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As you know, in order to operate an auto shop, certain local, state, and federal permits and licenses are
required. Some of these are based on the activities and services performed within your shop, and some
are potential local requirements that must be adhered to by any business wishing to operate in your
chosen city or town. Outlined here are some ideas that have been gathered from other shops that may
help your shop prepare for inspections.

Types of Permits

General Information

Some permits are required by state and federal
environmental regulations. However, the
more basic permits are usually administered
by your city or town Building Department,
Public Works Department, Inspectional
Services Department, or Fire Department. If
your shop is in a small town, be sure to check
with the relevant departments to find out the
local requirements and authorities. There are
also online services that can help your shop
organize the various permits and registrations
that are needed for a fee. If your shop has
guestions about which permits and licenses
apply to the work you do, you can contact the
MA Office of Technical Assistance at (617-
626-1060) for free, confidential assistance.

Business Registration

Application for Registered Motor Vehicle Repair Shop

Application for Registered Motor Vehicle Repair Shop
Registration fee is $450.00 for a three year period, Mail to: Division of Standards,
One Ashburton Place, Rm 1115, Boston, MA 02108

In addition to the registration fee of $450.00 dollars, a surety bond, or letter of credit, in the
amount of $10,000 must accompany this application in accordance with the requirements
of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 100 Section 2A.

Type of Shop: Auto Body Glass Shop

Is this a RENEWAL? Yes No

Business Name

Phone No. Email Address:

Business Address, City Zip:

Owners must register their shop with the Massachusetts
Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation

Your business must register with your city or town.

Motor Vehicle Repair Shop License (RS#)

Your shop needs this in order to operate. You must register with the Massachusetts Office of Consumer
Affairs & Business Regulation. The application can be found here.

Surety Bond

A surety bond or letter of credit in the amount of $10,000 is required to obtain a Motor Vehicle Repair

Shop License.

Worker’s Compensation Policy



http://www.mass.gov/eea/grants-and-tech-assistance/guidance-technical-assistance/agencies-and-divisions/ota/business-assistance/
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/government/oca-agencies/dos-lp/dos-licensing/damage-repair-shops/application-for-shop.html
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/government/oca-agencies/dos-lp/dos-licensing/damage-repair-shops/application-for-shop.html
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/government/oca-agencies/dos-lp/dos-licensing/damage-repair-shops/application-for-shop.html

All employers in Massachusetts are required to carry workers' compensation insurance covering their
employees, including themselves if they are an employee of their company. You can contact an insurance
company to set this up.

Appraiser’s License
Information about training and exams for this licensing can be found on the Massachusetts Office of
Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation website.

Occupancy Permit

Businesses must have an occupancy permit from your city or town enforcement agency. Check with
them to find out what other permits may be required to legally operate your business. . It should be
posted near the entrance. Your shop can check your city or town requirements.

Indoor Vehicle Storage Permit

Otherwise known as a “Garage” permit, this allows your shop to store vehicles inside. Your shop may be
required to obtain this from your city or town. As an example, the application for Boston shops can be
found here.

Use of Premises Permit

If your shop needs to store some vehicles in an outdoor area near the shop, you may also need this permit.
You can check with your city or town. As an example, the application for Boston shops can be found
here.

Flammable Storage Permit

This may usually be obtained through the fire department and is required for your shop to store
flammable liquids. More information about the storage of flammable liquids can be found on the
“Understanding OSHA Requirements for Auto Shops” fact sheet.

Hazardous Waste Registration

Your shop needs to identify its hazardous wastes, register with the Massachusetts Department of
Environmental Protection (MassDEP), and keep its Generator ID and registration readily available. See
“Hazardous Waste Management fact sheet.”

Underground or Above-ground storage tank permit

Directions for online filing for underground storage tank permits, required by MassDEP, can be found
here. Forms for above-ground storage tank construction or annual renewal inspection, required by
MassDEP, can be found here.

Cutting Torch Permit and Oxygen, Acetylene Storage Permit
These are two separate permits that are relevant if your shop performs welding. They can be obtained
from your city or town’s fire department. See the Safe “Welding Practices” fact sheet.

Towing License
You can check with your city or town for any licenses needed for towing.

