you think you need PCA services, you must also 
answer questions 2 and 3 in the PCA section. If you 
answer “YES” to questions 2 and 3, you must also fill 
out Supplement C: Personal Care Attendant. The PCA 
Supplement is enclosed with the Senior Application and 
the renewal form.

If you are an existing MassHealth member, the PCA 
Supplement can be completed as a free-standing 
form, which can be found at www.mass.gov/files/
documents/2018/11/20/pca-supp.pdf.
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What happens next?

We will review your statement of need for PCA services 
and your filled-out PCA Supplement so we can decide if 
you may need any PCA services. We will send you a notice 
telling you about our decision.

What must I do if MassHealth agrees that I 
may need PCA services?

If we decide that you need PCA services, and we count less 
of your income, and we decide you can get MassHealth,

•	 you must contact a MassHealth personal care 
management (PCM) agency to set up PCA services 
within 90 days of the date we decide you can get 
MassHealth. To get a list of MassHealth PCM agencies, 
call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711; and

•	 we will tell you if you need to give us proof that you have 
contacted a MassHealth PCM agency.

Important: When the PCM agency you have chosen 
accepts you for PCA services, you will become the 
employer of your own PCA. This means that you are 
responsible to find, hire, train, and fire (if needed) your own 
PCA. You will also have to follow special rules to make sure 
your PCA gets paid on time. The PCM agency can tell you 
how to get help with these duties. MassHealth may not pay 
certain members of your family to be your PCA.
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To find out more about the MassHealth Personal Care 
Attendant Program, call us at (800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 
711.

For the most up-to-date eligibility figures, go to www.mass.
gov/service-details/eligibility-figures-tables-for-masshealth-
applicants-and-members.
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SECTION 4

MASSACHUSETTS HEALTH CONNECTOR

The Massachusetts Health Connector (Health Connector) 
provides access to health and dental insurance plans for 
individuals, families, and small businesses.

Health coverage through the Massachusetts Health 
Connector is not the same as MassHealth. If you 
are eligible for Medicare you will not be able to get a 
ConnectorCare plan or tax credit to help lower the cost of 
your health insurance. You will only be eligible for a Health 
Connector dental plan without any financial help. The only 
exception to this is if you are eligible for a Medicare Part 
A plan that has a premium, but you have not enrolled in it 
yet. In this case, you may still qualify for health coverage 
and for help paying for health coverage through the Health 
Connector.

Generally, you can qualify to buy a health and/or dental 
insurance plan through the Health Connector if you meet 
the following requirements:

•	 you are a resident of Massachusetts,

•	 you are a U.S. citizen/national, or are lawfully present in 
the United States, and 

•	 you are not in prison.
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You have the option of choosing to buy a health coverage 
plan through the Health Connector if you are 65 years of 
age or older. You may be eligible for a tax credit to lower 
your monthly premiums, or ConnectorCare plans, which 
have low premiums and low out-of-pocket costs. See the 
“Advance Premium Tax Credits” section below for more 
details.

If you are not eligible for a tax credit or ConnectorCare 
plan, and you want health coverage through the Health 
Connector, you will be responsible for the full cost of the 
plan.

Health Connector Plans

All of the health plans offered provide full health benefits, 
including visits to the doctor or hospital, and prescriptions. 
The Health Connector’s plans are described below using 
metallic terms to make it easier for you to compare them.

•	 Platinum plans have the highest premium, but the lowest 
copays and deductibles. 

•	 Gold and Silver plans have lower premiums, but higher 
copays and deductibles.

•	 Bronze plans have the lowest premiums, but the highest 
copays and deductibles. 

Each health plan also has different doctors, hospitals, and 
other providers in its networks.
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Advance Premium Tax Credits

Advance Premium Tax Credits are a way to lower the cost 
of your insurance premiums. The amount of your tax credit 
depends on your household size, income, and the cost of 
health plans available to you. You can find out whether you 
qualify for a tax credit, and how much the credit will be 
after submitting an application.

If you qualify for Advance Premium Tax Credits, you can 
choose to get this credit at the end of the year when 
you file your taxes. Or, you can use it on a monthly basis 
toward your insurance premiums. The tax credit will be sent 
directly to your insurance company so that you pay less 
each month.

ConnectorCare plans

In addition to Advance Premium Tax Credits from the 
federal government, you may also be able to get help 
paying for health insurance from Massachusetts through 
a ConnectorCare health insurance plan. ConnectorCare 
plans are a set of health insurance plans with lower 
monthly premiums and lower out-of-pocket costs. 

Special cost sharing for American Indians 
and Alaska Natives

American Indians and Alaska Natives may be able to get 
additional help paying for care. If you are an American 
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Indian and you get services directly from an Indian Health 
Service Center, a tribal or urban Indian organization, or 
through the Contract Health Service program, you will not 
have to pay any out-of-pocket costs at the time you get 
care. You will also be able to enroll in or change health 
plans on a monthly basis throughout the year. American 
Indians and Alaska Natives with income at or below 300% 
of the FPL will not have to pay out-of-pocket costs such as 
copays, deductibles, and coinsurance.

Eligibility for Advance Premium Tax Credits 
and ConnectorCare 

•	 ConnectorCare plans may be available for households 
with income at 300% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) 
or lower.

•	 Advance Premium Tax Credits (APTC) may be available 
for higher income households. The amount you qualify 
for is based on your income and the cost of plans 
available to you. APTC helps limit the cost of monthly 
premiums. You may also qualify for tax credits if you are 
a lawfully present immigrant with an income that is at or 
below 100% of the FPL..

To qualify for Advance Premium Tax Credits and 
ConnectorCare, you will also need to meet the following 
requirements:

•	 are not enrolled in Medicare or eligible for Medicare;
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•	 are not able to buy health insurance through an employer 
that meets “minimum value” requirements and is 
affordable; or

•	 are not otherwise eligible MassHealth; 

•	 agree to file federal income taxes for each year that you 
get benefits; and 

•	 agree to file taxes jointly if you are married.

How do I know if my employer’s plan meets 
minimum value standards?

“Minimum value” standards mean that the health plan will 
pay at least 60% of the total cost of medical services for a 
standard population. The other 40% of costs would be paid 
by members through deductibles, copays, and coinsurance. 
Most employer plans meet the Minimum Value standards. To 
find out if your employer’s plan meets these standards, talk 
to your human resources department or the health plan.

Which employer plans are considered 
“affordable”?

Under the Affordable Care Act (ACA), your employer’s plan 
is considered affordable in 2024 if the lowest-cost plan  
costs less than 8.39% of your household’s income. 
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Tax filing requirements

To get tax credits or a ConnectorCare plan, you need to file 
income taxes for the year when you got health benefits. If 
you are married, you need to file your income taxes jointly, 
unless you are a victim of domestic abuse or abandoned 
by a spouse.

If you have ever received an Advance Premium Tax Credit 
(APTC) in the past or had a ConnectorCare plan, you are 
required to “reconcile” the tax credit you received with the 
IRS. To reconcile, you need to file IRS Form 8962 with your 
federal income tax return. Form 8962 has information the 
IRS uses to see if you got the right amount of tax credit to 
lower your health insurance premiums throughout the year. 

If you received too much tax credit in advance, you could 
owe some or all of it back to the IRS. If you received 
too little tax credit, you could get back the amount you 
overpaid. 

You will need to file Form 8962 with your taxes every year 
you receive an APTC.

Premiums

If you have a monthly premium, it must be paid by the 
23rd of every month. When you enroll in a plan through the 
Health Connector, you will need to pay your first premium 
by the 23rd of the month before your coverage can start.
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Coverage begins

After you qualify for a health or dental insurance plan 
through the Health Connector, you must complete your 
enrollment before your coverage can begin. To finish 
enrolling, you must choose a health or dental insurance 
plan and pay your first premium bill by the 23rd of the 
month. Once you have chosen a plan and paid your 
first bill, your coverage will begin on the first day of the 
following month.
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SECTION 5

THE HEALTH SAFETY NET

The Health Safety Net (HSN) pays Massachusetts acute 
hospitals and community health centers for certain health 
care services provided to low-income patients. HSN pays 
for services provided to Massachusetts residents with 
household income at or below 300% of the federal poverty 
level. Eligibility for the HSN is determined by MassHealth.

