Department of Conservation and Recreation Division of State Parks and Recreation 740 South Street, PO Box 1433 Pittsfield, MA 01202

FY 2019 Timber Harvester License Application

Expires June 30, 2019

PROCEDURE FOR OBTAINING A MASSACHUSETTS TIMBER HARVESTING LICENSE:

1. <u>Fill out the attached license application</u>

Fill out all sections of the attached forms; incomplete applications will be returned to applicant. M.G.L. c. 132, §46 a provision of the Forest Cutting Practices Law, provides: "No person, firm or corporation engaged in the business of harvesting timber or other forest products for hire or profit shall cut such products on land devoted to forest purposes and for purposes not exempted by [M.G.L. c. 132, § 44] without first obtaining a license to do so from the director who is hereby authorized to issue such licenses, and to withhold or revoke such licenses, after hearing for failure to comply with sections 42 to 46, inclusive."

The legislature provides a penalty of not more than \$500.00 for each violation of this law, which requires that a license be outstanding in the name of the person, firm or corporation actually cutting forest products, whether on the land of the license holder or the land of another.

2. Mail license application and fee to:

MA Timber Harvesting License Dept. of Conservation and Recreation PO Box 1433 Pittsfield, MA 01202

The fee for this license is **\$15.00 for Massachusetts residents and \$30.00 for non-residents; this fee is non-refundable.**

3. <u>Testing and Continuing Education Requirement</u>

M.G.L. c. 132, § 46 provides: "Applicants [for timber harvesting licenses] shall demonstrate general familiarity with the laws of the commonwealth that concern timber harvesting and provide the director [of the Department of State Parks and Recreation] such reasonable information as he [or she] may require concerning the amount and type of forest products cut by [the applicant] during the previous year." This provision refers to loggers of sawtimber and cordwood, including those connected with sawmills.

Therefore, prior to the issuance of a harvesting license, all applicants must initially pass a timber harvester licensing exam. If your license has expired, then you must also retake and pass the next available timber harvester exam. You will be notified of the upcoming exam schedule. Applicants that have been continuously licensed for three or more years may waive the examination requirement by showing proof of meeting the continuing education requirements. See attached "Continuing Education Summary."

4. License Period

All timber harvester licenses are issued on a fiscal year calendar. Annually, licenses are valid from July 1st thru June 30th.

Please note that all licenses expire on June 30th of each year

Continuing Education Summary

All applicants who have had their Timber Harvester's License (THL) over three (3) consecutive years or more, must fill out this form with your Continuing Education credits. You must show 9 hours of education credits to recertify your current THL.

<u>Failure to fill out this form will result in written notification to take and pass the next scheduled THL</u> exam to continue to operate in Massachusetts.

(If you have had your license <u>fewer than 3 years</u> you do not need to fill out this Continuing Education Summary form.)

Course/class/training/workshop/name:	Location	Date	Hours	Instructor/sponsor

Total Hours: _____

Applicant signature: _____ Date: _____

RECERTIFICATION	
FOR EVERYONE	All licensed harvesters, including those employees identified on their employer's license applications (one for each employee),
	must each accumulate nine (9) continuing education hours within each three (3) year recertification period.
CONTACT HOURS	Each licensed harvester, (including employees listed on an employer's Timber harvesting licenses – one approved Timber
	Harvester's License for each employee with a separate THL number for each assigned person), is required to attend nine
	hours of continuing education within each three year recertification period. Each sixty minutes of training equals one "contact
	hour" of continuing education. Three (3) of these nine (9) hours, must focus on the Massachusetts Forest Cutting Practices Act
	(M.G.L. chapter 132, sections 40 to 46) - Rules and Regulations 302 CMR 16.00: FOREST CUTTING
	PRACTICES, sponsored by the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation, Service Forestry Program. The
	remaining six (c) hours of continuing education can facus on a wide variety of subjects including, but not limited to watland

<u>PRACTICES</u>, sponsored by the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation, Service Forestry Program. The remaining six (6) hours of continuing education can focus on a wide variety of subjects including, but not limited to: wetland identification, wetland values and functions, rare species habitat protection, safety, business management, equipment maintenance, new equipment technologies, communication skills, natural resource management, forest product measurement, grading lumber or standing timber, wildlife management, and forestry engineering.

