- Department of Unemployment Assistance
Massachusetts is currently in a period of low unemployment. If you file a new claim for unemployment benefits on or after March 31, 2019, the maximum allowable period for which you may receive benefits will be 26 weeks.
Per Massachusetts law, when the twelve-month average unemployment rate for each of the Commonwealth’s measured metropolitan areas is equal to or below 5.1%, the maximum number of weeks for which a claimant may receive unemployment benefits is reduced from 30 to 26 weeks.
When the twelve-month average unemployment rate in any of the state’s measured metropolitan areas is greater than 5.1%, the maximum number of weeks for which a claimant may receive unemployment benefits is 30 weeks.
Under the statute, if the monthly unemployment rate rises above 5.1% in any of the Massachusetts measured metropolitan areas, all claimants, regardless of initial filing date, will once again be eligible for a maximum 30 weeks of benefits.