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CIRCULAR LETTER NO. 231

TO: ALL INSURERS
FROM: Mary Piggott

RE$ PAY, DENY, RESUME FORM #2

The Office of Claims Administration has received a large
number of Insurer Notification of Payment, Denial, or Resumption of -
Compensation forms either filed when not required or filed without
all needed information.

Please do not file this form unless the date of injury is on
or after November 1, 1986.

The form is being used to monitor compliance with M.G.L. c.l52,
ss.6 and 7. As you know, compliance with Section 7, allows the insu-
rer to make payments for sixty days from the date of disability with-
out accepting liability, M.G.L. c.152, s.8. Many insurers have re-
fused to complete the field on Form #2 entitled "Fifth Day of Dis-
ability" for fear that by doing so the insurer is admitting liability.
That fear is groundless since the language of Section 8 controls any
form published to implement the statute.

No Form $2 filed without the fifth day of disability will be
accepted. Employer noncompliance with M.G.L. c.152, s.6, cannot in

many cases be detected without this information.



Department of Industrial Accldents
Qffi °>f Claimg Administration
0 Washington Street
Boston, Massachusetts O2111i

Tot Interasted Parties

Frome Office of Claims Administration

Re Request for Sixty Day Extensiona of Pay
without Prejudice

Date: February 6, 1987

The Office of Claims Administration has received
numerous requests for extensions of the 60 day
"pay without prejudice" period pursuant to 452 CMR
1.05(4), These extensions (for an additional
period of up to 60 days) may be approved in two
wayst! at a Conciliation by the Department or by
aubmigsion of the appropriate documents to the
Department (Office of Claims Administration). In
either case, in order to extend the 60 day period

the following criteria must be met:

(1) The empluyeza2 and the Department must have
raceived a Notice to May Form (Form &) within 14
days of the insurar's rotice of injury. The
Office of Claimg Administration will uiheck to see
if this document has been received in a timely
manner by the Department.

(2) There must be an Rgreement to extend the
period (terminating no later than 120 days from
the onset of disability) signed by both parties.

(3) The insurer must certify that it has made
all payments due under Chapter 152 sirce the onset
of disability.

Should all of these conditions be met, the request
will be approved. Should orie or more of these
conditions fail to be met, the request will be
denied and the Insurer will be so notified.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.



