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PUBLIC HEARING NOTICE
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In accordance with the Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 131, Section 5, and Chapter 30A,
Section 2, NOTICE is hereby given of a public hearing to be held on Wednesday, May 15, 2019,
at 6:30 p.m., at the Division of Fisheries and Wildlife’s Field Headquarters, Richard Cronin

Building, 1 Rabbit Hill Road, off North Drive, Westborough, Massachusetts, to amend rules and

regulations relative to Hunting of Wild Turkey.

Mark S. Tisa, Ph.D., M.B.A.
Director

MASSWILDLIFE
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321 CMR: DIVISION OF FISHERIES AND WILDLIFE

Hunting of Wild Turkey in Massachusetts. In accordance with M.G.L. ¢. 131, § 5, the

Director shall declare an annual open season on wild turkeys, subject to the following:

(a) Definitions: For the purposes of 321 CMR 3.02(9), the following words or phrases shall
have the following meanings:

Online means a Division of Fisheries and Wildlife licensing and game harvest reporting
system accessible at the MassWildlife website that allows for automated licensing and game
harvest reporting, including issuance of an official seal via the internet.

Zone or Zones means the Massachusetts wildlife management zones as described in
321 CMR 3.02(4)(0).

(b) Open Season. The open season shall be in three periods, as follows:

1. In Zones 01 through 13, the spring period of the open season (hereafter “spring
season”) shall begin on the last Monday in April and end on the fourth Saturday
following.

2. In Zones 01 through 13, the fall period of the open season (hereafter “fall season”)
shall occur in concurrence with the exclusive archery deer season as specified in 321
CMR 3.02(4)(b)(2)(a). (See section 321 CMR 3.02(9)(h)(2) and (3) for permissible
hunting methods within the fall season.)

2:3. The open season for the mentored youth turkey hunt shall be as specified in
321 CMR 3.02(9)(c) and (1).

(c) Zones. A person shall not hunt a turkey during the spring season, fall season, or during
the mentored youth turkey hunt except in Zones 01 through 13.

(d) Hunting Hours. A person shall not hunt a wild turkey on any day during the spring
season erduringthe-mentoredyouthturkey-huntexcept during the period from 2 hour before
sunrise to 12:00 P.M._AAny person participating in the mentored youth
turkey hunt as defined in 321 CMR 3.02(9)(l) shall not hunt wild
turkey—during theexceptfor youth participatingin—except during the

period from % hour before sunrise until 5:00 p.m. -A person shall not hunt a
wild turkey on any day during the fall season except during the period from % hour
before sunrise to Y2 hour after sunset, except on wildlife management areas as provided
in321 CMR 3.01(1)(n) where the hunting hours shall be from sunrise to sunset.

(e) Bag Limit.
1. A person shall not kill, take, or possess more than twe-three wild turkeys in any
calendar year, provided that during the spring season, the bag limit and possession
limit shall be two bearded wild turkeys.
2. Durlng the faII season, the bag and possessmn limit shaII be one wild turkey of elther

3 NotW|thstand|ng 321 CMR 3. 02(9)(e)1 a minor 12 through 14 years of age who
participates in the mentored youth turkey hunt as specified in 321 CMR 3.02(9)(l) and
during the regular spring turkey hunting season as specified in 321 CMR 3.02(9)(b), may
not kill more than two bearded turkeys, which shall be in addition to the bag limit of his
adult mentor.

(F) Bearded Turkey Requirement. A person shall not Kill, take, or possess any wild turkey
during the spring season or the mentored youth turkey hunt unless said turkey is bearded.

(g) Permitand Tagging Requirements. A person shall not hunt, kill, take, or possess a wild
turkey unless he or she possesses on his or her person a permit so to do. Such permit shall
be valid only for the date or dates stipulated thereon. A person killing a wild turkey shall
immediately, before transporting or removing the carcass in any manner from where it was
killed, complete and attach to the carcass in a conspicuous manner that portion of the permit
designated "turkey tag”. Said turkey tag shall remain attached to the turkey until the turkey
is presented to a duly authorized person or checking station at which time the turkey tag shall
be surrendered upon request to the official agent in charge thereof or shall remain attached
to the turkey after being reported online. No person shall possess a detached turkey tag
except as described in 321 CMR 3.02(9)(g). Tags detached except as provided in 321 CMR
3.02(9)(g) shall be void and shall be surrendered to any officer empowered to enforce
321 CMR.
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(h) Permissible Hunting Methods.
1. During the spring season, aA person may hunt wild turkey only by
means of a bow and arrow as specified in 321 CMR 3.01(3) or a shotgun not larger
than ten gauge, and shot not larger than size four. -and-net-smaHerthan-size-seven-of

2. Beginning the sixth Monday prior to Thanksgiving and ending the second
Saturday thereafter, a person may hunt wild turkey only by means of either a bow
and arrow as specified in 321 CMR 3.01(3) or a shotgun not larger than ten gauge,
and shot not larger than size four.

