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. Form Filings

Chapter 152: Section 54A. Necessity of insurance contract insuring payment of
compensation

Every contract or agreement the purpose of which is to insure an employer in
whole or in  part against liability on account of injury or death of an employee, other
than seasonal or casual farm laborers and seasonal or casual or part-time domestic
servants who work in the employ of the employer less than 16 hours a week for whom
insurance under this chapter remains elective, shall be void unless it also insures the
payment of the compensation provided for by this chapter. The 2™ paragraph of section
55 shall not apply in case of a contract or agreement made void by this section.



Chapter 152: Section 55. Approval of policy by Commissioner; review; issuance of
policy in violation of statute

No policy of workeers’ compensation insurance shall be issued or delivered:

(a) until a copy thereof has been filed with the Commissioner at least 30 days prior to
such issue or delivery, unless before the expiration of the 30 days the said Commissioner
shall have approved the form of the policy in writing, or

(b) if the Commissioner notifies the company in writing that in her opinion the form of
said policy does not comply with the laws of the Commonwealth, specifying the reasons
for her opinion.

Any policy of insurance issued in violation of this section or of any other provision of
this chapter shall nevertheless be valid and binding upon the company issuing it, and the
rights, duties and obligations of the parties thereto shall be determined by this chapter and
MGL c. 175.

Excess Workers' Compensation.

Rates need not be filed. Forms and rules should be filed for prior approval in compliance
with the following:

As of June 15, 1995, the Division of Insurance has not approved any excess workers'
compensation policy that does not meet the minimum retention criteria set forth below:
Any workers' compensation policy failing to meet these criteria will qualify as a primary
policy, subject to assessments for the costs of the residual market pursuant to the
Massachusetts Assigned Risk Pool Plan. In addition, rates for all primary workers'
compensation policies must receive prior by the Commissioner of Insurance prior to use.

In order to qualify as excess workers' compensation, a policy must require an insured to
retain the following risk:

At least $300,000 in workers' compensation losses; or

At least 75% of the manual premium, (or if an experience modification has been
calculated for the employer by the Workers' Compensation Rating and Inspection
Bureau of Massachusetts, the standard premium plus ARAP). The applicable
premium may be reduced by any applicable premium discount, but should not
reflect any deviations from the approved workers' compensation rates.

Please note:

If the self-insured retention is below $300,000, all premium and (if applicable)
experience modification calculations must be verified annually through an audit of
the insured's records, with retentions adjusted retroactively, if necessary.

Chapter 152: Section 53. Mutual companies; distribution of risks into groups




Any mutual liability insurance company authorized to do business in this
Commonwealth may with the approval of the commissioner of insurance distribute its
risks into groups in accordance with the nature of the business and the degree of the
liability of injury and with the like approval fix by and for such groups in accordance
with the experience of each group al premiums, assessments and dividends; but all the
funds of the company both actual and contingent shall be available for the payment of
any claim against the company.

[Note: No company may offer dividends without a participatory endorsement on file
with the division. Dividends may not be promised or paid in advance of the
conclusion of the policy year. Except as provided above, workers’ compensation
dividend filings need not receive prior approval, but they should be made on an
informational basis so that the Division can ascertain that they are not actually
deviation or schedule rating filings, which, under Section 53A, do require prior
approval.]

I1. Miscellaneous Provisions

A. Preferred Provider Arrangements (211 CMR 51.00 et seq.).

No preferred provider organization may enter into a preferred provider agreement
pursuant to the provisions of MGL c. 152, s. 30, without complying with the filing and
other requirements set forth in 211 CMR 51.00 et seq.

211 CMR 112.04: Filing Requirements and Review by the Commissioner

(1) Application Filing Requirements.

Each applicant shall submit the following information required by 211 CMR 51.04(1)(a)
through (h) and 211 CMR 51.04(3)(a) through (i) The submitted documentation shall be
considered the applicant's PPA application.