Who can get benefits

The HSN may be able to pay for certain services you 
receive from an acute hospital or a community health 
center if you are a resident of Massachusetts and are 
uninsured or underinsured (your health insurance does not 
cover all medically necessary services).

Income standards

You must give us proof of your income for every person in 
your household. The HSN generally covers individuals with 
household income at or below 300% of the federal poverty 
level. If your income is above 150% of the federal poverty 
level,  and at or below 300%, an annual deductible based 
on income may apply. The deductible is a certain amount 
of health care costs you are responsible for. Both paid 
and unpaid bills can count toward your deductible. Only 
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services that the HSN can pay for will count toward your 
deductible. Private doctor and private lab or radiology bills 
do not count toward the deductible, even if you get these 
services in a hospital. Ask your provider which bills can 
count toward your deductible.

Covered services

For the HSN, services must be provided by a 
Massachusetts acute hospital or community health center. 
The HSN will generally pay for the same services that are 
covered by MassHealth Standard. The HSN pays for some 
pharmacy services, but you must fill your prescription at 
a pharmacy associated with the doctor who wrote your 
prescription. There may be some limits, so you should 
always check with a provider to see if they offer the service. 
You may be charged copays and deductibles.

Some of the services not covered

Some noncovered services are listed below. You should 
check with your provider to find out the full list of what is 
and is not covered.

•	 Physicians that are not employed by the hospital, even if 
they work at the hospital

•	 Ambulance services

•	 Lab charges that are not billed by a Massachusetts acute 
care hospital or community health center
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•	 Radiology services that are not billed by a Massachusetts 
acute care hospital or community health center

•	 Durable medical equipment, except for crutches and 
canes provided during a medical visit

•	 Nonmedical services (social, educational, vocational)

•	 Nonmedically necessary services

•	 Experimental or unproven services

	 A more detailed description of the services covered and any 
limitations can be found in the HSN regulations at 101 CMR 
613.00.

Eligibility begins

If you are eligible, your HSN eligibility may begin up to 10 
days before the date MassHealth gets your application, if 
we get all the needed information within 90 days. Ask your 
provider if you have retroactive HSN eligibility.

Deductible income standard

If your income is above 150% of the federal poverty 
level, you may be responsible for a deductible. An HSN 
deductible is either equal to the current annual cost of the 
lowest ConnectorCare monthly premium ($588 as of the 
date of the publication of this Senior Guide), or 40% of 
the difference between the lowest MAGI income in your 
Premium Billing Family Group and 200% of the federal 
poverty level, whichever is higher.
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Grievance process

Patients may request that the HSN conduct a review of a 
medical hardship eligibility determination, or of provider 
compliance with the HSN regulations. To file a grievance 
with the HSN, send a letter to

Health Safety Net Office 
Attn. HSN Grievances 
100 Hancock Street, 6th floor 
Quincy, MA  02171.

The letter should include your name and address, and, 
if possible, information about the situation, the reason 
for the grievance, the provider’s name (if a provider is 
involved), and any other relevant information. Questions 
about filing a grievance should be directed to the HSN 
Help Line at (877) 910-2100.
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SECTION 6
The MassHealth coverage types are briefly explained on the 
following pages. If you have a question about which services 
are covered, call us at (800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711.

MassHealth Coverage Types

STANDARD

MassHealth Standard is the most complete coverage 
offered by MassHealth. It pays for a wide range of health-
care benefits , including long-term-care services or short-
term stays in a skilled nursing facility.

Immigration Status and MassHealth Standard

Even if you think you cannot get MassHealth Standard 
because of your immigration status, you may still qualify if 
you meet certain clinical, income, and asset rules. 

Coverage Start Date (if eligible)

Coverage generally begins on the first date of the month 
that MassHealth gets your filled-out and signed Senior 
Application. If you have unpaid medical bills, coverage may 
begin up to three months before the month of your application 
if you can prove you would have met the eligibility rules.*

*	 If you are applying for long-term care at home or in a facility, the 
date your coverage begins is subject to other rules.
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Covered Services

For MassHealth Standard, covered services include the 
ones listed below. There may be some limits. Your health 
care provider can explain them.

•	 Inpatient hospital services (see Note 1)

•	 Outpatient services: hospitals, clinics, doctors, dentists, 
home health care

•	 Medical services (see Note 1): lab tests, X rays, therapy, 
prescription drugs (see Note 2), dentures, eyeglasses, 
hearing aids, medical equipment and supplies

•	 Acupuncture services**
•	 Mental health and addiction services: inpatient and 

outpatient

•	 Hospice services—special rules apply

•	 Pharmacy (see Note 2)

•	 Transportation—special rules apply

•	 Personal care attendant services—special rules apply

•	 Long-term-care services—special rules apply

•	 Chronic disease and rehabilitation inpatient hospital 
services—special rules apply

•	 Adult day health and adult foster care

•	 Care and services related to an organ transplant 
procedure (if approved)
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•	 Payment of Medicare cost sharing—Medicare Part A and 
B premiums and nonpharmacy Medicare copays and 
deductibles

**	 Certain restrictions can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 447.000.

Certain adults may have some copays for drugs dispensed 
by a pharmacy.

A complete listing and a more detailed description of the 
services covered can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 450.105. You may have copays for some services. 
More information on copays can be found in the MassHealth 
regulations at 130 CMR 450.130 and 130 CMR 520.

COMMONHEALTH

MassHealth CommonHealth offers health care benefits 
similar to MassHealth Standard to disabled adults who 
cannot get MassHealth Standard. Benefits may include 
services in a skilled nursing facility for up to six months.

Who can get benefits

You may be able to get MassHealth CommonHealth if you 
are a resident of Massachusetts and area disabled adult who 
works 40 hours or more a month or is currently working and 
has worked at least 240 hours in the six months immediately 
before the month of the application. You may also be able to 
get MassHealth CommonHealth even if you are not working, 
but you had been getting CommonHealth for at least ten 
years before you turned age 65.
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MassHealth decides if you are disabled according to the 
standards set by federal and state law. For an adult, this 
generally means you have a mental or physical condition 
that severely limits your ability to work or to do certain 
activities for at least 12 months.

Income standards

If your household income is above 150% of the FPL, you 
will have to pay monthly premiums. The amount of the 
premium is based on

•	 your monthly income, as it compares to the FPL,

•	 your household size, and

•	 if you have other health insurance.

If you must pay a premium, we will tell you the amount and 
send you a bill every month.

Certain adults may have some copays for drugs dispensed 
by a pharmacy.

Covered services

For MassHealth CommonHealth, covered services include 
the ones listed below. There may be some limits. Your 
health care provider can explain them.

•	 Inpatient hospital services*
•	 Outpatient services: hospitals, clinics, doctors, dentists, 

family planning, and vision care
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•	 Medical services: lab tests, X-rays, therapies, pharmacy 
services, eyeglasses, hearing aids, medical equipment 
and supplies, adult day health, and adult foster care

•	 Acupuncture services***
•	 Behavioral health (mental health and addiction) services

•	 Long-term-care services at home or in a long-term-care 
facility, including home health services

•	 Transportation services**
•	 Quit-smoking services

*	  Certain restrictions can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 415.000.

**	 Certain restrictions can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 407.000.

***	Certain restrictions can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 447.000.

A complete listing and a more detailed description of the 
services covered can be found in the MassHealth regulations 
at 130 CMR 450.105. You may have copays for some 
services. More information on copays can be found in the 
MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 450.130.

FAMILY ASSISTANCE 

MassHealth Family Assistance is available to seniors who 
meet the income and asset rules for MassHealth Standard, 
but have an immigration status that keeps them from 
getting MassHealth Standard. Family Assistance pays for 
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short-term stays in a skilled nursing facility for up to six 
months.  Family Assistance does not pay for long-term 
care but if a member is clinically eligible to receive services 
in a skilled nursing facility or long-term services and 
supports while living at home and meet the income and 
asset rules for MassHealth Standard, they may be eligible 
for MassHealth Standard.

Coverage Start Date (if eligible)

Coverage generally begins on the first date of the month 
that MassHealth gets your filled-out and signed Senior 
Application. If you have unpaid medical bills, coverage may 
begin up to three months before the month of your application 
if you can prove you would have met the eligibility rules.

