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You have been summoned for service
as a trial juror in the Commonwealth
of Massachusetts. This Handbook is
intended to answer some of the most

common questions you may have.
Additional information is available

on our website at www.MAjury.gov.

Please read this Handbook
carefully so that you will be better
prepared to serve as a trial juror. If
you are selected to serve, the judge
will give you additional instructions.
In the event of a conflict, you should

always follow the judge’s instructions,
rather than the more general
directions in this Handbook.
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AAfftteerr   YYoouu  SSeerrvvee

IInn  CCaassee  ooff   EEmmeerrggeennccyy

IImmppoorrttaannccee  ooff   JJuurryy  SSeerrvviiccee

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Please visit our website at www.MAjury.gov

Juror Information Line: 1-800-THE-JURY
1-800-843-5879 (within Massachusetts only)
or 617-338-6409 (out-of-state callers only)

The court system is committed to treating all jurors fairly and
respectfully, regardless of race, color, religious creed,
national origin, sex, age, ancestry, ability, or sexual
orientation. If you feel that you have experienced or
witnessed discriminatory treatment during your term of
service, please contact us at 1-800-THE-JURY (843-5879)
or at JurorHelp@jud.state.ma.us.

Compensation: Your Massachusetts employer is
required by law to pay your regular wages for the
first three days of jury service. After three days, the
state will pay you $50 per day, but some employers
will compensate an employee even after the third
day. Know your company’s policy before reporting
for jury service. Self-employed jurors must
compensate themselves for the first three days of
service unless they can demonstrate extreme
financial hardship to the judge. Travel expenses for
employed jurors are not reimbursed.

maximum of $50 per day. After the third day, the
state will pay all jurors $50 per day.

Reimbursement: Generally, jurors are not
reimbursed for expenses. If you are a student or not
employed, you may be reimbursed for reasonable
out-of-pocket expenses (excluding food) incurred
during the first three days of jury service, up to a

Proof of service: The Office of Jury Commissioner
provides juror service certificates to those who
have performed juror service, generally within one
to two weeks. The certificate includes a copy for
your employer. You should give your employer this
copy of the certificate as soon as you receive it.

You must request a reimbursement form from the
court officer as soon as possible. You may have to
explain your expenses to the judge.

If you cannot appear for your first day of service:
If you cannot report for service as scheduled you
can postpone your service on our website at
www.MAjury.gov. You will need the Badge Number
and PIN from your Summons or Reminder Notice,
and your ZIP Code. You can also call us at 1-800-
THE-JURY (843-5879) for assistance.

If you have been impaneled on a jury and cannot
return to court for a subsequent day: You must
make every effort to honor your commitment once
you have been selected as a juror on a case. The
parties, witnesses, your fellow jurors, and the
courthouse personnel are all depending on you,
and the court may impose consequences on an
impaneled juror who does not complete his or her
service. If an emergency prevents you from
returning to court, you must call the courthouse
directly as soon as possible. The court officer will
give you the telephone number after you are
impaneled.

If you need to attend to an emergency while you
are at the courthouse: A judge can excuse you
from jury service at any time. You can be contacted
at the courthouse during your service in the event of
emergency. Inform the court officer if you need
assistance. If necessary, the court officer will notify
the judge.

Weather emergencies: Court is rarely cancelled
due to weather or other public emergency, but
jurors’ safety always takes priority. Depending on
the circumstances, court cancellations will be
announced on the Juror Line listed on your
Reminder Notice, on our website at
www.MAjury.gov, on the Trial Court website at
www.mass.gov/courts, and/or on local radio and
television stations.

Under our state and federal Constitutions, all
people are entitled to a jury trial if the government
accuses them of a crime and seeks to take away
their freedom. You may also be entitled to a jury trial
to settle a civil dispute concerning money or
property. Your jury service is a core component in
guaranteeing these constitutional rights for
everyone. 

Citizens from all segments of our society participate
in the administration of justice through the jury
system, which is one of the key elements of our
participatory democracy. Other than military
service, jury duty is the one time that your
government will call on you to serve to protect our
constitutional freedoms. When called for service,
please serve with pride.

