BOAT EXCISE ABATEMENT APPLICATION

General Laws Chapter 60B

RETURN APPLICATION FORM AND DOCUMENTATION TO: Board of Assessors

BILL INFORMATION: INSTRUCTIONS. To apply for an abatement (or refund if excise has been paid), complete this form and provide the specified documentation. Fiscal Year _____ Tax Date ____/ Issue Date ____/ Bill Number _____ Abatement applications must be received by the assessors Registration/Documentation No. Boat Name Model Year Length within three years after the excise was due, or one year after the excise was paid, whichever is later. To preserve your right Name (as shown on bill) to appeal, you must file on time. By law, assessors may only act on late applications in limited circumstances where the excise is still unpaid and their decision in those cases is final. Address (as shown on bill) City/Town State Zip Filing an application does not stay the collection of your excise bill. To avoid interest, charges, a penalty of \$20.00, or Mailing Address (if different) 20% of the excise, whichever is greater, and collection action. Citv/Town State Zip including loss of mooring or docking privileges, you must pay the bill in full within 60 days of its issue date. You will receive a refund if an abatement is granted. **REASON YOU ARE APPLYING FOR AN ABATEMENT:** NOTE. You are not entitled to an abatement if you (1) cancel your registration and retain ownership of the boat, or (2) You must provide this documentation Check where applicable change the registration or location of the boat to another Massachusetts city or town, during the fiscal year. □ Boat sold or traded Bill of sale Boat total loss Insurance settlement letter Return this completed form to: Board of Assessors • _____ of _____ •_____MA_____ Boat repossessed Notice from lienholder Board of Assessors at () Boat junked Receipt from junk yard Boat stolen Police report ----- Do not write below this line -----Date of move: / / Boat mooring/registration/location Year Bill # changed from billing city/town Proof of new mooring place for summer of fiscal year of bill, or proof place boat located Valuation _____ or registered changed before July 1 of tax year of bill Excise Assessed NOTE: You are not entitled to an abatement if you registered or moved the boat \$_____ elsewhere within Massachusetts during the fiscal year of the excise tax. Abatement Allowed Adjusted Excise □ Moved out of state Date of move: / / Cert. # _____ Date: __/__/ If registered, registration from new state or country **and** proof of cancellation or expiration of MA registration Assessor Assessor Exemption Type: _____ Documentation establishing qualifications Explain: _____ Relevant documentation Other Form Approved by Commissioner of Revenue Subscribed under the penalties of perjury (STF 126-BE)(12/2004) Signature: Date: Telephone: