



MINUTES

Special Commission on Micromobility Kickoff Meeting

Wednesday, April 9th, 2025 1-3pm

10 Park Plaza, 2nd Floor Board Room, Suite 2890 Boston, MA 02116 This meeting was streamed live online

Commission Members Meeting in person:

Chair, Monica Tibbits-Nutt, Leonardi Aray, Gerald Autler, Naroa Coretti Sanchez, Sen. Brendan Crighton, Dorothy Fennell, Nick Gove, John G. LeLacheur, Nathaniel Malloy, Galen Mook, Scott Mullen, and Kara Oberg

Commission Members Meeting on line:

Stefanie Seskin

Commission Member delegates serving for a portion of the meeting:

Kris Carter (MassDOT), Brendan Kearney (WalkMassachusetts), Alex Chilton (Sen. Crighton's Office)

Others Participating:

Niren Sirohi, Chief of Operations, RMV Bonnie Polin, Highway Safety Engineer, MassDOT Highway

1. Call to order by Chair

Secretary Tibbits-Nutt calls the meeting to order at 1:02pm and states the importance of this Commission. The Secretary acknowledges the leadership of

the Healey-Driscoll Administration on transportation and the topic this Commission will address. The Secretary states that this is a complex request for this group and reaffirms that this group is expected to lift up the challenges and to bring their knowledge and experience to put together recommendations for the legislature for a path forward. She reminds the Commission that the Commonwealth's vision for transportation is bound by the Beyond Mobility 2050 Transportation Plan, which was developed with residents across the state. She concludes by stating the important role that safe and widely available uses of micromobility play in that vision.

2. Purpose and scope of the Commission

Kris Carter talks through the meeting's agenda, the Commission timeline, and its objectives. He notes the language of the law that was passed as part of the Economic Development bill that formed this group and asks these three questions:

- How should we classify vehicles to reduce confusion?
- Where can vehicles operate to ensure safety and ease of compliance?
- How can we support micromobility growth to deliver on the Beyond Mobility 2050 priorities?

3. Swearing in of committee members

Members present for swearing in:

Monica Tibbits-Nutt, Chair, Secretary and CEO, MassDOT Leonardi Aray, President, Consulting Planners of Massachusetts Gerald Autler, Director of Trails and Greenways, DCR Naroa Coretti Sánchez, Researcher, MIT Media Lab Sen. Brendan Crighton, Chairperson, Senator Third Essex Dorothy Fennell, Co-Founder & CEO, Cargo-B Nick Gove, Deputy Chief of Transportation, City of Boston Chief John G. LeLacheur, Chief, City of Beverly Police Department Nathaniel Malloy, Senior Planner, Town of Amherst Galen Mook, Executive Director, MassBike Scott Mullen, TDM Director, A Better City Kara Oberg, Owner, The Ride Cafe

4. Introduction of the Commission members

Members introduce themselves and share their goals for this Commission as well as subjects they would like to see addressed. Key themes include:

- Integrating micromobility into a holistic transportation network
- Unifying micromobility operation across the Commonwealth
- Better connecting state and local priorities, laws, and enforcement
- Integrating state legislation at local level
- Prioritizing micromobility as a primary mode and mobility justice
- Ensuring safety
- Exploring micromobility innovation and expanding the Commonwealth market

5. **Review of existing laws and regulations - Presentations**

Bonnie Polin, State Highway Safety Engineer, presents the current state around vulnerable road user (VRU) definitions in the Commonwealth and introduces an ongoing study with UMASS. The presentation covered a field scan of the country and how various vehicles are defined in those states and a look at the MA General Law and MA crash report form as currently constructed.

Niren Sirohi, RMV Chief Operating Officer, offers some device classification framework considerations for micromobility in Massachusetts. This talk included slides that showed a wide variety of vehicle types, their size, weight, and top speeds. Mr. Sirohi used these images to guide a conversation about why a framework approach might be useful as new vehicles emerge in the marketplace.

Committee members ask questions about existing regulations and their implications.

6. **Discussion among Commission members**

Commission members discuss proposed frameworks for the commission, its objectives, and the desired next steps. They also suggest presentations and activities for future meetings. Members agree to continue with a discussion on Safety at the meeting to be held on June 10th and to determine a refined agenda and potential presentations through asynchronous work.

7. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned by Kris Carter at 3:03pm.