

CHARLES D. BAKER GOVERNOR

KARYN E. POLITO LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

JAY ASH
SECRETARY OF HOUSING AND
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure BOARD OF REGISTRATION OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERING

1000 Washington Street • Boston • Massachusetts • 02118

JOHN C. CHAPMAN
UNDERSECRETARY OF
CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND
BUSINESS REGULATION

CHARLES BORSTEL DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology Guidelines for Opening a Cosmetology School

(These guidelines are intended to assist prospective schools only and are not intended to cover all aspects of school licensure. Prospective schools are encouraged to review all of these guidelines prior to expending any resources, renting facilities, etc.)

BASIC SUMMARY

- A. Review Board website, learn and follow school regulations, etc.
- B. Contact Board Office in order to do initial walkthrough of prospective space with Board staff, DON'T SIGN LEASES until after walkthrough
- C. Choose name of schools (see Board guidelines below) and create an initial floor plan, submit to Board office for tentative approval. Meet and greet with Board (if new school)
- D. Obtain Board approval for floor plan, bond, enrollment agreement/student contract, curriculum, and school catalog (include checklists!)
- E. Engage in limited advertising to obtain prospective students, submit copies of signed contracts and instructor list to Board.
- F. Final walkthrough with Board staff
- G. Submit Paper application

DETAILED SUMMARY

1. Review all statutes (M.G.L. c. 112, §§87T to 87KK), regulations (240 CMR 2.00 to 7.00), and policies governing the cosmetology profession including personal license types, schools, and salons. Go to the Board website for information:

http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/hd/regulations/

2. Determine the type of school you want to open:

TELEPHONE: (617) 727-9940 FAX: (617) 727-1627 TTY/TDD: (617) 727-2099 http://www.mass.gov/dpl

- A. Cosmetology school 1000 hour program
- B. Aesthetic school 300 hour program
- C. Manicuring school 100 hour program
- D. Advanced school Multiple programs 8 to 80 hours in length

3. Review requirements for school facilities – requirements for space and bathrooms below:

A. Bathroom requirements for all schools

In general, bathrooms must be within the confines of the school on the same floor the school is located. However, if core bathroom facilities are on the same floor as the school and are within 300 feet of the school and the school has access to them at all times, those facilities can be identified on the floor plan and used for purposes of 240 CMR, however, the school will remain responsible for ensuring those facilities remain safe and sanitary. Note that these bathrooms must be handicap accessible (see ADA, 248 CMR, 521 CMR).

B. Cosmetology schools

- (1) a clinic area for at least 25 students, with not less than 20 square feet of area for each student;
- (2) a lecture room with a minimum of 25 chairs properly equipped for demonstration or practical purposes; and
- (3) a basic room completely separated from the lecture and clinic rooms sufficiently large to accommodate 25 students.

C. Aesthetic schools

- (1) A clinic room of no less than 600 square feet, to be used exclusively for the teaching of aesthetics and containing all necessary equipment for clinical training.
- (2) A lecture room of no less than 400 square feet, with arm chairs or desks and chairs for a minimum of 12 students. The lecture room must be available for at least one period per day for exclusive use for instruction in aesthetics.
- (3) A reception area and an office area.

D. Manicuring schools

(1) A clinic room of not less than 600 square feet to be used exclusively for the teaching of manicuring and containing all necessary equipment for practical training.

- (2) A lecture room of not less than 400 square feet, with a minimum of 12 arm chairs or desks and chairs. The lecture room must be available for at least one period per day for exclusive use for instruction in manicuring.
- (3) A reception area.
- (4) An office area.

E. Advanced schools

- (1) Premises on which advanced seminars are to be offered shall be sufficiently large to accommodate not more than one participant per 20 square feet of area.
- (2) The premises on which advanced seminars are offered shall have separate lavatories for men and women.

