The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Division of Occupational Safety

399 Washington Street, 5" Floor
Boston, MA 02108

Employment Permit Application for 14 through 17 Year-Olds
If you are under 18 years of age, you must obtain a work permit before starting a new job.'
M.G.L. c. 149, §§86-89. The following are the steps you should take; please note that a
Physicians Certificate of Health is required only of 14 and 15 year-olds.
Steps for Getting an Employment Permit
1. Obtain a job offer from an employer.

2. Ask the employer to complete the following section:

Promise of Employment

Name of Minor:

Name of Employer:

Business Address:

Job Title & Primary Duties:

Number of Hours per day Minor is to be Employed:

The undersigned agrees to employ this minor as stated above and in compliance with state law.
A summary of laws governing minors’ hours of work and hazardous occupations can be
found at the end of this application form.

Signature of Employer or Authorized Agent Date

3. For 14 and 15 year-olds only (16 and 17 year-olds may skip this step): Ask your doctor to
complete the following section:

Note: The following Certificate of Health must be signed within 12 months of the date this
application is presented to the school official issuing the permit.

! Minors who are 17 years of age, who can show documented proof of a high school diploma or the equivalent to the
school official authorized to issue work permits, do not need a signed work permit, but must still complete this
permit application.




Physician’s Certificate of Health

I hereby certify that I have made a thorough physical examination of the following
named 14 or 15 year-old minor:

and that, in my opinion, said minor is in sufficiently sound health and physically able to
perform the work indicated above. A summary of laws governing minors’ hours of work
and hazardous occupations can be found at the end of this application form.

Signature of Physician Date

4. Ask your parent, guardian, or custodian to sign below.

I hereby approve the issuance of a permit for the work indicated above. A summary of laws
governing minors’ hours of work and hazardous occupations can be found at the end of
this application form.

Name of Parent, Guardian, or Custodian

Signature of Parent, Guardian, or Custodian Date

5. Sign this application below:

Signature of Minor Date

6. Take this completed form to the Superintendent of Schools, or the person your school has
authorized to issue Work Permits, in the school district where you live or in town where you
attend school. You should bring with you proof of your age, such as your birth certificate,
passport, or immigration record. The Superintendent, or his or her authorized agent, will then
issue you an Employment Permit.

7. Bring the signed employment permit back to your employer who must keep it until you leave
the job.

Page 2 of 5




Summary of Massachusetts’ Laws Regulating Minors’ Work Hours and
Occupation Restrictions

Prohibited Jobs (Hazardous Orders)

Persons under 14 may not work: There are a few exceptions to this such as working as news
carriers, on farms, and in entertainment (with a special permit).

Persons under 16 years old may NOT:

* Operate power-driven machinery (except office machines or machines in retail or food service
not otherwise prohibited)

* Cook (except on electric or gas grills that do not have open flames)

* Operate fryolators, rotisseries, NEICO broilers, or pressure cookers

* Operate, clean or repair power-driven food slicers, grinders or choppers

* Perform any baking activities

* Operate microwave ovens (except to heat food in microwave ovens with a maximum capacity
of 140 degrees Fahrenheit)

* Clean kitchen surfaces that are hotter than 100 degrees Fahrenheit

« Filter, transport, or dispose of cooking oil or grease hotter than 100 degrees Fahrenheit

» Work in freezers or meat coolers

* Work in a manufacturing facility (e.g., a factory)

* Work on ladders or scaffolds

* Work in garages, except dispensing gas and oil

* Work in brick or lumber yards

* Work in amusement places (e.g., pool or billiard room, or bowling alley)

» Work in barber shops

» Work in construction, transportation, communications, or public utilities (except doing clerical
work away from heavy machinery off the job-site)

» Work in warehouses (except doing clerical work)

* Load or unload trucks, railroad cars, or conveyors

* Wash windows in public or commercial buildings if the window sill is more than 10 feet above
the ground

* Work doing laundry in a commercial laundry or dry cleaning establishment

» Work as a public messenger

» Work at processing operations (e.g., in meat, fish, or poultry processing or cracking nuts, bulk
or mass mailing)

* Work around boilers or in engine rooms

* Do industrial homework

2 This is a compilation of state and federal child labor laws. The most protective laws are presented here and apply
to all employers of teens including parents who may employ their children. There are additional regulations in this
area not summarized here and some exceptions for employers in agricultural industries. Questions about the state
child labor laws should be directed to the Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General, Fair Labor and Business
Practices Division (617-727-3465). Questions about federal child labor laws should be directed to the U.S.
Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (617-624-6700).
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» Work with dangerous electrical machinery or appliances

» Work that is determined by the Massachusetts Attorney General to be dangerous to the health
and well-being of minors

* Work in any of the occupations or tasks prohibited for persons under age 18

Persons under 18 years old may NOT:

* Drive a vehicle or forklift (except golf carts in certain circumstances)
* Operate, clean or repair power-driven meat slicers, grinders or choppers
* Operate, clean or repair power-driven bakery machines

* Work 30 feet or more above ground or water

» Handle, serve, or sell alcoholic beverages

* Use circular or band saws, or guillotine shears

 Use power-driven woodworking machines

* Use hoisting machines

* Operate paper balers, paper box compactors, or other power-driven paper products machines
* Use power-driven metal-forming, punching, or shearing machines

* Use buffing or polishing equipment

» Manufacture brick, tile, or kindred products

* Manufacture or store explosives

» Work in excavation, wrecking, demolition, or shipbreaking

» Work in logging, sawmilling, or mining

* Work slaughtering, packing, or processing meat

» Work in railway operations

» Work in roofing or on or about a roof

» Work in foundries or around blast furnaces

* Work manufacturing phosphorus or phosphorus matches

» Work where they are exposed to radioactive substances

» Work as a firefighter or engineer on a boat

* Oil or clean hazardous machinery in motion

* Work in any job requiring the possession or use of a firearm*

Legal Work Hours for Teens in Massachusetts

Note: After 8:00 p.m., all minors must have the direct and immediate supervision of an adult
supervisor who is located in the workplace and is reasonably accessible to the minor, unless the
minor works at a kiosk, cart or stand in the common area of an enclosed shopping mall that has
security from 8:00 p.m. until the mall is closed to the public.*
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14 and 15 Year Olds
Work Hours

Only between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. during the school year
Not during school hours

Only between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. during the summer
(from July 1 through Labor Day)

Maximum Hours When School Is in Session
18 hours a week

3 hours a day on school days

8 hours a day Saturday, Sunday, holidays

6 days a week

Maximum Hours When School Is Not in Session
40 hours a week

8 hours a day

6 days a week

16 and 17 Year Olds
Work Hours*

Only between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. (on nights preceding a regularly scheduled school day) — if the
establishment stops serving clients or customers at 10:00 p.m., the minor may be employed until
10:15 p.m.

Only between 6 a.m. and 11:30 p.m. (on nights not preceding a regularly scheduled school day).
Exception for restaurants and racetracks: only between 6 a.m. and 12:00 midnight (on nights not
preceding a regularly scheduled school day).

Maximum Hours of Work — Whether or Not School is in Session
48 hours a week

9 hours a day

6 days a week

* Indicates a change MA Child Labor Laws, effective date January 3, 2007.
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