Covered Services

For MassHealth Family Assistance, covered services 
include the ones listed below. There may be some limits. 
Your health care provider can explain them.

•	 Inpatient hospital services (see Note 1)

•	 Outpatient services: hospitals, clinics, doctors, dentists

•	 Medical services (see Note 1): lab tests, X rays, therapy, 
prescription drugs, dentures, medical equipment and 
supplies

•	 Acupuncture services*
•	 Mental health and addiction services: inpatient and 

outpatient 



79

•	 Pharmacy

•	 Ambulance transportation for an emergency medical 
condition only

*	 Certain restrictions can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 447.000.

Note 1: There may be some limitations, including age.

Note 2: If you are eligible for both Medicare and MassHealth, 
Medicare provides most of your prescription drug 
coverage through a Medicare prescription drug 
plan. This means you must choose and enroll in 
a Medicare prescription drug plan. If you do not 
choose a drug plan, Medicare will choose one for 
you. You may change plans at any time.

Emergency Aid to Elderly, Disabled and 
Children (EAEDC)

Individuals 65 years of age or older who are getting 
cash assistance through the Department of Transitional 
Assistance’s EAEDC program are eligible for MassHealth 
Standard or MassHealth Family Assistance.

Note: 	 If you are getting cash benefits under the EAEDC 
program through the Department of Transitional 
Assistance, you will also get medical coverage 
under the EAEDC program.
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LIMITED 

MassHealth Limited coverage is available to people aged 
65 or older who meet the income and asset rules for 
MassHealth Standard or MassHealth Family Assistance, 
but have an immigration status that keeps them from 
getting MassHealth Standard or Family Assistance. 
MassHealth Limited doesn’t pay for long-term care. 
Coverage is for emergency medical services only.

Coverage Start Date (if eligible)

Coverage generally begins on the first date of the month 
that MassHealth gets your filled-out and signed Senior 
Application. If you have unpaid medical bills, coverage 
may begin up to three months before the month of your 
application if you can prove you would have met the 
eligibility rules.

Covered Services

For MassHealth Limited, covered services include the 
ones listed below. You can get care only for medical 
emergencies (conditions that could cause serious harm if 
not treated). There may be some limits. Your health care 
provider can explain them.

•	 Inpatient hospital services: emergency services only

•	 Outpatient hospital services: emergency services and 
emergency visits to emergency departments
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•	 Certain medical services provided by doctors and clinics 
outside of a hospital

•	 Pharmacy services for treating an emergency medical 
condition

•	 Ambulance transportation for an emergency medical 
condition only

MASSHEALTH MEDICARE SAVINGS 
PROGRAMS

The MassHealth Medicare Savings programs help pay 
some of the out-of-pocket costs of Medicare. If you 
qualify MassHealth will pay your monthly Medicare Part 
B premium.  In some cases, a Medicare Savings Program 
may pay your out-of-pocket Medicare Part A and Part 
B costs and your Part A, premium if you have one.  If 
you are in a Medicare Savings program, you will also be 
automatically enrolled in the Medicare Part D Extra Help 
program, which can help with pharmacy costs.

Coverage Start Date

Coverage begins with the month that MassHealth gets your 
filled-out and signed Senior Application and may begin up 
to three months before the month of your application.

For more information about Medicare Savings Programs, go to 130 CMR 
519.010 and 519.011.
A complete listing and details of the covered services can be found in 
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the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 450.105, 415.000 (inpatient 
hospital services), and 407.000 (transportation services). More 
information on copays can be found at 130 CMR 450.130. 

Other Programs 

Senior Care Options (SCO) Program 

What it is and whom it is for

Senior Care Options (SCO) is a comprehensive health 
program. SCO covers all of the services normally paid for 
through Medicare and MassHealth. The SCO program 
provides services to members through a SCO plan and its 
network of providers. SCO offers the opportunity to receive 
quality health care by combining health services with social 
support services. It does this by coordinating care and 
specialized geriatric support services, along with respite 
care for families and caregivers.  
There are no copays for members enrolled in SCO.

Enrollment is open to MassHealth Standard members who 
meet the following criteria:

•	 are 65 years of age or older;

•	 live at home or in a long-term-care facility (a member 
cannot be an inpatient at a chronic or rehabilitation 
hospital, or reside in an intermediate care facility for the 
intellectually disabled);

•	 are not subject to a six-month deductible period under 
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MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 520.000;

•	 are not diagnosed with end-stage renal disease; and

•	 live in an area served by a SCO plan.

SCO offers seniors the benefits of coordinated care 
services. Members enrolled in SCO have 24-hour access to 
care and active involvement in decisions about their health 
care. SCO members have a primary care provider (PCP) 
who is affiliated with the SCO plan. The member’s PCP 
and a team of nurses, specialists, and a geriatric support 
services coordinator work with the member (and family 
members or caregivers, if applicable) to develop a plan of 
care to specifically address the needs of the member. 

Covered services include all MassHealth and 
Medicare covered services, for example: meal delivery, 
transportation, adult day health, social services, 
prescriptions*, hospitalizations, and, if necessary, nursing 
facility placement.

Enrollment in SCO is voluntary, and once enrolled, a 
member may disenroll any month of the year.

*	 SCO provides your Medicare prescription drug coverage.

Where to call

Senior Care Options at (888) 885-0484, TTY: (888) 821-5225.

The following MassHealth benefits are some of the wide 
range of community, residential, and institutional long-term 
supports available to persons 65 years of age or older or 
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disabled persons.

Group Adult Foster Care

If you need help with daily personal care and need to live in 
supported housing or an assisted living residence**, group 
adult foster care may be right for you.

**	 If applying for group adult foster care in assisted living, the SSI-G 
living arrangement through the Social Security Administration may 
be an option.

Adult Foster Care 

If you need help with daily personal care, and would like to 
get that care in a family, home-like setting, adult foster care 
may be right for you.

Adult Day Health 

If you need help with personal care and/or nursing services 
provided in a medically supervised, structured day program 
setting, adult day health may be right for you.

Day Habilitation Program 

If you are a person with intellectual or developmental 
disabilities and need assistance to develop skills designed 
to help keep you independent in the community, the Day 
Habilitation Program may be right for you.

Nursing Facility Care
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If you need skilled nursing services provided in an 
institutional setting on a short- or long-term basis, nursing 
facility care may be right for you.

Requirements to be met

•	 A doctor’s approval stating that these services are right 
for you

•	 A clinical approval from the designated clinical agent*

•	 The need for daily personal care*
•	 Financial requirements as described in this guide

* 	 Not required for the Day Habilitation Program

Where to call

For general financial questions about MassHealth call us at 
(800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711.



86

SECTION 7

YOUR RIGHTS, RESPONSIBILITIES, and 
OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION YOU 
SHOULD KNOW ABOUT MASSHEALTH

Confidentiality and fair treatment

MassHealth complies with applicable federal civil rights 
laws. We do not discriminate against, exclude,  or treat 
people differently because of race, color, national origin, age, 
disability, religion, creed, sexual orientation or sex, including 
gender identity and gender stereotyping. 

MassHealth provides free aids and services to applicants 
and members with disabilities or limited English proficiency 
such as qualified interpreters and written information in other 
formats or languages in accordance with the requirements of 
federal and state law. 

If you need these services, contact us at (800) 841-2900. 
TDD/TTY: 711.

If you believe that MassHealth has failed to provide these 
services or discriminated in another way on the basis of 
race, color, national origin, age, disability, religion, creed, 
sexual orientation, or sex including gender identity and 
gender stereotyping, you can file a grievance with: 
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Section 1557 Compliance Coordinator 
1 Ashburton Place, 11th Floor 
Boston, MA  02108

Phone: (617) 573-1704, TTY: (617) 573-1696 
Fax: (617) 889-7862, or  
Email at: Section1557Coordinator@state.ma.us.  

You can file a grievance in person or by mail, fax, or email. 
If you need help filing a grievance, the Section 1557 
Compliance Coordinator can help you. 

