## THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS



## Department of Agricultural Resources

251 Causeway Street, Suite 500, Boston, MA 02114 617-626-1700 fax: 617-626-1850 www.mass.gov/agr



CHARLES D. BAKER Governor

KARYN E. POLITO Lt. Governor MATTHEW A. BEATON Secretary

JOHN LEBEAUX Commissioner

**MEMBERS** 

Taryn LaScola, Chair Department of Agricultural Resources (DAR)

Jim Straub Department of Conservation And Recreation (DCR)

Gary Gonyea Department of Environmental Protection (DEP)

**OPERATIONS** 

Jennifer Forman Orth Environmental Biologist

Juan Carlos Gutierrez Operations Coordinator

Jessica Burgess General Counsel

MOSQUITO CONTROL PROJECTS & DISTRICTS

Berkshire County Mosquito Control Project

Bristol County Mosquito Control Project

Cape Cod Mosquito Control Project

Central Massachusetts Mosquito Control Project

East Middlesex Mosquito Control Project

Nantucket Mosquito Control Project

Norfolk County Mosquito Control District

Northeast Massachusetts Mosquito & Wetland Management District

Plymouth County Mosquito Control Project

Suffolk County Mosquito Control Project

Meeting Minutes of the State Reclamation and Mosquito Control Board (SRMCB)

MDAR Amherst office 101 University Drive, Suite C4 Amherst, MA 01002 5/31/2018

## **Board Members in Attendance:**

Taryn LaScola, Chairwoman, Gary Gonyea, Jim Straub

- **1. Call to Order:** Taryn LaScola, representing Commissioner Lebeaux called the meeting to order at 9:45 am.
- 2. Attendance: Chairwoman LaScola noted the Board has a quorum.
- **3. Public Comment/Input Period:** No comments heard.
- 4. Approval of Meeting Minutes:

The Board considered approval for the meeting minutes from the May 16, 2018 Board meeting. **Action Taken:** Gary Gonyea made a motion to approve the meeting minutes. The motion was seconded by Jim Straub and the minutes were unanimously approved by the Board.

5. Pioneer Valley Mosquito Control District updates: Towns of Deerfield and Hadley membership approval (Vote Required)

The Board considered approval of the towns of Deerfield and Hadley's membership to the Pioneer Valley Mosquito Control District. **Action Taken:** Jim Straub made a motion to approve the membership of the towns of Deerfield and Hadley to the Pioneer Valley Mosquito Control

District. Gary Gonyea seconded the motion and the Board voted unanimously to approve Deerfield and Hadley's membership.

## 6. Commissioner appointments: Interview/appointments for Pioneer Valley Mosquito Control District (Vote Required)

The board reviewed Gregory R Lewis qualifications and application for the Pioneer Valley Mosquito Control Commissioner position. The Board is thankful to see Gregory volunteering to be a commissioner; he was a vital member to get the District moving forward. Gregory works as a Public Health emergency Preparedness Planner for Franklin Regional Council of Governments. **Action taken:** Gary Gonyea motioned to approve Gregory R Lewis' appointment for a period of 5 years. Jim Straub seconded the motion and the Board voted unanimously to approve his appointment.

The board reviewed Merridith A. O'Leary's qualifications and application for the Pioneer Valley Mosquito Control Commissioner position. Merridith holds the position of Director of Public Health for the City of Northampton. **Action taken:** Gary Gonyea motioned to approve Merridith A. O'Leary's appointment for a period of 5 years. Jim Straub seconded the motion and the Board voted unanimously to approve her appointment.

The board reviewed Carolyn S Ness' qualifications and application for the Pioneer Valley Mosquito Control Commissioner position. Carolyn is the Chair for the Board of Selectman and Board of Health in the town of Deerfield. **Action taken:** Gary Gonyea motioned to approve Carolyn S Ness' appointment for a period of 3 years. Jim Straub seconded the motion and the. Board voted unanimously to approve her appointment.

The board reviewed Jeanne Galloway's qualifications and application for the Pioneer Valley Mosquito Control Commissioner position. Jeanne is the Director of Public Health for the town of West Springfield. Jeanne was also a vital member to move the District moving forward from the beginning. **Action taken:** Gary Gonyea motioned to approve Jeanne Galloway's appointment for a period of 5 years. Jim Straub seconded the motion and the. Board voted unanimously to approve her appointment.

The board reviewed Aimee M Petrosky's qualifications and application for the Pioneer Valley Mosquito Control Commissioner position. Aimee is the Director of Public Health for the town of East Longmeadow. **Action taken:** Gary Gonyea motioned to approve Aimee M Petrosky's appointment for a period of 3 years. Jim Straub seconded the motion and the Board voted unanimously to approve her appointment.

- **7. Next Board Meetings:** The next SRB meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, October 17<sup>th</sup>, 2018 @ Richard Cronin Building 1 Rabbit Hill Road, Westborough, MA 01581
- **8. Adjournment: Action Taken:** Mr. Gonyea made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Jim Straub. The Board voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 1:09 PM.