

## Registration/Title: Vehicles Purchased From a Dealer



Don't waste your time getting in line until you verify you have the documentation below:

## **RMV** Checklist These documents are what we need in order to process your Registration and Title Application. Check off the box for each of the four items! **COMPLETED APPLICATION** Registration and Title Application sections completed and signed by appropriate parties ▷ Vehicle Information ▷ Sales or Use Tax Schedule – to be ▷ Title Information completed by Massachusetts dealers ▷ Purchase Information > Owner or Business Owner Information ▷ Lessee Information, if applicable ▷ Insurance Information ▷ Garaging Address ▷ Seller Information ▷ Lienholder Information, if applicable ▷ Signature section (New Owners and MA Authorized Dealer) **PROOF OF INSURANCE** Registration and Title Application with insurance stamp and signature in section K The policy change date or effective date cannot be more than 30 days old OR be a date in the future to be eligible to register the vehicle **PROOF OF OWNERSHIP** Certificate of Origin (for a new vehicle ) or a Certificate of Title (for a used vehicle) AND copy of Bill of Sale > Must contain signatures from authorized dealer representative and buyers ▷ Mileage must be recorded in appropriate area **PROOF OF LAWFUL PRESENCE** For a list of exemptions, visit mass.gov/rmv By law (M.G.L. c.90, §2) a 'natural person' applying for a vehicle registration must have one of the following: ▷ Valid, Unexpired Driver License ▷ Acceptable Proof of Lawful Presence in ▷ Valid, Unexpired Mass. I.D. Card the United States - for a list of acceptable ▷ Social Security Number (Issued by U.S. documents, visit mass.gov/ID SSA) - See the list of acceptable documents to prove SSN on mass.gov/ID **CORRECT PAYMENT** \$75 Title fee, plus Registration fee (varies by plate type), plus applicable sales tax Payable by cash, check or money order (payable to MassDOT), or debit/credit card If dealership is not registered with MA Department of Revenue (DOR), sales tax will be calculated on sale price or NADA value ("book value") of the vehicle, whichever is higher. For a dealer registered with MA DOR, the sales tax is calculated based on the sale price of vehicle Any erasures, white-outs, or alterations on the Proof of Ownership or Application will not be accepted. The

Any erasures, white-outs, or alterations on the Proof of Ownership or Application will not be accepted. The Application must be legible, and printed on white 8  $\frac{1}{2}$ " x 11" paper. Color paper and card stock will not be accepted. The Application must match the supporting documentation being presented.

## Leased Vehicles and Lessees – Additional Considerations

- The leasing company must be registered with the Massachusetts Department of Revenue. If the leasing company is not registered with the Department of Revenue, the application will be rejected until the leasing company registers
- A Power of Attorney is required from the leasing company if the customer/lessee is signing documents on behalf of the leasing company
  TTLREG104 1119