(a) A copy of the basic organizational documents of the applicant, such as the
articles of incorporation, and amendments thereto;

(b) A copy of the bylaws, rules, regulations or other similar documents regulating
the internal affairs of the applicant;

(c) A list of the names, business addresses and official positions of members of
the board of directors or similar policymaking body of the applicant, and of persons who
are responsible for the conduct of applicant's affairs;

(d) A list of the names and business addresses of every health care provider
proposed to be included in the preferred provider organization, along with the provider
type or medical specialty of each such provider;



(e) A list of each type of provider and medical specialty represented by the
applicant and the number of individuals representing each such type of practice and
specialty, along with the approximate total number of hours per week that the applicant
will make available in such types of practice and specialties for the treatment of covered
persons subject to the preferred provider arrangement;

(f) A general narrative description of the financial arrangements between the
applicant and the insurer, self-insurer or self-insurance group that is a party to the
proposed arrangement. This description need not include any specific details of the
financial terms between the applicant and the insurer, self-insurer or self-insurance group,
but must indicate, for example if the arrangement is on a fee-for-service basis, or if
volume discounts will be given;

(g) A general narrative description of the financial arrangements between the
applicant and the health care providers proposed to be the preferred providers upon
approval of the application. This description need not include any specific details of the
financial arrangements between the applicant and such health care providers;

(h) A list of each insurer, self-insurer, and self-insurance group with which the
applicant has previously entered into a workers' compensation preferred provider
arrangement, and of each insurer, self-insurer, and self-insurance group with which the
applicant has a pending application for a workers' compensation preferred provider
arrangement;

(1) A written description and a map of the geographical areas proposed to be
covered by the preferred provider arrangement and the locations of the main
concentrations of covered persons subject to the arrangement;

(j) A description of the manner in which covered health care services and other
benefits may be obtained by covered persons, including any requirement that covered
persons select a gatekeeper provider;

(k) A copy of the information annually distributed to covered persons which shall
include clear reference to the following facts:

1. that a covered person is required to obtain treatment within the
preferred provider organization for the first scheduled appointment or incur the
responsibility to pay for such appointment, provided that such person may seek
health care service for a compensable injury outside the preferred provider
organization for the initial scheduled appointment without incurring any financial
obligation when such appointment is with a licensed or registered health care
provider of a type or specialty not represented within the preferred provider
organization;

2. that a covered person may seek health care service for a compensable
injury outsidethe preferred provider organization after the initial scheduled
appointment without incurring any obligation to pay for such subsequent visit
according to the provisions of MGL c. 152, ° 30; and



3. that no co-payments or deductibles may be charged covered per sons
with compensable injuries who utilize the preferred provider organization or any other
health care provider under the provisions of MGL c. 152, §§ 13 and 30;

(1) A description of:

1. the Department of Industrial Accidents (DIA) approved utilization
review and quality assessment program along with a copy of the DIA's letter of current
authorization for said program;

2. the Return to Work program that will be used by the application; and

3. the applicant's written agreement to abide by any treatment guidelines
or protocols promulgated by the DIA pursuant to MGL c. 152, §§ 13 and 30; and

211 CMR 112.05: Standards of Review by the Commissioner

Upon receipt of a complete application for approval of a workers' compensation preferred
provider arrangement the Commissioner will review the submitted material to determine
that the following standards are met:

(a) The preferred provider arrangement makes available a sufficient number and
range of providers by specialty and geographic area to provide covered persons with
industrial accidents or diseases, timely access to and availability of preferred providers
for emergency care, urgent care and elective care;

(b) A procedure exists for distributing to each covered person, after any alleged

workplace injury to such person, the names of all current preferred providers
within the geographic region of such covered person or of all current preferred providers
arranged geographically. The names on such list shall be arranged in order of medical
specialty or provider type. A current list shall also be posted at a convenient and
prominent place for covered persons to examine at work sites, and shall be given to any
covered person upon request. In addition, a document clearly setting forth the rights and
responsibilities of covered persons under the preferred provider arrangement and under
MGL c. 152, §§ 13 and 30, including the right to take complaints regarding the provision
of health care services to the Health Care Services Board, shall be distributed to covered
persons upon initial approval of the preferred provider arrangement and annually
thereafter, posted in a prominent place in workplaces where covered workers are
employed, and given to any covered person alleging to have suffered a workplace injury.
Such information shall indicate the method of obtaining a current list of preferred
providers;

(c) Each preferred provider is given a clear description of the rights of covered
persons and the obligations of the applicant to covered persons; and

(d) There is a DIA approved utilization review and quality assessment program
(UR & QA) in place to ensure appropriate and efficient provision of high quality health
services. Said program shall incorporate any protocols or treatment guidelines
promulgated by the DIA pursuant to MGL c. 152, §§ 13 and 30. Any restrictions or



requirements imposed on covered persons by the UR & QA program must be adequately
explained in the materials annually distributed to covered persons. There must be
procedures to guarantee cooperation by preferred providers with the UR & QA program,
which allow for the removal of noncomplying providers from the arrangement. There
must be a procedure for referring covered persons to health care services outside the
preferred provider organization when indicated by diagnosis, excessive travel time, and
presence of any pre-existing medical condition which would make treatment substantially
more difficult.

