Log in links for this page

Work and Family Mobility Act (WFMA)

Starting July 2023, eligible residents in Massachusetts can obtain a Standard (Class D or M) driver's license, regardless of immigration status, under the Work and Family Mobility Act.

The Work and Family Mobility Act removes the requirement that customers provide proof of lawful presence for a Standard driver’s license.

The RMV is committed to providing quality services to all customers. We are working hard to develop informational resources, translation services, and guidance to help all Massachusetts residents access driver’s licenses.

To obtain a license, the RMV will require all applicants to prove their identity and date of birth, social security status, and Massachusetts residency. To see the expanded list of documents the RMV will accept, scroll down. Drivers will also be required to pass a learner's permit exam, vision screening, and a road test.

Please use the information below to successfully get your license.

Table of Contents

Overview

To legally drive in Massachusetts, you must first apply for a learner's permit, and take and pass the learner's permit exam. A learner's permit allows you to drive on the road while practicing your driving skills. 
 
After obtaining a learner’s permit, drivers must then pass a road test to receive a Standard (Class D or M) driver's license. A passenger (Class D) license allows you to legally operate a passenger vehicle, van, or small truck. A motorcycle (Class M) license allows you to legally operate a motorcycle. 

Below are more details on how to get your Standard driver's license. 

Additional Resources   for Overview

Getting Your Learner’s Permit and Standard Driver’s License 

Step 1: Get Informed 

The Work and Family Mobility Act is the law in Massachusetts. The RMV is here to assist eligible drivers with this process so they can start driving safely and with peace of mind.  

The first step to getting your license is understanding the process. Learn about the requirements by searching Mass.Gov/RMV or continue reading below. Other resources under Mass.Gov/RMV will be updated prior to July 1 with additional guidance. Make sure the websites you use have the official Mass.Gov link. 

Step 2: Apply for your Learner’s Permit 

Starting July 2023, you can pre-register to make an appointment to visit a Service Center and complete a learner’s permit application online at Mass.Gov/MyRMV. You will be notified via text and email when an appointment to visit a Service Center is available. Making an appointment is required. Select the permit you are applying for, either “Class D” for a Standard license or “Class M” for a motorcycle license. If needed, you may fill out a paper application. 

To ensure a smooth process, the RMV encourages customers to pay fees in advance online:   

  • The learner’s permit fee is $30  

  • The road test fee is $35  

  • The license fee is $50  

Do not pay anyone else for RMV services. 

Step 3: Study for the Learner’s Permit Exam 

At your appointment for a learner’s permit or online after your appointment, you need to take the learner’s permit exam. This exam will allow you to prove your knowledge of Massachusetts driving laws to ensure that you can drive safely. 

While you wait for your appointment day, make time to study for the learner’s permit exam, which is available in 35 languages. For more information, read the Driver’s Manual and take a practice exam.   

For first time drivers, additional resources are available to help you prepare.   

Step 4: Prepare Your Documents 

Before your appointment, be sure to gather your documents, including:

  • Proof of identity and date of birth 

  • Proof of Massachusetts Residency   

  • Proof of Social Security status 

If any document is not in English, you must bring a certified translation.  

To understand what documents to bring, refer to the Identification Requirements section below. To learn about certified translations, see the Translation Certification Requirements section below.  

Step 5: Visit the Service Center, Take the Exam, and Get Your Permit  

On the day of your scheduled learner’s permit appointment, bring your required documents and completed application with you. Employees at the Service Center will not be able to provide an application for customers if they fail to bring a completed one.   

We encourage all customers to arrive at the Service Center 15 minutes before your scheduled appointment. At your appointment, you will take a vision screening and pay your learner’s permit fee ($30) if it was not already prepaid.  

Next, you will choose whether to take your learner’s permit exam in-person at the Service Center or online after your visit.   

If you choose to take your exam at a Service Center, the RMV will print and issue you the permit.  

If you choose to take the exam online, you will be given login instructions and credentials to complete the test and will be responsible for printing the permit yourself. You must take the exam within 60 days of visiting the Service Center.   

Under 18? Click here for more information.  

If you fail the exam, you can reschedule and retake the exam for a $30 fee.  

Study for the road test exam at Mass.Gov/RoadTest.

Step 6: Practice Driving  

Once you have your permit, you can begin to practice driving with a licensed driver. To qualify to help you learn to drive, licensed drivers must:     

  • Hold a valid driver’s license from Massachusetts or another state   

  • Sit in the passenger seat next to you while you drive  

  • Be at least 21 years old  

  • Have at least one year of driving experience  

Step 7: Schedule Your Road Test  

Next, you will be required to schedule a road test appointment. Appointments can be made after customers receive a learner's permit and are available up to 60 days in advance of the appointment date. 

It may take time to find an appointment. If there is not an appointment available on the preferred date and location, check back frequently. Appointments open daily.  

If you need interpretation at your road test, we encourage you to bring your own interpreter. You may also request one when making the road test appointment, if needed. 