F. NOTE FOR ALL SCHOOL FLOOR PLANS

Floor plans must reference spaces used for administrative purposes, offices, and any other uses, these uses cannot be commingled with the dedicated rooms required above.

4. Review equipment requirements

A. Cosmetology Schools¹

- (1) ten shampoo sinks and chairs
- (2) 25 all-purpose chairs
- (3) ten dryers with accompanying chairs
- (4) two marcel stoves and irons
- (5) one heat lamp
- (6) one steamer
- (7) six heating caps
- (8) ten manicure tables
- (9) ten manicure sterilizers
- (10) 12 complete sets of cold waving equipment
- (11) 25 wet hospital grade sterilizers or more as needed for one per student
- (12) two haircutting clippers with attachments
- (13) one locker per student
- (14) first aid kit

B. Aesthetic school

(1) brush massage unit for face, neck, decolletage, body treatment, abrasive treatment and peeling (one unit for every 12 students)

¹ Regulations also require dry sanitizers, however, such sanitizers may be carcinogenic, thus the Board is no longer enforcing their use.

- (2) two cold light magnifying lamps (per six students)
- (3) two infra-red lamps (per six students)
- (4) two treatment chairs (per six students)
- (5) one unit for iontophoresis and desincrustation for every 12 students
- (6) two vaporizer machines (per six students)
- (7) UV sterilizer for complete disinfection of instruments or hot-air sterilizer (per six students)
- (8) depilator for wax melting for depilation of the face and body (per six students)
- (9) one high frequency unit with electrodes for every 12 students
- (10) sink with hot and cold running water (per six students)
- (11) first aid kit

C. Manicuring school

- (1) 12 manicuring tables with lamps, drawers and chairs/stools (per 12 students)
- (2) 12 wet sanitizers (per 12 students)
- (3) 1 wet hospital grade sterilizer (per 12 students)
- (4) 3 sinks/hot/cold running water (per 12 students)
- (5) 12 covered waste containers (per 12 students)
- (6) 1 first aid kit (per 12 students)
- (7) 12 finger bowls (per 12 students)
- (8) 12 nail brushes (per 12 students)
- (9) 1 electrical hand held manicuring tool with bits (per 12 students)
- (10) 1 hot oil manicuring unit (per 12 students)
- (11) 4 dozen towels (per 12 students)
- (12) 12 foot basins (per 12 students)

D. Advanced school

- (1) four sinks
- (2) four all-purpose chairs, and seating accommodations for all participants.
- (3) Other equipment as needed

5. Scout possible locations for a facility

6. <u>Upon finding suitable facility, contact Board office at (617) 727-9940 to schedule initial</u> walkthrough of facility, (it is recommended that no leases or property purchases take place until after this walkthrough).

7. <u>Prepare draft floor plan showing the following:</u>

- A. Required facilities for particular type of school
- B. Location of bathrooms
- C. Location of required sinks (based on school type)

- 8. <u>Choose name for prospective school.</u>
 - A. Name must indicate school is not a salon.
 - B. Schools cannot use names incorrectly suggesting the school provides healing or medical benefits. Names such as "healing", "medical", "med", "clinical" or "wellness," etc. are prohibited.
- 9. Submit name of school and floor plan to Board office obtain tentative approval.
- 10. <u>Schedule meet and greet with Board (new schools only)</u>
- 11. Prepare administrative requirements for school
 - A. Obtain any needed local permits
 - (1) Building, plumbing, electrical permits
 - (2) Occupancy permit
 - (3) Business Certificate (for "DBA's")
 - B. If desired, create business entity (LLC, Corporation, etc.)
 - C. Obtain bond (Board approved form MUST be used)
 - (1) Cosmetology Schools \$20,000
 - (2) Aesthetic Schools \$10,000 if enrollments do not exceed 25 students, \$20,000 if enrollments are 25 students or more
 - (3) Manicuring Schools \$10,000
 - (4) Advanced Schools \$5,000
 - D. Prepare enrollment agreement/student contract (see below).
 - E. Prepare school catalog/school policies (see below)
 - F. Prepare curriculum, must be based on Board regulations
 - G. Obtain licensed instructors for school:
 - A. Cosmetology schools 1 Type 4 instructor per 12 students
 - B. Aesthetic school 1 Type 8 instructor per 12 students
 - C. Manicuring school 1 Type 4 instructor per 12 students
 - D. Advanced school 1 Type 4 or Type 8 instructor per 8 students (must match subject matter being taught)
 - H. Finalize floor plan