(e) The PPA application must contain a position statement indicating how the
applicant intends to facilitate the return to work of injured employees in a rapid, cost-
effective and safe manner.

211 CMR 112.06: Approval or Disapproval of Application

The Commissioner shall review any application in accordance with the criteria set forth
in 211 CMR 112.04(1) and shall determine whether approval shall be granted or denied.
If approval of the application is granted, a copy of the approval application must then be
forwarded to the Office of Health Policy at the Department of Industrial Accidents. If an
application is denied, the Commissioner shall notify the applicant in writing of the
reason(s) for the denial. The applicant shall have the right to a hearing on its application
within 45 days of its receipt of such notice by filing a written request for hearing within
15 days of its receipt of such notice. Within 30 days after the conclusion of the hearing,
the Commissioner shall either grant approval or shall notify the applicant in writing of the
denial of its application, stating the reason(s) for the denial. The applicant shall have the
right to judicial review of the Commissioner's decision in accordance with the provisions
of MGL c. 30A, s.14.

211 CMR 112.07: Ongoing Review of Preferred Provider Arrangements

(1) Material Changes: Each preferred provider organization shall file with the

Commissioner within 30 days any material changes to the approved preferred
provider arrangement or the information submitted pursuant to 211 CMR 112.00. Any
substantial change in the number, type or geographical location of covered persons shall
be reported on or before July 30 of each year.

(2) Changes to the List of Preferred Providers: Each preferred provider
organization shall file changes to its list of preferred providers with the Commissioner on
or before July 30 of each year.

(3) Additional Reports: The Commissioner, in her discretion, may require
preferred provider organizations to submit additional reports in addition to those
specifically required by 211 CMR 51.00 et seq. Such reports may include surveys of
covered persons conducted in a method prescribed by the Commissioner.



B. Self Insurance Groups [“SIGs”] (Chapter 152, Section 25E—Section
25U)
(see Forms at the end of this section)

Chapter 152: Section 25F. Certification to act as self-insurance group

No person, association, or entity shall act as a workers' compensation self-insurance
group unless it has been issued a certificate of approval by the commissioner of
insurance.

211 CMR 67.03 General provisions

Appointment of Commissioner as Attorney for Service of Process

A group shall appoint the Commissioner as its attorney to receive service of legal
process issued against it in the commonwealth, in accordance with the provisions of
MGL c. 175, § 151, Clause Third. The appointment shall be irrevocable, shall bind any
successor in interest and shall remain in effect as long as there remain any obligations or
liabilities of the group for workers' compensation benefits.

Other Requirements

At least 70% of the members of a group shall be experience rated pursuant to the
uniform experience rating plan filed with and approved by the Commissioner.

No group may have less than $250,000 of annual gross premium nor a combined
provable net worth of all its members of less than $1,000,000.

The principal office of the group shall be located in the Commonwealth.

211 CMR 67.05: Certification to Act as a Self-Insurance Group

No person, association, or entity shall act as a workers' compensation self-insurance
group unless it has been approved by the Commissioner.

The Commissioner may decline to approve an application for a certificate of approval if
the group is unable to demonstrate that it is able to meet all obligations and requirements
of MGL c. 152 and 211CMR 67.00.

On finding that the proposed group has met all requirements of the law and of 211 CMR
67.00, the Commissioner shall issue the group a certificate of approval.

Should the Commissioner find that the proposed group does not meet such requirements,
she shall issue an order denying the group a certificate, setting forth the reasons for the
refusal.



The certificate of approval shall not become effective until the group notifies the Office
of Insurance of the Department of Industrial Accidents of the names and addresses of the
members of the group, their policy numbers, and the effective date of such coverage.

A group shall notify the Commissioner if the group fails to commence operations within
60 days of approval. Such notification shall be in writing and shall state the reasons
therefore.

