## <u>Municipal PoliceTraining Committee</u> <u>Special Meeting Minutes</u> <u>Zoom Meeting</u> July 26, 2021

### Call to Order

At 2:01 PM, Chief Jim Hicks called the special meeting of the Municipal Police Training Committee to order. This meeting was conducted virtually and recorded by Zoom.

#### **Roll call: Voting Members**

John Melander for U/S Terrence Reidy	Present
Chief Jim Hicks	Present
AAG Jim O'Brien	Absent
Chief Frank Frederickson	Absent
Chief Jennifer Gundersen	Present
Chief Brian Kyes	Present
Chief Kelly Nee	Absent
Chief Thomas O'Donnell	Present
Superintendent Richard Sullivan	Present
Superintendent Winnie Cotter	Present
Sheriff Kevin Coppinger	Present
Sheriff Chris Donelan	Present
Sgt. Lanita Cullinane	Present
Officer Joseph Vieira	Present
Major Dan McGinn	Present

#### MPTC Staff

ED Robert Ferullo, Andrea Nardone, Shane Rodriguez, Cassandra Cahill, Mary DeFrancesco, John Dube, Dori-Ann Ference, Denise Flagg, Eileen Goodick, Joanne Gardiner, Joanne Heres, Andrew Lyczmanenko, Lisa Ann Reich, Alison Taylor, Lara Thomas, and Christopher Walsh.

# <u>Guests</u>

Heather Brouillette, Earl Dessert, Thomas Ford, McGrath, James Mulcahy, Lon Povich, James Raso, Josh Stokel, Timothy Watts, and Thomas Zarelli.

#### **Use of Force Regulations**

John Melander provided an update on the working group's progress on the draft Use of Force regulations. POSTC approved the working group's draft regulations this morning. The Committee reviewed edits made to the document since the July 21, 2021, meeting.

Chief O'Donnell moved to adopt the draft Use of Force by Law Enforcement Officers regulations with minor changes noted by John Melander. Officer Vieira seconded the motion and roll call was taken.

John Melander for U/S Terrence Reidy	Aye
Chief Jim Hicks	Aye
Chief Jennifer Gundersen	Aye
Chief Brian Kyes	Aye
Chief Thomas O'Donnell	Aye
Superintendent Richard Sullivan	Aye
Superintendent Winnie Cotter	Aye
Sheriff Kevin Coppinger	Aye
Sheriff Chris Donelan	Aye
Sgt. Lanita Cullinane	Aye
Officer Joseph Vieira	Aye
Major Dan McGinn	No

#### The motion passes.

#### **Adjournment**

# Supt. Cotter made a motion to adjourn. Officer Vieira seconded the motion and roll call was taken.

John Melander for U/S Terrence Reidy	Aye
Chief Jim Hicks	Aye
Chief Jennifer Gundersen	Aye
Chief Brian Kyes	Aye
Chief Thomas O'Donnell	Aye
Superintendent Richard Sullivan	Aye
Superintendent Winnie Cotter	Aye
Sheriff Kevin Coppinger	Aye
Sheriff Chris Donelan	Aye
Sgt. Lanita Cullinane	Aye
Officer Joseph Vieira	Aye
Major Dan McGinn	Aye

#### The motion passes.

The meeting adjourned at 2:54PM.