Notices and Updates
2020 Clean Peak Minimum Standard
Pursuant to M.G.L. Ch. 25A Section 17(a), DOER is required to annually increase the Minimum Standard by not less than 0.25 percent of kilowatt-hour sales by retail electricity suppliers in the Commonwealth. DOER has determined that 1.5 percent of sales by retail electricity suppliers in the Commonwealth shall be met with Clean Peak Energy Certificates in the 2020 compliance year.
If you have any questions on the Clean Peak Energy Minimum Standard, please email DOER at email@example.com.
Final Regulation Filed with General Court
In accordance with Section 12 of Chapter 25A of the Massachusetts General Laws, DOER has filed the final amendments to 225 CMR 21.00 — the Clean Peak Energy Portfolio Standard.
The final regulation was modified upon the review of the Joint Committee’s report following the filing of the proposed regulation. DOER will file the final regulations with the state secretary not earlier than thirty days from the date the filing of the final amendments with the General Court.
The materials filed can be accessed here (zip file).
Regulation Filed with General Court
Pursuant to M.G.L. Chapter 25A Section 12, DOER has filed its proposed 225 CMR 21.00, the Clean Peak Standard Regulation, and a summary of the regulations, to the General Court.
The materials filed can be accessed here (zip file)
Proposed Regulation Available to Public for Review and Comment
On Friday, September 20, 2019, acting under statutory authority of M.G.L. Ch. 25A § 17, DOER filed Notice of Public Review of the proposed 225 CMR 21.00, the Clean Peak Energy Portfolio Standard regulation with the Secretary of State for the Commonwealth to be published in the Massachusetts Register.
The public notice for this filing can be found here
The unofficial version of the proposed regulations can be found here
Public comments were due to DOER on October 30, 2019. DOER received the following comments on the proposed regulation.
DOER hosted three public hearings on the draft regulation at the following times and places:
Friday, October 25, 2019, 10:00AM – 12:00PM
Department of Energy Resources
100 Cambridge St. Boston, MA
2nd Floor Conference Room B & C
Monday, October 28, 2019, 10:00AM – 12:00PM
Greenfield Community College
1 College Dr, Greenfield, MA 01301
Wednesday, October 30, 2019, 10:00AM – 12:00PM
Department of Fish and Wildlife
1 Rabbit Hill Road, Westborough, MA 01581
Draft Regulation Presentation
DOER incorporated the results of consultant analysis, policy considerations, and feedback received on the development of the Clean Peak Standard into a detailed draft regulation presentation and held two stakeholder meetings on August 7, 2019 and August 9, 2019 respectively.
Below is the presentation link, which includes program details such as alternative compliance payment rates, annual obligation increases, eligibility criteria, and multiplier values.
Any questions should be directed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
DOER hired a consultant to develop a model to evaluate the impacts of Clean Peak Portfolio Standard market design changes. The consultant final report is posted below.
Straw Proposal Presentation
DOER has incorporated the feedback received to date on the development of the Clean Peak Standard into a detailed straw proposal and presented it during a stakeholder meeting at the Federal Reserve on April 2nd.
DOER accepted written comments on the Clean Peak Standard Straw Proposal until April 12th.
DOER sought responses to a set of questions intended to help with the development and design of the Clean Peak Energy Standard, which must be established pursuant to the enactment of Chapter 227 of the Acts of 2018. All responses to these questions were due on Tuesday, February 5, 2019. The questions and answers received are posted below.
2019 Clean Peak Minimum Standard
Pursuant to Chapter 227 of the Acts of 2018, not later than December 31, 2018, DOER was required to establish the baseline minimum percentage of kilowatt-hours sales to end-use customers that shall be met with clean peak certificates beginning on January 1, 2019.
After reviewing available information, the statutory definition of clean peak resources, and a number of other factors, DOER determined that approximately 0 MWh were being served by existing clean peak resources during peak load hours as of December 31, 2018, and established the Minimum Standard percentage requirement for retail electricity suppliers in the 2019 compliance year at 0%.
On August 9, 2018, Governor Charlie Baker signed into law An Act to Advance Clean Energy, which requires the DOER to develop a program requiring retail electricity providers to meet a baseline minimum percentage of sales with qualified clean peak resources that dispatch or discharge electricity to the electric distribution system during seasonal peak periods, or alternatively, reduces load on said system. DOER is charged with establishing seasonal peak periods, which are defined by the statute as “the daily time windows during any of the 4 annual seasons when the net demand of electricity is the highest; provided however, that a seasonal peak shall be not less than 1 hour and no longer than 4 hours in any season, as determined by the department.” DOER must also establish a value for clean peak certificates for each megawatt hour of energy or energy reserves during the seasonal peak period by creating an alternative compliance payment rate and potentially other mechanisms. Lastly, DOER must determine a metering and verification protocol to ensure that all data is collected, reviewed and reported in a consistent manner.
DOER intends to post documents and information related to the development of its rules and regulations for the Clean Peak Energy Standard on this webpage and encourages all interested parties to check this page regularly for updates. Stakeholders can also sign up to receive email updates here.
If you have questions please contact DOER at: email@example.com