- 12. <u>Obtain Board approval for floor plan, bond, enrollment agreement, curriculum, and school catalog (include checklists!).</u>
- 13. <u>Begin advertising "prospective school", choose prospective opening date (at least one month after Board approval referenced in #11).</u>
- 14. <u>Submit signed copies of contracts to Board (25 for cosmetology schools, 12 for all other school types)</u>, also submit instructor list.
- 15. Contact Board office at (617) 727-9940 to schedule final walkthrough of facility.
- 16. Upon approval of final walkthrough, submit paper application and fee.
 - A. If school uses a business entity, note the following:
 - (1) If incorporated, submit a copy of the Articles of Incorporation,
 - (2) if partnership or LLP, a copy of partnership agreement, for LLCs, include a copy of Certificate of Organization.
 - (3) foreign entities must be registered as such with the Massachusetts Secretary of State's Office.
 - B. The individual signing the application is the applicant of record. The applicant of record does not need to hold ownership in the school, but must agree to be held accountable for the school adhering to all laws and regulations applicable to schools.
 - (1) For corporations, the applicant of record must be an officer of the corporation.
 - (2) For partnerships and LLP's, each partner must sign the bottom of the application as an applicant, however, one partner must be the listed applicant on the form who agrees to handle Board matters on behalf of the partnership.
 - (3) for LLC's, the owner of record must be a manager (or member if member managed).
- 17. <u>Upon approval, school is licensed and may open, all changes thereafter must be approved by the Board in writing.</u>



CHARLES D. BAKER GOVERNOR

KARYN E. POLITO LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

JAY ASH SECRETARY OF HOUSING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

NAME OF SCHOOL: __

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure BOARD OF REGISTRATION OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERING

1000 Washington Street • Boston • Massachusetts • 02118

JOHN C. CHAPN UNDERSECRETARY (CONSUMER AFFAIRS A BUSINESS REGULATI

CHARLES BORS
DIRECTOR, DIVISION
PROFESSIONAL LICENS

Enrollment Agreement/Student Contract Checklist

	-	must be included in each enrollment agreement/contract. A copy of this by the Board for school approval. Schools may not use a non-approved		
Step 1 – Write	e your so	chool name on the lines found on each page of this checklist		
Step 2 – In the	e space j	provided below, list the <u>page number</u> where the item may be found.		
Step 3 – Attach a copy of the Enrollment Agreement/Student Contract				
on the enrolln place circled where the iter	nent agro letters of n is loca	this checklist has a circled letter (see below). The Board would like to see eement/student contract itself where each item is located. <u>Using blue ink</u> , a the copy of the enrollment agreement/student contract itself to show ited. For example, note below that tuition is required to be listed on the of the contract you are submitting to the Board, where tuition is found, the		
Board should	be able	to see "©" in blue ink.		
Step 5 – Read date it.	the cert	tification at the end of this form, once you understand and agree, sign and		
PAGE NO.				
	(A)	List type of program offered: Cosmetology, Aesthetics, Manicuring, or Advanced		
	B	List the clock hours required for the program, 1000, 300, 100, or 8 to 80		

