Apply for an Electrology License

Information on how to apply for four types of Electrology licenses

Board of Cosmetology and Barbering Services Administration

The Details of Apply for an Electrology License

What you need for Apply for an Electrology License

If you are applying for an Electrologist license, please note that the application process for that license is managed by the Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering’s vendor, Pearson VUE. To apply for a license, please visit Pearson VUE’s website. Please direct any questions regarding the application process, including fees, to Pearson VUE by calling 800-274-2021.

All other license types - Electrology Instructor, Electrology Lecturer, Out-of-State Electrologist - can be completed using the ePLACE instructions below.

Licensing Benefits for Active Duty Military, Relocated Military Spouses, and Veterans

The Division of Professional Licensure (DPL) and the Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering are pleased to offer licensing benefits to active duty members of the military, relocated military spouses, and veterans pursuant to the Veterans’ Access, Livelihood, Opportunity and Resources Act (VALOR Act) and the new VALOR Act II, signed into law on April 4, 2014. These benefits include:

  • Credit for related military experience;
  • Extensions of the license renewal period;
  • Expedited license application processing; or
  • Waiver of certain licensing fees.

To apply for any of these licensing benefits, interested parties must self-identify as an active duty member of the military, military spouse, or veteran. To apply for these benefits or for more information, please visit www.mass.gov/dpl/valor.

Electrology Instructor 

  1. Review the Board’s Regulations

Before completing your application, please review the Board’s regulations, set forth at 238 Code of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR). You may purchase an official copy of 238 CMR in person at the State Bookstore located at the Massachusetts State House, Room 116, Boston, MA 02133, or you may order a copy online through the Secretary of State’s office. The Board also maintains an unofficial, courtesy copy of the regulations accessible through the Statutes and Regulations section of its website.

  1. Requirements to Apply

To apply for an Electrology Instructor license an applicant must:

  • Hold a current Massachusetts Electrologist license.
  • Have actively engaged in the practice of electrolysis for at least the last five (5) consecutive years preceding the date of his or her application for registration as an instructor.
  • Passed an Instructor licensing examination prescribed by the Board.
  1. Submission of Supporting Documentation and Required Forms

The following documents must be uploaded during the online application process:

  • A small 2" x 2" passport-style photo.
  • A notarized (i.e., signed by a notary with a seal) affidavit or affidavits signed by you (if self-employed) or an electrology office owner certifying:
      • The date you started and stopped working for each employer as an electologist;
      • Whether the work was full or part-time (full-time entails 5, 8 hour days per week; part-time entails a minimum of 24 hours per week for 40 weeks per year);
      • Five (5) years of work experience as an electrologist immediately preceding your application. The Board will not consider any work experience obtained prior to becoming licensed in the field of electrology.
  • A copy of a government-issued ID or a driver's license.
  • A notarized, signed Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) Acknowledgement Form links to PDF file.

The following document(s) must be mailed to the Board:

  • License Verification(s): If you hold or have held another license or certification in the United States or another country or foreign jurisdiction, please contact the relevant licensing authority and arrange for that authority to send a certificate of standing to the Board directly indicating the status of your license, information on any pending actions, and any disciplinary information.

Please mail the aforementioned document(s) to the Board at the following address:

Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering

Division of Professional Licensure (DPL)

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710

Boston, MA 02118-6100

  1. Application Fee

All applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of $66. This fee must be paid online at the end of the application process, either by check or credit card. Please note that a convenience fee will be assessed for credit card payments.

Electrology Lecturer License 

  1. Review the Board’s Regulations

Before completing your application, please review the Board’s regulations, set forth at 238 Code of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR). You may purchase an official copy of 238 CMR in person at the State Bookstore located at the Massachusetts State House, Room 116, Boston, MA 02133, or you may order a copy online through the Secretary of State’s office. The Board also maintains an unofficial, courtesy copy of the regulations accessible through the Statutes and Regulations section of its website.

  1. Requirements to Apply

To apply for an Electrology Lecturer license an applicant must:

  • Possess a bachelor's degree, or the equivalent thereof, in the field or subject area in which he or she proposes to provide didactic training, from a degree-granting college or university accredited by the United States Department of Education or the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.; or
  • Possess a current, valid adult or secondary school teaching certificate or credential, issued by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts or any other state or territory of the United States, which authorizes him or her to teach in the field or subject area in which he or she proposes to provide didactic training; or
  • Have at least five (5) years of experience in a profession, trade, industry or occupation which requires regular use of the knowledge and skills which he or she proposes to teach to students at the electrolysis school, and, where applicable, possesses a current, valid license to practice said profession, trade or occupation issued by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts or any other state or territory of the United States; or
  • By virtue of education, practical experience or any combination thereof, possesses sufficient knowledge of the subject matter which he or she proposes to teach to students at the electrolysis school.
  1. Submission of Supporting Documentation and Required Forms

The following documents must be uploaded during the online application process:

  • A small 2" x 2" passport-style photo.
  • A copy of a government-issued ID or a driver's license.
  • Any supporting documents showing that the applicant:
      • Possess a bachelor's degree, or the equivalent thereof, in the field or subject area in which he or she proposes to provide didactic training, from a degree-granting college or university accredited by the United States Department of Education or the Commonwealth of Massachusetts; or
      • Possess a current, valid adult or secondary school teaching certificate or credential, issued by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts or any other state or territory of the United States, which authorizes him or her to teach in the field or subject area in which he or she proposes to provide didactic training; or
      • Have at least five (5) years of experience in a profession, trade, industry or occupation which requires regular use of the knowledge and skills which he or she proposes to teach to students at the electrolysis school, and, where applicable, possesses a current, valid license to practice said profession, trade or occupation issued by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts or any other state or territory of the United States; or
      • By virtue of education, practical experience or any combination thereof, possesses sufficient knowledge of the subject matter which he or she proposes to teach to students at the electrolysis school.
  • A notarized, signed Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) Acknowledgement Form links to PDF file.

The following document(s) must be mailed to the Board:

  • License Verification(s): If you hold or have held another license or certification in the United States or another country or foreign jurisdiction, please contact the relevant licensing authority and arrange for that authority to send a certificate of standing to the Board directly indicating the status of your license, information on any pending actions, and any disciplinary information.

Please mail the aforementioned document(s) to the Board at the following address:

Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering

Division of Professional Licensure (DPL)

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710

Boston, MA 02118-6100

  1. Application Fee

All applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of $52. This fee must be paid online at the end of the application process, either by check or credit card. Please note that a convenience fee will be assessed for credit card payments.

Out of State Electrologist

Please review and complete the steps below before starting an Out of State Electrologist license application. Questions about the application process should be directed to cosmetologyandbarberingboard@state.ma.us or 617-727-9940.

If you do not wish to submit your application online, you may download a copy of the application from the Board’s Applications and Forms page on its website.

  1. Review the Board’s Regulations

Before completing your application, please review the Board’s regulations, set forth at 238 Code of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR). You may purchase an official copy of 238 CMR in person at the State Bookstore located at the Massachusetts State House, Room 116, Boston, MA 02133, or you may order a copy online through the Secretary of State’s office. The Board also maintains an unofficial, courtesy copy of the regulations accessible through the Statutes and Regulations section of its website.

  1. Requirements to Apply

Applicants must be at least eighteen (18) years of age with both a High school diploma, or an equivalent, and an Electrolysis school diploma.

  1. Submission of Supporting Documentation and Required Forms

The following documents must be uploaded during the online application process:

The following document(s) must be mailed to the Board:

  • Transcript: An official sealed transcript from your electrology school.
  • License Verification(s): If you hold or have held another license or certification in the United States or another country or foreign jurisdiction, please contact the relevant licensing authority and arrange for that authority to send a certificate of standing to the Board directly indicating the status of your license, information on any pending actions, and any disciplinary information.

Please mail the aforementioned document(s) to the Board at the following address:

Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering

Division of Professional Licensure (DPL)

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710

Boston, MA 02118-6100

  1. Application Fee

All applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of $97.00. This fee must be paid online at the end of the application process, either by check or credit card. Please note that a convenience fee will be assessed for credit card payments.

Fees for Apply for an Electrology License

Please note that all applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee. Fees applicable to licenses issued by the Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering are as follows:

Profession Fee
Electrology Instructor $66
Electrology Lecturer $52
Out of State Electrologist $97

In addition, errors incurred during the payment process, whether online or by money order or personal check, may subject an applicant to an additional $23 fee.

How to apply Apply for an Electrology License

If you do not wish to submit your application online, you may download a copy of the application from the Board’s Applications and Forms page on its website.

Next steps for Apply for an Electrology License

After reading the requirements

Begin Your Application Now

To start your online application, please go to the ePLACE Portal.

NOTICE: Please be aware that if you submit an application and it is determined by the Board that it is incomplete, or that you have failed to meet the regulatory requirements for licensure, the Board will provide you thirty days to complete your application or submit the information needed to demonstrate that you meet the regulatory requirements. After thirty days, if your application is still incomplete, or if you have still failed to demonstrate that you meet the regulatory requirements for licensure, your application will be closed or denied. If your application is closed or denied, you would need to re-apply for licensure by submitting a complete application to the Board and by paying a new application fee.

Application Determinations

If you have met all licensing requirements, the Board will notify you. If you do not meet the requirements, you also will be notified.

Application Questions

Please direct any questions regarding the application process to the Board at cosmetologyandbarberingboard@state.ma.us, or 617-727-9940.

Contact for Apply for an Electrology License

Feedback

Did you find what you were looking for on this webpage? * required
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.
We use your feedback to help us improve this site but we are not able to respond directly. Please do not include personal or contact information. If you need a response, please locate the contact information elsewhere on this page or in the footer.

If you need to report child abuse, any other kind of abuse, or need urgent assistance, please click here.

Feedback