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil 
Rights in the following ways:

Electronically through the Office for Civil Rights Complaint 
Portal at https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf

Mail

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
200 Independence Avenue SW. 
Room 509F, HHH Building 
Washington, DC  20201, or 

Phone at (800) 368-1019,  
TTY/TDD: (800) 537-7697.  
Complaint forms are available at  
www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html.

MassHealth and the Health Connector are committed 
to keeping the personal information we have about you 
confidential. All personal information we have about any 
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applicant or member, including medical data, health status, 
and the personal information you give us during your 
application for and receipt of benefits is confidential. This 
information may not be used or released for purposes not 
related to the administration of MassHealth or the Health 
Connector without your permission unless required by law 
or a court order. 

You can give us your written permission to use your 
personal health information for a specific purpose or share 
it with a specific person or organization. You can also give 
us your permission to share your personal information 
with your authorized representative, Certified Application 
Counselor (CAC), or Navigator, if you have one, by filling 
out an Authorized Representative Designation Form, a 
Certified Application Counselor Designation Form, or 
a Navigator Designation Form. We may contact you to 
distribute information related to other health and welfare 
benefits you may be eligible to receive.

For more information about how MassHealth and the 
Health Connector may use and share your information and 
what your rights are regarding your information, please 
review the MassHealth Notice of Privacy Practices and 
the Health Connector’s Privacy Policy. You can get a copy 
of the MassHealth Notice of Privacy Practices by calling 
(800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 or by visiting www.mass.
gov/masshealth. You can view the Health Connector’s 
Privacy Policy at www.MAhealthconnector.org/site-policies/
privacy-policy.
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Authorized representative

An authorized representative is someone you choose 
to help you get health care coverage through programs 
offered by MassHealth and the Massachusetts Health 
Connector. You can do this by filling out the Authorized 
Representative Designation Form (ARD). An authorized 
representative may fill out your application or eligibility 
review forms, give proof of information given on these 
eligibility forms, report changes in your income, address, 
or other circumstances, get copies of all MassHealth or 
Health Connector eligibility or enrollment notices sent 
to you, and act on your behalf in all other matters with 
MassHealth or the Health Connector. 

An authorized representative can be a friend, family 
member, relative, or other person or organization of your 
choosing who agrees to help you. It is up to you to choose 
an authorized representative, if you want one. MassHealth 
or the Health Connector will not choose an authorized 
representative for you.

You must designate in writing on the Authorized 
Representative Designation Form the person or 
organization you want to be your authorized representative. 
In most cases, your authorized representative must also 
fill out this form. This form is included in the application 
packet, or you can call us at (800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711 
or visit www.mass.gov/masshealth, to get one. Please see 
the instructions on the form for more details.
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An authorized representative can also be someone who is 
acting responsibly on your behalf if you cannot designate 
an authorized representative in writing because of a 
mental or physical condition, or has been appointed by 
law to act on your behalf or on behalf of your estate. This 
person must fill out the applicable parts of the Authorized 
Representative Designation Form. If this person has been 
appointed by law to represent you, either you or this 
person must also submit to MassHealth or the Health 
Connector a copy of the applicable legal document stating 
that this person is lawfully representing you or your estate. 
This person may be a legal guardian, conservator, holder of 
power of attorney, or health care proxy, or if the applicant 
or member has died, the estate’s administrator or executor.

Permission to share information

If you want us to share your personal health information, 
including sending copies of your eligibility notices, with 
someone who is not your authorized representative, you 
can do this by giving us written permission. We have forms 
you can use to do this. You can call us or visit  
www.mass.gov/masshealth to get a copy of the right form.

Reporting changes 

You must tell us about any changes that may affect your 
eligibility within 10 days of the changes or as soon as 
possible. See Section 9, Where To Get Help, for information 
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on where to report changes. These changes include but are 
not limited to 

•	 income

•	 health insurance

•	 assets

•	 immigration status

•	 disability status

•	 address

If you do not tell us about changes, your MassHealth 
benefits may stop and you will not be able to use your 
MassHealth card.

Giving correct information

Giving incorrect or false information may end your benefits. 
It may also result in fines, imprisonment, or both.

Our decision and your right to appeal

We will send you a notice to let you know if you can or 
cannot get one of the MassHealth coverage types or 
programs, Health Connector plans, or the Health Safety 
Net. If you think that our decision is wrong, you have 
the right to ask for a fair hearing to appeal our decision. 
Notices have information that explains how to ask for a fair 
hearing and how much time you have to ask for one. 
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See Board of Hearings in Section 9 to find out where to 
send your fair hearing request. If you have questions about 
a MassHealth notice or how to ask for an appeal, call us at 
(800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711.

If you have questions about a Health Connector appeal, 
call the Health Connector at (877) 623-6765. 

If you have questions about a Health Safety Net 
grievance, call the Health Safety Net Customer 
Service Center at (877) 910-2100. Health Safety Net 
determinations are conducted through MassHealth.

Information about Getting Medical Services 
While on MassHealth Standard, Family 
Assistance, or Limited

Prior approval

For some medical services, your doctor or health care 
provider has to get approval from MassHealth first. This is 
called “prior approval.” Medical services that are covered 
by Medicare do not need prior approval from MassHealth.

If you have other health insurance

If you also have Medicare, Medigap, or any other kind of 
health insurance, your health care provider must bill the 
other insurers first. MassHealth will pay any remaining 
copays or deductibles. Your health care provider must 
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not bill you for any service or part of any service that is 
covered by MassHealth.

Note: 	 MassHealth will not pay any part of the cost of 
services covered by other health insurance.

Out-of-pocket expenses

In some cases, MassHealth can pay you back for medical 
bills that you paid before you got your MassHealth approval 
notice. We will do this if

•	 we denied your eligibility and later decided that the 
denial was incorrect; or

•	 you paid for a MassHealth-covered medical service 
that you got before we told you that you would get 
MassHealth. In this case, your health care provider 
must pay you back and bill MassHealth for the service. 
The provider must accept the MassHealth payment as 
payment in full.

If you or members of your household are in an accident

If you or any members of your household are in an accident 
or are injured in some other way, and get money from a 
third party because of that accident or injury, you will need 
to use that money to repay whoever paid the medical 
expenses related to that accident or injury.

•	 You will have to pay MassHealth for services that were 
covered by MassHealth
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	» If you are applying for MassHealth because of an 
accident or injury, you will need to use the money to 
repay the costs paid by MassHealth for all medical 
services you and your household get.

	» If you or any members of your household are in an 
accident, or are injured in some other way, after 
becoming eligible for MassHealth, you will need to use 
that money to repay only the costs paid by MassHealth 
for medical services provided because of that accident 
or injury.

•	 You will have to pay the Massachusetts Health 
Connector or your health insurer for certain medical 
services provided.

•	 You will have to pay the Health Safety Net for medical 
services reimbursed for you and any household 
members. 

•	 You must tell MassHealth, your health insurer including 
ConnectorCare plans, or the Health Safety Net in writing 
within 10 calendar days, or as soon as possible, if 
you file any insurance claim or lawsuit because of an 
accident or injury to you or any household members 
who are applying for, or who already have, benefits. 
Third parties who might give you or members of your 
household money because of an accident or injury 
include the following:

	» a person or business who may have caused the 
accident or injury;
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	» an insurance company, including your own insurance 
company; or

	» other sources, like workers’ compensation.

For more information about accident recovery, see the MassHealth 
regulations at 130 CMR 517.000 and Chapter 118E of the 
Massachusetts General Laws.

Out-of-state emergency treatment

MassHealth is a health care program for people living in 
Massachusetts who get medical care in Massachusetts. 
In certain situations, MassHealth may pay for emergency 
treatment for a medical condition when a MassHealth 
member is out of state*. Special rules apply.

If an emergency occurs while you are out of state, show 
your MassHealth card and any other health insurance 
cards you have, if possible. Also, be sure to call us at 
(800) 841-2900, TDD/TTY: 711. within 24 hours of the 
emergency treatment, or as soon as you can.

*	 Per MassHealth regulation 130 CMR 450.109(B), MassHealth 
does not cover any medical services provided outside the United 
States and its territories.