A group shall forfeit its certificate of approval if it fails to commence operations, as
constituted in the form approved by the Commissioner, within 90 days of its approval.

Factors in Determining Whether A Group Can Meet Its Obligations

In addition to the filing requirements described in 211 CMR 67.06, the following factors,
where applicable, shall be considered in determining whether or not the group will be
able to meet its obligations:

(a) ratio of net worth to annual self-insured retention;
(b) ratio of current assets to current liabilities;

______ (c)ratio of debt to net worth;

_____(d) history of profitability of the members;

(e) organizational structure, risk management programs and loss control
programs, including services contracted for by the board of trustees or administrator;

(f) background, experience and financial condition of the administrator;

(g) composition of the board of trustees;

(h) claims history of the members;

(1) source and reliability of financial information;

(j) ratio of net worth to annual premium contribution;

(k) number of employees and payroll data by workers' compensation class code;
_ (1) ability to meet the financial requirements prescribed in 211 CMR 67.08;

(m) excess insurance coverages and proposed excess insurer;

(n) relationship of self-insured retention and claims history to excess insurance
coverages;

(o) amount of the group's security bond or deposit;



(p) guarantee by parent company;
(q) SEC Form 10K or 10Q, where applicable;
(r) reasonableness of administrative and other expenses;

(s) any other factors which may affect the ability of a group to meet its workers'
compensation obligations.

211 CMR 67.06: Application for certificate of approval

Filing Fee

A proposed workers' compensation self-insurance group shall file with the
Commissioner its application for a certificate of approval accompanied by a non-
refundable filing fee in the amount of $100.00.

Evaluation of Filing / Time for Review

The Commissioner shall evaluate the information provided in the application to assure
that no gaps in funding exist and that funds necessary to pay workers' compensation
benefits shall be available on a timely basis.

The Commissioner shall conduct an initial review of each application to determine if it is
complete. The Commissioner shall act upon a completed application for a certificate of
approval within 90 days.

Changes in Information Filed

The group shall immediately notify the Commissioner of any change in the information
required to be filed by 211 CMR 67.06.

Confidentiality

All information provided by an applicant during the application process shall be given
confidential treatment and shall not be subject to subpoena or made public by the
Commissioner or any other person, except by the applicant, without the prior written
consent of such applicant, unless the Commissioner, after giving the applicant notice and
opportunity to be heard, determines that the public interest would be served by the
publication thereof, in which event she may publish all or any part thereof in such manner
as he or she may consider appropriate.

Notwithstanding the foregoing, once an application has been approved by the
Commissioner it shall be made available to the public; provided, however, that if a group
wishes, it may submit two complete sets of statements, one with all identifying
information blacked out or deleted, and the other set complete with all the identifying
information, and the group's underwriting guidelines, for inclusion in the financial
examination file.



Application Requirements

The Application for a Certificate of Approval shall be on a form prescribed by the
Commissioner and shall include:

1. the name of the group;

2. the address and telephone number of the group's principal office;
3. the date of organization of the group;

4. the name and address of each member of the group;

5. the name, address and date of organization of the industry, trade or professional
organization to which all the members of the group belong, or identification of the
collective bargaining agreement to which all group members are parties;

6. the types of business in which employers in the proposed group are engaged
and an explanation of how they are the same or similar;

7. a listing of the names and addresses of the initial board of trustees and the name
and  address of the administrator in accordance with the provisions of 211 CMR 67.07.

Additional Documentation Needed
The following additional documents must also be filed by the group:
~l.acopy of the by-laws of the group;
2. a copy of the articles of association, trust agreement, or articles of organization;

3. a completed and signed application by the administrator to serve as the
administrator of the group, on a form prescribed by the Commissioner;

4. a certificate indicating that the Commissioner has been appointed the group's
agent for service of legal process as required by 211 CMR 67.03(3);

5. a schedule of all projected administrative expenses for the group in dollar
amount and as a percentage of the estimated standard premium for the group;

6. a composite listing of the estimated standard premium and annual net premium
to be developed for each member individually and in total for the group amounting to
not less than $250,000. The listing shall include and reflect experience modification
factors, All  Risk Adjustment Program (ARAP) factors, such other rating plan(s) the
Commissioner may approve, and any applicable premium discounts. At least 70% of the
members of a group shall be experience rated pursuant to the uniform experience rating
plan filed with and approved by the Commissioner;