To prepare for your road test:  

On the day of your road test, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver. Licensed driver requirements:  

  • Be 21 years of age or older 

  • Have at least 1 year of driving experience 

  • Be duly licensed by his/her state of residence 

You may have two individuals accompany you to your road test if you bring your own interpreter and they do not meet the requirements above. If you bring an interpreter in addition to the licensed driver accompanying you, they must be at least 18 years of age.

You must pay the road test fee ($35) if it was not prepaid.  

Note: Customers under the age of 18 must have their permit for six months before taking their road test.  

If you fail your road test, you must wait 2 weeks before taking another test. You are not allowed to attempt more than six road tests in a 12-month period. 

Step 8: Take your Road Test and Get Your Driver's License 

Once you pass the road test and pay a license fee ($50) if it was not prepaid, you will receive a temporary license which permits you to drive as a licensed vehicle operator. 

Your official driver’s license will arrive to your mailing address on file with the RMV within 14 days. 

Key Actions   for Getting Your Learner’s Permit and Standard Driver’s License 

Additional Resources   for Getting Your Learner’s Permit and Standard Driver’s License 

Identification Requirements

Meet 3 Requirements   

To be issued a Standard Massachusetts Class D or M driver's license, you need to provide (1) proof of identity and birthdate, (2) proof of social security status, and (3) proof of Massachusetts residency.  

1. Proof of Identity and Birthdate 

Beginning July 1, the RMV will allow for more documents to account for proof of identity and birthdate under the Work and Family Mobility Act, shown below. One document from each of the two columns, Document 1 and Document 2, is required to prove identity and birthdate. All documents must be valid and unexpired. 

Note: There are additional documents you can provide to prove identity and date of birth, which can be found here.  

Document 1: Select ONE of the following as your first document  Document 2: Select ONE of the following as your second document 
Foreign Passport  Driver’s license from any United States state or territory
Consular Identification document  An original or certified copy of a birth certificate from any state or jurisdiction
  Foreign national identification card
  Foreign driver’s license*
  A marriage certificate or divorce decree issued by any state or territory of the United States

You must bring certified translations of any documents which are not in English. The translation certification requirements are below.

*Individuals who hold a valid unexpired foreign license from a non-reciprocal country, are not required to present or surrender their foreign license as part of the Massachusetts permit process. Both the foreign license and the Massachusetts permit should be carried by the individual and available at all times when operating a motor vehicle.

2. Proof of Social Security Status 

Customers must also meet a social security documentation requirement.  

There are three different ways to meet this requirement: 

  1. Provide a social security number (SSN card not necessary) 

  1. Present a denial letter from the Social Security Administration 

  1. If you present a foreign passport or consular ID to meet document requirements, you may complete an Affidavit of No SSN stating that you have never been issued a social security number 

3. Proof of Massachusetts Residency 

Customers must provide one document to prove Massachusetts residency. Document must display current residential address with applicant’s name — no P.O. boxes or ‘in care of’ will be accepted. More information on Massachusetts residency documents can be found at Mass.Gov/ID. 

The full list of acceptable documents, including documents to prove Massachusetts residency, can be found here.

Additional Resources   for Identification Requirements

Translation Certification Requirements

If any documents are not in English, the RMV will require the document to be accompanied by an English translation with a certification by one of the following:  

  • Language Service Provider  

  • A bilingual teacher at an accredited Massachusetts college, university, or private language school  

  • A bilingual notary public  

  • The local consulate for the document’s country of origin  

    • NOTE: Not all consulates provide translation services. Make sure you confirm with the consulate before choosing this option.

  • The American Translators Association (the national association of professional translators and interpreters)  

  • Community-based organization  

  • U.S. Government agency (state or federal)  

  • Massachusetts municipal agency

  • Non-profit organization 

Both the translation and certification must be printed on the letterhead of the certifying entity. Refer to the sample translation certification below under the Additional resources section.

Certifications must include the following information:  

  • Translator’s name (printed)   

  • Date  

  • Translator’s full address  

  • Translator’s telephone number or email address  

  • Translator’s signature  

  • A statement of the translator's qualifications.  

  • A statement affirming the completeness and accuracy of the document.  

  • Identification of the translated document and language.  

Additional Resources   for Translation Certification Requirements

Professional Credentials

Customers seeking the following professional credentials are required to provide proof of lawful presence. 

  • School pupil transport driver
  • Professional driving instructor

More information on the requirements for these credentials can be found here.

Dedicated Phone Line for WFMA Information

857-368-WFMA  

The RMV has a dedicated information phone line to help customers understand WFMA and the process of applying for a driver’s license at 857-368-9362 (WFMA).

This informational phone line provides guidance on document requirements, how to make your appointment, and how to prepare. Agents are available to answer questions during regular business hours. Interpreters can be provided if needed.

The information line is available in many different languages. 

Help Us Improve Mass.gov  with your feedback

Please do not include personal or contact information.
Feedback