Discussing the case after trial: You are not
required to speak with anyone once the trial is over.
However, the judge may invite interested jurors to
meet with the lawyers and the judge together after
the verdict.
After the jury is dismissed, you are no longer
prohibited from talking about the trial. However, you
should avoid revealing the names of other jurors,
how any juror voted, or anything discussed during
jury deliberations. If anyone tries to learn this
confidential information from you, or if you feel
harassed or embarrassed in any way, you should
report it to the court or the Office of Jury
Commissioner immediately. It is very important that
the integrity of our jury system is maintained.

IIff  YYoouu  AArree  IImmppaanneelleedd
The judge will explain your responsibilities if you are
selected to sit on a jury.  As a juror, you will hear the
evidence and decide the facts.  The members of the
jury evaluate the evidence and work together to
reach a decision and render a verdict.

The judge will guide the conduct of the trial, making
sure that the evidence is presented in an
appropriate manner and that the parties follow the
rules. At the end of the trial and before the jury
deliberations, the judge instructs you on the
principles of law applicable to the case. In
deliberations, you and your fellow jurors discuss the
evidence in private and apply the law to reach a
decision, known as a verdict. The verdict is the final
decision of the jury, which resolves the case.

As a sitting juror, you must remain fair and impartial
at all times.  Do not communicate with anyone
about the case while it is going on, even with your
fellow jurors or your family.  Do not use online social
media to share or read information about the case
or your experience with jury service.  Do not look for
information about the case outside the courtroom,
or use the internet to do research about the case or
the people involved in it.  If anyone starts to talk
about the case, you should interrupt them and tell
them that you are a juror and cannot hear any
discussion about the case outside the courtroom.  If
necessary, tell the court officer what happened.

You can complete the
Juror Confirmation Form online at

www.MAjury.gov
You will need your Badge Number and PIN, located
above your name on the Summons, and your ZIP
Code.  You will be guided through the process.



WHO MUST SERVE

GENERAL INFORMATION

Hours: Although jurors sitting on a case usually
report at 9:00 a.m. and leave by 4:30 p.m., on the
first morning of your jury service you must report
earlier for an orientation program. The exact time is
printed on your Summons and Reminder Notice,
and can be found on our website at
www.MAjury.gov under “Courthouse Information.”
You will be dismissed from the courthouse as soon
as possible after the court knows with certainty that
jurors are no longer needed.

What to bring: You should bring your completed
Confidential Juror Questionnaire (found on the back
of your Reminder Notice and on our website) and
your Summons or Reminder Notice. Because you
may have to wait before being sent to a courtroom,
you may want to bring reading materials, work, or
something else to occupy your time. You should
also bring a bottle of water and money for snacks
and lunch, or you can carry these food items with
you.

What not to bring: You will have to pass through a
security checkpoint to enter the courthouse, and
certain items are prohibited at some courthouses.
Call the courthouse to find out if cell phones,
laptops, cameras, knitting needles, or similar items
are permitted in the jury pool at that court. Weapons
are not allowed. You cannot bring children or pets
with you to jury service (although certified service
animals are allowed).

What to wear: Jurors consider serious matters of
great importance to the parties, and their clothing
and attitude should reflect an appreciation of the
serious nature of the cases. While business attire is
not required on the first day, you should dress
respectfully in clean, neat attire suitable for court.

Confidential Juror Questionnaire: On the back of
your Reminder Notice you will find the Confidential
Juror Questionnaire (CJQ), which you must
complete and bring to the courthouse. The CJQ
helps the court and the parties decide who is best
suited to sit on a particular jury, and takes the place
of more detailed individual questioning of jurors.
Willful misrepresentation on the CJQ is a crime, so
you must be sure to complete the CJQ fully and
truthfully. CJQs are collected by the court after
impanelment and only the court personnel have
access to them. If you are not seated on a jury, your
CJQ is destroyed.

Hardships: Remember that you have the right to
reschedule your jury service to a date that is
convenient for you, up to a year from the date you
were originally summoned. You can pick your own
date online at www.MAjury.gov or call our Call
Center for assistance. You should try to resolve any
hardships by picking a date that will minimize any
inconvenience and allow you to meet your civic
obligation.

You will also have an opportunity to speak to a
judge before being impaneled on a case. If you
have a hardship that prevents you from serving, you
can explain it to the judge and ask to be excused.

Only a judge can excuse you from jury duty: If
you have a problem that must be resolved before
you are to go to the courtroom (such as an urgent
medical issue), tell the jury pool officer when you
arrive. If you are in the rare situation where coming
to the courthouse is itself a severe hardship, explain
your circumstances in writing and mail your request
to us at Office of Jury Commissioner, 560 Harrison
Avenue, Suite 600, Boston, MA 02118.

