MPTC Training Calendar

A calendar of MPTC police-related training available across the State.

Registration is open to full-time police officers who exercise full police powers of municipal, MBTA, environmental, UMass, campus police officers, and deputy sheriffs performing police duties and function. Open seats will be filled by part-time municipal, MBTA, environmental, UMass, campus police officers, and deputy sheriffs, then all other outside law enforcement on a space available basis.

Registrants will need MPTC Acadis Portal access to register

Table of Contents

Notice to ALL MPTC Firearms Instructors in the State

All MPTC Firearms Instructor Certification across all disciplines expires 12/31/22 no matter where you teach. The document below outlines the process to recertify.

Additional Resources

Training Year 2022 - 2023

Training ranges from basic training for new officers to mandatory and specialized professional development training for incumbent officers, and instructor certification.

Available Training 

  • Full-time Recruit Officer Courses (MPTC and MPTC-authorized)
  • TY 22-23 In-Service Training
  • Instructor training
  • Specialized focused topics

NOTE: For full course descriptions, requirements and location details please log into the MPTC Acadis Training Portal, filter search by title, click the title of the training to expand and view the course description, any requirements and contact information. 

Additional Resources

Contact

Phone

Laura Nichols, Veteran Officer and Specialized Programs, Boylston Police Academy (774) 515-0305
Alison Taylor, Cape Cod In-Service, Southeast Command & Specialized Programs, Plymouth Police Academy (508) 591-4056
Joanne Heres, Veteran Officer Program Coordinator, Plymouth Police Academy (508) 591-4507
Kevin Donnelly, Command Staff and Veteran Officer Training, Randolph Police Academy (781) 437-0351
Lisa Ann Reich, Veteran Officer and Specialized Programs, Randolph Police Academy (781) 437-0326
Larry Norman, Veteran Officer and Specialized Programs, Lynnfield Police Academy (781) 437-0343
Todd Mongeon, Veteran Officer and Specialized Programs, Western Mass Police Academy (413) 693-1702
Kimberly Schwenderman, Veteran and Specialized Training, Southbridge (774) 380-4012

Online

E-mail: Boylston Laura.Nichols@mass.gov
E-mail: Lynnfield Larry.Norman@mass.gov
E-mail: Academy Director, Northern Essex Community College Police Academy jstokel@necc.mass.edu
E-mail: Plymouth Joanne.Heres@mass.gov
E-mail: Plymouth Alison.Taylor@mass.gov
E-mail: Randolph Lisaann.reich@mass.gov
E-mail: Randolph Kevin.M.Donnelly@mass.gov
E-mail: Southbridge kimberly.p.schwenderman@mass.gov
E-mail: WMASS Todd.Mongeon@mass.gov

Address

Boylston Police Academy
221 Main St.
Boylston, MA 01505
Lynnfield Police Academy
425 Walnut St.
Lynnfield, MA 01940
Northern Essex Community College (NECC) Police Academy
100 Elliott St.
Haverhill, MA 01830
Plymouth Police Academy
24 Long Pond Rd.
Plymouth, MA 02360
Randolph Police Academy
42 Thomas Patten Drive
Randolph, MA 02368
Southbridge Training Facility
14 Mechanic St.
In-Service & Specialized Training
Southbridge, MA 01550
Western MA Police Academy
c/o Springfield Technical Community College
1 Armory Square, Building #11
Springfield, MA 01102

Online

Deputy Chief of Training - Lara Thomas Lara.Thomas@mass.gov
Lynda Kearns, MPTC Statewide Programs Coordinator (Instructor Training) lynda.kearns@mass.gov
CPR/First Responder - Chief Neal Hovey Neal.Hovey@mass.gov
Defensive Tactics - Use of Force - Officer Charles DiChiara Charles.M.DiChiara@mass.gov
Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault/Human Trafficking - Maura Landry maura.m.landry@mass.gov
Emergency Vehicle Operation (EVOC) - Sgt. Phillip Wilgus, phillip.wilgus@pol.state.ma.us
Firearms - Sergeant Jason Brennan Jason.Brennan@mass.gov
Health & Wellness - Jason Shea, M.S.PES jason.p.shea@mass.gov
Legal Issues - Denise Flagg denise.s.flagg@mass.gov
Patrol Procedures & Active Shooter - Sergeant Timothy M. Watts Timothy.M.Watts@mass.gov
Patrol Procedures & Active Shooter - Lt. Kristopher Kamborian kristopher.m.kamborian@mass.gov
Simulations Training - Captain John Fraher john.d.fraher@mass.gov
Feedback