3. At all other times during the fall season not specified in 321 CMR
3.02(9)(h)(2), a person may hunt wild turkey only by means of a bow and arrow as
specified in 321 CMR 3.01(3) in any Zone that has a concurrent exclusive archery
deer season as specified in 321 CMR 3.02(4)(b)(2)(a).

(i) Prohibitions. A person shall not hunt or take wild turkeys by means of or set or use any
bait, live decoys, electronic or electronically operated callers, nor any trap or other device
intended or designed for the purpose of capturing or ensnaring wild turkeys, nor shall any
person use or have control of, in any place where turkeys may be found, any dog or dogs
while hunting wild turkey, nor shall any person or persons drive, herd or take or attempt to
take by driving or herding any wild turkey or turkeys provided that nothing in 321 CMR
3.02(9)(i) shall be construed to prohibit the use of hand or mouth operated turkey calls by
persons otherwise lawfully hunting wild turkey.

() Safety Sticker Requirement. A person shall not hunt wild turkey with or by means of
a shotgun nor have a shotgun in his or her possession while hunting wild turkey, unless such
person has obtained a safety sticker as provided by the Director and applied said sticker to
his or her shotgun in such a manner as to be visible to the shooter when sighting down the
barrel of the shotgun. The Director is hereby authorized to provide such safety stickers of
a type and design as he or she may deem appropriate.

(k) Harvest Reporting: Except as provided in this 321 CMR 3.02(9)(k), within 48 hours
after killing a wild turkey its harvest shall be reported to the Division of Fisheries and
Wildlife by one of the following means:
1. Checking Station: The entire carcass shall be presented by the person who Killed the
wild turkey to a duly authorized person, or at a wild turkey checking station designated
bythe Director for the purpose of being recorded and examined for research purposes and
to have affixed thereto an official seal in such manner as prescribed by the Director; or
2. Online Reporting: The person who killed the wild turkey shall access the Online
system to report the harvest of the wild turkey. The person shall receive an Online
system confirmation number, which shall be the official seal issued by the Division of
Fisheries and Wildlife, and record the confirmation number on the tag affixed to the wild
turkey as prescribed in 321 CMR 3.02(9)(g).
3. The official seal shall remain affixed to the wild turkey until the animal is skinned,
cut up, or otherwise prepared for food purposes or for mounting by a taxidermist. The
official seal is non-transferable and shall be valid only for the bear or carcass to which
it is applied.
4. Any violation of the requirements of 321 CMR 3.02(9)(k) shall be heard in the
District Court for the location where the violation occurred.
The Director may establish an alternate checking process for persons participating in the
mentored youth turkey hunt. The Director may require, as a condition of checking,
that the hunter surrender breast feathers, wing tips, or other biological samples
from turkeys presented for checking.

() Youth Hunter Training Program.

1. The Director may establish standards, qualifications and curricula for a wild turkey
hunter youth training program and field exercise. Minors between the ages 12 through
17 years of age who successfully complete the training program and field exercise and
are properly enrolled with the Director may participate in a mentored hunt for wild turkey
(mentored youth turkey hunt) on the first Saturday prior to the last Monday in April. All
such minors must be accompanied by an adult licensed to hunt in Massachusetts and who
possesses a Massachusetts turkey hunting permit. No adult may be accompanied by more
than one minor, and no more than one firearm may be carried. The licensed adult may
not hunt, but may carry the minor's firearm when unloaded or cased and may use a turkey
caller to call for the minor. During this mentored youth turkey hunt, minors aged 12
through 14 years of age shall not be required to possess a hunting or sporting license.

2. The Director may issue minors 12 through 14 years of age who have successfully
completed the Youth Hunter Training Program requirements, or their adult mentors, a
special Massachusetts youth hunt turkey permit that is valid for the date of the mentored
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youth turkey hunt specified in the permit as well as for the duration of the regular spring
and fall hunting seasons, as provided in 321 CMR 3.02(9)(b)(1) and 321 CMR
3.02(9)(b)(2). All minors 12 through 14 years of age and their adult mentors shall
comply with the requirements of M.G.L. c. 131, § 14 and 321 CMR 3.02(9) while
hunting during the regular spring and fall hunting seasons.

