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TNC Inspection Implementation
What is a TNC Inspection?
 As required by the laws regulating Transportation Network Companies (“TNCs”) in 

Massachusetts, all vehicles being used by a TNC driver must receive an additional inspection 
along with their annual state inspection.

Where can I get a TNC Inspection?
 You can obtain a TNC inspection at any state licensed inspection station. 
 All state licensed inspection stations must provide a TNC inspection when requested.

What is the cost of a TNC Inspection?
 The cost is $15.00.

How do I show proof that my car passed its TNC Inspection?
 A Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) will be presented after the inspection is passed.  There is 

no sticker.  The VIR must be presented upon request from law enforcement or passenger.

Is there an additional sticker for the vehicle?
 There is no additional sticker to be affixed to the vehicle.
 The inspector will provide a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) that States that the vehicle 

passed the Transportation Network Vehicle Inspection.
 The VIR must be in the vehicle to be presented upon request.
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When is a TNC Inspection due?
 Massachusetts Registered Vehicles: TNC inspection is due at the vehicle’s next state 

inspection and every year thereafter.

 Out of State Registered Vehicles With a Home-State Inspection: TNC inspection must 
be done by the last day of the month of the home-state inspection expiration and every 
year thereafter.
 For example, if you have an April 2019 inspection sticker, you must have your TNC 

inspection completed by April 30, 2019. 

 Out of State Registered Vehicle Without a Home- State inspection program (e.g., 
Connecticut)  or one that is  less frequent than every year (e.g., Rhode Island):  
 Existing Network Vehicles - TNC inspection must be done by September 30, 

2019 and every year thereafter.
 Vehicles Entering after September 30, 2019 – TNC inspection must be done 

within 60-days of joining the network.

 Rental Vehicles:  
 Existing Network Vehicles - TNC inspection must be done by September 30, 

2019 and every year thereafter.
 Vehicles Entering after September 30, 2019 – TNC inspection must be done within

60-days of joining the network.
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What if the vehicle fails the inspection?
 If the vehicle does not pass inspection any defective items must be fixed.

 There is a free re-test within 20 days.

 After 20 days payment for the new test is required.

What if I don’t get my TNC Inspection?
 If you fail to get a TNC Inspection within the time required you could be subject to 

a fine and a surcharge.

 Failure to comply may result in a revocation of a Driver’s Background Check 
Clearance Certificate.  
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What is included in a TNC Inspection?
The vehicle must have a Current Valid Annual State Inspection

TNC inspection includes the brakes and suspension systems as well as the interior 
items listed below:
 The vehicle’s heating, defrosting and air conditioning systems are in “good 

working order”
 All interior lights are operational and illuminate the interior of the vehicle.
 There are no holes, tears, sharp edges or springs or wires protruding in seats 

and interior panels.
 The open door warning devices are in proper operating condition for all doors.
 The vehicle’s interior rear-view mirror is securely affixed.
 Both of the operator and passenger sun visors are in place.
 The door and window handles, locks and interior panels are in good working 

order.
 There are no loose items on the front dash or rear shelf.
 The seats, including the areas beneath them, and the rear floor area are free 

from debris.
 The vehicle’s trunk is clean and free of debris.
 The vehicle’s doors and windows operate as designed.


