
APPLICATION FOR RETURN TO ACTIVE STATUS 
 

Prior to returning to Active Status, a licensee must:  

 

 complete 50 hours of Continuing Medical Education (CME) Credits pursuant to Board 

Policy 17-05 (attached); and 

 obtain professional liability insurance coverage. The requirement for professional liability 

insurance coverage applies only to physicians engaging in any direct or indirect patient care 

in Massachusetts. 

 

1. NAME:  
(Print Name) 

 

2. MAILING ADDRESS:  

 

  
       (City)       (State)  (Zip Code) 

 

 

3. LICENSE REGISTRATION NUMBER:_________________________ 

 

 

4. HAVE YOU COMPLETED THE CME REQUIREMENTS AS REQUIRED BY BOARD POLICY 

17-05:      

 

Check one:     YES        NO 

 

Please provide the number of CME credits completed in each category: 

 

Category 1 credits __________   Risk Management Category 1 credits _______ 

 

Category 2 credits __________   Risk Management Category 2 credits _______ 

 

 

5. DEMONSTRATING EHR PROFICIENCY: 

 

a)  I have demonstrated proficiency in the use of EHR by: 

 

Check one: 

 

□ Participation in a Meaningful Use program as an eligible professional; 

 

□ Employment with, credentialed to provide patient care at, or in a contractual 

agreement with an eligible hospital or critical access hospital with a CMS 

Meaningful Use program;   

 

□ Participation as either a Participant or an Authorized User in the Massachusetts 

Health Information Highway; or 

 

□ Completion of 3 hours of a Category 1 EHR-related CPD course that discusses, at a 

minimum, the core and menu objectives and the Clinical Quality Measures for 

Meaningful Use. 

 

 



 

 

b)  I am exempt from the EHR Proficiency requirement, during this licensing cycle because: 

 

        Check one: 

 

□ I will not be engaged in the practice of medicine as defined in 243 CMR 2.01(4); or 

 

□ I am on active duty as a member of the National Guard or of a uniformed service 

called into service during a national emergency or crisis. 

 

6. PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE:  As a condition of rendering any direct or indirect 

patient care in the Commonwealth, a physician is required to obtain medical malpractice insurance.  

Please provide the following information: 

 

□ Name of Carrier   

 

Policy Start Date: ____________________ 

 

Policy End Date:  ____________________ 

Coverage Type:     

o Claims with tail coverage 

o Occurrence Policy 

 

□ Letter of Credit:     YES        NO      (If “yes”, you must provide documentation.) 

 

□ I am exempt from the requirement to obtain medical malpractice insurance for the following 

reasons: 

 

    I am not involved in any direct or indirect patient care 

 

  I am otherwise exempt (please specify below) 

 

  

 

APPLICANT’S STATEMENT 
 

I hereby certify under the penalties of perjury that all information on this application is true. 

 

 

SIGNATURE:________________________________________ DATE:_____/______/  

 

 

EMAIL ADDRESS: ___________________________________ 

 

 

Please fax the completed form to the attention of the Renewals Coordinator at the Board of Registration 

in Medicine at (781) 876-8383. 

 

 
Return to Active Status form – Rev. 01.16.2018 

 

 

 



COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS 

 

BOARD OF REGISTRATION IN MEDICINE 

 

A CME PILOT PROGRAM 

 

POLICY 2017- 05 

 

Adopted October 26, 2017 

Amended November 22, 2017 

 

Many physicians have told the Board of Registration in Medicine (Board) that Continuing 

Medical Education (CME) courses do not address issues related to the day-to-day practice. A 

large majority of physician learning is targeted to the specific types of patients the physician 

sees, and this involves point of care learning. When the CME requirements were put in place, 

many physicians did not have access to advanced technology, smart phones and other alternative 

ways to learn. In addition, the Board has examined its CME requirements and has learned that 

Massachusetts has among the highest number of CME requirements in the country.
1
  In an effort 

to improve our physicians’ educational experience, and thereby improve patient safety, the Board 

is implementing a CME Pilot Program that enables physicians to target their learning around the 

patients they see. 

 

The Board’s CME Pilot Program, covering one biennial period, will begin on January 1, 2018. 

Each licensee shall obtain no fewer than 50 continuing medical education (also referred to as 

continuing professional development or CPD) credits. Credits shall be earned from an 

organization accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education 

(ACCME), the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), the American Academy of Family 

Physicians (AAFP) or a state medical society recognized by the ACCME or from material used 

for point of care. 

 

Under the CME Pilot Program, licensees are still required to take the existing specialized CME 

requirements, but with the following changes: 

 

 2 CME credit in End-of-Life Care issues, as a one-time requirement; 

 3 CME credits in opioid education and pain management if the physician prescribes 

controlled substances; 

 10 CME credits in Risk Management, which may be Category 1 or 2;  

 2 CME credits for studying each chapter of the Board’s regulations, 243 CMR 1.00 – 

3.00 and these credits may be applied to the Risk Management requirement; 

 3 CME credits in electronic health records as required under M.G.L. c. 112, § 2, a one-

time requirement; 

 The child abuse and neglect training required under M.G.L. c. 51A(k), a one-time 

requirement; 

 The domestic violence and sexual violence training required under M.G.L. c. 112, § 264, 

a one-time requirement. 

 

                                                 
1
 Federation of State Medical Boards, U.S. Medical Regulatory Trends and Actions, Continuing Medical Education 

Requirements, (2016). 



During the Pilot Program, biennial CME credits required may be in alternative learning formats 

such as quality assurance, self or practice audits, HEDIS® reports, meeting MACRA measures, 

etc. In addition, licensees may claim 1.00 credit for every hour of reading a journal or a point of 

care (POC) resource accessed in the process of delivering patient care or updating clinical 

knowledge. 

 

Licensees will attest, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that they have completed each 

activity during their biennial licensing period. 

 

This Policy sets the minimum mandatory CME requirement as 50 credits for a biennial licensing 

period. Many physicians will do more, and the Board encourages and supports that. There is no 

restriction on the amount of continuing medical education credits that licensees may voluntarily 

obtain during the Pilot Program. The goal of this program is to allow physicians to target CME 

studies that will expand their knowledge and improve their weaknesses, while enhancing patient 

safety efforts. 

 

During the Pilot Program, the Board will be gathering physicians’ opinions and experience, with 

the goal of making some permanent regulatory amendments. We will consider the content of 

successful CME programs and evaluate different methods of CME that go beyond the traditional 

lecture or grand rounds formats. 

 

The Board will issue additional guidelines further explaining the new CME requirements in the 

near future 
 


