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Texas License Plate Changes: Guide for Law Enforcement 

Effective July 1, 2025, Texas is eliminating most paper temporary tags and transitioning to metal 
license plates to enhance security, prevent fraud, and strengthen traffic enforcement. Law 
enforcement officers should be aware of these changes when encountering Texas-registered 
vehicles. Law enforcement will begin seeing four new Texas metal plate types on the road. 

Paper Temporary Tags Will No Longer Be Issued (Effective July 1, 2025) 

��� Buyer’s Temporary Tags 

��� Dealer’s Temporary Tags 

��� 30-Day & One-Trip Permits 

��� Dealer Agent Tags 

��� Dealer Vehicle Specific Tags 

��� Internet Down Tags 

�� Paper tags issued prior to July 1, 2025, will remain valid until expiration. 
For example, a Buyer’s Temporary Tag issued June 30, 2025, will expire August 29, 2025. 

Paper Tags & Permits That Will Still Be Issued (Effective July 1, 2025) 

✅ 72/144 Hour Permits (For commercial 
vehicles) 

✅ Vehicle Transit Permit 

✅ Temporary Registration Insignia 

✅ Factory Delivery Permits 
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Metal Plates Replacing Paper Tags (Effective July 1, 2025) 

General Issue License Plate 

• Issued by Texas dealers to buyers at the time of sale as a replacement for paper 
Buyer’s Temporary Tags. 

• Must be properly secured on the front and rear of the vehicle. 
• Buyers must keep their Buyer’s Receipt in vehicle until registration is complete 

and the windshield sticker is received and affixed. 
• Plate validity can be confirmed by law enforcement through TLETS/NLETS. 

Dealer Temporary License Plate 

• Issued by TxDMV to dealers for business-related uses only, not personal use. 
• Replaces Vehicle Specific & Dealer Agent paper tags. 
• Used for transit to/from dealer to dealer, auction, mechanic, etc. 
• Used for loaner cars and test drives. 
• Used for vehicles used by a charitable organization. 
• Must be securely displayed on the rear of the vehicle (not in the window) and 

have month & year expiration stickers. 
• Does not replace existing Dealer Metal Plate which can be used for dealer 

personal use. 
• Plate validity can be confirmed through TLETS/NLETS. 

Out-of-State Buyer Plate 

• Issued by Texas dealers when selling vehicles to non-Texas buyers. 
• Valid for 60 days. 
• Must be securely displayed on the rear of the vehicle (not in the window). 
• Plate validity can be confirmed by law enforcement through TLETS/NLETS. 

Temporary Registration License Plate 

• Issued by TxDMV or Texas county tax offices for temporary registration needs. 
• Replaces 30-Day and One Trip paper permits. 
• Must have expiration stickers affixed and be securely displayed on the rear of 

the vehicle (not in the window). 
• Plate validity can be confirmed by law enforcement through TLETS/NLETS. 

Buyer Provisional License Plate 

• Issued by Texas dealers when a specific plate type is not available in the dealer’s 
inventory (such as farm or ISA plates). 

• Must be securely displayed on the rear of the vehicle (not in the window). 
• Valid until 7 days after a permanent plate is assigned. 
• Plate validity can be confirmed through TLETS/TLETS. 

For more information, visit www.TxDMV.gov/HB718 
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