

Massachusetts Safe Routes to School Awards Ceremony

Live Zoom Event June 8, 2020



Schedule of Events

10:00 AM

Opening Remarks and Year in Review

Cassandra Gascon Bligh, SRTS Program Coordinator, MassDOT

Keynote Speaker

Stephanie Pollack, Secretary & CEO, MassDOT

School Partner Remarks

Dan Costello, Principal of Leadership and Operations, Fowler School, Maynard

Municipal Partner Remarks

Milagros Puello, P.E., Acting Water and Sewer Commissioner (Former City Engineer), City of Lawrence

Partner Agency Remarks

Becky Bash, Senior Planner, Pioneer Valley Planning Commission, Springfield

10:45 AM

Partner Recognition

Honor Roll Awards Presentation:

Exemplary Program by Region:

- **★** Western
- **★** Central
- **★** Northeast
- **★** Southeast

Community Collaboration

Nikki Tishler Award



The following partner schools have gone the extra mile in documenting their 2019 - 2020 accomplishments thereby qualifying for individual partner level awards. Levels are determined via the completion of various tasks, each with a designated point value, throughout the school year and culminating in a Gold, Silver, Bronze, or Basic Level achievement.

Gold Partners

Alfred S. Letourneau Elementary School

Arthur D. Healey School Benjamin G. Brown School Blueberry Hill Elementary School Bournedale Elementary School **Brayton Elementary School**

