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Are You Working or 
Looking for a Job?

If you are like most young people, the answer is probably, “yes.”  Work is a big 
part of life for many teenagers and while having a job can bring a lot of benefits 
there are also potential risks.

Every year in the US, approximately 180,000 teenagers are injured on the job 
and, tragically, nearly 37 die from work-related injuries.

Every year in Massachusetts, over 300 teens visit emergency departments for 
work-related injuries.  While rare, young workers have been fatally injured at 
work in Massachusetts.

So how can you protect yourself?
You can begin by…

•  Knowing the laws that cover youth employment

•  Understanding your rights and responsibilities

•  Recognizing workplace hazards

•  Getting help when you need it

In this guide, you will find useful information on all of these topics.

Youth Employment Laws

The youth employment laws are in place to protect 
you from dangers on the job.  They also set limits 
on the hours that you can work.  These laws were 
established to address a 
historical lack of rights 
and protections for teen 
workers on the job.

The Massachusetts Youth  
Employment Laws, also 
known as the Child 
Labor Laws, are found in 
Massachusetts General 
Laws, chapter 149, 
sections 56-105.
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Rights and Responsibi l it ies 
Your employer is required to maintain a safe work environment.  You have 
a role to play in your own safety as well.  In this partnership, you have both 
rights and responsibilities.

Your R ights  By law, your employer must:

• Provide a safe and healthy workplace.

• Provide health and safety training, including information on harmful 
chemicals you might use.

• Pay for medical care if you get 
hurt or sick because of your 
job (you may also be entitled 
to lost wages).

• Pay you for all of the hours 
you worked.

• Pay you 1.5 times your regular 
pay for each hour over 40 that 
you work in a week.

You also have a right to:

• Express your concerns about health and safety.

• File a complaint with OSHA about health and safety problems.

• Refuse to work if the job is immediately dangerous to your life or health.

• Work without racial or sexual harassment.

• Join or organize a union.

• Retain tips you receive – either directly, or through a 
valid tip-pool with your co-workers.

• Earn and use up to 40 hours of sick leave per year.

Your Responsibi l it ies  As a worker, you should:

• Know your rights.

• Comply with workplace safety rules and instructions.

• Know what to do in an emergency.

• Report any health or safety hazards to your 
supervisor.

• Use safety equipment (i.e., machine guards) and 
personal protective equipment (i.e., goggles, gloves) 
when required.

Your 
employer 

cannot 
LEGAL LY 

f ire you 
for raising 
concerns 
about or 

f i l ing a 
health and 

safety 
complaint 
with OSHA.
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Effective Date Minimum Wage Service  Rate

January 1, 2017 $11.00 $3.75

January 1, 2019 $12.00 $4.35

January 1, 2020 $12.75 $4.95

January 1, 2021 $13.50 $5.55

January 1, 2022 $14.25 $6.15

January 1, 2023 $15.00 $6.75



Work Permits
If you are younger than 18 years of age, you must complete a work permit 
application and obtain a work permit before starting a new job.  High school 
guidance counselors or job placement coordinators can help you with this 
application process.

Steps for getting a work permit:

1 First, you must have a job offer from an employer.

2 Next, download a work permit application from the Massachusetts
 Department of Labor Standards website (www.mass.gov/dols/youth),
 or pick one up at the Superintendent of Schools’ Office in the school
 district where you live or where you attend school.

3 Bring the application to your employer and have him/her complete 
the section, “Promise of Employment.”

4 For 14- and 15-year-olds only (16- and 17-year-olds may skip this step):  
Have your doctor complete the Physician’s Certificate of Health section.  
Note:  The Certificate of Health must be signed within the previous 12 
months of the date that you submit your application for a work permit.

5 You and your parent, guardian or custodian must sign the 
completed permit application.

6 Take the completed application and proof of your age (e.g., birth 
certificate, passport, or immigration record) to the Superintendent of 
Schools (or the person authorized to issue permits) in the school district 
where you live or where you attend school.  The Superintendent or 
authorized person will then issue you a permit.  No one else may pick up 
your permit for you.

7 Bring the signed work permit back to your employer who must 
keep it until you leave your job.  Your employer is required to have your 
work permit on the premises at all times.  

NOTE:  If you are 17 years old and have documented proof of a 
high school diploma or the equivalent, you are entitled to a work 
permit without signature authorization from the Superintendent.  
You should still complete a work permit application and bring 
documentation of your high school diploma or the equivalent 
to the authorized school official.  You will then be issued an 
appropriate work permit to provide to your employer.
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Legal work hours 
For 14 and 15-year-olds

During the school year:  Only between 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m., 
and not during school hours.