3. Minors 15 through 17 years of age shall possess both a Massachusetts hunting or
sporting license and a valid Massachusetts turkey permit. All minors and their mentors
shall otherwise conform to all provisions of M.G.L. c. 131, and 321 CMR 3.02(9).
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321 CMR: DIVISION OF FISHERIES AND WILDLIFE

Hunting of Wild Turkey in Massachusetts. In accordance with M.G.L. ¢. 131, § 5, the

Director shall declare an annual open season on wild turkeys, subject to the following:

(a) Definitions: For the purposes of 321 CMR 3.02(9), the following words or phrases shall
have the following meanings:

Online means a Division of Fisheries and Wildlife licensing and game harvest reporting
system accessible at the MassWildlife website that allows for automated licensing and game
harvest reporting, including issuance of an official seal via the internet.

Zone or Zones means the Massachusetts wildlife management zones as described in
321 CMR 3.02(4)(0).

(b) Open Season. The open season shall be in three periods, as follows:
1. In Zones 01 through 13, the spring period of the open season (hereafter “spring
season”) shall begin on the last Monday in April and end on the fourth Saturday
following.
2. In Zones 01 through 13, the fall period of the open season (hereafter “fall season”)
shall occur in concurrence with the exclusive archery deer season as specified in 321
CMR 3.02(4)(b)(2)(a). (See section 321 CMR 3.02(9)(h)(2) and (3) for permissible
hunting methods within the fall season.)
3. The open season for the mentored youth turkey hunt shall be as specified in
321 CMR 3.02(9)(c) and (1.

(c) Zones. A person shall not hunt a turkey during the spring season, fall season, or during
the mentored youth turkey hunt except in Zones 01 through 13.

(d) Hunting Hours. A person shall not hunt a wild turkey on any day during the spring
season except during the period from % hour before sunrise to 12:00 P.M. Any person
participating in the mentored youth turkey hunt as defined in 321 CMR
3.02(9)(l) shall not hunt wild turkey except during the period from %
hour before sunrise until 5:00 p.m. A person shall not hunt a wild turkey on any
day during the fall season except during the period from %2 hour before sunrise to Y2
hour after sunset, except on wildlife management areas as provided in 321 CMR
3.01(2)(n) where the hunting hours shall be from sunrise to sunset.

(e) Bag Limit.
1. A person shall not kill, take, or possess more than three wild turkeys in any
calendar year, provided that during the spring season, the bag limit and possession
limit shall be two bearded wild turkeys.
2. During the fall season, the bag and possession limit shall be one wild turkey of either
Sex.
3. Notwithstanding 321 CMR 3.02(9)(e)1., a minor 12 through 14 years of age, who
participates in the mentored youth turkey hunt as specified in 321 CMR 3.02(9)(l) and
during the regular spring turkey hunting season as specified in 321 CMR 3.02(9)(b), may
not kill more than two bearded turkeys, which shall be in addition to the bag limit of his
adult mentor.

(F) Bearded Turkey Requirement. A person shall not Kill, take, or possess any wild turkey
during the spring season or the mentored youth turkey hunt unless said turkey is bearded.

(g) Permit and Tagging Requirements. A person shall not hunt, kill, take, or possess a wild
turkey unless he or she possesses on his or her person a permit so to do. Such permit shall
be valid only for the date or dates stipulated thereon. A person killing a wild turkey shall
immediately, before transporting or removing the carcass in any manner from where it was
killed, complete and attach to the carcass in a conspicuous manner that portion of the permit
designated "turkey tag”. Said turkey tag shall remain attached to the turkey until the turkey
is presented to a duly authorized person or checking station at which time the turkey tag shall
be surrendered upon request to the official agent in charge thereof or shall remain attached
to the turkey after being reported online. No person shall possess a detached turkey tag
except as described in 321 CMR 3.02(9)(g). Tags detached except as provided in 321 CMR
3.02(9)(g) shall be void and shall be surrendered to any officer empowered to enforce
321 CMR.

(h) Permissible Hunting Methods.
1. During the spring season, a person may hunt wild turkey only by
means of a bow and arrow as specified in 321 CMR 3.01(3) or a shotgun not larger
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than ten gauge, and shot not larger than size four. .

2. Beginning the sixth Monday prior to Thanksgiving and ending the second
Saturday thereafter, a person may hunt wild turkey only by means of either a bow
and arrow as specified in 321 CMR 3.01(3) or a shotgun not larger than ten gauge,
and shot not larger than size four.