The MassHealth card 

If you are eligible for MassHealth Standard, MassHealth 
Family Assistance, or MassHealth Limited,  you will get a 
MassHealth card. You must show your MassHealth card to 
your doctor or other health care provider whenever you get 
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medical care. If you have other health insurance, make sure 
you show all cards. Those determined to be low income 
for the purposes of the Health Safety Net (HSN) will not get 
a card. If you are eligible for HSN services, hospitals and 
community health centers will check to determine if they 
can get reimbursement for services provided to you and 
your spouse.

Our decision 

We will contact you if we need more information to make 
our decision. We will send you a written notice about your 
eligibility generally within 45 days of the date we get your 
filled-out and signed application.

•	 If you are eligible, the notice will tell you the date your 
coverage begins. See Section 6 for information about 
services and benefits that are available under each 
coverage type.

•	 If you have a deductible, the notice will tell you how we 
determined the deductible amount and what you need to 
do to meet the deductible.

•	 If you have to pay a patient-paid amount (PPA) to the 
long-term-care facility, the notice will tell you the amount 
and how we determined the PPA.

•	 If you are not eligible, the notice will tell you the reason 
and your right to appeal our decision. See Section 7.
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Copay and premium information for American 
Indians/Alaska Natives

American Indians and Alaska Natives who have received or 
are eligible to receive a service from an Indian health care 
provider or from a non-Indian health care provider through 
referral from an Indian health care provider are exempt from 
paying copays and premiums as MassHealth members.

How we use your social security number

Unless one of the exceptions on page 6 applies, you must 
give us a social security number (SSN) or proof that one 
has been applied for, for every household member who 
is applying.  MassHealth may require you to give us the 
SSN, if you can get it, of any person not applying who 
has or who can get health insurance that covers you or 
any member of your household.  MassHealth is allowed 
to ask for SSNs under The Tax Reform Act of 1976 which 
amended Section 205(c)(2) of the Social Security Act and 
under 130 CMR 503.003.

We use SSNs to check information you have given us. We 
also use them to detect fraud, to see if anyone is getting 
duplicate benefits, or to see if others (a “third party”) should 
be paying for services. 

We match the SSN of anyone in your household who 
is applying and anyone who has or who can get health 
insurance for any such persons with the files of agencies, 
including the following: 
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•	 Internal Revenue Service

•	 Social Security Administration

•	 Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE)

•	 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

•	 Registry of Motor Vehicles

•	 Department of Revenue

•	 Department of Transitional Assistance

•	 Department of Industrial Accidents

•	 Division of Unemployment Assistance

•	 Department of Veterans’ Services, Human Resource 
Division

•	 Bureau of Special Investigations

•	 Bureau of Vital Statistics (Department of Public Health)

•	 Banks

•	 Other financial institutions

If MassHealth pays part of your health insurance premiums, 
MassHealth may add your SSN or the SSN of the policyholder 
in your household to the State Comptroller’s vendor file. You 
or the policyholder in your household must have a valid SSN 
before you can get a payment from MassHealth. 

Files may also be matched with social service agencies in 
this state and other states, and computer files of insurance 
companies, employers, and managed care organizations. 
Additionally MassHealth may obtain your financial record 
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(and, if applicable, those of your household members) from 
banks and other financial institutions in order to verify your 
financial resources and otherwise determine your eligibility 
while you are a MassHealth member.

Recovery against estates of certain members 
after their death

Under federal and state law, MassHealth has the right 
to recover money from the assets of estates of certain 
MassHealth members after their death, unless exceptions 
apply. MassHealth has the right to be repaid for the total 
cost of care for services paid by MassHealth, for members 
age 55 years or older or for members of any age who are 
permanently in a long-term care or other medical facility.  

Estate recovery may apply to MassHealth members 
regardless of whether or not they are enrolled in a health 
plan. MassHealth payments eligible for estate recovery 
include payments made directly by MassHealth to health 
care providers for a member’s care. For members enrolled 
in a health plan, such as a Managed Care Organization, 
Accountable Care Organization, Senior Care Options, 
PACE or One Care, estate recovery may also include 
reimbursement for the total amount in monthly premium 
payments made by MassHealth to the health plan. 
MassHealth can only recover from assets that are in a 
member’s probate estate. These assets may include real 
property such as a home, business or income-producing 
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property, as well as money in bank accounts. MassHealth 
only seeks repayment when a member leaves a probate 
estate with $25,000 or more in assets. There are several 
ways individuals or families can delay estate recovery or 
obtain a waiver of some or all of the recovery amount in 
cases of undue hardship.

•	 Recovery can be delayed if the member leaves behind a 
surviving spouse, adult child who is blind, permanently 
and totally disabled, or child younger than 21 years of age. 

•	 If estate recovery would cause an undue hardship, 
MassHealth may waive all or part of the  recovery 
amount in certain circumstances.

For members age 55 or older who were eligible for both 
MassHealth and Medicare, MassHealth will not recover 
Medicare cost sharing benefits (premiums, deductibles and 
copayments) paid on or after January 1, 2010.

In addition, if the member, on the date of admission to 
the long-term care facility, had certain long-term care 
insurance* and met the other requirements under the rules 
to qualify for this exception, the estate of a MassHealth 
member may not have to repay MassHealth for nursing 
facility and other long-term care services.

*	 The long-term care insurance must meet the rules of the Division 
of Insurance under 211 CMR 65.09, and MassHealth regulations 
at 130 CMR 515.000. The member must also have been living 
in a long-term care facility and told MassHealth that they did not 
intend to return home.
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For more information about estate recovery, see the 
MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 501.000 and 515.000, 
Chapter 118E of the Massachusetts General Laws, and 
visit mass.gov/EstateRecovery. 

Repayment from annuities

The Commonwealth must be named as a remainder 
beneficiary of any annuity bought, annuitized, or otherwise 
changed by a MassHealth applicant, member, or spouse on 
or after February 8, 2006, for the total amount of medical 
assistance paid for the institutionalized individual. This 
beneficiary designation must not be removed.

See the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 520.000 for more 
information.

Signing up to vote

This guide includes information about voter registration. 
You do not need to register to vote to get benefits.
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SECTION 8

U.S. CITIZENSHIP AND IMMIGRATION 
RULES

When deciding if you are eligible for benefits, we look at all 
the requirements described under each coverage type and 
program. We will try to prove your U.S. citizenship/national 
status and immigration status using federal and state data 
services to decide if you may get a certain coverage type.

U.S. Citizens/Nationals

U.S. citizens/nationals may be eligible for MassHealth 
Standard and Family Assistance. They may also be eligible 
for ConnectorCare Plans and premium tax credits or the 
Health Safety Net.

Proof of citizenship and identity is required for all U.S. 
citizens/nationals.

A citizen of the United States is:

•	 an individual who was born in the United States or its 
territories, including Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, 
Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands, except if born 
to a foreign diplomat and who otherwise qualifies for 
U.S. citizenship under § 301 et seq. of the Immigration 
and Nationality Act (INA);
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•	 an individual born of a parent who is a U.S. citizen or 
who otherwise qualifies for U.S. citizenship under § 301 
et seq. of the INA;

•	 a naturalized citizen; or

•	 a national (both citizen and noncitizen national).

	» Citizen national. A citizen national is an individual who 
otherwise qualifies as a U.S. citizen under § 301 et 
seq. of the INA.

	» Noncitizen national. A noncitizen national is an 
individual who was born in one of the outlying 
possessions of the United States, including American 
Samoa and Swain’s Island, to a parent who is a 
noncitizen national.

Non-U.S. citizens

To get the type of MassHealth that gives the most coverage, 
or to get a Health Connector plan, satisfactory immigration 
status must be proved. MassHealth and the Health 
Connector will perform information matches with state and 
federal agencies to prove immigration statuses. If electronic 
sources are unable to prove declared status, additional 
documentation will be required from the individuals.

Non-U.S. citizens do not have to submit their immigration 
documents with the application if they are applying only for 
their children, but are not applying for any health benefits 
for themselves.
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Lawfully present immigrants

The following are lawfully present immigrants.

Qualified noncitizens

People who meet one of the following statuses may be 
eligible for MassHealth Standard or CommonHealth. 
They may also be eligible for benefits through the Health 
Connector or the Health Safety Net.

