Healthcare Acquired Conditions ICD-10 Code List

Healthcare Acquired Conditions ICD-10 Code List

This online tool provides a list of HCAC (Healthcare Acquired Conditions) ICD-10 codes as depicted in Appendix V, Part 1, Section III.A in association with the All Provider manual. HCACs are conditions occurring in an inpatient hospital setting that Medicare designates as hospital-acquired conditions (HACs), with the exception of deep vein thrombosis (DVT)/pulmonary embolism (PE) following total knee or total hip replacement in pediatric (under 21 years) and obstetrics patients.

The HCACs, and associated ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes and ICD-10 PCS codes listed, are subject to change as a result of revisions to the list of HACs and related codes made by CMS under Medicare. CMS’s changes to the Medicare HAC-list and related codes shall be deemed to take effect automatically as of the effective date of the CMS updates under Medicare, without the need for an amendment to this list.

Health Care Acquired Condition Measures ICD-10 Code List

For the most current list of HACs providers should refer to the CMS website at

If you want to receive e-mail alerts when MassHealth posts changes to the Healthcare Acquired Condition ICD-10 code List, sign up here. Note: When you click on the sign up link, a blank e-mail should appear. If your settings prevent this, you may also copy and paste into your e-mail address line. Just send the blank e-mail as it's addressed. No text in the body or subject line is needed.

Additional Resources


Tell us what you think