Impanelment: If you are sent to a courtroom for
impanelment, the judge will explain the case,
identify the parties and witnesses, and inform you
how long the trial is expected to last. Everyone will
be asked a few general questions, such as whether
you know anyone involved in the case and whether
you can be impartial. You may be asked questions
of a personal and sensitive nature, such as whether
you or a family member have been a victim or
accused of a crime, in an effort to determine your
ability to serve as a fair and impartial juror in a
particular case. You will be able to speak to the
judge if necessary, and the judge and the attorneys
will discuss whether you can be impaneled on the
jury or if you should be excused.

Cancellations: Sometimes, the needs of the court
will change after the jurors have already been
summoned to appear. You may receive a
cancellation notice in the mail a few days or even
weeks before your service, or your service may be
cancelled when you call the Juror Line the day
before you are scheduled to appear. If your service
is cancelled, you should report to work if you are
employed. Only those who are actually required to
appear at the courthouse receive credit for serving,
and are then disqualified for three years. We regret
the inconvenience to jurors who make plans to
serve and are then cancelled, but cancelling is
preferable to bringing people to court when they are
no longer needed to help resolve cases on that day.

Employment issues: Your Massachusetts
employer is required to pay your salary for the first
three days of service, and cannot unreasonably
interfere with your jury service. You cannot be fired
or penalized for going to jury duty, and you cannot
be required to work a night shift during jury
service. If you have questions or problems related
to your work, call the Office of Jury Commissioner
at 1-800-THE-JURY (843-5879) and ask for the
Legal Department.

When to report, length of service: Check your
Summons or Reminder Notice to find out what time
you must report for service (usually 8:00 or 8:30
a.m.). Most jurors, but not all, serve for one day.
Most trials, but not all, are completed in three days
or less, so the court will expect you to be available
to return for at least three days if necessary. Before
seating you on a jury, the judge will tell you the
estimated length of the trial.

Reminder Notice — directions, parking, etc.:
About 10 days before your date of service, you will
receive a Reminder Notice with a map, directions,
and information about parking, public
transportation and accessibility. The Notice will also
include your Group Number and the telephone
number of your court’s Juror Line. You must call the
Juror Line after 3 p.m. on the day before your
service to receive final instructions, including
whether or not you still need to report.

Accessibility: The Trial Court and the Office of Jury
Commissioner are committed to making juror
service as accessible as possible to the broadest
range of eligible jurors.  For more information,
please visit our website at www.MAjury.gov and
click on “Accessibility.”

You can also contact us at
JurorHelp@jud.state.ma.us 

or at 1-800-THE-JURY (1-800-843-5879)

Exemptions: There are no exemptions from jury
service. Massachusetts law requires every qualified
citizen between the ages of 18 and 70 to serve.
(Those over age 70 may request a disqualification,
if desired.) Even residents of other states (such as
college students) must serve if they live in
Massachusetts for six months of the year or more.

Qualifications: All citizens age 18 and over who
are legal residents of Massachusetts, or who live in
the state for six months of the year or more, are
eligible for jury duty. You may be disqualified if you
meet one of the 10 statutory disqualifications found
in the “Juror Instructions and Information” brochure
you received with your Summons.

Civic responsibility: Jury duty is a civic privilege
and obligation that every citizen must perform.
Doctors, clergy, homemakers, police officers —
even judges and lawyers — must serve when
called. The judge may excuse some people based
on their individual circumstances, but in general
jurors represent a cross-section of the community.

Jurors must be fair and impartial, and must treat
everyone equally regardless of race, color, creed, or
other differences.  The function of the jury is to work
together to reach a decision based on the evidence
presented at trial and the jurors' own common
sense and experience.  No one juror's opinion,
background, or experience makes him or her more
qualified to serve than another.  Remember, the
jury's verdict is a group decision, not the decision of
any one person.

BBeeffoorree  GGooiinngg  ttoo  CCoouurrtt

AAtt   tthhee  CCoouurrtthhoouussee

You can complete the
Juror Confirmation Form online at

www.MAjury.gov
You will need your Badge Number and PIN, located
above your name on the Summons, and your ZIP
Code.  You will be guided through the process.


