Many older drivers are able to self-determine if they should drive based on their mental and physical ability.
You may have medical limitations that affect your driving, which you must self-report to the RMV when renewing your drivers license. You can discuss getting adaptive equipment to assist in driving with your physician. You can also apply for a disability plate or placard through the RMV.
You can find a hospital or rehabilitation center that offers driver evaluation programs in the Your Health and Driving Safely brochure. AAA and AARP offer older driver safety programs. Professional driving schools provide driving instruction to all ages.
Learn how age-related changes can impact a person’s ability to drive safely and how you can support older driver safety and mobility. The RMV’s safe driving workshop, Shifting Gears, explores the warning signs of unsafe driving, Massachusetts licensing policies, and provides information on driving retirement and various transit options. Here is a recording of the RMV’s Shifting Gears workshop, which was made possible by our collaboration with the MBTA Statewide Accessibility Office. Please click here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pJ7wRcSNYog&t=14s
Safe driving workshops and travel instruction training
Safe driving workshops
The RMV offers free, one-hour safe driving workshops across the state. To request a workshop in your community, complete and submit the Community Outreach Workshop Request Form.
For more information, see the RMV's safe driving presentation schedule or contact the RMV at (857) 368-9457.
Travel instruction training
The MBTA offers free travel instruction training to help seniors and people with disabilities travel independently on the bus, train, and commuter rail.
MBTA Transit Option video Description:
If you would like more information about transit options for older adults in the Greater Boston Area, click here: https://cdn.mbta.com/sites/default/files/2021-06/2021-05-05-slides-webinar-for-older-adults.pdf)
Senior Hours/Days for License/ID Renewal
Massachusetts law requires drivers who are 75 years of age or older to renew in person. The RMV has dedicated hours by appointment only on Wednesday mornings at certain RMV Service Centers for anyone 65 years of age or older to process any RMV transaction with an appointment.
Below are the options to make an appointment:
- If you are a AAA member, you may make a reservation now to renew your driver’s license/ID at a AAA location. Visit aaa.com/appointments to schedule your visit.
- If you are not a AAA member, visit Mass.Gov/RMV to make a reservation to renew at an RMV Service Center. Select the Seniors License Renewal option on the Make/Cancel a Reservation transaction
- Email the RMV for assistance to renew at MassDOTRMVSeniors@dot.state.ma.us
- Call the RMV at 857-368-8005
The Seniors License Renewal reservation warns customers that they will not be served if they select the Seniors option and they are not at least 65 years of age.
Warning signs of unsafe driving
You may want to consider driving less or not at all if you have difficulty:
- Seeing clearly in dusk and dark
- With vehicle headlights obstructing your sight
- With passing vehicles intimidating you
- Reading road signs
- Following detours or seeing police on detail
- Seeing train crossing signals or hearing train whistles
- Keeping up with the posted speed limit
- Concentrating or staying alert behind the wheel
- Hearing other vehicles
- With driving basics like seat belts or head lights
- With parking
- With slow reaction times or reflexes
Drivers who voluntarily surrender their driver's licenses are eligible for a free Massachusetts ID card. To surrender your driver's license, contact the Medical Affairs division of the RMV at (857) 368-8020.
Resources for Medical Providers, Law Enforcement, and Caregivers
The RMV accepts reports by health care providers and law enforcement officials to evaluate drivers to ensure safety on the roads.
Medical Affairs division of the RMV sets the policies and procedures regarding minimum physical qualifications to operate motor vehicles. Learn how to report a medically impaired driver https://www.mass.gov/how-to/report-a-medically-impaired-driver
Use these instructions to assist your family member, friend, or person you are caring for with common RMV transactions.
Replace a Lost/Stolen Disability Placard Instructions
Registration Renewal Instructions
Driver's License/ID Renewal Instructions
Change of Address Instructions
Order Replacement Plates Instructions