IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT RENEWING YOUR LSP LICENSE

1. Renewal Requirements and Deadlines

A Licensed Site Professional must renew his or her license every three years. Our records indicate that your license will expire on **October 30, 2017**, unless it is renewed. To renew your license, you must (1) pay your Renewal Fee (\$100) and (2) demonstrate that you have obtained the number and type of continuing education credits that are required by 309 CMR 3.09.

October 30, 2017 – Deadline for filing a 90-day extension request. See instructions in Part 4 below.

October 30, 2017 – Deadline for filing a complete renewal application before your license lapses.

Whether you are requesting a 90-day extension or filing a complete renewal application, you must mail all of the following items together **to the address listed below:**

- a completed and signed Renewal Application Form (enclosed);
- a check or money order in the amount of \$100 along with the stub from your Invoice (enclosed);
- a completed Continuing Education Course Summary Form (enclosed); and
- copies of your LSP Board Continuing Education Attendance Certification Forms.

2. Renewal Application Form and Renewal Fee

In submitting your Renewal Application Form and Renewal Fee, you must follow these instructions.

[°] Make your check or money order payable to "Commonwealth of Massachusetts" and put your name and LSP number on the check. Do not send cash. The Renewal Fee is \$100. [Before mailing your check, you are strongly advised to make a photocopy. Keep this copy until your cancelled check is returned.]

° Detach the top portion (stub) of the enclosed Renewal Fee invoice and return it with your payment.

[°] Using regular mail, mail your payment and your Renewal Application Form along with your Continuing Education Course Summary Form and copies of your LSP Board Attendance Certification Forms as directed below. **DO NOT USE CERTIFIED MAIL.**

3. Continuing Education Credits

<u>Credits Required for Renewal of License</u>: To renew his or her license, each LSP must have earned 48 credits of continuing education. Of the 48 total credits you are required to earn, 8 must be classified as "Regulatory" credits. In addition, at least 12 of the 48 credits must have been earned by taking "DEP Courses." These are the only categorical requirements.

In submitting evidence that you have obtained the required number and kind of credits to renew your license or to obtain a 90-day extension, please follow these instructions:

[°] Complete the enclosed Continuing Education Course Summary Form and attach a copy of your official LSP Board Continuing Education Attendance Certification Form for each course listed. (**Do not** submit generic attendance certificates generated by many private course providers.)

[°] **By the deadline indicated above in Part 1,** mail the Continuing Education Course Summary Form, the attached copies of your Attendance Certification Forms, your Renewal Fee payment, the stub from your invoice, and your Renewal Application Form to the following address:

Commonwealth of Massachusetts LSP Board Commonwealth Master Lockbox P.O. Box 3982 Boston, MA 02241-3982

DO NOT SEND BY CERTIFIED MAIL

SEND BY REGULAR MAIL ONLY

4. Ninety-Day Extension To Obtain 12 Credits Or Less

If you have not obtained all of the continuing education credits you need to renew your license but do not need more than **12 additional credits** to do so, you may apply for a 90-day extension of your license expiration date for the purpose of obtaining up to 12 additional continuing education credits. To receive this extension, you must (a) pay your Renewal Fee (\$100) by **October 30, 2017**, and (b) submit with your Renewal Fee the enclosed Course Summary Form along with copies of the LSP Board Attendance Certification Forms that demonstrate you have earned all but 12 or fewer of the credits you need to renew your license. As soon as the Board verifies that you have met these requirements, the Board will notify you that a 90-day extension has been allowed and provide you with instructions regarding how to submit evidence that the additional credits have been obtained. There will be an additional fee of \$100 for obtaining this extension and processing your submittal of the additional required credits. That fee will be payable at the time you submit proof that you have obtained the additional credits. Please indicate in the space provided on the enclosed Continuing Education Course Summary Form if you are eligible and are applying for a 90-day extension to obtain up to 12 additional credits.

5. Failure to Renew -- Consequences

If a Licensed Site Professional fails to renew his or her license or obtain a 90-day extension, the license shall lapse at the close of business on its expiration date. A person whose license has lapsed and not been renewed shall not act as, advertise as, or hold himself or herself out to be, or represent himself or herself as being, a Licensed Site Professional. A person whose license has lapsed may renew his or her license at any time during the following year by meeting all the renewal requirements set forth in 309 CMR 3.06(2), including the payment of the \$100 Renewal Fee. An individual who fails to renew his or her license within one year of the date of expiration of his or her license may thereafter reapply for licensure by submitting a Limited Licensure Application, paying the standard \$245 Application Fee, and, if said application is approved, passing a licensing examination.

If a Licensed Site Professional who has been granted a 90-day extension fails to earn the additional required credits or fails to submit evidence thereof by the end of the extension period, his or her license shall lapse at the close of business on the last day of the extension period, and the late renewal and reapplication provisions described in the preceding paragraph shall apply. The one-year period to renew a license shall run from the original renewal date, not the last day of the 90-day extension period.

6. Next Renewal Date

You will need to renew your license every three years if you wish to continue practicing as an LSP. Each time that you renew, you will need to demonstrate that you have met the Board's continuing education requirements at 309 CMR 3.09. Your next renewal date will be 3 years from the date of your upcoming renewal date. If you obtain a 90-day extension to obtain the additional credits you need to renew your license this time, it will not affect your future renewal dates.

7. Questions or Additional Information

If you have questions or need additional information about the license renewal procedure, please contact the following LSP Board staff:

Questions about Continuing Education courses or credits --

Call: Beverly Roby at 617-292-5985

Questions about your renewal fee or your renewal date --

Call: 617-556-1091

october_2017-renewal instruct