Mass. General Laws c.94C § 32A

Class B controlled substances; unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensing or possession with intent to manufacture, etc.

Table of Contents

Updates

(a)

Any person who knowingly or intentionally manufactures, distributes, dispenses or possesses with intent to manufacture, distribute or dispense a controlled substance in Class B of section 31 shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 10 years, or in a jail or house of correction for not more than 2 ½ years, or by a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $10,000, or both such fine and imprisonment.

(b)

Any person convicted of violating this section after 1 or more prior convictions of manufacturing, distributing, dispensing or possessing with the intent to manufacture, distribute or dispense a controlled substance as defined by section 31 under this or any other prior law of this jurisdiction or of any offense of any other jurisdiction, federal, state or territorial, which is the same as or necessarily includes the elements of said offense shall be punished by a term of imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 10 years, by a term of imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 10 years and by a fine of not less than $2,500 and not more than $25,000, or by a fine of not more than $25,000.

(c)

Any person who knowingly or intentionally manufactures, distributes, dispenses or possesses with intent to manufacture, distribute or dispense phencyclidine or a controlled substance defined in clause (4) of paragraph (a) or in clause (2) of paragraph (c) of Class B of section 31 shall be punished by a term of imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 10 years, a term of imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 10 years and a fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $10,000, by imprisonment in a jail or house of correction for not more than 2 ½ years, by imprisonment in a jail or house of correction for not more than 2 ½ years and a fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $10,000, or by a fine of not more than $10,000.

(d)

Any person convicted of violating the provisions of subsection (c) after 1 or more prior convictions of manufacturing, distributing, dispensing or possessing with the intent to manufacture, distribute, or dispense a controlled substance, as defined in section 31 or of any offense of any other jurisdiction, either federal, state or territorial, which is the same as or necessarily includes, the elements of said offense, shall be punished by a term of imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 15 years, a term of imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 15 years and a fine of not less than $2,500 nor more than $25,000 or a fine of not more than $25,000.

Contact

Phone

Within Massachusetts only

Within Massachusetts only

Online

Reference librarians online Chat with a law librarian 
Reference librarians via email masslawlib@gmail.com

Address

Administrative office (no law library at this location)
2 Center Plaza
9th Floor
Boston, MA 02108
Last updated: June 21, 2019
Feedback