There are two groups of qualified noncitizens:

1.	 People who are qualified regardless of when they 
entered the U.S. or how long they have had a qualified 
status. Such individuals are:

	» people granted asylum under section 208 of the INA;

	» refugees admitted under section 207 of the INA;

	» people whose deportation has been withheld under 
section 243(h) or 241(b)(3) of the INA, as provided by 
section 5562 of the federal Balanced Budget Act of 
1997;

	» veterans, their spouses, and their children

-	 veterans of the United States Armed Forces with an 
honorable discharge not related to their noncitizen 
status; or

-	 Filipino war veterans who fought under U.S. 
command during WWII; or

-	 Hmong and Highland Lao veterans who are 
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admitted for legal permanent residence (LPR) 
and who fought under U.S. command during the 
Vietnam War; or

-	 persons with noncitizen status on active duty in 
the U.S. Armed Forces, other than active duty for 
training; or

-	 the spouse, unremarried surviving spouse, or 
unmarried dependent children of the noncitizen 
described in (i) through (iv) above;

	» conditional entrants under section 203(a)(7) of the INA 
as in effect before April 1, 1980;

	» people who entered as Cuban/Haitian entrants under 
section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance 
Act of 1980;

	» for Medicaid, Native Americans with at least 50 
percent American Indian blood who were born in 
Canada pursuant to section 289 of the INA or other 
tribal members born in territories outside of the United 
States pursuant to 25 U.S.C. 450b(e);

	» Amerasians as described in section 402(a)(2)(A) (i)(V) 
of the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity 
Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996;

	» victims of severe forms of trafficking, and the spouse, 
child, sibling, or parent of the victim in accordance 
with the Victims of Trafficking and Violence Protection 
Act of 2000 (Public Law 106-386) as amended;
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	» Iraqi Special Immigrants granted special immigrant 
status under Section 101(a) (27) of the INA, pursuant to 
section 1244 of Public Law 110-181 or section 525 of 
Public Law 110-161; or

	» Afghan Special Immigrants granted special immigrant 
status under Section 101(a)(27) of the INA, pursuant to 
section 525 of Public Law 110-161.

	» for Medicaid, migrants from the Federated States of 
Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the 
Republic of Palau who legally reside in the United States 
pursuant to a series of treaties with the United States 
known as the Compacts of Free Association (COFA).

–	 COFA migrants who adjust to legal permanent 
residence (LPR) status will have a special five-year 
bar rule applied. The individual would be subject to 
the special five-year bar rule unless they also have 
or had a status listed at 130 CMR 518.003(A)(1)(a).

–	 COFA migrants who adjust to LPR status after the 
change of law on December 27, 2020, will be able 
to use the date they began residing in the United 
States as a COFA migrant or December 27, 2020, 
whichever is later, as the first day for purposes of 
meeting the five-year bar.

–	 COFA migrants who adjusted to LPR status before 
the change of law on December 27, 2020, would 
have the five-year bar period begin on the date 
that they became an LPR.
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2.	 People who are qualified based on having a qualified 
status identified at “a” below and who have satisfied 
one of the conditions listed at “b” below. Such 
individuals are:

A.	people who have one or more of the following 
statuses:

-	 people admitted for legal permanent residence (LPR) 
under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA); or

-	 people granted parole for at least one year under 
section 212(d)(5) of the INA; or

-	 battered spouse, battered child, child of battered 
parent, or parent of battered child who meet 
the criteria of section 431(c) of the Personal 
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation 
Act (PRWORA) of 1996, 8 U.SC. 1641; and also

B.	satisfy at least one of the following three conditions:

-	 they have had a status listed in 2.a. above for five or 
more years (a battered noncitizen attains this status 
when the petition is accepted as establishing a 
prima facie case);

-	 they entered the U.S. before August 22, 1996, 
regardless of status at the time of entry, and have 
been continuously present in the U.S. until attaining 
a status listed in 2.a. above. For this purpose, an 
individual is deemed continuously present who 
has been absent from the U.S. for no more than 30 
consecutive days or 90 nonconsecutive days before 
attaining a status listed in 2.a. above; or
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-	 they also have or had a status listed in number 1 
above.

Qualified noncitizens barred

People who have a status listed under qualified noncitizens 
at 2.A. above (legal permanent resident, parolee for at least 
one year, or battered noncitizen) and who do not meet 
one of the conditions listed at 2.B. above, are qualified 
noncitizens barred. Qualified noncitizens barred, like 
qualified noncitizens, are lawfully present immigrants. 
Certain people who are qualified noncitizens barred may 
be eligible for MassHealth Standard, Family Assistance, or 
Limited. They may also be eligible for benefits through the 
Health Connector and the Health Safety Net.

Nonqualified individuals lawfully present

Certain people who are nonqualified individuals lawfully 
present and meet one of the following statuses may be 
eligible for MassHealth Standard, Family Assistance, or 
Limited. They may also be eligible for benefits through the 
Health Connector and the Health Safety Net. Nonqualified 
individuals lawfully present are as follows.

•	 People in a valid nonimmigrant status as otherwise 
defined in 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(15) or otherwise defined under 
immigration laws as defined in 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(17).

•	 Qualified noncitizen as defined in 8 USC 1641 (b) and (c).

•	 People paroled into the U.S. in accordance with 8 U.S.C. 
1182(d)(5) for less than one year, except for an individual 
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paroled for prosecution, for deferred inspection, or pending 
removal proceedings.

•	 People who belong to one of the following classes:

	» granted temporary resident status in accordance with 
8 U.S.C. 1160 or 1255a, respectively;

	» granted Temporary Protected Status (TPS) in 
accordance with 8 U.S.C. 1254a, and individuals with 
pending applications for TPS who have been granted 
employment authorization;

	» granted employment authorization under 8 CFR 
274a.12(c);

	» Family Unity beneficiaries in accordance with section 
301 of Public Law 101- 649, as amended;

	» under Deferred Enforced Departure (DED) in 
accordance with a decision made by the President;

	» granted Deferred Action status, except for applicants 
or individuals granted status under DHS Deferred 
Action for Childhood Arrival Process (DACA);

	» granted an administrative stay of removal under 8 CFR 
part 241; or

	» beneficiary of approved visa petition who has a pending 
application for adjustment of status.

•	 People with a pending application for asylum under 8 
U.S.C. 1158, or for withholding of removal under 8 U.S.C. 
1231, or under the Convention Against Torture who:

	» have been granted employment authorization; or
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	» are under the age of 14 and have had an application 
pending for at least 180 days.

•	 People who have been granted withholding of removal 
under the Convention Against Torture.

•	 Children who have a pending application for Special 
Immigrant Juvenile status as described in 8 U.S.C. 
1101(a)(27)(J).

Qualified noncitizens barred and nonqualified 
individuals lawfully present

Qualified noncitizens barred and nonqualified individuals 
lawfully present who are aged 65 or older may be eligible 
for MassHealth Family Assistance, Limited, or the Health 
Safety Net.

Nonqualified Persons Residing Under Color of Law 
(Nonqualified PRUCOLs)

Nonqualified PRUCOLs are certain noncitizens who are 
not lawfully present. These individuals may be permanently 
residing in the United States under color of law as 
described in 130 CMR 518.000. Certain people who are 
nonqualified PRUCOLs and meet one of the following 
statuses may be eligible for MassHealth Family Assistance 
or Limited. They may also be eligible for benefits through 
the Health Safety Net.

•	 Noncitizens living in the United States in accordance with 
an indefinite stay of deportation
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•	 Noncitizens living in the United States in accordance with 
an indefinite voluntary departure

•	 Noncitizens and their families who are covered by an 
approved immediate relative petition, who are entitled 
to voluntary departure, and whose departure the United 
States Department of Homeland Security (DHS) does not 
contemplate enforcing

•	 Noncitizens granted voluntary departure by the DHS or 
an Immigration Judge, and whose deportation the DHS 
does not contemplate enforcing

•	 Noncitizens living under orders of supervision who do not 
have employment authorization under 8 CFR 274a.12(c)

•	 Noncitizens who have entered and continuously lived in 
the United States since before January 1, 1972

•	 Noncitizens granted suspension of deportation, and 
whose departure the DHS does not contemplate enforcing

•	 Noncitizens with a pending application for asylum under 
8 U.S.C. 1158 or for withholding of removal under 8 
U.S.C. 1231 or under the Convention against Torture 
who have not been granted employment authorization, or 
are under the age of 14 and have not had an application 
pending for at least 180 days

•	 Noncitizens granted Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival 
status or have a pending application for this status

•	 Noncitizens who have filed an application, petition, or 
request to obtain a lawfully present status that has been 
accepted as properly filed but who have not yet obtained 
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employme nt authorization and whose deportation DHS 
does not contemplate enforcing

•	 Any other noncitizens living in the United States with the 
knowledge and consent of the DHS, and whose departure 
the DHS does not contemplate enforcing. (These include 
persons granted Extended Voluntary Departure due to 
conditions in the noncitizens’s home country based on a 
determination by the Secretary of State.)

