
 

 

Minor (Ages 14 -17)  
Employment Permit Process 

Doctor must complete 
Certificate of 

Health section of Work 
Permit Application. 

Minor must obtain School 
Record from school they 
last attended. Form can 

be downloaded from the 
DESE Security Portal at 
https://gateway.edu. 

state.ma.us/elar/ 
common/EducatorWelco
mePagePageControl.ser. If the new job will meet work hours and restrictions, the 

Parent/Guardian/Custodian will sign the Work Permit Application  
in section 4 and the Minor will sign in Section 5. Submit Work Permit 

Application, School 
Record or proof of 

meeting requirements 
for completion of  

6th grade, and proof  
of age (Passport,  
Birth Certificate)  
to public school 
superintendent,  
or designee in 

municipality where 
employer is located. 

Superintendent, or designee will review School Record (14- and 15-year-
olds) or proof of meeting 6th grade requirements (16- and 17-year-old), 

then download and complete Employment Permit from the DESE Security 
Portal, if appropriate. The Minor will sign Employment Permit.  

Contact the school district for the specific local process. 

No, submit completed Work Permit Application, School Record, or 
proof of meeting requirements for completion of 6th grade, and proof 
of age (Passport, Birth Certificate) to public school superintendent, or 

designee of school youth attends, or town where youth lives. 

Yes 

 

  

 

Is the Minor 14 or 15 years old? 

Have employer complete Promise of Employment  
section of the Work Permit Application. 

Yes 

Parent/Guardian/Custodian and Minor must review Summary of 
Massachusetts Laws Regulating Minors’ Work Hours and Occupation 

Restrictions and assess if the new job meets work hours and restrictions. 

Does Minor live outside of Massachusetts? 

No, skip Certificate of  Health. Obtain proof the Minor  
meets requirements for completion of 6th grade. 

School will maintain a copy of all documents. Minor will bring completed,  
Employment Permit to employer, who must keep it on file at all times, while the Minor 
is employed or until the Minor is 18 years old, after which the Employment Permit may 

be destroyed. If the Minor’s employment ends prior to his/her 18th birthday the 
Employment Permit must be returned to the issuing Superintendent, or designee. 

Note: This process is specific 
to a job. The process must  
be repeated if the Minor 

changes jobs, even with the 
same employer, and for  

each additional job. 

Minor must obtain job offer from employer (may be verbal). 

Obtain Work Permit Application from Department of Labor Standards’ 
website: mass.gov/dls/youth. 
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