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     CHARLES D. BAKER JAY ASH 
                 GOVERNOR  SECRETARY OF HOUSING AND 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

        KARYN E. POLITO JOHN C. CHAPMAN 
         LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR  UNDERSECRETARY 

DANIEL R. JUDSON 
               COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE

    

December 28, 2016 

Michelle Fontaine 
38 Walnut Street 
Leominster, MA 01453 

 RE:  Michelle Fontaine – Massachusetts License No. 1854894 
  SIU Investigation No. 9309 

VIA First Class Mail & E-Mail 

Dear Ms. Fontaine: 

 I represent the Massachusetts Division of Insurance (“Division”) with regard to the above-
captioned investigation.  Pursuant to an investigation conducted by the Division’s Special Investigations 
Unit, the Division has cause to believe that you violated the Massachusetts insurance laws set forth below 
by the conduct detailed in this settlement letter. 

 This case was opened on September 8, 2016, after the Division discovered that you 
misappropriated money while working at the insurance agency S.J. Markham and Son, Inc.  Further 
investigation revealed that you admitted to participating in a scheme that allowed you to misappropriate 
approximately $60,000 in 2015.  On January 25, 2016, you were arraigned in the Fitchburg District Court 
on one count of Falsifying Books, in violation of M.G.L. c. 166, § 67; and one count of Larceny Over 
$250, in violation of M.G.L. c. 266, § 301 (1).  This was not report to the Division. 

 The conduct described above is evidence of the following violations: 

M.G.L. c. 175, § 162R (a)(2)  . . . [t]he commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke or 
refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer’s license or may levy a civil penalty for . . . 
violating any insurance laws.  Additionally, a violation is punishable by a fine up to one thousand 
dollars.  M.G.L. c. 176D, § 7. 

M.G.L. c. 175, § 162R (a)(4) . . . [t]he commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke or 
refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer’s license or may levy a civil penalty for . . . 
improperly withholding, misappropriating or converting any monies or properties received in the 
course of doing business.  Additionally, a violation is punishable by a fine up to one thousand 
dollars.  M.G.L. c. 176D, § 7. 

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS 
Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation 

DIVISION OF INSURANCE
1000 Washington Street • Suite 810 • Boston, MA  02118-6200 

(617) 521-7794 • FAX (617) 521-7475 
http://www.mass.gov/doi



Michelle Fontaine– SIU No. 9309 – Page 2 of 4

M.G.L. c. 175, § 162R (a)(7) . . . [t]he commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke or 
refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer’s license or may levy a civil penalty for . . . having 
admitted to have committed any unfair insurance trade practice or fraud.  Additionally, a violation 
is punishable by a fine up to one thousand dollars.  M.G.L. c. 176D, § 7. 

M.G.L. c. 175, § 162R (a)(8)  . . . [t]he commissioner may place on probation, suspend, revoke or 
refuse to issue or renew an insurance producer’s license or may levy a civil penalty for . . . using 
fraudulent, coercive or dishonest practices in the conduct of business.  Additionally, a violation is 
punishable by a fine up to one thousand dollars.  M.G.L. c. 176D, § 7. 

M.G.L. c. 175, § 162V (a)  . . . [a] producer shall report to the commissioner any administrative action 
taken against the producer . . . within 30 days of the final disposition of the matter.  A violation is 
punishable by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars.  M.G.L. c. 175, § 194. 

M.G.L. c. 176D, §2 – No person shall engage in this commonwealth in any trade practice which is 
defined in this chapter as, or determined pursuant to section six of this chapter to be, an unfair method of 
competition or an unfair or deceptive act or practice in the business of insurance.  A violation is 
punishable by a fine up to one thousand dollars.  M.G.L. c. 176D, § 7.

 The Division is authorized to issue an order requiring you to show cause as to why you should not 
be made to cease and desist from the above alleged conduct.  If, after a public hearing, the Commissioner 
of Insurance finds that you did commit the alleged violations, he may impose a fine up to the amounts 
listed above and order that your Massachusetts Insurance Producer License be placed on probation, 
suspended or revoked. 

The Division proposes to resolve this matter without fines through a Settlement Agreement if 
you agree to waive your right to a hearing and agree to the revocation of your Massachusetts insurance 
producer license. If you choose to accept the Division’s offer as set forth in the enclosed Settlement 
Agreement, please sign where provided and return to my attention by January 7, 2017.   

Although this correspondence does not constitute the required statutory notice of a public hearing, 
if this matter is not resolved by January 7, 2017, the Division intends to file its Order to Show Cause and 
will notify you of the hearing date. 

 Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.  Should you have any questions or wish to 
discuss this matter further, I may be reached at (617) 521-7471 or Scott.Peary@state.ma.us.   

        Sincerely,  

        Scott J. Peary 
        Chief Enforcement Counsel 

Enclosure
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