Press Release

Press Release Law Enforcement Officers Honored with George L. Hanna Awards for Bravery

For immediate release:
  • Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
  • Massachusetts State Police

Media Contact for Law Enforcement Officers Honored with George L. Hanna Awards for Bravery

Felix Browne, Communications Director

BostonGovernor Charlie Baker and Lt. Governor Karyn Polito honored police officers from departments across the Commonwealth who in the last year distinguished themselves through exemplary acts of bravery carried out in the course of their duties.

“The public safety professionals we honor today committed extraordinary acts of bravery, earning these awards along with our gratitude,” said Governor Charlie Baker, who presented the awards at a ceremony in the Massachusetts House Chamber. “Their bravery and their ability to stay calm under pressure led to heroic acts and the people of the Commonwealth are very fortunate to have such dedicated police officers protecting us at all times.”

“These brave officers have distinguished themselves through exemplary actions in the defense of others and we are honored to salute the service they perform every day,” said Lt. Governor Karyn Polito. “These officers and their first responder brothers and sisters do so much to protect us and for that have our deep respect and commitment.”  

The George L. Hanna Awards for Bravery are named in memory of State Trooper George L. Hanna, who was shot and killed in the line of duty during a traffic stop in Auburn on February 26, 1983.

“Police work is very often difficult and dangerous and it takes a special kind of person who takes the oath to serve,” said Public Safety Secretary Daniel Bennett. “We greatly appreciate that they have chosen to serve and protect the people in communities across Massachusetts.”

2018 Recipients of the 35th Annual Trooper George L. Hanna
Memorial Awards for Bravery

MEDAL OF HONOR - The highest and most prestigious award is given to a police officer who demonstrates actions above and beyond the call of duty, exhibiting extraordinary bravery and courage in the face of extreme risk and certain and imminent danger to life or limb. The police officer’s actions are performed in the course of a dangerous incident to protect or save the life of a colleague or citizen, in selfless disregard for the officer’s own safety and often result in great cost to the officer, including loss of life. Medal of Honor recipients should display exceptional levels of professionalism, competence, leadership, and clear thinking during a dangerous incident while on or off duty. The officer’s actions must be so outstanding that they clearly distinguish heroism from lesser forms of bravery. 

The award may be made to an officer who has lost his or her life in the line of duty under conditions in which the officer displayed professional law enforcement actions and duties consistent with good police practices.

This year, there are (6) six recipients of the Medal of Honor, represented by the Braintree Police Department:

·         Police Officer William R. Cushing Jr.

·         Police Officer Donald M. Delaney

·         Police Officer Paul H. Hamilton

·         Police Officer John M. Hurley    

·         Police Officer Ryan P. McHugh

·         Police Officer Stephen T. Wallace

MEDAL OF VALOR - The second highest award is given to a police officer who demonstrates actions above and beyond the call of duty, exhibiting valor, courage and bravery while disregarding the potential for danger or great risk to him or herself and whose actions do not rise to the level of Medal of Honor, during the course of an individual incident. 

This year, there are (9) nine recipients receiving the Medal of Valor.

Everett Police Department 

·         Sergeant Lawrence Jedrey

Chelsea Police Department and MBTA

·         Police Officer Robert Hammond, CPD

·         Police Officer James J. Davie, MBTA

Worcester Police Department

·         Police Officer Robert D. Sansoucy

Massachusetts State Police

·         Trooper Michael C. Caranfa

·         Trooper Robert R. Holland

·         Trooper George N. Katsarakes

·         Trooper David T. Nims

·         Trooper Daniel T. Purtell           

All recipients being recognized at this ceremony were nominated for acts of bravery and heroism performed over the course of 2017.

For more information about the actions that earned these officers their awards, please click HERE.


Media Contact for Law Enforcement Officers Honored with George L. Hanna Awards for Bravery

Executive Office of Public Safety and Security 

EOPSS is responsible for the policy development and budgetary oversight of its secretariat agencies, independent programs, and several boards which aid in crime prevention, homeland security preparedness, and ensuring the safety of residents and visitors in the Commonwealth.

Massachusetts State Police 

The Massachusetts State Police is the statewide law enforcement agency for the Commonwealth, comprised of five operational divisions: Field Services, Investigative Services, Standards and Training, Homeland Security, and Administration and Finance. We staff facilities and maintain investigative, tactical and support units throughout the state.