Center School-Longmeadow

Colegrove Park Elementary School Dr. Albert F. Argenziano School

East Somerville Community School

Florence Sawyer School

Hannah Elementary School

John F. Kennedy School

Lt. Job Lane Elementary School

Bridge Elementary

Clarksburg School

Fowler School

Fred Miller Elementary School

Greylock Elementary School

John Glenn Middle School

Joseph Estabrook Elementary

Lee Elementary School

Lt. Eleazer Davis Elementary

Silver Partners

Albert S. Woodward Memorial School **Amigos School**

Armstrong Elementary School

Barnstable West Barnstable Elementary

Bourne Intermediate School

Bridge Street School

Burgess Elementary School

Chatham Elementary School

Curley School

Cyrus E. Dallin School

David A. Ellis Elementary School

Edith C. Baker School

Edward F. Parthum Elementary School

Edward F. Parthum Middle School

Farley Elementary School

Fiske Elementary

Forest Ave. Elementary

Forestdale School

Gibbons Elementary School Glover Elementary School

Harrington School

Harwich Elementary School

Hubbardston Center School

Ipswich Middle School

Johnny Appleseed Elementary School

Johnson Elementary

Joyce Kilmer School

Lincoln Elementary

Marguerite E. Small Elementary

Mary O. Pottenger School

McCall Middle School

Pierce School-Brookline

Quinn Middle School

Rebecca M. Johnson Elementary School

Reingold Elementary School

Robinson Park Elementary School

Roger Clap Elementary School Salisbury Elementary School

Shaker Lane School

Sheffield Elementary School

Teaticket Elementary School

Tucker Elementary School

Vinson-Owen School

Westminster Elementary School

Winthrop School

Bronze Partners

Abbot Elementary School

Alice A. Macomber Primary School

Amos A. Lawrence School

Ayers-Ryal Side School **Barry Elementary**

Bates Elementary School

Beethoven Elementary School

Belcher Elementary

Bellamy Middle School

Belmont Street Community School

Bowe Elementary School

Bowie Elementary

Broadmeadow Elementary School

Cambridgeport School

Center School-Peabody Centerville Elementary School

Chicopee Academy

Clinton Elementary School

Collicot Elementary School

Cove Elementary School

Cunniff Elementary School

Cunningham Elementary School

Dawe Elementary School

Dupont Middle School

Elizabeth Pole School

Fairview Elementary School

Fales Elementary School

Graham and Parks School

Green Meadow Elementary School

Greenfield Middle

Greenlodge Elementary School

Haggerty School

Hastings Elementary School

Haynes Early Education Center

Hedge Elementary

Henry L Higginson School

Herbert Clark Hoover

Higginson-Lewis School **Homer Street School**

Hugh Scott Streiber School

Israel Loring Elementary School

James Russell Lowell Elementary School

John J. Stefanik School

John R. Briggs Elementary School

Jonas Clarke Middle School

Josiah Quincy Elementary School

Kittredge Elementary School

Lambert-Lavoie Elementary

Litwin School

Lvnn Woods School

M. Norcross Stratton Elementary

Mary E. Finn Elementary School

Mary Lee Burbank School

Mather Elementary School

Michael Driscoll School

Mildred Avenue K-8 School

Mill Pond School **Newton School**

North Beverly Elementary School

Meetinghouse Elementary School

Oak Ridge School

Old Rochester Jr. High School

Pakachoag Elementary School

Patrick Lyndon Pilot School

Paul F. Doyon Memorial School

Peabody School

Peirce Elementary School-Arlington

Powder Mill School

Raymond C. Richer Elementary

Runkle School Sewell-Anderson School

South Elementary School-Hingham

South Elementary School-Stoughton

South Row Elementary School

Sunderland Elementary

Thomas M. Balliet School

Tracy Elementary School

Upham Elementary School Westport Elementary School

Williamstown Elementary School

Winn Brook School

Winship Elementary School

Woodland Academy Woodland School

Deerfield Elementary Fletcher Maynard Academy

Hansen Elementary School

Jefferson Elementary School

J.F. Kennedy Elementary School

John A. Crisafulli Elementary School

Norman E. Day School

Rita Edwards Miller School



Foster Elementary School

Hillcrest Elementary School

Monomoy Middle School





Manchester Memorial Elementary

Mary L. Fonseca Elementary School

Mason-Rice Elementary School

Mulready Elementary School

Nathaniel Morton Elementary

Old Mill Pond Elementary

Roberta G. Doering School

Roberts Elementary School

Provincetown Schools

Muraco Elementary

Morgan Full Service Community

Maria Hastings Elementary

School



Exemplary Programs by Region

Awarded to schools that set a great example by crafting a new or existing Safe Routes to School Program through innovation, creativity, and engagement.

★ Western

Winner: Lee Elementary School, Lee

Honorable Mention: Clarksburg School, Clarksburg

★ Central

Winner: Roberts Elementary School, Medford

Honorable Mention: Miller Elementary School, Holliston

★ Northeast

Winner: Parthum Elementary and Middle Schools, Lawrence

Honorable Mention: Roger Clap Elementary School, Dorchester

★ Southeast

Winner: Nathaniel Morton Elementary School, Plymouth

Honorable Mention: Marguerite E. Small Elementary School, Yarmouth

Community Collaboration

Awarded to an Alliance Partner organization that strongly demonstrated the importance of collaborating among schools and community stakeholders, and furthered the mission of Safe Routes to School.

Winner: Shape Up Somerville

Honorable Mention: Central Massachusetts Regional Planning

Commission

Nikki Tishler Memorial Award

Awarded to an individual who served as a true champion of Safe Routes to School over the past school year, making the extra effort to ensure a successful program in his or her community.

In 2018, the Safe Routes to School Superhero
Award was retired in Nikki's honor and presented
to her family to celebrate her life and work with MassDOT.
Nikki was the Coordinator of MassDOT's Safe Routes to
School Program and a liaison to three of the Commonwealth's
Metropolitan Planning Organizations.

Throughout her life, Nikki brought the same passion to her endeavors outside of the office as she did to her responsibilities at MassDOT. She was a fierce advocate for social justice; a volunteer for a suicide prevention hotline; a warm, thoughtful, and caring person; and a wonderful friend and colleague.

In the words of one coworker, "Nikki had the innate ability to promote social wellness, which she was a living example of. Her closest colleagues benefited both professionally and personally from her contagious positivity."

Winner: Emily Schiavoni, North Adams Public Schools

