
 

 

 

 
September 21, 2016 
 
 

To:  Massachusetts Nursing and Professional Healthcare Organizations 
 
From: Laurie Talarico, MS, RN, CNP Nursing Practice Coordinator 
 
Re: Important Changes to Licensing Process 
 
 
 

The Board of Registration in Nursing Is Going Green! 
Paper Renewal Reminders and Paper Licenses to be Eliminated 

 
Effective with the 2018 Registered Nurse (RN) and the 2019 Licensed Practical Nurse 
(LPN) renewal cycles, license renewal reminders and nursing licenses in paper format 
will no longer be mailed via the U.S. Postal Service to Massachusetts nurses.   
 
The Board will use email to send updates to nurses who maintain a current email 
address in the Board’s database.  Log onto the Mass Department of Public Health 
Online Licensing site to update email or mailing addresses.  Please note that the 
mailing and email addresses for each license held must be updated individually.  For 
example, those with both a RN license and Advanced Practice Registered Nurse 
(APRN) authorization will be required to maintain current addresses for both categories. 
 
After the current renewal cycle, nurses will be expected to initiate renewal of their 
nursing license without a paper reminder by logging on to 
http://onlineservices.hhs.state.ma.us.  
 
Licensure status can be verified by accessing the Board of Registration in Nursing 
(Board) “Check a License” link that can be accessed at www.mass.gov/dph/boards/rn.  
The link is considered primary source of verification and is available 24 hours a day, 
seven days a week at no cost.  It is possible to print information from the website or 
download licensing information into an excel spread sheet.  Directions are provided at 
the site.  Verifications are not provided over the phone or in person. 
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In addition, nurses and employers can automatically receive free, publicly available 
primary source license and discipline status updates from boards of nursing in multiple 
jurisdictions after logging into Nursys e-Notify. 
 
Details regarding the Board’s process for Primary Source Verification are available on 
the Board’s website.  
 
Nurses are urged to regularly check the Board’s website for further developments. The 
Board posts information on its website to alert nurses to licensure requirement revisions 
or other noteworthy news.  In order to keep current, the Board recommends that all 

nurses subscribe to the Board’s RSS feed icon at www.mass.gov/dph/boards/rn to 
be automatically notified via email when the Board posts a “news and updates” item. If 
you have not done so, take a moment to review the Board’s annual Newsletter . 
 
RN license and APRN authorization renewals occur on the RN’s birthday in even-
numbered years.  LPN license renewals occur on the LPNs birthday in odd-numbered 
years.  Licenses revert to an “Expired” status automatically should the licensee fail to 
renew by 11:59 pm on the license expiration date.  Once the renewal is complete, the 
renewed license status will immediately appear on the Board’s license verification site. 
 
Practice with an expired license is illegal and grounds for Board discipline.   A civil 
administrative penalty for unlicensed practice of up to $2,500 and/or six months of 
imprisonment may be imposed [ref: MGL c.112, §65A].   
  
During the renewal process, all nurses attest under penalties of perjury to compliance 
with:  

 State tax and child support laws  

 Mandatory reporting laws  

 All Board laws and regulations including continuing education requirements  

 Prescriber training requirements pursuant to MGL c. 94C, s. 18(e) 
 

VERY IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR  
ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSES 

 
APRNs (Nurse Practitioners, Nurse Anesthetists, Nurse Midwives, Psychiatric Clinical 
Nurse Specialists, and Clinical Nurse Specialists) are required to have current 
certification from a Board approved certifying organization. 
 
An APRN is not authorized to practice without current certification [ref: 244 CMR 9.04(4) 
and 244 CMR 4.05].  Should APRN certification lapse for any reason, the APRN must 
inform the Board by completing a Request to remove APRN authorization and cease 
APRN practice until such time that certification becomes current.  The Board does not 
have a “grace period”. 
 

https://www.nursys.com/
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/quality/boards/nursing/primary-source-verification.docx
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/departments/dph/programs/hcq/dhpl/nursing/
http://www.mass.gov/dph/boards/rn
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/departments/dph/programs/hcq/dhpl/nursing/newsletters.html
https://checkalicense.hhs.state.ma.us/MyLicenseVerification/
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/quality/boards/nursing/nursing-aprn-resign-letter.pdf
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When renewing a RN license, APRNs will renew their Board authorization to practice as 
an APRN at the same time. If, for any reason, an APRN does not intend to renew their 
APRN authorization, he or she must complete a Request to remove APRN 
authorization, allowing time for processing, prior to renewing to avoid paying the APRN 
renewal fee.  Be advised that fees are non-refundable.   
 
When expired, should an APRN successfully complete the certification process, he or 
she may complete a Request to reinstate APRN authorization . Upon receipt of the 
form, the Board verifies the certification as current, updates the Board’s license 
verification site and the APRN may return to practice. 
 
The Board advises APRNs to review the information on the current renewal reminder 
carefully.  During the renewal process, APRNs are requested to provide specific 
certification information, such as:  

 Name of Board approved certifying organization (ANCC, AANP, NCC, PNCB, 
AACN, AMCB, NBCRNA) 

 Certification number (as it appears on your certification) 
 Certification expiration date (mm/dd/year) 

 
It is an APRN professional responsibility to meet the initial and continued certification 
requirements of the Board approved certifying organization.  APRNs should contact 
their certifying organization for additional certification information. 
 
The APRN with prescriptive authority, pursuant to M.G.L. Chapter 94C, Section 18(e), in 
addition to acquiring and maintaining the knowledge, skills and abilities necessary to 
practice in accordance with accepted standards of care for pain management, are 
required to complete appropriate education in the following concepts prior to initial 
Board authorization to practice in the advanced role, and subsequently, during each 
renewal period: 

1. effective pain management;  
2. the risks of abuse and addiction associated with opioid medication;  
3. identification of patients at risk for substance use disorders;  
4. counseling patients about the side effects, addictive nature and proper 

storage and disposal of prescription medications;  
5. appropriate prescription quantities for prescription medications that have an 

increased risk of abuse; and  
6. opioid antagonists, overdose prevention treatments and instances in which a 

patient may be advised on both the use of and ways to access opioid antagonists 
and overdose prevention treatments. 

 
Please note that MGL 94C, Section 18(e) does not specify a minimum number of 
contact hours to comply with this education requirement.  APRNs may choose any 
continuing education offering consistent with the Board requirements at 244 CMR 5.00: 
Continuing Education and Advisory Ruling 0901: Management of Pain.   
 

http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/quality/boards/nursing/nursing-aprn-resign-letter.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/quality/boards/nursing/nursing-aprn-resign-letter.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/quality/boards/nursing/nursing-aprn-reinstate-letter.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/departments/dph/programs/hcq/dhpl/nursing/pmp-alert.html
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/regs/244cmr005.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/regs/244cmr005.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/departments/dph/programs/hcq/dhpl/nursing/nursing-practice/advisory-rulings/advisory-ruling-on-the-management-of-pain.html
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By signing the MCSR form and by your signature on your license renewal form, you 
attest under penalties of perjury that you have complied with state tax and child support 
laws, mandatory reporting laws, and all Board laws and regulations, including continuing 
education requirements. 
 
 
 
 