7. a listing of payroll data, by workers' compensation class code, for the
combined group and for each member of the group for each of the three preceding years;

8. a confirmation of required specific and aggregate excess insurance or
reinsurance, by an insurer licensed, approved or otherwise authorized to transact excess
insurance or reinsurance in the commonwealth. Such confirmation shall include a
description of the coverages offered, the terms and conditions of the coverages and the
expected premium charges for the coverages. The amount and the terms of the specific
and aggregate excess insurance or reinsurance shall comply with the requirements of 211
CMR 67.21;

9. a copy of the fidelity bond, binder, or commitment letter from the surety
relating to the fidelity bond for the administrator, on a form prescribed or approved by
the Commissioner, in an amount not less than the administrator's total annual
compensation for all the groups it administers or $1,000,000, whichever is less. If the
group submits a binder, or commitment letter, it must submit a copy of the actual bond to
the Division of Insurance within 60 days after the group is approved;

10. the proposed underwriting guidelines for the group;

11. a premium payment plan requiring each member to pay the group not less
than 25% of the member's estimated annual net premium not later than the initial day of
coverage provided by the group. The premium payment plan of a group containing
private employers shall also provide that the balance of each member's annual premium
be paid in cash within the first eight months of that fund year in monthly or quarterly
installments. A public employer group shall establish a premium payment plan
acceptable to the Commissioner;

12. a detailed written description of the group's safety and loss prevention
program(s);

13. a refund and assessment plan for the group;

14. an actuarial study displaying adequacy of program funding, including loss
reserves, prepared and signed by a qualified actuary. The actuarial study shall show that
the group is actuarially fully funded, and shall include any and all data, assumptions and
other information used to develop such study;

15. a pro forma financial statement for the group's first five years of operation,
showing the financial ability of the group to pay the workers' compensation obligations of
its members, including any and all assumptions relied upon to develop such statement;

16. for a group containing private employers, a statement showing the combined
provable net worth of all members applying for coverage on the inception date of the
group. Such combined provable net worth shall be the amount that establishes the
financial strength and liquidity of the members and shall be at least one million dollars;

17. for a group containing private employers, a specimen indemnity agreement
jointly and severally binding the members of a group to comply with the provisions of



211 CMR 67.00 which shall be executed by the members upon approval of the group by
the Commissioner and prior to the commencement of operations. Such indemnity
agreement may be included as a provision of the group's membership or participation or
similar agreement which each member of a proposed group shall assent to in writing as a
prerequisite to membership in the group; provided that the membership, participation or
other similar agreement, clearly discloses, as the first provision and in at least ten point

type, the member's obligations under the indemnity agreement, including, at a
minimum, the provisions of 211 CMR 67.11(3), (4) and (5).

Filing Requirements for Group Members

Each member of the group shall provide the commissioner with the following:

1. An individual application, including a disclosure form describing the joint and
several obligations of the members, a certification that the member has no outstanding
workers' compensation obligations, and a description of the group's refund/assessment
plan, signed by an officer or other responsible employee of the member, on a form
prescribed or approved by the Commissioner;

2. A written explanation by any member with an experience modification greater
than  1.25 describing the causes of its high experience modification and outlining
remedial measures it has taken and will be taking in the future to lower its modification;

Every member of a group containing private employers shall also submit the following
documents:

1. a certified or compiled financial statement, subject to the requirements of 211
CMR 67.06(1)(e);

2. a written agreement to pay the group not less than 25% of the member's
estimated annual net premium not later than the initial day of coverage afforded by the

group.

211 CMR 67.08: Financial standards and reporting requirements

Petition to Reduce Requirements

After a group has been in operation for three years, so long as a group has continued to
meet the requirements of 211 CMR 67.08(2), the Commissioner may grant, Upon
petition of the group, a reduction of the requirements applicable to the group that are set
forth in 211 CMR 67.21 and 67.08(2)(d).

In reviewing a group's petition, the Commissioner may consider such financing
alternatives or insurance mechanisms proposed by the group.

At the expense of the group, the Commissioner may engage such financial, insurance or
other experts deemed necessary by the Commissioner to consider a petition submitted by
a group in accordance with 211 CMR 67.08.



Security Required

For any group containing private employers, security shall be 10% of the group's
standard premium, but in no case shall the security be less than $100,000.

