1.

# COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY REFRIGERATION LICENSE

Please send application to:

Department of Public Safety, Cashier's Division, 1 Ashburton Place, Room 1301, Boston, MA 02108

Application for License as Refrigeration Contractor, Refrigeration Technician, or Refrigeration Apprentice in Accordance with Massachusetts General Law Chapter 146 section 81-88

Application must be filled out in ink and accompanied by the <u>non-refundable processing fee</u>. Choose the Grade of Refrigeration license which you are seeking to obtain:

**O** \$150 Refrigeration Contractor **O** \$75 Refrigeration Technician **O** \$40 Refrigeration Apprentice

 4. Date of Birth:
 Phone #
 Email Address:

5. Name and Address of Employer: \_\_\_\_\_

6.	State full title of occupation: _			
7.	Have you ever been examined for a Massachusetts Refrigeration license? O YES, when?			<b>O</b> NO
	Do you hold a Massachusetts Refrigeration license?		<b>O</b> YES	O NO
	If so, list license number:			
		License number	License Grade	Expiration date

8. Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 22, Section 21 and 520 CMR 1.00, I certify under the penalties of perjury that to my best knowledge and belief I have paid any and all outstanding civil fines owed to the Department which are required under Law.

Signature of Applicant

Date

#### AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF RMV PHOTO INFORMATION (MASSACHUSETTS RESIDENTS ONLY)

My signature below authorizes the Department of Public Safety to electronically access my photograph from the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles database solely for use on this license/registration.

MA- RMV photo release signature

## **Prerequisites:**

ALL of the following items MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THE APPLICATION in order for your application to be processed properly. Failure to submit all required information and proper fee will result in ineligibility to take the exam and forfeiture / loss of processing fee.

## **Refrigeration Contractor Prerequisites**

- O Completed Application with proper mailing AND home address, social security number.
- Attached 1" x 1.25" photo (Unless Authorization for Release of RMV Photo Information Signed-Off)
- O Documentation from employer that you have held and used a Massachusetts Refrigeration Technicians license for not less than 2,000 hours.
- O Documentation from an **approved school** that you have completed 100 hours of additional refrigeration training.
- Non-refundable application processing fee (\$150)

#### **Refrigeration Technician Prerequisites**

- Completed Application with proper mailing AND home address, social security number.
- **O** Copy of high school diploma or equivalency certification
- Copy of your **Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship** from the Division of Apprentice Standards, Department of Labor Standards, 19 Staniford St. 2<sup>nd</sup> floor, Boston, MA 02114 / Tel: 617-626-5409
- Copy of your **CFC Certificate**

• Attached 1" x 1.25" photo (Unless Authorization for Release of RMV Photo Information Signed-Off)

- Non-refundable application processing fee (\$75).
  - O Documentation from employer that you have worked not less than 6,000 hours in Massachusetts as a Refrigeration Apprentice.
  - O Documentation from an **approved school** that you have completed **250** hours in a refrigeration course, which must consist of **100** hours of refrigeration theory AND **150** hours of related Massachusetts electrical code training.

#### OR

- O Documentation from employer that you have worked not less than **4,000** hours in Massachusetts as a Refrigeration Apprentice.
- O Documentation from an approved school that you have completed 500 hours in a refrigeration course, of which 250 hours must be shop related work, 100 hours of refrigeration theory, and 100 hours of related Massachusetts electrical code training.

## OR

- O Documentation from employer that you have worked not less than **2,000** hours in Massachusetts as a Refrigeration Apprentice.
- O Documentation from an approved school that you have completed 1000 hours in a refrigeration course, of which 700 hours must be shop related work, 100 hours of refrigeration theory, and 100 hours of related Massachusetts electrical code training.

## OR

- Copy of refrigeration technician's license, master technician's license or equivalent license from another jurisdiction.
- O Documentation from employer listing work experience and certification requirements equivalent to the Refrigeration Technician Prerequisites listed above, in accordance with 528 CMR 11.03.

### **Refrigeration Apprentice Prerequisites**

- O Completed Application with proper mailing AND home address, social security number.
- Copy of high school diploma or equivalency certification
- Attached 1" x 1.25" photo (Unless Authorization for Release of RMV Photo Information Signed-Off)
- Copy of your Division of Apprentice Standards ID Card
   Department of Labor Standards, 19 Staniford St. 2<sup>nd</sup> floor, Boston, MA 02114 / Tel: 617-626-5409
- Must provide proof that you are at least eighteen **18** years of age.
- **O** Non-refundable application processing fee (\$40)

Note: Applicants will be limited to two (2) renewals of their Refrigeration Apprentice license unless otherwise approved by the Bureau of Pipefitters, Refrigeration Technicians and Sprinkler Fitters