3. At all other times during the fall season not specified in 321 CMR
3.02(9)(h)(2), a person may hunt wild turkey only by means of a bow and arrow as
specified in 321 CMR 3.01(3) in any Zone that has a concurrent exclusive archery
deer season as specified in 321 CMR 3.02(4)(b)(2)(a).

(i) Prohibitions. A person shall not hunt or take wild turkeys by means of or set or use any
bait, live decoys, electronic or electronically operated callers, nor any trap or other device
intended or designed for the purpose of capturing or ensnaring wild turkeys, nor shall any
person use or have control of, in any place where turkeys may be found, any dog or dogs
while hunting wild turkey, nor shall any person or persons drive, herd or take or attempt to
take by driving or herding any wild turkey or turkeys provided that nothing in 321 CMR
3.02(9)(i) shall be construed to prohibit the use of hand or mouth operated turkey calls by
persons otherwise lawfully hunting wild turkey.

(J) Safety Sticker Requirement. A person shall not hunt wild turkey with or by means of
a shotgun nor have a shotgun in his or her possession while hunting wild turkey, unless such
person has obtained a safety sticker as provided by the Director and applied said sticker to
his or her shotgun in such a manner as to be visible to the shooter when sighting down the
barrel of the shotgun. The Director is hereby authorized to provide such safety stickers of
a type and design as he or she may deem appropriate.

(k) Harvest Reporting: Except as provided in this 321 CMR 3.02(9)(k), within 48 hours
after killing a wild turkey its harvest shall be reported to the Division of Fisheries and
Wildlife by one of the following means:
1. Checking Station: The entire carcass shall be presented by the person who killed the
wild turkey to a duly authorized person, or at a wild turkey checking station designated
bythe Director for the purpose of being recorded and examined for research purposes and
to have affixed thereto an official seal in such manner as prescribed by the Director; or
2. Online Reporting: The person who killed the wild turkey shall access the Online
system to report the harvest of the wild turkey. The person shall receive an Online
system confirmation number, which shall be the official seal issued by the Division of
Fisheries and Wildlife, and record the confirmation number on the tag affixed to the wild
turkey as prescribed in 321 CMR 3.02(9)(g).
3. The official seal shall remain affixed to the wild turkey until the animal is skinned,
cut up, or otherwise prepared for food purposes or for mounting by a taxidermist. The
official seal is non-transferable and shall be valid only for the bear or carcass to which
it is applied.
4. Any violation of the requirements of 321 CMR 3.02(9)(k) shall be heard in the
District Court for the location where the violation occurred.
The Director may establish an alternate checking process for persons participating in the
mentored youth turkey hunt. The Director may require, as a condition of checking,
that the hunter surrender breast feathers, wing tips, or other biological samples
from turkeys presented for checking.

() Youth Hunter Training Program.

1. The Director may establish standards, qualifications and curricula for a wild turkey
hunter youth training program and field exercise. Minors between the ages 12 through
17 years of age who successfully complete the training program and field exercise and
are properly enrolled with the Director may participate in a mentored hunt for wild turkey
(mentored youth turkey hunt) on the first Saturday prior to the last Monday in April. All
such minors must be accompanied by an adult licensed to hunt in Massachusetts and who
possesses a Massachusetts turkey hunting permit. No adult may be accompanied by more
than one minor, and no more than one firearm may be carried. The licensed adult may
not hunt, but may carry the minor's firearm when unloaded or cased and may use a turkey
caller to call for the minor. During this mentored youth turkey hunt, minors aged 12
through 14 years of age shall not be required to possess a hunting or sporting license.

2. The Director may issue minors 12 through 14 years of age who have successfully
completed the Youth Hunter Training Program requirements, or their adult mentors, a
special Massachusetts youth hunt turkey permit that is valid for the date of the mentored
youth turkey hunt specified in the permit as well as for the duration of the regular spring
and fall hunting seasons, as provided in 321 CMR 3.02(9)(b)(1) and 321 CMR
3.02(9)(b)(2). All minors 12 through 14 years of age and their adult mentors shall
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comply with the requirements of M.G.L. ¢. 131, § 14 and 321 CMR 3.02(9) while
hunting during the regular spring and fall hunting seasons.
3. Minors 15 through 17 years of age shall possess both a Massachusetts hunting or
sporting license and a valid Massachusetts turkey permit. All minors and their mentors
shall otherwise conform to all provisions of M.G.L. c. 131, and 321 CMR 3.02(9).
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