During the summer (July 1 to Labor Day): Only between 7:00 
a.m. and 9:00 p.m.

During the school year:  18 hours per week, 3 hours per day on 
school days, 8 hours per day on weekends and holidays, 6 days 
per week.

During the summer: 40 hours per week, 8 hours per day, 6 days 
per week

Work 
Hours

maximum 
Hours

Year-round: Between 6:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. on nights 
preceding a regularly scheduled school day.  If the establishment 
stops serving customers at 10:00 p.m., the minor may be 
employed until 10:15 p.m.

Between 6:00 a.m. to 11:30 p.m. on nights not preceding a 
regularly scheduled school day.  (Except in restaurants and 
racetracks, until midnight.)

Year-round: 48 hours per week, 9 hours per day, 6 days per 
week.

Work 
Hours

maximum 
Hours

Legal work hours 
For 16 and 17-year-olds

After 8:00 p.m., all teens, ages 14 through 
17, must be directly supervised by an adult 
who is located in the workplace and who is 
reasonably accessible (with the exception of 
minors who work at a kiosk, cart or stand in 
the common area of an enclosed shopping 
mall that has security from 8:00 p.m. until 
the mall is closed to the public).

Page 5



Prohibited Jobs for 14 & 15 Year Olds

• Operating, cleaning, or repairing 
power-driven machinery (except 
office machines or machines for retail, 
cleanup, or kitchen work not otherwise 
prohibited)

• Cooking (except on electric or gas grills 
that do not have open flames)

• Operating fryolators, rotisseries, 
NIECO broilers, or pressure cookers

• Operating, cleaning or repairing 
power-driven food slicers, grinders, 
choppers, processors, cutters, and 
mixers

• Performing any baking activities

• Operating microwave ovens (except to 
heat food in microwave ovens with a 
maximum capacity of 140˚ F)

• Cleaning kitchen surfaces that are 
hotter than 100˚ F

• Filtering, transporting, or disposing of 
cooking oil or grease hotter than 100˚F

• Working in freezers or meat coolers

• Working in a manufacturing facility 
or occupation (e.g., in a factory; as an 
assembler)

• Working on or using ladders, scaffolds, 
or their substitutes

• Working in garages, except dispensing 
gas and oil

• Working in brick or lumber yards

• Working around boilers or in engine 
rooms

• Loading or unloading trucks, railroad 
cars, or conveyors

• Working in amusement places (e.g., 
pool or billiard room, or bowling alley) 

• Working in barber shops

• Work in door-to-door street sales, 
including work as a sign waiver 
(except directly outside of employer 
establishment)

• Working in construction, 
transportation, communications, or 
public utilities (except doing clerical 
work away from heavy machinery off 
the job-site)

• Working in warehouses (except doing 
clerical work)

• Loading or unloading trucks, railroad 
cars, or conveyors

• Riding in or on a motor vehicle (except 
in passenger seat if wearing a seatbelt)

• Working doing laundry in a commercial 
laundry or dry cleaning establishment

• Working as a public messenger

• Working at processing operations (e.g., 
in meat or fish, poultry processing. 
cooping, cracking nuts, bulk or mass 
mailing)

• Doing industrial homework

• Working with dangerous electrical 
machinery or appliances

• Work that is determined by the 
Massachusetts Attorney General to be 
dangerous to the health and well-being 
of minors

• Work in any of the occupations or 
tasks prohibited for persons 16 & 17 
years old

Tasks not specifically permitted by 
the US DOL Secretary of Labor, are 
prohibited.
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Prohibited Jobs for 16 & 17 Year Olds

• Driving a vehicle, forklift, or work 
assist vehicle (except golf carts in 
certain circumstances) 

• Riding as a passenger on a forklift
• Operating, cleaning, or repairing 

power-driven meat slicers, grinders 
or choppers

• Operating, cleaning, or repairing 
power-driven bakery machines 
(except for certain countertop 
models and pizza dough rollers)

• Working 30 feet or more above 
ground or water

• Handling, serving, or selling alcoholic 
beverages

• Using circular, chain, or band saws; 
guillotine shears; wood chippers; and 
abrasive cutting discs

• Using power-driven woodworking 
machines

• Using, servicing, driving, or working 
from hoisting machines

• Operating or loading  power-driven 
balers, compactors, or paper-
processing machines