Nonqualified PRUCOLs

Nonqualified PRUCOLs who are aged 65 or older may be 
eligible for MassHealth Family Assistance, Limited, or the 
Health Safety Net.

Other noncitizens

If your immigration status is not described above, you are 
considered an other noncitizen. You may be eligible for 
MassHealth Limited or the Health Safety Net.

NOTE: People who were getting MassHealth, formerly 
known as Medical Assistance, or CommonHealth on 
June 30, 1997, may continue to get benefits regardless of 
immigration status if otherwise eligible.

	 The eligibility of immigrants for publicly funded benefits is defined 
in the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity 
Reconciliation Act of 1996, the federal Balanced Budget Act of 
1997, and in various provisions of state law. For additional details, 
see the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 518.000.
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U.S. Citizenship/National Status Requirements 
for MassHealth and Health Connector Plans 
Identity Requirements for the Health Safety 
Net

Proof of both U.S. Citizenship/National Status AND 
Identity*

*	 Exception: Seniors and disabled persons who get or can get 
Medicare or Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or disabled 
persons who get Social Security Disability (SSDI) do NOT have to 
give proof of their U.S. citizenship/national status and identity.  
A child born to a mother who was getting MassHealth on the date 
of the child’s birth does not have to give proof of U.S. citizenship/
national status and identity.

The following are acceptable forms of proof of BOTH 
U.S. citizenship/national status AND identity. (No other 
documentation is required.):

•	 a U.S. passport, including a U.S. Passport Card issued by 
the Department of State, without regard to any expiration 
date as long as this passport or Card was issued without 
limitation; or

•	 a Certificate of U.S. Naturalization; or

•	 a Certificate of U.S. Citizenship; or

•	 a document issued by a federally recognized Indian tribe, 
as published in the Federal Register by the Bureau of 
Indian Affairs within the U.S. Department of the Interior, 
and identifies the federally recognized Indian Tribe that 
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issued the document, identifies the individual by name 
and confirms the individual’s membership, enrollment, or 
affiliation with the Tribe. These documents include, but 
are not limited to: a Tribal enrollment card, a Certificate 
of Degree of Indian Blood, a Tribal census document, 
and documents on Tribal letterhead issued under the 
signature of the appropriate Tribal official that meet the 
requirements of 130 CMR 518.000.

OR 
Proof of U.S. Citizenship/National Status Only

If one of the documents that satisfies both citizenship and 
identity is not provided, the following documents may be 
accepted as proof of U.S. citizenship/national status only.

•	 A U.S. public birth certificate (including the 50 states, 
the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico (on or after January 
13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands (on or after 
January 17, 1917), American Samoa, Swain’s Island, 
or the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands 
(CNMI) (after November 4, 1986). The birth record may 
be issued by the state, Commonwealth, territory, or 
local jurisdiction. The individual may also be collectively 
naturalized under federal regulations.

•	 A cross match with the Massachusetts Registry of Vital 
Statistics that documents a record of birth

•	 Certification of birth 

•	 A U.S. Citizen ID card
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•	 A Northern Mariana Identification Card issued to a 
collectively naturalized citizen who was born in the CNMI 
before November 4, 1986

•	 A final adoption decree showing the child’s name and 
U.S. place of birth (if adoption is not final, a statement 
from a state-approved adoption agency that shows the 
child’s name and U.S. place of birth)

•	 Evidence of U.S. civil service employment before June 1, 
1976 

•	 An official U.S. military record showing a U.S. place of birth

•	 A data match with the Systematic Alien Verification 
for Entitlements (SAVE) Program or any other process 
established by the Department of Homeland Security 
(DHS) to prove an individual is a citizen

•	 Documentation that a child meets the requirements of 
section 101 of the Child Citizenship Act of 2000 (8 U.S.C. 
1431)

•	 Medical records, including, but not limited to, hospital, 
clinic, or doctor records, or admission papers from a 
nursing facility, skilled care facility, or other institution 
that indicate a U.S. place of birth

•	 Life, health, or other insurance record that indicates a 
U.S. place of birth

•	 An official religious record recorded in the U.S. showing 
that the birth occurred in the U.S.

•	 School records, including preschool, Head Start, and day 
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care, showing the child’s name and U.S. place of birth

•	 Federal or state census record showing U.S. citizenship 
or a U.S. place of birth

•	 If an individual does not have one of the documents 
listed in 130 CMR 518.000, they may submit an affidavit 
signed by another individual, under penalty of perjury, 
who can reasonably attest to the individual’s citizenship, 
and that contains the individual’s name, date of birth, 
and place of U.S. birth. The affidavit does not have to be 
notarized.

PLUS 
Proof of Identity Only

1.	 The following documents are acceptable as proof of 
identity, provided this documentation has a photograph 
or other identifying information including, but not limited 
to, name, age, sex, race, height, weight, eye color, or 
address.

	» Identity documents listed at 8 CFR 274a.2(b)(1)(v)(B)
(1), except a driver’s license issued by a Canadian 
government authority

	» A driver’s license issued by a state or territory 

	» A school identification card

	» A U.S. military card or draft record

	» An identification card issued by the federal, state, or 
local government 

	» A military dependent’s identification card
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	» A U.S. Coast Guard Merchant Mariner card

2.	 For children under age 19, a clinic, doctor, hospital, or 
school record, including preschool or day care records

3.	 Two documents containing consistent information that 
confirms an applicant’s identity. These documents 
include, but are not limited to
	» employer identification cards

	» high school and college diplomas (including high 
school equivalency diplomas) 

	» marriage certificates

	» divorce decrees 

	» property deeds or titles

	» a pay stub from a current employer with the applicant’s 
name and address preprinted, dated within 60 days of 
the application

	» census proof containing the applicant’s name and 
address, dated not more than 12 months before the 
date of the application

	» a pension or retirement statement from a former 
employer or pension fund stating the applicant’s name 
and address, dated within 12 months of the application

	» tuition or student loan bill containing the applicant’s 
name and address, dated not more than 12 months 
before the date of the application

	» utility bill, cell phone bill, credit card bill, doctor’s 
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bill, or hospital bill containing applicant’s name and 
address, dated not more than 60 days before the date 
of the application

	» valid homeowner’s, renter’s, or automobile insurance 
policy with preprinted address, dated not more than 12 
months before the date of the application, or a bill for 
this insurance with preprinted address, dated not more 
than 60 days before the date of the application

	» lease dated not more than 12 months before the 
date of the application, or home mortgage identifying 
applicant and address

	» employment proved by W-2 forms or other documents 
showing the applicant’s name and address submitted 
by the employer to a government agency as a 
consequence of employment

4.	 A finding of identity from a federal or state agency, 
including, but not limited to, a public assistance, 
law enforcement, internal revenue, tax bureau, or 
corrections agency, if the agency has proved and 
certified the identity of the individual

5.	 A finding of identity from an Express Lane agency, as 
defined in section 1902(e)(13) (F) of the Social Security 
Act

If the applicant does not have any document specified 
in the first three main bullets above, and identity is not 
proved through the fourth and fifth main bullets above, the 
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applicant may submit an affidavit signed, under penalty 
of perjury, by another person who can reasonably attest 
to the applicant’s identity. This affidavit must contain 
the applicant’s name and other identifying information 
establishing identity, as described in the first main bullet 
above. This affidavit does not have to be notarized.
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SECTION 9

WHERE TO GET HELP

MassHealth Customer Service Center

(800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711. 