EPA’s NESHAP 6H Notification

Contact your paint manufacturer to request a list of paints that are regulated by US EPA’s NESHAP 6H
regulation. If you do use regulated coatings, you must notify the US EPA using this form. If you do not
use these products, you can file for an exemption. See more information in the ‘Federal and State Auto
Body Air Regulations’ fact sheet.


http://www.mass.gov/lwd/workers-compensation/workers-comp/insurance-requirements.html
http://www.mass.gov/lwd/workers-compensation/workers-comp/insurance-requirements.html
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/license-types/insurance/individual-and-business-entity-licensing/mvda/mvda-training.html
http://www.cityofboston.gov/isd/building/garage.asp
http://www.cityofboston.gov/isd/building/premises.asp
http://www.mass.gov/eea/docs/dep/recycle/approvals/genreg.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eea/docs/dep/recycle/approvals/genreg.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/massdep/toxics/ust/massdep-underground-storage-tank-ust-forms.html
http://www.mass.gov/eopss/agencies/dfs/dfs2/osfm/fire-prev/aboveground-storage-tanks.html
http://www.epa.gov/collisionrepair/pdfs/6h_compliance_ex.pdf
http://www.epa.gov/collisionrepair/pdfs/petitionforexemption.pdf

Air Permit

The EPA requires that auto body shops need a spray booth. MassDEP requires that spray booth operators
have an air permit that is based on the VOCs emitted. Find the permit applications here. You may be
exempt from the MassDEP air permit if your coating and solvent use is below the threshold listed in
OTA'’s factsheet. Contact Marina Gayl at Marina.Gayl@state.ma.us or 617-626-1077 at OTA if you need
assistance in calculating your coating and solvent use, or any other issues.

Owner/ Operator Certification for Painter Training
The EPA NESHAP 6H regulations require documented training for paint technicians and spray booth
operators. Specifically, the regulation requires:

Hands-on and classroom instruction that addresses, at a minimum, initial and refresher training in the
topics listed in paragraphs (f)(2)(i) through (2)(iv) of this section.

e Spray gun equipment selection, set up, and operation, including measuring coating viscosity,
selecting the proper fluid tip or nozzle, and achieving the proper spray pattern, air pressure and
volume, and fluid delivery rate.

e Spray technique for different types of coatings to improve transfer efficiency and minimize
coating usage and overspray, including maintaining the correct spray gun distance and angle to
the part, using proper banding and overlap, and reducing lead and lag spraying at the beginning
and end of each stroke.

e Routine spray booth and filter maintenance, including filter selection and installation.

e Environmental compliance with the requirements of this subpart.

An example of the training documentation can be found here.

Inspection Readiness
To be prepared for inspections, read through the checklist and attend to the items that need still need
action. Having an organized shop, where employees know where important and current documents are
kept, will help with the ease of inspections.

Have a “book” or binder with key documents and information readily available to present to an inspector.
See these examples of documents to be included:

> Permits and licenses
> Tax ID number

» Hazardous waste record keeping (storage, transportation logs) — these can be the most recent
records, while older records can be stored in another binder or in your shop’s computer system.

» Contingency plans for fire prevention, emergencies, and spill control.
» Safety Data Sheets (SDSs) for all products. Your supplier or manufacturer must supply you with

the SDS for each product used in your shop. Because SDSs may take up a lot of space, it may be
easier to keep these in a separate location or binder that is readily accessible to your employees.


http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/massdep/air/approvals/operating-permits-forms.html
http://www.mass.gov/eea/docs/eea/ota/fact-sheets/spray-booth-final.pdf
mailto:Marina.Gayl@state.ma.us
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/40/63.11173
http://www3.epa.gov/ttn/atw/area/ex_painter_training_cert_form.pdf

» Employee certifications, licenses, training records.

» Documents from previous inspections.

» Spray booth records, if you are a body shop. These include information on filter changes and
monthly tallies of all organic materials used (coatings and solvents).

For free and confidential technical assistance or questions, contact:
MA Office of Technical Assistance 100 Cambridge St. Suite 900, Boston, MA, 02114
Phone: 617.626.1060 Fax: 617.626.1095 E-mail: maota@state.ma.us

www.mass.gov/eea/ota/masscar




