Prior to exercising police powers as a part-time police officer, a person must satisfactorily complete a reserve/intermittent training program prescribed by the Committee. This course is a minimum of 372.5 hours administered by regional police training organizations (listed below) at various locations throughout the Commonwealth. When carrying a weapon, an additional 20 hours of MPTC-certified firearms training is required.
Authorized Police Training Organizations
Details on facilities, contact information, training dates, how to apply, tuition and equipment requirements can be found by clicking the part-time police academy link.
|Part-time Police Academy||Start Date|
|Berkshire Law Enforcement Council||None Scheduled|
|Central Mass Police Chiefs Association||None Scheduled|
|Hampden County Law Enforcement Training Center||None Scheduled|
|Massachusetts Law Enforcement Training Alliance||January 1, 2019|
|New England Law Enforcement Training Center||March 9, 2019|
|Northeast Regional Police Institute||September 28, 2019|
|Plymouth County Police Chiefs Association||February 4, 2019|
|Professional Officer of The Law, Institute of Training and Education||In Session|
|Quinsigamond Community College||In Session|
|South Suburban Police Institute||In Session|
|Southeastern Massachusetts Police Training Association||In Session|
|Western Massachusetts Chiefs of Police Association||March 12, 2019|