Prior to exercising police powers as a part-time police officer, a person must satisfactorily complete a reserve/intermittent training program prescribed by the MPTC (Committee). This course is a minimum of 372.5 hours administered by regional police training organizations (listed below) at various locations throughout the Commonwealth. When carrying a weapon, an additional 20 hours of MPTC-certified firearms training is required.
Authorized Police Training Organizations
Details on facilities, contact information, training dates, how to register, tuition and equipment requirements can be found by clicking the part-time police academy link.
|Authorized Part-time Police Academies||Start Date|
|Berkshire Law Enforcement Council||None Scheduled|
|Central Mass Police Chiefs Association||None Scheduled|
|Hampden County Law Enforcement Training Center||None Scheduled|
|Massachusetts Law Enforcement Training Alliance|
|New England Law Enforcement Training Center||January 25, 2020|
|Northeast Regional Police Institute||September 28, 2019|
|Plymouth County Police Chiefs Association||February 10, 2020|
|Professional Officer of The Law, Institute of Training and Education||November 7, 2019|
|Quinsigamond Community College||None Scheduled|
|South Suburban Police Institute||October 8, 2019|
|Southeastern Massachusetts Police Training Association||December 11, 2019|
|Western Massachusetts Chiefs of Police Association||In Session|