More about:

Check if your used vehicle is eligible under the Lemon Law

Not all cars or all defects are covered under the Lemon Law, and not all problems will qualify your car for repurchase. Learn how to determine if your vehicle is eligible.

Eligibility

The Lemon Law applies to used cars, vans, trucks, and demonstration vehicles which:

  • Are sold by a Massachusetts dealer
  • Cost at least $700
  • Have less than 125,000 miles on the odometer at the time of sale

Used vehicles not covered:

  • Motorcycles, mopeds, or dirt bikes
  • Leased vehicles
  • Auto homes and vehicles built primarily for off-road use
  • Any vehicle used primarily for business purposes or purchased by, owned by or registered to a business
  • Vehicles purchased out of Massachusetts

Covered Defects

The law only covers certain defects. It doesn’t cover defects that:

  • Affect appearance only
  • Are covered by the manufacturer’s express warranty and the dealer assures that the repairs were made
  • Are caused by negligence, abuse, vandalism, or accidents unrelated to the defect
  • Are caused by repair attempts made by someone other than the dealer, its agent, or the manufacturer
  • Are caused by substantial change made by you to the car.

Limited Used Vehicle Warranty

The Limited Used Vehicle Warranty can’t be waived and requires that:

  • Dealers provide you with a written warranty against defects that impair the vehicle’s use or safety 
  • Dealers give you a signed, dated copy of the Limited Used Vehicle Warranty when you purchase the vehicle.
  • Dealers repair any defect that impairs the vehicle’s use or safety

If the dealer does not give you a warranty or gives you one that is incomplete or inaccurate, you are still entitled to warranty repairs. Your warranty will not begin to expire until the dealer gives you a complete, accurate copy of the warranty.

Warranty Coverage Chart

Less than 40,000 miles 90 days or 3,750 miles driven since purchase
40,000 – 79,999 miles 60 days or 2,500 miles driven since purchase
80,000 – 124,999 miles 30 days or 1,250 miles driven since purchase
More than 125,000 miles No warranty, unless it failed inspection within 7 days of date of purchase

If the true mileage is unknown at the time of sale, the warranty period is calculated according to the age of the car.

Less than 3 years 90 days or 3,750 miles, whichever comes first
Less than 3 years 90 days or 3,750 miles, whichever comes first
6 years or older 30 days or 1,250 miles, whichever comes first

Feedback

Tell us what you think