Log in links for this page

Cape Cod Region

The Cape Cod Region includes the towns of Bourne, Sandwich, Barnstable, Yarmouth, Dennis, Brewster, Orleans, Eastham, Wellfleet, Truro, and Provincetown.

MassBays’ Cape Cod region includes the 11 out of 15 Cape towns in the Cape Cod Bay watershed. The region is characterized by low topography, sandy permeable soils and ponds and streams that are largely dependent on a cape-wide aquifer. River herring annually fight their way upstream to spawn, and shorebirds share the sandy beaches with thousands of visitors to Bay-side beaches each summer. Impacts due to climate change are predicted to threaten infrastructure and coastal habitat across the Cape – including its aquifer (Walter et. al. 2016). The Cape’s coastal economy is supported by tourism, recreation, shellfishing, and fishing, all of which rely on clean water. 

Regional Coordination

The MassBays Regional Service Provider for Cape Cod is the Association to Preserve Cape Cod  (APCC). APCC was founded in 1968 and today engages more than 5,000 members in its mission to “promote policies and programs that protect and enhance the Cape’s natural resources.” Regional Coordinator and APCC lead scientist Jo Ann Muramoto, Ph.D. has broad experience as a scientific researcher in chemical oceanography, municipal wetlands regulator, environmental consultant, and non-profit environmental work which enables her to work effectively with many different constituents. With funding from MassBays, she: 


Additional Resources


Jo Ann Muramoto, Ph.D.
MassBays Cape Cod Regional Coordinator
Association to Preserve Cape Cod 
482 Main Street, Dennis, MA 02638
(508) 619-3185 

Help Us Improve Mass.gov with your feedback