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This document was issued originally by the Department of Public Health (DPH). As part of the transfer of the Medical Use of
Marijuana Program on December 23, 2018, the Cannabis Control Commission adopted this document. We suggest that before
you rely on the contents of this document, you check the applicable medical-use marijuana laws, which include M.G.L. c. 941
and 935 CMR 501.000, as they may provide or clarify the legal requirements related to this document. We also suggest that
you periodically check for revisions to this document. Questions with regards to this document may be directed to
CannabisCommission@State. MA.US.

Chapter 55 of the Acts 0of 2017, An Act to Ensure Safe Access to Marijuana, allows a qualifying
patient to possess a 60-day supply of marijuana if the patient has a written certification from a
Massachusetts licensed clinician/health care provider. The Massachusetts Cannabis Control
Commission (Commission) is charged with issuing regulations to implement a medical use of
marijuana program, which includes registration of qualifying patients, caregivers, Medical
Marijuana Treatment Center (MTC) agents, and defining a 60-day supply.

In October 2014, Program ID Cards started being issued to qualifying patients, caregivers, and
MTC agents (see below for images of sample Program ID Cards by registration type). These
Program ID Cards can be used by law enforcement and MTCs (also commonly referred to as
Registered Marijuana Dispensaries, or RMDs) to confirm that a patient, caregiver, or MTC
agent is eligible to possess marijuana for medical use.

Who can possess marijuana for medical purposes?

e Chapter 55 and Commission regulations allow a registered patient and their registered
caregiver to possess a 60-day supply of marijuana with the certification of a
Massachusetts licensed clinician/health care provider.

¢ An MTC agent may possess marijuana on behalf of the MTC that they are employed
with. There is no limit to the amount of marijuana an MTC agent can possess on behalf
of an MTC. However, when transporting marijuana outside of an MTC to an approved
location, the agent must have a shipping manifest showing the amount of marijuana to
be transported and the location(s) that the agent is traveling to.

e Approved locations to which an MTC agent may transport marijuana on behalf of an
MTC include:

o another MTC;

o atesting laboratory;

o the primary residence of a registered patient or caregiver; and

o adestruction/disposal site in compliance with the Commission's Medical
Use of Marijuana Regulations.
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How do | know someone is a registered patient, caregiver, or
MTC agent?

e Registered patients, caregivers, and MTC agents must carry their Program ID Card at all
times while in possession of marijuana for medical use (please see below for image of
sample Program ID Cards by registration type).
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A temporary, paper Program ID Card can be printed by the patient, caregiver, or MTC
agent once approved for registration by the Medical Use of Marijuana Program
(Program). Temporary registration can be used until the plastic Program ID Card is
mailed (see below for image of sample temporary, paper Program ID Card). This
temporary, paper Program ID Card expires four (4) weeks from the date the registration is
approved by the Program, at which time the registrant should have received a plastic
Program ID Card.

If the patient is using a temporary, paper Program ID Card more than four (4) weeks from
the date of registration, it does not affect their status as an “active registrant” in the
Massachusetts Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS), but the registrant should
contact the Program at 833-869-6820 to report that they have not received their plastic
Program ID Card.

TEMPORARY PROGRAM ID CARD

Cannabis Control Commission
Medical Use of Marijuana Program

9,

This is your temporary, paper Program ID Card which expires four weeks from the date that your
registration is approved by the Medical Use of Marijuana Program. You must carry your Program
ID Card all times while you are in possession of marijuana for medical use. If you do not receive
your plastic Program ID Card in the mail within three weeks, call the Program at (833) 869-6820.

Registration Number: C12345678
Name: NICK SAMPLE

Registration Type: Patient
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You must carry your Program ID Card all times while you are in possession of marijuana for medical use.
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While patients and caregivers are waiting for their registrations to be processed and
approved, they may be qualified to obtain Initial Access Certification (Initial Access)
from their certifying clinician/health care provider. Initial Access allows patients and
caregivers to immediately enter an MTC and purchase medical-use marijuana. See below
for an image of Initial Access Certification.

Initial Access allows patients to receive a limited, 14-day supply of medical-use
marijuana, which the Commission has determined is 2.5 ounces, for two weeks. The
patient’s certifying clinician/health care provider may determine and certify a patient
requires a different amount.

Initial Access expires either 14 days after issuance or when the recipient is approved for a
Program ID Card by the Commission. If the recipient has been approved for the Program
but has not received their Program ID Card by the time Initial Access expires, they may
print a temporary, paper Program ID Card (details above) through the MMJ Online Portal.

TEMPORARY REGISTRATION CARD

Cannabis Control Commission
Medical Use of Marijuana Program

This temporary registration card expires fourteen (14) days from the start date of your
certification. You must carry this card all times while in the possession of medical manjuana and
marijuana-infused products (MIPs). Please begin the regisiration process as soon as possible;
if you have not completed the process in 14 days. your temporary registration will expire and no
longer be valid. This card entitles you to a limited 14-day supply or no more than 2.5 ounces of
marijuana. Cerlifying healthcare providers are encouraged fo print out this card and the
essential caregiver registration information at no additional or minimal cost to their patients.

Registration Number: P11127661
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Name: TEST PATIENT

Registration Type: Patient

Expiration Date: 04/11/2019

Pabenis and caregivers who misuse a temporary regisirafion card, including using the card to purchase more than the
lmit=d 14-day supply or more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana, will Fkely be subject to discipinary action including revocation

of a temporary registration and denial of an annual registration. This card must be destroyed on the receipt of an annual
registration card.