APPLICATION FOR MASSACHUSETTS HARVESTING LICENSE

Expires June 30, 2019

FY 2019

,, being 18 years of age or older, hereby apply to the Director of Stat							
Print Full Name							
Parks and Recreation for (check the appro	priate one),						
a license for the harvesting of forest	products for myself.						
a license for the harvesting of forest products under the coverage of the comp							
this is an application for license re	enewal						
this is an application for a new lice	ense* this is an applicat	tion for an expired license*					
I will use the intern	cense or application for an expir study material and test dates/loo net for study material and listing <u>vice-forestry</u> (look for link to "Tim	cations mailed to me g of test dates/locations					
	s: \$15.00 for Massachusetts, \$30 All licenses expire on June 30 th o SEND CASH) made payable to	of each year					
Commonwealth	of Massachusetts, Timber Harve	esting License					
POBox	ber Harvesting License Conservation and Recreation 1433, PITTSFIELD, MA. 01202 Fom Ryan, DCR Forester	2					
ALL ATTACHED FORMS MU	JST BE COMPLETED AND SU	UBMITTED WITH THE APPLICATION					
STATEMENT OF 1	TAX COMPLIANCE for TIMB	ER HARVESTING LICENSE					
Pursuant to Chapter 233 of the Acts o	f 1983, section 36:						
T	individus	ally or as authorized signatory for					
Applicant							
Name of Business		, whose principal place of business is at					
(Street, Town, State)							
do hereby certify under the pains and	penalties of perjury that	(* Name of Business)					
has complied with all the laws of the the applicant when acting individually	Commonwealth relating to ta	axes. "Name of Business" may be the name of					
Signature	Date	Social Security No. or FEIN					

Please provide the contact information where you would like to receive the license, notifications for continuing education and renewal notices. This information will be used to produce the Directory of Massachusetts Licensed Timber Harvesters.

BUSINESS /FOREST PRODUCTS INFORMATION

APPLICANT NAME:					
FIRM NAME:					
MAILING ADDRESS:	_				
TOWN/STATE/ZIP CODE:					
CONTACT PERSON (IF OTHER THAN APPLICANT):					
TELEPHONE: (INCLUDE AREA CODE):					
EMAIL ADDRESS: @	-				
Do you want your contact info to be listed in the directory? Yes No.					
1. REQUIRED: INFORMATION FOR THE PERIOD FROM JULY 1, 2017 THROUGH JUNE 30 TH 2018.	**				
Please check the appropriate choices listed below:					
A. SAWTIMBER LOGGER B. PULPWOOD LOGGER C. FIREWOOD DEALER WHOLESALE RETAIL					
D. SAWMILL OPERATOR E. PALLET MANUFACTURER F. WHOLE TREE CHIPPER					
2. <u>PRODUCTION (ESTIMATED ANNUAL)</u>					
A THOUSAND BOARD FEET (MBF)					
B% HARDWOOD	% HARDWOOD				
C% SOFTWOOD					
D FIREWOOD CORDS					
E PULPWOOD CORDS	PULPWOOD CORDS				
F WHOLE TREE CHIPS (TONS)	WHOLE TREE CHIPS (TONS)				
3. <u>WORK HISTORY</u>					
 A. How many years has your company been operating? years. B. How many workers do you employ? (including yourself) employee(s) C. Did you hold a valid Massachusetts Timber Harvesting License for the last fiscal year? Yes No. D. Are you an employee of the applicant? Yes No. 					
Please circle the equipment that you use in your day to day operation. Log truck, Forwarder, Whole tree chipper, Feller Buncher,					
Skidder, Horses, Portable Sawmill, Other					

NO LICENSE WILL BE ISSUED WITHOUT THE ABOVE REQUIRED INFORMATION

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY;

FY 2019 (EXPIRES JUNE 30, 2019)

LICENSE NUMBER _____ DATE OF ISSUE _____

CHECK NUMBER ______ CEU CYCLE YEAR _____