About the Commissioner's Office

Welcome from Commissioner Monica Bharel, MD, MPH

Commissioner's Bio

Monica Bharel, MD, MPH, became Commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health in February of 2015. As Commissioner, she is responsible for spearheading the state’s response to the opioid crisis, as well as reducing health disparities, finding public health solutions for health care reform, finding innovative solutions using data and evidence-based practices, and other health care quality improvement initiatives.

Dr. Bharel comes to DPH widely recognized for her dedication to health care for underserved and vulnerable populations, including ensuring that state and national health care reform efforts enhance the care for homeless individuals, without inadvertently widening health care disparities.

She previously served as the Chief Medical Officer of Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program, the largest nonprofit health care organization for homeless individuals in the country. Under her leadership, the organization provided health care to over 12,500 homeless men, women and children in the greater Boston area at over 70 different sites.

In the public service sector, Dr. Bharel was a gubernatorial appointment to the Behavioral Health and Primary Care Integration Task Force under the Massachusetts health care payment reform initiative. She has also participated on the Massachusetts Medicaid payment reform policy committee and Primary Care Payment Reform Initiative operations committee. Additionally, she served on the National Quality Forum expert panel on Risk Adjustment for Socioeconomic Status.

Dr. Bharel has served on the faculty of Harvard Medical School, Boston University Medical School, and Harvard School of Public Health. She was previously at Massachusetts General Hospital and Boston Medical Center. She has practiced general internal medicine for 20 years in neighborhood health centers, city hospitals, the Veterans Administration, university hospitals and nonprofit organizations.

She received her Master of Public Health degree through the Commonwealth Fund/Harvard University Fellowship in Minority Health Policy, with a concentration in health care policy and management. She received her medical degree from Boston University School of Medicine and completed a residency and chief residency in internal medicine at Boston City Hospital/Boston Medical Center.

Commissioner’s Office Structure

The Commissioner’s Office includes offices that coordinate cross-cutting data, policy, and programmatic issues, providing support throughout the bureaus. These offices include:

  • Office of Preparedness and Emergency Management
  • Office of Local and Regional Health
  • Office of Population Health including:
    • Office of Data Management and Outcomes Assessment
    • Office of Health Equity
    • Registry of Vital Records and Statistics

Finance includes Budget, Accounting, Purchase of Services and Internal Controls.

General Counsel’s Office includes Privacy and Data Compliance Office and Public Records.

Additionally, the following core support functions are also part of the Commissioner’s Office structure: Communications, Governmental Affairs, Policy and Regulatory Affairs, and Operations. The Problem Gambling Services Program and the Determination of Need Program also report to the Commissioner’s Office.

Commissioner’s Office Staff and Senior Leadership

Commissioner’s Office Staff and Senior Leadership

  • Commissioner Monica Bharel, MD, MPH

Executive Team

  • Lindsey Tucker, Associate Commissioner
  • Eileen M. Sullivan, Chief Operating Officer
  • Kevin Cranston, Assistant Commissioner, Director of Bureau of Infectious Disease and Laboratory Sciences
  • Elizabeth Chen, Assistant Commissioner
  • Abigail Averbach, Assistant Commissioner, Director of Office of Population Health
  • Jennifer Barrelle, Chief of Staff
  • Margret Cooke, General Counsel
  • Kelly Driscoll, Chief Financial Officer

Policy and Regulatory Affairs

  • Vacant, Director
  • Torey McNamara, Assistant Director

Government Affairs

  • Tom Mangan, Deputy Director


  • Vacant, Director
  • Ann Scales, Media Relations Manager
  • Suzanne Crowther, Health Marketing Manager
  • Omar Cabrera, Manager of Ethnic Media and Community Outreach
  • John Jacob, Director of Editorial Services and Digital Media
  • Shaye Erimez, Graphic Designer

Office Support and Scheduling

  • Renee Walsh, Office Manager and Assistant to the Commissioner
  • Rebecca White, Executive Assistant to the Associate Commissioner
  • Christina McSheffery, Executive Assistant to the COO/HR Project Coordinator
  • Michelle Petrigno, Office Support Specialist
  • Shameakia Casey, Office Support Specialist

Determination of Need

  • Nora Mann, Director

Office of Local and Regional Health

  • Ron O’Connor, Director  

Office of Preparedness and Emergency Management

  • Kerin Milesky, Director

Problem Gambling

  • Victor Ortiz, Director of Problem Gambling Services


  • Antonia Blinn, Director of Performance Management and Quality Improvement
  • Nahomi Carlisle, Director of Diversity and Inclusion/ADA Coordinator
  • John Deveney, Workplace Investigations Manager
  • Beth Rabasco, HR Liaison
  • Lisa Swanson, Director of Training and Staff Development
  • Kathy Creed, HR Projects Coordinator/PACE Administrator
  • Ed Dyke, Director of Grants and Development
  • Kyle Marshall, Director of Facilities and Support Services

Senior Leadership


  • Kevin Cranston, Assistant Commissioner and Director of Bureau of Infectious Diseases and Laboratory Science (BIDLS)
    • Dr. Sandra Smole, Director of State Public Health Laboratory, BIDLS
    • Dr. Al DeMaria, State Epidemiologist and Medical Director of BIDLS
  • Carlene Pavlos, Director of Bureau of Community Health and Prevention (BCHAP)
  • Jana Ferguson,  Director of Bureau of Environmental Health (BEH)
  • Ron Benham, Director of Bureau of Family Health & Nutrition (BFHN)
  • Eric Sheehan, Director of Health Care Safety and Quality (BHCSQ)
  • James Lavery, Director of Health Professions Licensure (BPHL)
  • Allison Bauer, Director of Substance Addiction Services (BSAS)

Public Health Hospitals System

  • Brian Devin, Interim Lead CEO and CEO of Pappas Rehabilitation Hospital for Children
  • Joel Skolnick, CEO of Shattuck Hospital
  • Debra Tosti, CEO of Tewksbury Hospital
  • Val Liptak, CEO of Western MA Hospital
  • Don Rogers, Chief of Pharmacy Services at the State Office of Pharmacy Services

Office of Population Health

  • Abigail Averbach, Assistant Commissioner and Director of OPH
  • Natalie Nguyen Durham,  Director of Office of Data Management and Outcomes Assessment
  • Rodrigo Monterrey, Acting Director of Office of Health Equity
  • Karin Barrett, Registrar of Vital Records and Statistics
  • Tom Land, Director of Special Analytic Projects

General Counsel Office

  • Margret Cooke, General Counsel
  • Elizabeth Scurria Morgan, First Deputy General Counselor

Finance Office

  • Kelly Driscoll, Chief Financial Officer
  • Cullen Roberts, Budget Director
  • Judy Maisch, Deputy Budget Director
  • Ian Roberts Clarke, Internal Compliance Officer
  • Sharon Dyer, Director of Purchase of Service (Chief Procurement Officer)
  • Lourdes Ordinola, Director of Accounting



Tell us what you think