Topics

•	 How to get a Senior Application 

•	 How to get a Long-Term-Care Supplement or a PCA 
Supplement 

•	 Where to send the Senior Application 

•	 General eligibility information 

•	 Covered medical services

•	 How to get interpreter services

•	 How to get acceptable forms of proof 

•	 MassHealth premiums

•	 How to find a MassHealth provider 

•	 Emergency services—out of Massachusetts

•	 Questions about the voter registration process and help 
filling out the Voter Registration Form

•	 Where to report changes

	» To report changes, call us at the phone number listed 
above, or: Mail the change information to 
Health Insurance Processing Center 
PO Box 4405 
Taunton, MA  02780
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	» Fax the change information to (857) 323-8300

MyServices

•	 myservices.mass.gov

Topics

•	 review your contact information and your communication 
preferences

•	 review eligibility status for MassHealth and the Health 
Connector

•	 review MassHealth enrollment information

•	 check the status of Requests for Information (RFIs) you 
have sent to MassHealth

•	 get alerts about important events and actions you need 
to take

•	 review eligibility notices sent by MassHealth

Executive Office of Elder Affairs (EOEA)

(800) AGE-INFO [(800) 243-4636, TTY: (877) 610-0241]

Topic

•	 Elder Affairs Prescription Advantage Program 

	 (For persons who are not getting prescription drug benefits 
under MassHealth or Medicare, who are either under age 65 and 
disabled or aged 65 or older, and who want information about help 
with prescription drug costs)
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MassHealth Enrollment Center

(800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711. Self-services are available 
24 hours/7 days a week.

Topic

•	 Member eligibility information How to get MassHealth 
forms Your eligibility notice

•	 How to ask for a fair hearing to appeal MassHealth 
decisions

•	 How to meet your deductible Your long-term-care 
patient-paid amount (PPA)

•	 How to replace a MassHealth card Information to 
process case

•	 Examples of acceptable forms of proof

Special MassHealth Programs

(800) 408-1253, TTY: (800) 231-5698

•	 Kaileigh Mulligan Program—Home Care for Disabled 
Children

•	 PACE (Program of All-inclusive Care for the Elderly) 
(800) AGE-INFO, TTY: MassRelay 711

•	 Frail Elder Program (800) 841-2900, TTY (800) 497-4648

•	 Traumatic Brain Injury

•	 Adults with an Intellectual Disability 
(866) 281-5602, TTY: (800) 596-1746

•	 Acquired Brain Injury (855) 499-5109, TTY: (800) 596-1746

•	 Moving Forward Plan
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Benefit Coordination/Third Party Liability  

(800) 462-1120

Topic

•	 Real estate lien recovery 

•	 Accident recovery 

•	 Estate recovery

Board of Hearings 

(617) 847-1200 or (800) 655-0338   fax: (617) 847-1204

100 Hancock St., 6th Floor  
Quincy, MA  02171

Topic

•	 MassHealth appeals—fair hearings

MassHealth Disability Accommodation 
Ombudsman

(617) 847-3468, TTY: (617) 847-3788)

100 Hancock Street, 1st floor  
Quincy, MA  02171  
ADAAccommodations@state.ma.us

Topic

•	 For applicants and members with disabilities who need 
accommodations
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Social Security Administration (SSA)

(800) 772-1213 | www.ssa.gov

Topic

•	 Eligibility for Social Security enrollment in Medicare Parts 
A and B

•	 Social Security benefits Supplemental Security Income 
(SSI) benefits

•	 Applying for an SSN

Medicare prescription drug coverage

(800) MEDICARE [(800) 633-4227, TTY: (877) 486-2048] 
www.medicare.gov

Senior Care Options

(888) 885-0484, TTY: (888) 821-5225

Massachusetts Health Connector

(877) MA ENROLL [(877) 623-6765, TTY: (877) 623-7773] 
www.MAhealthconnector.org

Topic

•	 Reporting changes

•	 Information about enrollment in health plans, premiums, 
copays, other program information, and appeals 
information

•	 Health Connector member eligibility
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•	 Information about Health Connector eligibility factor 
verifications and examples of acceptable forms of proof

•	 Information about Health Connector premium billing and 
status of  payment

To report member or provider fraud

(877) 437-2830, (877) 4-FRAUD-0

Health Safety Net Customer Service Center

(877) 910-2100

Topic

•	 Health Safety Net

Grievances with HSN

Health Safety Net Office  
Attn: HSN Grievances 
Two Boylston St., 6th Floor  
Boston, MA  02116

Legal Services

A list of free and low-cost legal services is available on the 
MassHealth website at www.mass.gov/masshealth.

If you would like this list in print form, call us at  
(800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711. 
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Department of Transitional Assistance

Do you need help meeting your basic needs? 

DTA can provide you and your family with: 

•	 SNAP (Food assistance)

•	 TAFDC or EAEDC (Economic assistance)

Households may be eligible for: 

•	 Referrals to education, training or career preparatory 
programs

•	 Child care and transportation pay ments for those 
working or seeking work

•	 Nutrition education

•	 Free health insurance 

To Learn More About DTA

Visit our website at mass.gov/dta. Review information 
about the SNAP, TAFDC or EAEDC programs.

Call the DTA Assistance Line at 1-877-382-2363. Case 
managers are available Monday to Friday between 8:15 am 
to 4:45 pm. Self-service options are available through the 
assistance line24/7.

Stop by a local Transitional Assistance Office. To find the 
nearest office, visit our website.
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Apply For SNAP Today Via DTA Connect

Apply for SNAP benefits online via DTAconnect.com. You 
can use the website or download the DTA Connect mobile 
application to keep tabs on your case. To apply for TAFDC 
or EAEDC, visit your local Transitional Assistance Office.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT VOTER 
REGISTRATION

Dear Applicant or Member:

The National Voter Registration Act of 1993 requires 
MassHealth to give you the opportunity to register to 
vote. Your decision to register to vote will not affect your 
eligibility for benefits. 

A mail-in voter registration form is enclosed in the middle 
of this booklet, if this booklet contains the MassHealth 
application. If you would like a mail-in voter registration 
form sent to you, please call the MassHealth Customer 
Service Center at (800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711.

When you get the form, fill it out and send it to your city 
or town hall. If you have any questions about the voter 
registration process, or if you need help filling out the form, 
call one of the listed telephone numbers, or visit a local 
MassHealth office. MassHealth office locations can be 
found at www.mass.gov/masshealth. 
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Remember: You will not be registered to vote until you send 
the filled-out voter registration form to your local city or 
town hall. Your local election department will let you know 
in writing when your voter registration has been processed. 
If you do not get written notification within a reasonable 
time, contact your local city or town hall election 
department for more information. 

MassHealth updates the federal poverty levels each year 
based on changes made by the federal government. The 
income levels chart reflects the standards as of March 1, 
2024.

These figures are rounded and may not reflect the figures 
used in program determination.

Please see our website at www.mass.gov/service-details/
eligibility-figures-tables-for-masshealth-applicants-and-
members for the most recent chart.



Federal Poverty Levels (Monthly)

Household Size 100% 133% 150% 200%

1 $1,255 $1,670 $1,883 $2,510

2 $1,704 $2,266 $2,555 $3,407

3 $2,152 $2,862 $3,228 $4,304

4 $2,600 $3,458 $3,900 $5,200

5 $3,049 $4,055 $4,573 $6,097

6 $3,497 $4,651 $5,245 $6,994

7 $3,945 $5,247 $5,918 $7,890

8 $4,394 $5,844 $6,590 $8,787

Additional Persons $449 $597 $673 $897

Household Size 250% 300% 400%

1 $3,138 $3,765 $5,020

2 $4,259 $5,110 $6,814

3 $5,380 $6,455 $8,607

4 $6,500 $7,800 $10,400

5 $7,621 $9,145 $12,194

6 $8,742 $10,490 $13,987

7 $9,863 $11,835 $15,780

8 $10,984 $13,180 $17,574

Additional Persons $1,121 $1,345 $1,794
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Important! If you need an interpreter or translation 
help with any MassHealth notice or form, or if you 
want a booklet/guide in your language, or if you have 
any questions about MassHealth, please call us at 
(800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY: 711. MassHealth does not 
discriminate on the basis of national origin.  

This booklet is also available in braille and large-print editions. 
To get a copy, please call us at (800) 841-2900. TDD/TTY:711. 