ENROLLMENT AGREEMENT/STUDENT CONTRACT CHECKLIST CONTINUED

 ©	Length of Program (start and end dates)
 0	Class Schedule (days per week and maximum number of hours per day)
 €	List time that is not included in hours (i.e. lunch, breaks, etc.)
 E	Tuition
 G	Books and Supplies (must be separate from tuition)
 Θ	Application/Registration Fee (\$50 maximum, none if withdrawn within 5 days of agreement date if program hasn't started). See M.G.L. c. 255, \$13K(7).
 ①	Refund policy – Must match M.G.L. c. 255, §13K.
 <u></u>	Types of Payments accepted listed (credit cards, loans, etc.)
 (Grounds for termination (insubordination, unexcused absences, etc.)
	Employment Assistance – A clear statement that the institution does not guarantee employment.
 M	Attendance requirements, including any charges for makeup hours
 N	Additional graduation requirements (grades, etc.). Put n/a if none
 0	Signature areas for enrollee and representative of school

I certify under pains and penalties of perjury that my school's enrollment agreement/student contact meets the above requirements and that I will only use a Board approved agreement.

Signature Date

Title

Print Name

ENROLLMENT AGREEMENT/STUDENT CONTRACT CHECKLIST CONTINUED

Catalog/Brochure Checklist

NAME OF SCHOOL:				
	y the Boar	must be included in each catalog/brochure. A copy of this checklist is ed for school approval. Schools may not use a non-approved		
Step 1 – W	Vrite your	school name on the lines found on each page of this checklist		
Step 2 – In	the space	e provided below, list the <u>page number</u> where the item may be found.		
Step 3 – A	ttach a co	py of the Catalog/Brochure		
on the cata the copy of that tuition	alog/broch f the catal n is require	on this checklist has a circled letter (see below). The Board would like to see ure itself where each item is located. <u>Using blue ink</u> , <u>place circled letters on og/brochure</u> to show where the item is located. For example, note below ed to be listed on the catalog, on the copy of the catalog you are submitting to tion is found, the Board should be able to see " \oplus " in blue ink.		
Step 5 – R date it.	ead the ce	ertification at the end of this form, once you understand and agree, sign and		
PAGE NO	<u>).</u>			
	A	Name and address of the school, information about the owner, and each location.		
	B	Date of catalog.		
	©	List type of program offered: Cosmetology, Aesthetics, Manicuring, or Advanced		
	(D)	List the clock hours required for the program, 1000, 300, 100, or 8 to 80		
	€	Class Schedule (days per week and maximum number of hours per day)		
	(F)	Yearly School Calendar – List all holidays, weekly schedule, hours per		

	day, describe if programs are broken down (i.e. day or night), list days and list hours associated with each program. (i.e. Day program Monday to Thursday, 7.5 hours per day)
 G	List time that is not included in hours (i.e. lunch, breaks, etc.)
 \oplus	Tuition
 ()	Books and Supplies (must be separate from tuition)
 <u> </u>	Application/Registration Fee (\$50 maximum, none if withdrawn within 5 days of agreement date if program hasn't started). See M.G.L. c. 255, \$13K(7).
 (Refund policy – Must match M.G.L. c. 255, §13K.
	Types of Payments accepted listed (credit cards, loans, etc.)
 \bigcirc	Grounds for termination (insubordination, unexcused absences, etc.)
 (N)	Absence policy, including tardiness and makeup work, include any charges for makeup hours
 0	Employment Assistance – A clear statement that the institution does not guarantee employment.
 P	Additional graduation requirements (grades, etc.). List n/a if none
 0	Certificate or other document that is awarded upon graduation
 ®	Statement that the institution adheres to Massachusetts and Federal non-discrimination laws and policies.
 S	Scholarship and tuition waiver policies. List n/a if none

	Print	Name Title
	Signa	nture Date
•	-	and penalties of perjury that my school's catalog/brochure meets the above at I will only use a Board approved catalog/brochure.
	\bigcirc	Code of conduct and dress code
	0	Provide the address and telephone number of the Board of Cosmetology
	(T)	List any other services provided (housing, career counseling, etc.) List n/a if none