The amount of the security deposit or bond shall be adjusted annually by the
group based upon chances in the group's in-force premium, as determined from its annual
statements; provided, however, that any time a group's in-force premium grows by more
than 10%, it shall adjust its security in accordance with 211 CMR 67.11(7).

Security shall be provided by either a surety bond or security deposit, or any
combination thereof.

Any surety bond provided shall be issued by a corporate surety company licensed
to transact surety business in the commonwealth, and which is not affiliated with the
group's administrator, other surety(ies) for the group, excess insurer(s) or reinsurer(s) for
the  group, or any member of the group.

The bond shall be in a form prescribed or approved by the Commissioner.

Any security deposit provided shall be in the form of bonds or other evidences of

indebtedness issued, assumed, or guaranteed by the United States of America, or
by an agency or instrumentality thereof, or certificates of deposit which meet the
standards imposed by the NAIC, in a bank which is a member of the Federal Reserve
System, or any bond or security issued by a state of the United States of America and
backed by its full faith and credit. Any securities or certificates of deposit shall have a
remaining maturity of one year or less from their time of purchase.

The surety bond or security deposit, or both shall be for the benefit of the
Commonwealth solely to pay claims and associated expenses and payable on the failure
of the group to pay the workers' compensation benefits that it is legally obligated to pay.

Financial Reporting Required

The following financial reports shall be filed with the Commissioner:

Annual and quarterly statements on the forms prescribed by the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) for property/casualty insurers, in
accordance with the Commissioner's annual statement instructions and all applicable laws
and regulations.

The annual statement shall be accompanied by an opinion on loss reserves
certified by a qualified actuary and shall demonstrate the group's compliance with the
minimum financial requirements set forth in 211 CMR

Financial Reporting Schedule

Reports shall be submitted on the following schedule:



1. Annual Statement: due on or before the first day of the third month following the end
of the group's fund year.

2. Quarterly Statements: due on or before the 45th day following the end of the group's
first, second, and third fiscal quarters.

3. On or before the last day of the sixth month following the end of the group's fund year,
a statement of financial condition audited by an independent Certified Public Accountant,
including, but not limited to, actuarially fully funded reserves, for known claims and
claim adjustment expenses, unearned premiums, including both direct and reinsurance,
and bad debts.

4. The Commissioner may prescribe the form and frequency of other reports which may
include, but not be limited to, payroll audit reports, summary loss reports and other
financial statements.

5. In the event that the annual reserve report, required under 211 CMR 67.08(3)(a),
shows that a group has not satisfied the minimum financial requirements prescribed in
211 CMR 67.08(2), the group shall submit a written plan to the Commissioner, at the
same time as it submits the annual reserve report, describing what steps the group intends
to take to bring the group into compliance promptly.

211 CMR 67.09 Uniform classification system; premium contributions; application
to make own rates; audits

Scope of Compliance Required

Every group shall comply with the uniform classification system, uniform experience
rating plan, including the All Risk Adjustment Program (ARAP), other experience rating
plans the Commissioner may approve, and manual rules filed with the Commissioner by
an advisory organization designated by the Commissioner.

Experience modifications for members shall be calculated, at the expense of the group,
by an organization designated by the Commissioner, and shall be used by all groups.
Members changing from one group to another, or returning to the insured workers'
compensation market shall carry their experience modifications with them.

Application to Make Own Rates

A group may apply to the Commissioner for authority to make its own rates. Such
rates shall be filed with the Commissioner and shall be based upon at least two fund
years, consisting of not less than 24 months, of the group's experience, to the extent
actuarially credible.

A public employer safety group in operation for at least two consecutive years
before it applies for approval to operate as a public employer group, may apply to the
Commissioner to make its own rates immediately.



Premium Contributions

In no event shall a group determine members' premium contributions by any method
other than that prescribed herein without the prior written approval of the Commissioner.

Dividend

In no event shall a group make a distribution to its members, other than dividends,
without the prior written approval of the Commissioner.

211 CMR 67.10: Reinsurance; security bond or deposit; fidelity bond:; changes

To maintain its certificate of approval, a group shall comply with the requirements of
MGL c. 152,211 CMR 67.00, and any other applicable laws or regulations, and the
following:

(1) Each group containing private employers shall maintain a combined provable
net  worth as prescribed in 211 CMR 67.08(2)(c), but not less than $1,000,000;

(2) Each group containing private employers shall maintain a security bond or
deposit in an amount and form as prescribed in 211 CMR 67.08(2)(d), but not less than
$100,000.

