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5.01: General Requirements

264 CMR 5.01 does not apply to temporary licenses. Criteria for such levels of licensure are contained
in 264 CMR 7.00.

1)

()

(3)

(4)

All other applicants for licensure or certification must:

€)) demonstrate that he or she is of good moral character with a reputation for honesty,
trustworthiness, and integrity;

(b) meet the requirements for the level of license or certificate for which he or she is
applying; and

(c) successfully undergo any background screening mandated by the AQB in accordance
with federal law, 12 U.S.C. 3345(a).

Individuals applying for a license or certificate may be awarded primary education credit for
primary education classroom hours previously credited in an application for a different level
license or certificate.

Credit awarded in fulfilling continuing education renewal requirements may also be awarded to
satisfy primary education requirements when an individual seeks a different level license or
certificate than that held, providing the educational offering meets the criteria for primary
education.

In accordance with the AQB mandates in accordance with federal law, 12 U.S.C. 3345(a), all
applicants for licensure or certification shall be subject to new and additional AQB requirements.
It shall be the responsibility of each applicant to ensure compliance with any and all criteria
published by the Appraisal Foundation in force and effect, including the AQB Real Property
Appraiser Qualification Criteria and Interpretations pursuant to federal law, 12 U.S.C. 3345(a).
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5.02: Requirements For Real Estate Appraisal Trainee Licensure

Each applicant shall complete 75 classroom hours of primary education in real estate appraisal. All
courses shall be approved by the Board and shall satisfy the education criteria set forth in 264 CMR
9.00: Course Approval Requirements for Providers of Primary and Continuing Education and 5.09 and
the Core Curriculum adopted by the AQB in accordance with federal law, 12 U.S.C. 3345(a).
Notwithstanding 264 CMR 5.08, all education must be completed within five years of the date of
application for a real estate appraisal trainee license. Applicants must also complete a Board approved
course regarding the requirements and responsibilities of trainees and supervisory appraisers which
meets the criteria of the AQB in accordance with federal law, 12 U.S.C. 3345(a).

5.03: Requirements for State-Licensed Real Estate Appraisers

Each applicant shall:

(1)

)

(3)

(4)

Pass the Massachusetts Examination for State-Licensed Real Estate Appraisers or an equivalent
examination approved by the Board,;

Complete 150 classroom hours of primary education in real estate appraisal education;
Hold an Associate’s Degree or higher from an accredited college or university or must have
successfully completed 30 semester hours of college-level education from an accredited college

or university;

Complete 2,000 hours of real estate appraisal experience over a minimum period of 24 months;
and,

5.04: Requirements for State-Certified Residential Real Estate Appraisers

Each applicant shall:

(1)

)
©)
(4)

Pass the Massachusetts Examination for State-Certified Real Estate Appraisers or an equivalent
examination approved by the Board,;

Complete 200 classroom hours of primary education in real estate appraisal;
Hold a Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university; and

Complete 2,500 hours of real estate appraisal experience over a minimum of 24 months.

5.05: Requirements for State-Certified General Real Estate Appraisers

Each applicant shall:
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(1)

)
©)
(4)

Pass the Massachusetts Examination for State-Certified General Real Estate Appraisers or an
equivalent examination approved by the Board;

Complete 300 classroom hours of primary education in real estate appraisal; and

Hold a Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university; and,

Complete 3,000 hours over a minimum period of at least 30 months of real estate appraisal
experience. At least 50% of the experience must be non-residential appraisal experience.

5.06: Experience Criteria

(1)

The following specifications apply to the experience requirements for all classifications of
licensure and certification.

Experience may include but is not limited, to fee and staff appraisal, ad valorem tax appraisal,
review appraisal analysis, real estate counseling, highest and best use analysis, and feasibility
analysis/study.

(@)

()

(©)

(d)

(€)

()

Ad valorem tax appraisers shall demonstrate that they use techniques to value properties
similar to those used by real estate appraisers and that they effectively use the appraisal
process.

Components of the mass appraisal process that shall be given credit are highest and best
use analysis, model specification (developing the model) and model calibration
(developing adjustments to the model). Mass appraisals shall be performed in
accordance with USPAP Standards Rule 6. Other components of the mass appraisal
process by themselves shall not be eligible for experience credit.

Review appraisals, signed by the Reviewer, which are in compliance with USPAP
Standards Rule 3 may be awarded experience credit up to a maximum of 50% of the total
experience requirement. The remaining experience requirement must be met by
experience in appraisal report writing in compliance with USPAP Standard Rule 2.

