The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Executive Office of Health and Human Services
Department of Public Health
250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108-4619

MAURA T. HEALEY KATHLEEN E. WALSH
Governor Secretary
KIMBERLEY DRISCOLL
Lieutenant Governor MARGRET R. COOKE

Commissioner

Tel: 617-624-6000
www.mass.gov/dph

IMPORTANT CHANGES TO THE MCSR RENEWAL PROCESS

Dear Veterinarian:

Section 9 of chapter 260 of the acts of 2020 requires the Department of Public Health’s (DPH) Drug
Control Program (DCP) to synchronize the term and expiration dates of your Massachusetts
Controlled Substance Registration (MCSR) with your Board issued Veterinarian license. For
Veterinarians this means the next time you renew your MCSR, it will now have a term of 1 year
instead of 3 and will be synchronized with your Board issued Veterinarian license.

To implement this requirement, the next time you renew your Veterinarian MCSR, it will have a
term of at least one year and expire on Febuary 28" of the following year.

Example: My current MCSR expires 3/16/2024; when renewed will expire February 28, 2025
Example: My current MCSR expires 3/16/2025; when renewed will expire February 28, 2026
Example: My current MCSR expires 3/16/2026; when renewed will expire February 28, 2027

As set forth in the Executive Office of Administration and Finance’s rate regulation, 801 CMR
4.02, the fee for MCSR registration and renewal is $150 annually. Certain practitioners have
been paying a fee of $150 for a 3-year MCSR, while others have been paying $150 annually.
Henceforth all practitioners will be paying the annual fee of $150.

We are pleased to announce you will now renew your MCSR on-line through the new DPH
eLicensing system. You will be receiving an email with registration instructions to create an
account in the DPH eL.icensing system and the process for linking your current MCSR to your
new account.


https://malegislature.gov/Laws/SessionLaws/Acts/2020/Chapter260