(3) Each group shall maintain specific and aggregate excess insurance or
reinsurance in an amount and form as prescribed in 211 CMR 67.21.

(4) Each group's administrator shall maintain a fidelity bond in a form and amount
as prescribed by 211 CMR 67.06(2)(b)9.

(5) Each group shall notify the Commissioner of any change in the manner of its
compliance with 211 CMR 67.10(1), (2), (3) and (4) no later than 20 days after such
change, including, but not limited to, cancellation, nonrenewal or change in amount and
terms of coverage of any excess insurance, security bond or deposit or fidelity bond.

211 CMR 67.21: Reinsurance and excess insurance contract provisions

Minimum Requirements

1. Specific Excess Coverage Limit for each group shall be at least $5,000,000 per
occurrence (per claim for disease). Groups composed of businesses with a high risk of
multiple injury from a single occurrence may be required to maintain higher limits.

2. The retention allowed for a group's specific excess policy shall be actuarially
sound and shall be not more than 30% of the net premium of the group up to a maximum
of $500,000. The maximum retention may be revisited after groups have been in
operation for three years.

3. Aggregate Excess Insurance shall attach at 105% of standard premium, and
groups may choose their aggregate limit from the following two options:



Option A: An amount not less than 50% of the group's in-force premium of
which the first $1,000,000 of this aggregate reinsurance coverage must be total
reimbursement reinsurance and the remainder may be total reimbursement reinsurance or
financial reinsurance.

Option B: An amount of not less than ten times the specific retention, all of
which shall be total reimbursement insurance. Groups with in-force premium in excess of
$15,000,000, shall obtain additional reinsurance, which may be financial reinsurance, in
the amount of 50% of the in-force premium in excess of $15,000,000.

The aggregate excess insurance or reinsurance requirements may be revisited after groups
have been in operation for three years.

Who May Be Covered

No more than one group shall be covered by any contract or policy of excess
insurance or reinsurance and the named insured shall be the group or its statutory
successor in interest.

Criteria For Reinsurers / Excess Insurers

Except as otherwise provided herein, reinsurers and excess insurers shall be subject to the
Commissioner's approval, and shall meet all of the following criteria:

(a) They shall be licensed, admitted or otherwise authorized to transact insurance
or reinsurance business in the Commonwealth; and,

(b) They shall be classed, according to the following table, in either the top two
categories by one of the rating agencies, or receive at least the minimum acceptable
rating from two of the rating agencies shown below:

Minimum
Top Two Acceptable
Categories Rating
A. M. Best & Company A++, A+ A-
Duff & Phelps AAA, AA+ AA
Moody's Investors Services AAA, AAI AA2
Standard & Poor Corporation  AAA, AA A

(c) The NLC Mutual Insurance Company, an affiliate of the National League of Cities,
and the Underwriters at Lloyd's of London are specifically approved for reinsurance,
provided their policies comply with 211 CMR 67.21(7).

Required Policy Language

No contract or policy of specific or aggregate excess insurance or reinsurance shall be
recognized by the Commissioner in considering the ability of the group to fulfill its
financial obligations unless such contract or policy shall contain the following statement:



"This policy [contract] is in compliance with all the provisions of 211 CMR 67.21(7).
Provisions at variance with 211 CMR 67.21(7) will be automatically amended to comply
with that regulation."

Mandatory Provisions

The policy or contract shall also be subject to the following provisions, whether included
or not:

(a) Cancellation: the policy or contract shall not be cancelable except upon at least
60 days written notice by registered or certified mail to the other party to the policy or
contract and to the Commissioner;

(b) Renewal: the policy or contract is automatically renewable at the expiration of
the contract or policy period unless written notice of intent not to renew is given at
least 60 days prior to such expiration by the party desiring to cancel or non-renew the
policy or contract by registered or certified mail to the other party to the policy or
contract and to the Commissioner;

(c) Claim Handling: the excess carrier or reinsurer agrees to be subject to the
claims handling standards of MGL chapters 152 and 176D and any rules or regulations
promulgated thereunder.

(d) Insolvency Clause: the bankruptcy or insolvency of the group will not relieve
the excess insurer(s) or reinsurer(s) of their duties and liabilities under the policy.