• Using power-driven metal-forming, 
punching, or shearing machines

• Using buffing or polishing equipment
• Manufacturing brick, tile, or kindred 

products
• Manufacturing or storing explosives

• Working in excavation, wrecking, 
demolition, or shipbreaking

• Working in forest fire fighting, 
forest fire prevention, timber track 
operations, and forestry service

• Working in logging, sawmilling, or 
mining

• Working slaughtering, packing, or 
processing meat and poultry

• Working in railway operations

• Working in roofing or on or about a 
roof

• Working in foundries or around blast 
furnaces

• Manufacturing phosphorus or 
phosphorus matches

• Working where they are exposed to 
radioactive substances

• Working as a firefighter or engineer 
on a boat

• Oiling or cleaning hazardous 
machinery in motion

• Work in any job requiring the 
possession or use of a firearm

The information contained on pages 5-7 is a combination of the state and federal laws.  The 
most protective laws are presented here and apply to all employers of teens in Massachusetts 

including family members who employ their teenaged relatives.  There are additional regulations 
and some exceptions for employers in agricultural industries and student learners participating in 

cooperative education programs.

Persons under 14 
may NOT WORK!

There are a few exceptions to 
this such as babysitting and 

working as news carriers, on 
farms, and in entertainment 

(with a special permit).
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Hazards in the Workplace
Many jobs have hazards that can hurt you or make you sick.  It is important to 
be aware of them and to speak up if you have concerns.  

As a teen, it may be difficult for you to speak up in the workplace.  If so, speak 
with a parent or other trusted adult if you feel that there are any conditions at 
work that are unsafe.  

Here are some of the most common hazards you might find in typical teen jobs:

Physical Hazards
•  Lifting heavy objects

•  Standing for long periods

•  Excessive noise

•  Extreme temperatures

•  Poor lighting and ventilation

•  Repetitive movements (e.g., 
scanning groceries)

Safety Hazards
•  Knives, razors, and case cutters

•  Hot grease, water and steam

•  Unguarded machinery

•  Slippery floors

•  Falling objects

•  Electrical hazards

•  Paper balers*

•  Motor vehicles*

Chemical & biological 
Hazards

•  Cleaning products

•  Solvents and acids

•  Gasoline

•  Pesticides

•  Bacteria and viruses (e.g., 
Hepatitis B)

•  Mold and dust mites

violence Hazards
•  Contact with enraged 

customers

•  Access to cash

•  Unsecured working 
environment

•  Working late at night

•  Working alone

*Use of this equipment by anyone under 18 is prohibited by law.
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Reduce Your R isk 
of being hurt by workplace hazards

• Participate in training programs or request training if none is offered.

• Use proper safety techniques when performing tasks.

• Read labels and follow instructions when using chemicals.

• Ask questions if you are unsure about something.

• Keep your work area clean and neat.

• Try to keep your cool around angry customers and call on your supervisor 
if you feel threatened.

• Ask for help from a responsible adult such as a co-worker, parent or 
teacher if you need help talking to your boss.

• Call the United States Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) 
if your employer does not fix a safety problem.

Before beginning a new job, ask your employer:

1. What are the hazards I should be aware of in this job?

2. Will I receive health and safety training?

3. Will I need to wear any safety gear?

4. Do you have an emergency plan in place and will I be trained in 
emergency procedures?

5. Do you have safety meetings?

Remember.. .   You have the legal right to refuse to do any task that you feel 
threatens your immediate safety!  Staff at OSHA, the Massachusetts Attorney 
General’s Office, and other state and federal agencies listed at the back of this 
pamphlet can provide information to you or your parent/guardian.  

If you are ever injured at work, you should take the following 
steps right away:

1.  Tell your supervisor, no matter what the injury is or how 
serious you think it is.

2.  If necessary, get medical treatment – even if it means 
leaving work to do so.

3.  Tell your parent or guardian about your injury.
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Workers’  Compensation
The Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation system is in place to make sure 
that workers are protected by insurance if they are injured on the job or 
contract a work-related illness.  Under this system, employers are required 
by law to provide workers’ compensation insurance coverage to all their 
employees.  When you become hurt or sick because of your job, you have a 
right to benefits under the state’s workers’ compensation system.  You are 
entitled to these rights:

•  Regardless of your age or the number of hours you work per week

•  No matter who or what caused your work-related injury or illness

•  Even if your employer has no workers’ compensation insurance

•  No matter what payment method your employer uses

•  Even if you are a citizen of another country

Do I  need a lawyer?

You do not need a lawyer to file a workers’ 
compensation claim.  If your employer’s workers’ 
compensation insurer denies or contests your claim, 
then you and/or your parent or guardian may want to 
talk to a lawyer who has experience handling workers’ 
compensation cases.