Appraisal analysis, real estate counseling, and feasibility analysis/study are defined in the
USPAP as market analysis, consulting and feasibility analysis, respectively. Experience
credit will be awarded for these functions when they are performed in accordance with
USPAP.

A comparative market analysis (“CMA”) awarded experience credit when the valuation
is prepared in conformity with USPAP Standards Rules 1 and 2.

All report writing must be performed in compliance with USPAP to qualify for
experience credit.
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()

©)

(4)

(5)

(9) Experience credit will only be awarded when the applicant has performed or been
directly involved in at least 75% of the appraisal process not including the site inspection
for any particular appraisal. The extent of this involvement must be documented in the
appraisal report.

An hour of experience is defined as actual verifiable time spent performing tasks in accordance
with 264 CMR 5.06 for which reports or file data can be provided.

Experience hours may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the necessary hours of
appraisal experience; however, in accordance with 264 CMR 5.06, a minimum number of
calendar months are required.

All experience to be utilized for purposes of obtaining a license must have been obtained after
January 31, 1989 and must be USPAP compliant.

All experience must be earned as an appraisal trainee or appraiser-in-training in compliance with
264 CMR 6.00: Practice of Real Estate Appraisal.

5.07: Experience Audits.

1)

)

The Board or its agents may conduct an audit or request additional documentation to verify an
applicant’s claimed experience. Applicants may only claim verifiable experience for which they
can provide reports or file data upon a request from the Board

If an applicant fails to appear before the Board for a scheduled audit or otherwise respond to the
Board without good cause within six months of such request, the Board may deny an application
for licensure. If an application is denied for failure to appear before the Board for a scheduled
audit or provide requested documentation or otherwise respond to the Board within six months of
such request, a new application must be filed and application fee paid by the applicant.

5.08: Primary Education Criteria

The following specifications apply to the Primary Education requirements for all classifications of
licensure or certification:

(1)

)

Applicants shall submit official documentation to the Board indicating completion of each course
taken to satisfy primary education criteria. It shall be the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that
the course provider verifies the number of classroom hours, the length of the education offering,
and that the applicant successfully completed an appropriate examination for the course.

Credit will only be granted once for courses taken repeatedly.
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©)
(4)

()

(6)

(7)

5.09:

(1)

)

(3)

Experience may not be substituted for education.

Credit toward the classroom hour requirement may be awarded for classroom hours previously
credited in an application for a different classification of license or certificate.

Except for a Trainee Applicant as provided in 264 CMR 5.02, there is no time frame within
which Primary Education credit must be obtained.

Primary Education courses must be approved pursuant to 264 CMR 9.00 prior to the time the
applicant completes the course.

All primary education courses must be approved by the Board and satisfy the Education Criteria
set forth in 264 CMR 5.09, and 9.00: Course Approval Requirements for Providers of Primary
and Continuing Education, and the Core Curriculum adopted by the AQB

Required Core Curricula

Appraisal Trainee

@ 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Principles

(b) 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures

(© 15 hour National USPAP or National USPAP Equivalency Course Approved by the AQB
and the Board

State Licensed Appraiser
@) 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Principles
(b) 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures

(©) 15 hour National USPAP or National USPAP Equivalency Course Approved by the AQB
and the Board

(d) 15 hours in Residential Market Analysis and Highest and best use
(e) 15 hours Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach
()] 30 hours Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches
(9) 15 hours Residential Report Writing and Case Studies

Certified Residential Appraiser

@ 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Principles
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(4)

(b)
(©

(d)
(€)
()
(9)
(h)
(i)
()

30 hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures

15 hour National USPAP or National USPAP Equivalency Course Approved by the AQB
and the Board

15 hours in Residential Market Analysis and Highest and best use
15 hours Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach
30 hours Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches
15 hours Residential Report Writing and Case Studies

15 hours Statistics, Modeling and Finance

15 hours Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies

20 hours Appraisal Subject Matter Electives — may include additional hours in above
topics

Certified General Appraiser

(@)
(b)
(©

(d)
(€)
()
(9)
(h)
(i)
()

30 hours in Basic Appraisal Principles
30 hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures

15 hour National USPAP or National USPAP Equivalency Course Approved by the AQB
and the Board

30 hours in General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use
15 hours Statistics, Modeling and Finance

30 hours in General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approaches

30 hours in General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach

60 hours in General Appraiser Income Approach

30 hours in General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies

30 hours in Other Appraisal Subject Matter Primary Courses — This may include
additional hours in above topics