(e) Default by the Group: the excess carrier or reinsurer will, in the event of the
default of the group, continue to provide information and services with respect to its
obligations under the contract or policy to any service agent appointed by a receiver.

(f) Intermediary Clause: if the reinsurance contract is negotiated through an
intermediary all payments by the group to the intermediary shall be deemed to be
payments to the reinsurer; provided, however, that all payments by the reinsurer to the
intermediary shall be deemed to be payments to the group only to the extent that they are
actually received by the group.

(g) Offset Clause: the policy or contract may contain a provision permitting offset
of any balances, whether on account, premiums, commissions, claims, losses, loss
adjustment expenses, salvage, or any other amounts due from one party to the other under
the agreement; provided, however, that in the event of liquidation or insolvency, the right
of offset shall be limited to offset within the particular policy year or contract year.

(h) Sunset Clauses are permitted only for approved financial reinsurance products
referred to in 211 CMR 67.21(8). The excess policy or reinsurance contract shall be
concurrent with the underlying workers' compensation certificates issued by the group.
Clauses requiring the group to report all claims by a certain date and eliminating a
reinsurer's or excess insurer's liability for claims not reported by that date, or clauses
which force a commutation of losses as of a certain date are not permitted. All



reinsurance shall cover all claims arising during the term of the contract on an occurrence
basis.

Limitations

Finite Risk or Financial Reinsurance is permitted only for that portion of the
aggregate excess coverage specified in 211 CMR 67.21(3). Loss portfolio transfers, time
and distance contracts and all other methods of transferring investment or timing risk
alone are excluded.

211 CMR 67.11: New members: cancellation of members; insolvency or
bankruptcy of members; changes in premium

Whenever, as the result of the addition of new members, including affiliates of
existing members, the in-force premium of the group shall grow by more than ten
percent, the board of trustees shall submit to the Commissioner a list of the new members
or additional affiliates of existing members, along with payroll data, estimated annual
premium, and an interim report of the total in-force premium of the entire group.

211 CMR 67.12: Merger of groups

General Requirements

Subject to the prior written approval of the Commissioner, a group may merge with
another group engaged in the same or similar type of business only if the resulting group
assumes in full all obligations of the merging groups.

A public employer group may merge only with another public employer group.

The resulting group may be a continuing group under the name of one or more of the
merged groups or a new group whose name shall be subject to the Commissioner's
approval.

Merger Agreement / Approval

Groups merging under 211 CMR 67.12 shall enter into a written agreement for
such merger prescribing its terms and conditions. In all respects, the continuing group or
the new group shall be subject to the provisions of 211 CMR 67.00.

Such agreement shall be:

(a) assented to by a majority of the members and the Board of Trustees of each
group;

(b) executed in duplicate by a majority of the board of each group;

(c) accompanied by copies of the resolutions authorizing the merger and the
execution of the agreement attested by the recording officer of each group; and



(d) submitted to the Commissioner, with the records of the companies pertaining
thereto.

(e) approved, in writing, by the Commissioner;

If it appears that the requirements of 211 CMR 67.12(1), and (2) have been complied
with, the Commissioner may certify and approve the agreement by signing it.

211 CMR 67.14: Provisions Regarding Deficiencies / Assessments

Every group's Application and Indemnity Agreement shall contain provisions providing
for the following:

(a) in the event that a group incurs a fund deficit in any fund year, such deficit
shall be made up immediately with surplus from a prior fund year or administrative
funds, or the members of the group shall be subject to automatic assessment without
further action by the group;

(b) in the event a member fails to pay any premium, assessment, or other
contribution to the group when due, the members of the group shall be subject to
automatic assessment without further action by the group.

211 CMR 67.16: Termination of certificate

The certificate of approval issued by the Commissioner to a workers' compensation self-
insurance group authorizes the group to provide workers' compensation coverage for
members of the group. The certificate of approval remains in effect until terminated at the
request of the group or revoked by the Commissioner pursuant to the provisions of 211
CMR 67.17.

The Commissioner shall grant the request of any group to terminate its certificate of
approval provided the group has insured or reinsured all outstanding, both known and
unknown, workers' compensation obligations with a licensed insurer under an agreement
filed with and approved in writing by the Commissioner. Such obligations shall include
both known and unknown claims and the expenses associated with the claim.
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