This page, Mass. General Laws c.64N § 3, is offered by

Mass. General Laws c.64N § 3

Local tax option

Table of Contents

Updates

(a)

A city or town that accepts this section in the manner provided in section 4 of chapter 4 may impose a local sales tax upon sale or transfer of marijuana or marijuana products by a marijuana retailer operating within the city or town to anyone other than a marijuana establishment at a rate not greater than 3 per cent of the total sales price received by the marijuana retailer as a consideration for the sale of marijuana or marijuana products. The marijuana retailer shall pay the local sales tax imposed under this section to the commissioner at the same time and in the same manner as the sales tax due to the commonwealth.

(b)

All sums received by the commissioner under this section shall, at least quarterly, be distributed, credited and paid by the treasurer and receiver-general upon certification of the commissioner to each city or town that has accepted this section in proportion to the amount of the sums received in that city or town. Any city or town seeking to dispute the commissioner's calculation of its distribution under this subsection shall notify the commissioner, in writing, not later than 1 year from the date the tax was distributed by the commissioner to the city or town.

(c)

This section shall take effect in a city or town on the first day of the calendar quarter following 30 days after its acceptance by the city or town or on the first day of a later calendar quarter that the city or town may designate.

Contact

Phone

Within Massachusetts only

Within Massachusetts only

Online

Reference librarians online Chat with a law librarian 
Reference librarians via email masslawlib@gmail.com

Address

Administrative office (no law library at this location)
2 Center Plaza
9th Floor
Boston, MA 02108
Last updated: June 20, 2019
Feedback