Law enforcement officers can verify patient, caregiver, and MTC agent
registrations by accessing the MMJ Online System through their existing accounts
with the Massachusetts Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS).

For instructions on accessing the MMJ Online System, see: “Guidelines for Law
Enforcement Regarding the Medical Use of Marijuana Online System.”



https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2019/07/26/Guidance_for_Law_Enforcement_Regarding_the_Medical_Use_of_Marijuana_Online_System_7.19.pdf

What is a 60-day supply and how will police know if a patient is allowed to

possess?

e The Commission has defined a 60-day supply of marijuana to be 10 ounces, or the
equivalent in other forms (such as edible marijuana-infused products).

e To determine what the equivalent amount of a 60-day supply is for marijuana concentrate
(oil) and resin (hash), the Commission has determined that marijuana plant material will,
on average, yield 15% of its weight in concentrate or resin. Thus, to determine the
equivalent weight of a concentrate or resin, multiply the weight of the oil/resin by 6.7 to
determine the dry weight equivalent.

Amount of Resin-Concentrate

Constant 6.7 (1+.15)

Equivalent to Marijuana Plant Material

1.8 Ounces x 6.7 12 Ounces Marijuana Plant Material
1.5 Ounces x 6.7 10 Ounces Marijuana Plant Material
1.2 Ounces X 6.7 8 Ounces Marijuana Plant Material
.9 Ounces x 6.7 6 Ounces Marijuana Plant Material
.6 Ounces x 6.7 4 Ounces Marijuana Plant Material

Who may grow their own marijuana?

e Chapter 55 also allows qualifying patients to apply for a hardship cultivation registration,
which allows the patient, or the patient’s designated personal caregiver(s), to cultivate
marijuana at home for the patient’s own use. A personal caregiver must:

o be 21 years of age or older;

o have agreed to assist with a registered qualifying patient’s medical use of

marijuana; and

o not be the registered qualifying patient’s certifying clinician/health care provider.
¢ Qualifying patients or their caregivers may cultivate a limited number of plants sufficient
to maintain a 60-day supply of marijuana solely for that patient's use. They must remain
in compliance with all Commission regulations regarding hardship cultivation.




Where may patients and caregivers grow marijuana?

e Marijuana must be cultivated and stored in an enclosed, locked area accessible only to
the qualifying patient or their caregiver(s). Marijuana cannot be visible from the street
or other public areas, and may be cultivated only at the location specified in the
application approved by the Commission.

What is a personal caregiver?

e Personal caregiver means a person, registered by the Commission, who is at least 21
years old, who has agreed to assist with a registered qualifying patient’s medical use of
marijuana, and is not the registered qualifying patient’s certifying clinician/health care
provider.

What are the responsibilities of personal caregivers?

e A personal caregiver may:

e Transport a registered qualifying patient to and from an MTC;

e Obtain and transport marijuana from an MTC on behalf of a registered
qualifying patient;

¢ Cultivate marijuana on behalf of a registered qualifying patient who has
obtained a hardship cultivation registration, unless the caregiver is a
visiting nurse, personal care attendant, or home health aide serving as a
caregiver;

e Prepare marijuana for consumption by a registered qualifying patient; and

e Administer marijuana to a registered qualifying patient.

How many patients may a personal caregiver serve?

e An individual may serve as a personal caregiver for only one registered qualifying patient
at a time, except in the case of:
e avisiting nurse, home health aide, personal care attendant, or
e an immediate family member of more than one registered qualifying patient.



What may a patient or caregiver legally in possession of marijuana do with it?

e Marijuana that is acquired or grown for a specific registered patient may be used only
by that registered patient for medical purposes.

¢ Patients and their caregivers are prohibited from selling, bartering, giving away, or
distributing marijuana or paraphernalia to anyone else.

Where may a registered patient with a Medical Use of Marijuana Program ID
Card acquire their marijuana right now?

e Chapter 55 allows a registered patient with a Program ID Card to possess a 60-day
supply of marijuana. Patients may purchase marijuana and marijuana-infused products
from an MTC. In addition, patients or their caregiver(s) with hardship cultivation
registrations may cultivate a 60-day supply of marijuana.

How can law enforcement access information that is not provided in the MMJ
Online System?

e To initiate a request for information on a registered patient, caregiver, MTC agent, or
MTC that is not provided by CJIS, law enforcement officers may telephone the
Medical Use of Marijuana Program at 833-869-6820. When calling, please have the
following information prepared:

o Name of the law enforcement officer;

o Title of the law enforcement officer;

o Name of the law enforcement agency at which the law enforcement officer
works;

Phone number to contact the law enforcement officer;

Description of what the law enforcement officer is calling about;

The name of the individual the law enforcement officer is inquiring about; and

The Medical Use of Marijuana Program registration number of the individual

the law enforcement officer is inquiring about (if available).
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e No information will be provided to the law enforcement officer until the
Commission has verified that the request is made pursuant to a legitimate law
enforcement inquiry and that information requested may be appropriately disclosed.

e IMPORTANT: Please do not send confidential information to the Commission
over email, such as any individually identifiable information that reveals the
identity of the data subject or is readily identified with the data subject, such as
name, address, telephone number, social security number, health identification
number, or date of birth; or provides a reasonable basis to believe that the
information could be used, either alone or in combination with other information, to
identify a data subject.

Should you have any questions, please contact the Medical Use of Marijuana
Program at 833-869-6820.
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