- Office of Attorney General Maura Healey
- The Attorney General's Fair Labor Division
Media Contact for MiniLuxe to Compensate 300 Employees in Settlement With AG’s Office Over Earned Sick Time Violations
Boston — The Boston-based beauty salon chain MiniLuxe Inc. will pay more than $45,740 in restitution and penalties to settle allegations that violated the state’s earned sick time law, Attorney General Maura Healey announced today.
“Workers need access to paid time off in order to take care of themselves and their loved ones,” said AG Healey. “I am pleased that as a result of this investigation, MiniLuxe has paid back its staff, implemented a new earned sick time policy and agreed to educate workers about their rights to sick leave.”
The AG’s Office began its investigation into MiniLuxe, which has 15 locations in Massachusetts, after receiving a complaint alleging that its employees did not have access to earned sick time. The investigation found that the company did not have a compliant earned sick time policy.
In addition to paying compensation to 312 current and former employees, MiniLuxe fully cooperated with the AG’s Office’s investigation and implemented a new earned sick time policy. The company has agreed to post in each of its locations information about the earned sick time law in languages spoken by its workforce and will also include information about the earned sick time law in materials given to new employees.
The state’s earned sick time law requires businesses with 11 or more employees to provide paid sick leave to all employees, including part-time employees. Employers of all sizes must give job-protected sick leave and notice to employees of the company’s sick time policy.
In fiscal year 2018, the AG’s Office recovered $375,000 in restitution and penalties related to earned sick time violations, which benefited more than 1,000 Massachusetts workers. In March 2018, the AG’s Office reached a settlement with Estée Lauder Companies Inc., which agreed to pay $90,000 in wages and penalties for failure to comply with the state’s earned sick time law.
Workers who believe their rights have been violated in their workplace are encouraged to file a complaint at www.mass.gov/ago/wagetheft. For information about the state’s wage and hour laws, workers may call the Office’s Fair Labor Hotline at 617-727-3465 or go to the Attorney General’s new Workplace Rights website www.mass.gov/ago/fairlabor for materials in multiple languages.
This matter was handled by Assistant Attorney General Lisa C. Price and Investigator Huong Phan of the AG’s Fair Labor Division.