You may represent yourself or be represented by 
anyone you delegate, including an attorney.  If you 
do get an attorney, the law requires that the insurer 
pay the attorney’s fee if you win your case.  In certain 
cases the insurer can reduce your payments to 
help pay for your legal representation.  If you lose, 
the attorney can charge you only for very specific 
expenses.
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Under the Workers’  Compensation Law
you are entit led to:

•  Get medical treatment for a work-related injury and have it paid for by 
 your employer (whether or not you lose time at work).  It is illegal for 

your employer to ask you to use your own health insurance to pay your 
medical bills.

•  Choose your own doctor.  However, if you seek medical treatment when 
you first get injured, your employer has the right to send you to a 
doctor or hospital of its own choosing.

•  Know the name of your employer’s workers’ compensation insurer 
 and the policy number.  Your employer should have a poster with this 

information displayed in the workplace.

•  File a claim with your employer’s workers’ compensation insurer if your 
employer does not do so.  You can contact the insurer directly or call 
the Department of Industrial Accidents for help with this.  If you were 
injured while employed under conditions that violate the child labor 
laws you may make a claim for double compensation.

•  Be paid a portion of your lost wages if you are unable to work for 5 or 
 more calendar days because of a work-related injury or illness.  The first 

5 days DO NOT have to be scheduled in a row.

•  Receive other benefits if you become permanently disabled.  For 
example, you may receive compensation for loss of a body part or be 
given training to learn a new job.

•  Return to work after you have recovered.  Your employer cannot legally 
fire you for getting hurt at work or for missing work because of a work-
related injury or illness.

The information above applies to most 
situations.  Some rules and exceptions not 
covered here may apply to you and affect your 
situation.  To learn more, or to get help filing a 
claim, contact the Massachusetts Department of 
Industrial Accidents (www.mass.gov/dia).  
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Some Helpful  Resources 
When work-related problems or questions arise, there are many people 
you can go to for help.  The organizations listed here can help with 
questions on the following topics.

Chi ld Labor Laws & Wages

Massachusetts Attorney General’s 
Office, Fair Labor Division     

(617) 727-3465 
www.mass.gov/ago/youthemployment

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division

(617) 624-6700
www.dol.gov/whd

Discrimination at Work

Massachusetts Attorney General’s 
Office, Civil Rights Division

(617) 963-2917

Massachusetts Commission 
Against Discrimination (MCAD)

(617) 727-3990
www.mass.gov/mcad

U.S. Equal Employment 
Opportunity Commission (EEOC)

(800) 669-4000 Boston Area Office
www.eeoc.gov

Work Permits

Massachusetts Department  
of Labor Standards 

Youth Employment Information
(617) 969-7177 

www.mass.gov/dols/youth

Health and Safety

U.S. Department of Labor
Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration (OSHA)
(978) 837-4460 Andover Office
(617) 565-6924 Braintree Office

(413) 785-0123 Springfield Office
www.osha.gov

Massachusetts  
Department of Labor Standards 

Workplace Safety and Health Program 
(617) 969-7177  

www.mass.gov/dols

Massachusetts Department 
of Public Health (DPH)

Young Workers: Injury Surveillance 
and Prevention Project

(617) 624-5632
www.mass.gov/dph/teensatwork

Workers’  Compensation

Massachusetts Department of 
Industrial Accidents

(800) 323-3249
www.mass.gov/dia
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MA Youth Employment and Safety (YES) Team
www.mass.gov/youngworkers



Addit ional Resources 
These organizations and agencies have websites with many resources and tools 
on workplace health and safety that you may find helpful.

• National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

• Workplace Safety & Health Topics: 
www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/youth

• Youth @ Work: Talking Safety (curriculum): 
www.cdc.gov/niosh/talkingsafety

• U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration (OSHA)

• Teen workers website: 
www.osha.gov/youngworkers

• Teen worker safety in restaurants eTool:  
www.osha.gov/SLTC/youth/restaurant

• Youth in agriculture eTool: 
www.osha.gov/SLTC/youth/agriculture

• U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division

• Fact sheet index website:   
www.dol.gov/fact-sheets-index.htm

• YouthRules! website:   
www.youthrules.dol.gov

• National Young Worker Safety Resource Center:  
www.youngworkers.org
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Office of the Massachusetts Attorney General

www.mass.gov/ago
www.mass.gov/ago/youthemployment

Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Young Workers: Injury Surveillance and Prevention Project

teens.atwork@state.ma.us
www.mass.gov/dph/teensatwork
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